Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car damage during NCT

• 22-01-2020 7:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5

Just wondering if anyone has any experience of this?
    I went for my car's first NCT and while viewing my car being examined from the waiting area I saw the examiner struggling to open the bonnet.
    He firstly tried to open the bonnet without pulling the release lever inside the foot well of the car. He then asked a colleague for assistance, who reached in without looking and pulled the lever.
    When I got home I checked it out myself and found that the bonnet release lever inside the foot well was loose where before the NCT test it was not. Before, it was possible to pull the lever to release the bonnet while sitting in the car with the door closed, now because there is too much play in the lever I can only do it with the door open.
    I filed a complaint and they replied saying that their engineers know how to open bonnets... I said well he eventually opened it but with too much force.
    I said I want cctv footage to show what I saw but was told they don't have cctv.
    I said that's ridiculous and I want to speak to a supervisor, they said I will have to get a report from a garage stating how this could have happened?
    I am waiting to hear from a supervisor.
    I phoned a garage who said if the lever needs to be replaced it would be €150.

I might add that my car is only 4 years old and in very good condition.

Any help much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,223 ✭✭✭Tow

You need to make a format request for the CCTV data. There are examples on the Data Controllers website.

In my personal experience, the front line staff will just make stuff up. Everything has to be a 'Formal Complaint' in writing.

BTW they state they have CCTV here: "Personal Data We collect directly from you" - "Imagery from CCTV Surveillance" https://www.ncts.ie/1180

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

A lot Modern cars are designed so that the bonnet catch cannot be opened with the door closed. This is a security feature to stop thieves getting access to the engine bay if they break a window , but can’t open dead locked doors,even with a broken window. what type of car is yours ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Asitis2019

FTT1 wrote: »
    Just wondering if anyone has any experience of this?
    I went for my car's first NCT and while viewing my car being examined from the waiting area I saw the examiner struggling to open the bonnet.
    He firstly tried to open the bonnet without pulling the release lever inside the foot well of the car. He then asked a colleague for assistance, who reached in without looking and pulled the lever.
    When I got home I checked it out myself and found that the bonnet release lever inside the foot well was loose where before the NCT test it was not. Before, it was possible to pull the lever to release the bonnet while sitting in the car with the door closed, now because there is too much play in the lever I can only do it with the door open.
    I filed a complaint and they replied saying that their engineers know how to open bonnets... I said well he eventually opened it but with too much force.
    I said I want cctv footage to show what I saw but was told they don't have cctv.
    I said that's ridiculous and I want to speak to a supervisor, they said I will have to get a report from a garage stating how this could have happened?
    I am waiting to hear from a supervisor.
    I phoned a garage who said if the lever needs to be replaced it would be €150.

I might add that my car is only 4 years old and in very good condition.

Any help much appreciated.

Ah will you go wan and get out of the park

You're pulling a fast one

These people are trained to a high standard - very unlikely this happened. You are trying to create trouble

Fix it yourself

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Isnt there a disclaimer you signed that stated they arent responsible for damage?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 20 Jo Kaine

Asitis2019 wrote: »

These people are trained to a high standard
    - very unlikely this happened. You are trying to create trouble

Fix it yourself

How high of a standard? I know damn all about their training and qualifications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 FTT1

Bigus wrote: »
    A lot Modern cars are designed so that the bonnet catch cannot be opened with the door closed. This is a security feature to stop thieves getting access to the engine bay if they break a window , but can’t open dead locked doors,even with a broken window. what type of car is yours ?
    It's a VW Passat estate and you could definitely pull the release lever while the door is closed. The lever has a lot of play in it. Garage said the lug and cable will need to be replaced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭reubenreuben

These people are trained to a high standard - very unlikely this happened. You are trying to create trouble

Fix it yourself

You work for the nct then?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 20 Jo Kaine

I'd say he does. Got the gig by knowing a lad already working there.

I know people like the OP with respect to cars

Only they know how to operate their own cars,so they think...

He thought it was opened too far or with too much force, but that his subjective opinion ….

Jo Kaine wrote: »
    I'd say he does. Got the gig by knowing a lad already working there.

ah jaysus

on one thread, I'm being accused of being Joe Duffy

On another thread I'm being accused of being Maria Bailey

On this thread "m being accused of working for the NCT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Bigus wrote: »

Yeah, to my mind you cant pull the release lever in a Passat with the door shut, with the door open the handle is nearly fully extended before it pops open.

Not being too crass here OP but is anything actually wrong? You pull the handle and it opens. If the handle was functional, he wouldnt have had to pull it too hard and wouldnt have damaged it. If he opened the bonnet, the release must have worked, so it's probably ok?

