Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Occupations that look cool on TV programmes but probably are anything but?

• 18-01-2020 7:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭badabing106

Detectives

Cruising around with your best buddy in a cool car, smoking and drinking on the job, getting into bar fights to let off steam,college girls calling over late at night for booty calls. Following interesting leads, solving the case and gaining notoriety and adoration in the papers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Plumber

Never get as much sex as the films would have you believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭badabing106

Spys

Cruising around in a cool car, smoking and drinking on the job, getting into bar fights to let off steam,Glamourous girls calling over late at night for booty calls. Following interesting leads, solving the case, killing people for fun and saving the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Plumber

You're obviously not finding the right wet patch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,619 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Fixing cars for Mike Brewer... I'd say he's an annoying basturd...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Hackers. Going around breaking into government systems and stopping the bad guys.

The reality is probably a disgustingly overweight man with halitosis, BO, and severe adult acne sitting in some grotty bedroom trying to break into the facebook account of a girl he spotted in the shop, and now has a dangerous obsession with.

Hackers. Going around breaking into government systems and stopping the bad guys.

The reality is probably a disgustingly overweight man with halitosis, BO, and severe adult acne sitting in some grotty bedroom trying to break into the facebook account of a girl he spotted in the shop, and now has a dangerous obsession with.

I wouldn't call myself disgustingly over weight. I do have adult acne though.

I go to work in a suit and have pen tested major organisations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

ambulance person, emergency room doctor, emergency room nurse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

Mine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Gangster.
    Tends to be glamorized but they usually end up dead or in jail.

It a function of TV architects are alway grand designs Dermot Bannon or involved in some even more high-end concept they are never shown going through a catalog of door handle designs for a bog-standard office block.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭SchrodingersCat

International sales/business person.
    You imagine a George Clooney type charter seducing a bombshell in 1st class on a plane after making the "big deal" in some tropical paradise.

In reality its drinking alone in a budget hotel room watching porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Tuff Gong

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Mechanic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Wesser wrote: »

Never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Being in a rock band is a lot less glamorous than it looks. With the exception of those at the very top, 90% of its a grind, and even those at the top served their time in their youth, in most cases. The reason a high % of musicians turn to drugs and booze isn't due to their out of control egos in most cases (though, granted some of them DO have out of control egos), it's due to pressure of work.

People slag off the likes of Bono and U2, sometimes justifiably, but at the start of their career they were slogging up and down motorways in a van, to be greeted at the end the day by an audience of a dozen. On a good night. And most of the dozen would probably boo them. Same for any other big band at the start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Vet, while the deaths are shown it's still portrayed as noble and worthy with heroic effort and a grateful public to boost the ego. I imagine it is much more grim and wearing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Forensics. Looks class but is probably awful most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Regional Manager of a medium sized Paper Merchant

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

MLA

the image is doing democracy for your voters in the Northern Ireland Assembly

the reality is three years sitting on your arse while still getting a salary of at least £48,000 AND expenses average £62,898 last year

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Vet,

“When a human doctor, after much bleeding and cupping, finds that a patient has died out of sheer desperation, he can always say, "Dear me, will of the gods, that will be thirty dollars please," and walk away a free man. This is because human beings are not, technically, worth anything. A good racehorse, on the other hand, may be worth twenty thousand dollars. A doctor who lets one hurry off too soon to that great paddock in the sky may well expect to hear, out of some dark alley, a voice saying something on the lines of "Mr. Chrysoprase is very upset," and find the brief remainder of his life full of incident.”

― Terry Pratchett, Feet of Clay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Airline Pilot. Maybe at one time it was cool but not now. Sure some get to fly state of the art planes but its a dangerous occupation and is stressfull too especially if you are a pilot for an airline like Ryanair or Easyjet as they have to turn around and be back in the air very quick and even if a pilt does stay somewhere overnight its normally some nasty cheap hotel and they don't get enough sleep.

Doctors. Sure they know a lot about the human anotomy but not everything and it also comes with a lot of respnsibility and pressure too.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Forensics. Looks class but is probably awful most of the time.

