Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Late Show 24/01/2020

• 24-01-2020 11:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,009 ✭✭✭

This Friday night The Late Late Show will pay special tribute to CHI at Crumlin in Dublin, where tens of thousands of children from all over Ireland are treated every year as emergency, inpatient and outpatient attendees.
    Joining Ryan in-studio will be Sophie Barnes Aabo from November's Late Late Toy Show, who brought the nation to tears speaking about her brother Cian, who is receiving treatment at the children's hospital.

Munster rugby player Billy Holland and his wife Lanlih will also be on the show to speak about the tireless work of Crumlin's medical teams when it came to treating to their baby daughter Emmeline at the hospital.

Niall Horan will perform his hit single Nice To Meet Ya and chat with Ryan about life as an international pop star. Derry Girls actress Siobhán McSweeney, who plays cynical nun, Sister Michael, will also be joining Ryan in-studio to discuss her starring role in one of the most popular comedy series to hit television screens in recent years.

And Sarah Corbett Lynch and her aunt Tracey Corbett Lynch will talk about the tragic loss of Sarah's father and Tracey's brother, Jason, and how, at just 13 years old, Sarah has penned her first book aimed at helping young people coping with grief.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Great show to blow away those January blues and relax too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

So just one big misery slot tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

What is wrong with the producers of this show?

I was trying to think back that it wasn't this bad a year ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

I'm finding it weird at this stage.
    It's non stop misery.
    Why o why?
    It is very depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Misery
    Misery
    Music
    Humour
    Misery

The usual quota, so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,009 ✭✭✭Storm 10

I said it before that I am amazed that Renault keep sponsoring the Late Late when their add for it says "thrilling entertainment" its anything but now its gone to the dogs, I'm sure if this keeps happening they will loose viewers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

What is the thinking or agenda by RTE relating to the content of the Late Late ? Misery is now the main feature of it.They are very serious issues and should be discussed,but we have daytime radio and Prime Time,Prime Time Investigates and the Clare Byrne show on TV for all this serious stuff.
    Give people a break from it on a Friday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,681 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I wonder how Ryan is going to do his pre show hyped up promo for this one?

Can't sound too upbeat about 'a great show coming up' when it's mostly about sick children.

NIMAN wrote: »
    I wonder how Ryan is going to do his pre show hyped up promo for this one?

Can't sound too upbeat about 'a great show coming up' when it's mostly about sick children.

He'll find a way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Voyeurism.

I mean do RTE honestly think that the entire country is dying to find out how Sophie's little brother is doing? Her appearance on the Toy Show was grand, but jesus christ at the end of the day we are talking about a sick child whose privacy is being evaded.

I know if I ever have kids, and god forbid anything serious happens to them medically, I wouldn't want the eyes of the nation prying into the hospital ward.

It's not like the exposure is going to make the kid any better, or indeed pay the medical bills. It's frankly disturbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,296 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

giphy.gif

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,837 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I have given up on The Late Late show. That is just depressing.

They should rename it ''The Dead or Dying Show'' because that's all Ryan seems to want to talk about. .

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,526 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

what would be wrong with having an up beat chat show, with guests who are not dying or have people close to them currently sick or dying ?? All we are short of is Joe Duffy presenting it at this stage !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,734 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I ain't watching nothin' with fawning over Niall Horan.

Sometimes this show makes me want to puke.

See yis next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Do they get some additional government funding for having a certain percentage of misery on their prime time weekly show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

The last time I watched it was about 5 or 6 years ago and Russel Crowe was on, he got out a guitar had the whole audience singing etc was great craic. Then Ryan goes over to someone in the audience with locked in syndrome who can't move a muscle but is still alive paralysed completely in a wheelchair, and his distraught parents. I just remember the look of fear and horror on Russel's face when the camera panned to him asking himself what the holy f*ck was going on and why was he on this weird Irish show.
    I wouldn't watch it again after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Storm 10 wrote: »
    This Friday night The Late Late Show will pay special tribute to CHI at Crumlin in Dublin, where tens of thousands of children from all over Ireland are treated every year as emergency, inpatient and outpatient attendees.
    Joining Ryan in-studio will be Sophie Barnes Aabo from November's Late Late Toy Show, who brought the nation to tears speaking about her brother Cian, who is receiving treatment at the children's hospital.