Or are you saying he pulled it far too hard on the first pull and wrecked it?

Id say the only way you'll get anywhere with this is if you get it in writing from a main dealer or the likes that the handle is damaged from user error. Not a generic quote to repair, but a statement assigning blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It’s not supposed to open with the door shut, that’s why it’s designed that way.

Also, do you really think a tester (who probably opens 15 bonnets a day) doesn’t know how to open a bonnet on a common car? Do you think they thought you could open it from outside the car without a key or by just randomly pulling at it?

Also keep in mind, the garage that quoted you €150 haven’t even seen the car. I honestly think you’re way off with this.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It’s not supposed to open with the door shut, that’s why it’s designed that way.

Also, do you really think a tester (who probably opens 15 bonnets a day) doesn’t know how to open a bonnet on a common car?

Exactly my point

He didn't open it a particular way, the way the OP opens it

OP should get legal advice, not here

Yeah, to my mind you cant pull the release lever in a Passat with the door shut, with the door open the handle is nearly fully extended before it pops open.

Not being too crass here OP but is anything actually wrong? You pull the handle and it opens. If the handle was functional, he wouldnt have had to pull it too hard and wouldnt have damaged it. If he opened the bonnet, the release must have worked, so it's probably ok?

Or are you saying he pulled it far too hard on the first pull and wrecked it?

Id say the only way you'll get anywhere with this is if you get it in writing from a main dealer or the likes that the handle is damaged from user error. Not a generic quote to repair, but a statement assigning blame.

The lever still manages to open the bonnet, so technically yes it works, but the lever is now very loose and has been weakened. I don't pretend to be the only person who knows how my car works but I do know the lever is not as it was beforehand.

You don't have a leg to stand on. Give it up. Might not be what you want to here, but you will not win. :p

Thanks everyone for your advice and opinions (except Joe Duffy, the NCT guy and Maria Bailey... would ye ever put the drink down and get off that swing!) 🀣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

These people are trained to a high standard

That wasn't my experience before Christmas :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Love the way the nct replied with a lie about not having cctv. Says alot about their credibility from the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

To be fair, they're hardly going to hand out their own CCTV footage of themselves to possibly incriminate themselves.

Yeah sure the CCTV will clearly show them hooking the rope onto the bonnet lever and launching the Massey Ferguson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

things break when they are used mostly. The handle broke when they pulled it rather than you, luck of the draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,083 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

ah jaysus

on one thread, I'm being accused of being Joe Duffy

On another thread I'm being accused of being Maria Bailey

On this thread "m being accused of working for the NCT

So to sum it all up you're generally accused of being unhelpful?

Seems about right.

Also, do you really think a tester (who probably opens 15 bonnets a day) doesn’t know how to open a bonnet on a common car? Do you think they thought you could open it from outside the car without a key or by just randomly pulling at it?

Also keep in mind, the garage that quoted you €150 haven’t even seen the car. I honestly think you’re way off with this.

If they had to get someone over to help them I’m going to hazard a guess that they didn’t know.

More likely the bonnet wasn’t forthcoming the first time, so they pushed down on, or pulled up the bonnet and pulled the lever at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Isnt there a disclaimer you signed that stated they arent responsible for damage?
    I think that's more to do with damage which may occur while they are doing normal routine engine checks - e.g. something bursting when they rev the engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Also, do you really think a tester (who probably opens 15 bonnets a day) doesn’t know how to open a bonnet on a common car?

Well one didn't know how to adjust my driver's seat. They broke the handle off and threw it on the back seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

To be fair, they're hardly going to hand out their own CCTV footage of themselves to possibly incriminate themselves.

But they would if it showed they did nothing wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,583 ✭✭✭greasepalm

We are well used to dry bonnet locks not getting lubed and becoming stiff and hard to open with vws,and if car got a bang on the front is something out of alignment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Fix it yourself

Unlikely yes, but possible of course. We hear all the time on the news about doctors making mistakes. Training or qualifications don't eliminate mistake.

All I could say to this is that there was clearly a problem, since he had to call a second tester over to help. Could be his first day on the job.

Certainly possible to bend or break a plastic lever by pulling it too hard. Unlikely of course, but possible.

On my car, if the both bonnet catches aren't fully locked, pulling the lever doesn't have that clicking feel to it, so I can see how someone could just keep pulling expecting to feel it click.

Is the lever broken or is the cable just stretched/acting normally?
    Is there a chance it’s actually been broken all this time (cable end not seated correctly in the catch) and has now fixed itself? Compare with other Passats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Is the lever broken or is the cable just stretched/acting normally?
    Is there a chance it’s actually been broken all this time (cable end not seated correctly in the catch) and has now fixed itself?