Id say there's no fancy tech being run every 5 mins and see through screens and whathaveyou

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

bluewolf wrote: »
    Id say there's no fancy tech being run every 5 mins and see through screens and whathaveyou
    And I'd say it's seriously tedious and dragging.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

AMKC wrote: »
    Airline Pilot. Maybe at one time it was cool but not now. Sure some get to fly state of the art planes but its a dangerous occupation and is stressfull too especially if you are a pilot for an airline like Ryanair or Easyjet as they have to turn around and be back in the air very quick and even if a pilt does stay somewhere overnight its normally some nasty cheap hotel and they don't get enough sleep.

Doctors. Sure they know a lot about the human anotomy but not everything and it also comes with a lot of respnsibility and pressure too.
    I've rellies on one side of the family who had a few pilots(airline and a couple of military who went on to airline) in the mix. For the older ones who were plying their trade in the 50's/60's and 70's it did seem very glam alright and the pay was bloody good. The younger ones seem to have inherited a much slimmed down and much less glam and well paid profession. Though they all still love the flying. Of the much older ones, now all singing in the choir eternal, who were in military in WW2 and later it seemed exciting, but the risk of fiery death kinda takes the edge off that I'd imagine.

On another side of the family there are a few doctors(hospital based and consultants) and it always seemed to me to be a very hard slog for years with near constant training. A labour of love. The pay was good after a few years, but they worked bloody hard for the money. Glamorous it was not from what I could tell. Never mind the brains involved no way could I do it emotionally.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Wesser wrote: »
    Vet, while the deaths are shown it's still portrayed as noble and worthy with heroic effort and a grateful public to boost the ego. I imagine it is much more grim and wearing.

All of these would seem far less glamorous if we had perfected the technology of Smell-o-vision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Oops!

Fire Brigade... Some of the stuff they have to deal with is horrendous... Gardai too, wouldn't do either job for any amount of money.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Pathology, the post mortem type. Glammed up in TV series with cosy chats with detectives over a corpse, but a cold crime scene or morgue with the grim reality of decomposition wouldn't be for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Jockeys

Driving long distances to get to the races.
    Then being expected to produce miracles with some useless tin of dog food.
    Followed by giving an upbeat explanation to owners that the distance, the soft ground, the draw and other factors conspired to get you beat - other factors to include better horses.
    Start the day starving. Eat nothing. Lose five pounds in the sauna.
    Every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

tdf7187 wrote: »
    People slag off the likes of Bono and U2, sometimes justifiably, but at the start of their career they were slogging up and down motorways in a van, to be greeted at the end the day by an audience of a dozen. On a good night. And most of the dozen would probably boo them. Same for any other big band at the start.

Pity they didn't take the boos to heart and give up...
    Pathology, the post mortem type. Glammed up in TV series with cosy chats with detectives over a corpse, but a cold crime scene or morgue with the grim reality of decomposition wouldn't be for me.

Yeah, performing a post mortem is far from glamorous. I was invited to one once, said feck it, let's give it a go. I nearly gagged when the skin on the top of the head was cut and folded over the face. I just about managed to stay while the sound of the saw was making it's way around said dead persons skull, but the sound of the skull being removed was enough for me. Left then. Not a nice job imo. Only certain people can do it. Walked in another day and the "Y" had been performed on someone and all their organs were gone, just an empty meat shell with some bone...

Game Dev: Sounds like a great occupation, making games for a living and being a gamer it sounds like a dream job. But in reality, it's far from, lots of hard monotonous work, long hours, the 'crunch' before release...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭voldejoie

The legal profession.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

naked cleaner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Forensics. The results can I’m sure sometimes be exhilarating but the actual job can be pretty repetitive and dull. I held a science position that wasn’t forensics but still had a bit of surface cachet due to what we were working with and the high containment level we were working at and it was often mind-numbingly tedious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Being Jessica Fletcher.
    Everybody I'd go for dinner with, would end up dead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Neames

BarMan

I watched the film Cocktail and then became a barman

It wasn't like the film at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Being Jessica Fletcher.
    Everybody I'd go for dinner with, would end up dead!

Or imagine if you lived in the little town of Midsomer!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,999 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Or imagine if you lived in the little town of Midsomer!

It's actually Midsomer County :)
    Confusion is that it has lots of little towns called Midsomer this and Midsomer that.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fireball81

Fluffer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Indeed, and the method of guessing the password wouldn't exactly be sophisticated either, random guessing of cute girly names in between him knocking one off to dodgy young Japanese manga porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

AMKC wrote: »

dangerous ? how so ?