Munster rugby player Billy Holland and his wife Lanlih will also be on the show to speak about the tireless work of Crumlin's medical teams when it came to treating to their baby daughter Emmeline at the hospital.

Niall Horan will perform his hit single Nice To Meet Ya and chat with Ryan about life as an international pop star. Derry Girls actress Siobhán McSweeney, who plays cynical nun, Sister Michael, will also be joining Ryan in-studio to discuss her starring role in one of the most popular comedy series to hit television screens in recent years.

And Sarah Corbett Lynch and her aunt Tracey Corbett Lynch will talk about the tragic loss of Sarah's father and Tracey's brother, Jason, and how, at just 13 years old, Sarah has penned her first book aimed at helping young people coping with grief.

Wow. Just wow.

Storm 10 wrote: »
    ...Joining Ryan in-studio will be Sophie Barnes Aabo from November's Late Late Toy Show, who brought the nation to tears speaking about her brother Cian, who is receiving treatment at the children's hospital.....

Lord I am already mixed up. I thought this was Sophia from the LLTS and got horribly confused. It’s only a quarter to eight and I’ve only had one (admittedly large-ish) glass of wine in preparation for the show..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Asitis2019

I can't defend the show this week - it is posterior output

Can anyone recommend any movies on TV tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Do the decision makers in RTE think the general public want to watch sick children on a Friday night?

Absolute weirdos

Asitis2019 wrote: »

I don’t
    Believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Do the decision makers in RTE think the general public want to watch sick children on a Friday night?

Absolute weirdos

Is horan sick ........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Asitis2019

He will be in pontification mode tonight

...that there will be lessons here...that we are less mortal beings that those that work there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Horan pre-recorded this afternoon ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭mistersifter

Can't even watch tonights episode ironically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

Aoife Scott is on as well! The only thing I'll be tuning in for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

To prove there are worse things than being sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,734 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

No, no, I'm sure it's live like everything else he and his band do.

Shakyfan wrote: »
    Aoife Scott is on as well! The only thing I'll be tuning in for.

She’s Francis blacks daughter ain’t see

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

I read the Late Late Twitter Post:
    "Tonight's a big one, Niall Horan is here"

Honestly, is this what the show has come to? A "Big one" when a member of a Simon Cowell boyband comes on the show? It's a "big one" if you are still fourteen years old and female, but honestly this is meant to be a grown up show. And that's nothing against Horan who seems like a decent chap.

Tubridy would nearly be better off announcing a fake guest instead, like what Ray D'Arcy did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

Gods Gift wrote: »
    She’s Francis blacks daughter ain’t see

That's her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Throw in Daniel O'Donnell to really depress us

M

Asitis2019 wrote: »

Heat is on now on Film4, you could catch it from the start at 10pm on +1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

“Munster rugby legend Billy Holland” says Ryan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Might watch the first half hour then over to the Last leg on C4 at 10pm.

Hopefully I avoid the misery, just can't stand the misery slots.

M

RTE having an ad to say they will have The 6 Nations on the Radio, you couldn't make it up.

M

Next week can he have an audience of undertakers to ask each of them what their favourite death was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Things in life generally improve with time and age...

This show, somehow, manages to be one more pathetic each week...

How, and why?

God no, would definitely not vote for this.

It is not exactly Taylor Swift on the show, now that would be something to advertise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Looks like we've reached peak misery. although I'm sure I'll be proven wrong in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,552 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Sick children and murder. And Niall Horan.

Munster...Cork again...

"You're in for a treat."

Says Ryan, after revealing the line-up of murder and hospitalized children.

Would be funny if all the audience stood up and walked out.

What a load of crap...time filler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Bit of a downgrade from the blind date girl