Most likely stretched is my guess. In any case, €150 is very steep for what may just be an adjustment.

What the OP describes the catch is like now is normal though. That’s the confusing thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

It's a VW Passat estate and you could definitely pull the release lever while the door is closed. The lever has a lot of play in it. Garage said the lug and cable will need to be replaced.

VW Passat is the same as a Skoda if I recall, you aren't meant to open it without opening the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

trained to a high standard ,
    ha ha ha ha

now dats funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

DaDumTish wrote: »
    trained to a high standard ,
    ha ha ha ha

now dats funny

I had an old school 2 door civic failed as he couldn't figure out how to open the boot.
    Some instructions and a few fcuks later and it was passed.
    All a racket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭fitzparker

To be honest whether they broke it or not (which is a good chance) if you saw something out of the normal there and then you should have checked it ASAP and ran a muck, not sure much can be done now after ringing them a while later, you will just get fobbed off.

I had an old school 2 door civic failed as he couldn't figure out how to open the boot.
    Some instructions and a few fcuks later and it was passed.
    All a racket

You could forgive that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭dkd21

Tow wrote: »
    You need to make a format request for the CCTV data. There are examples on the Data Controllers website.

In my personal experience, the front line staff will just make stuff up. Everything has to be a 'Formal Complaint' in writing.

BTW they state they have CCTV here: "Personal Data We collect directly from you" - "Imagery from CCTV Surveillance" https://www.ncts.ie/1180

I believe that would refer to the customer areas of a test centre

A lot centres actually do not have CCTV on the test lanes other than the RSA / AA monitoring cameras which are not used for other than that purpose

greasepalm wrote: »
    We are well used to dry bonnet locks not getting lubed and becoming stiff and hard to open with vws,and if car got a bang on the front is something out of alignment.

This . VW bonnet locks are susceptible to seizing or sticking which usually causes the cable to stretch after getting it to open which has happened to the OP . This would have happened anyway when someone tries to open the bonnet , NCT tester or anybody else..

Same goes for when the latch remains defective after opening the bonnet on these .. It doesn't matter who opens it, it will not close but unfortunately garage people and NCT staff bear the brunt as they are believed to have damaged it :rolleyes:

^^ This happened me test driving an A6 last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

mrcheez wrote: »
    So to sum it all up you're generally accused of being unhelpful?

Seems about right.

In other words a troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

I had a Yaris in for a test a few years ago and the only thing it failed on was a few patches of rust on the panel below the back bumper, the tester took the liberty driving a screwdriver through both patches to make two holes in it. I had to get s new panel as fillers won’t do, it cost €120 and when I tool t back for the visual I had it reversed into a parking space and the tester barely stuck his head around the back of the car and said that’s grand. If I knew that was all he was going to do I could have got fillers for a fraction of the price and the panel has sweet F all to do with the safety of the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

you wouldn't need a new panel, just a patch welded over the holes would do. Filler wouldn't do anyway, even if he hadn't made a hole in it.

Your panel had the strength of cardboard and you’re complaining about the tester?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

No way can you open the Bonnet with the door closed on a VAG Car...

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    I had a Yaris in for a test a few years ago and the only thing it failed on was a few patches of rust on the panel below the back bumper, the tester took the liberty driving a screwdriver through both patches to make two holes in it. I had to get s new panel as fillers won’t do, it cost €120 and when I tool t back for the visual I had it reversed into a parking space and the tester barely stuck his head around the back of the car and said that’s grand. If I knew that was all he was going to do I could have got fillers for a fraction of the price and the panel has sweet F all to do with the safety of the car.

Unfortunately any part of the primary structure of the car with extensive corrosion has to be repaired with new metal welded in . The ''screwdriver'' is a corrosion assessment tool ... . He is only testing the car as to the requirements sought of him by the RSA testing manual and testing standards. If he missed that part of extensive corrosion and the car is pulled for an audit its not good news..

When looking at new repairs it can be quite clear if the repair is done to an acceptable standard to an experienced person ... any sight of fillers or covering is a red flag and they would indeed look closer.

The arguement that a perforated panel has much to do with the safety of the car is up for debate especially something like a boot floor but there has to be a general line drawn somewhere and also a reasonable view as to how fast corrosion can expand in a year between testing

To be fair the metal valance under the Yaris bumper isn’t structural.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

I'd imagine if it was cut off entirely it might have passed.

Same goes for brake disc dust shields they are a fail if rotten but if they're gone altogether it's fine.

Those brake shields are dangerous if they’re hanging off.

I dont know the part exactly in question but I would be thinking any part in that area is within the crash absorbtion zone..