Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I mad! New car required

• 16-01-2020 11:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭

looking at a purchase to get out of a small hole!

Wife has taken 12 month career break to look after one of our kids thats going through a few things at the moment
    Wife currently has an 07 Audi A3 Automatic thats almost on its last legs (requires about €1500 to do some work on it)

We need / would like to get a 7 seater run about that would do for 12-18 months as we have 2 young kids (6 and 8) and a college going daughter that currently is not driving. Also we would regularly have mother in law with us and she also doesn't drive
    Would really like to have Automatic as my main car is Auto as well

Typical journeys are around the local town / school drops and probably 2 trips a week to the city (40km round trip mixed motorway and main roads etc). I may even take the car to work a day a week which is about 30km round trip

Long story short - am I mad to be looking at this https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/chevrolet-captiva-2-0-lt-vcdi-awd-auto-l-5dr-aut/23753162

Budget approx 5K

Any advice appriciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

Wife has taken 12 month career break to look after one of our kids thats going through a few things at the moment
    Wife currently has an 07 Audi A3 Automatic thats almost on its last legs (requires about €1500 to do some work on it)

We need / would like to get a 7 seater run about that would do for 12-18 months as we have 2 young kids (6 and 8) and a college going daughter that currently is not driving. Also we would regularly have mother in law with us and she also doesn't drive

Typical journeys are around the local town / school drops and probably 2 trips a week to the city (40km round trip mixed motorway and main roads etc). I may even take the car to work a day a week which is about 30km round trip

Long story short - am I mad to be looking at this https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/chevrolet-captiva-2-0-lt-vcdi-awd-auto-l-5dr-aut/23753162

Any advice appriciated

Captiva is often referred as craptiva... Yes, you'd be mad.

131+ C4 Grand Picasso would be my pick, with 2,0 diesel they did get a very good automatic gearbox. Same gearbox in 1.6 diesels, but only from 152 registrationz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭BionicRasher

grogi wrote: »
    Captiva is often referred as craptiva... Yes, you'd be mad.

131+ C4 Grand Picasso would be my pick, with 2,0 diesel they did get a very good automatic gearbox. Same gearbox in 1.6 diesels, but only from 152 registrationz.

Sorry - forgot to mention - budget would be around 5k

We had a Grand Picasso (admittedly an older one 08) and it gave endless trouble. We ended up having to sell it quick.
    Also a good friend is now on her 3rd Picasso after the first 2 gave up the ghost and they are 2018 and 2019 models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭2011abc

Heck no way !

2011abc wrote: »
    Heck no way !

Heck no way that I am mad or heck no way should I look to buy it ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭KrakityJones

Have you looked at volve xc90s? Very high tax but because of that you'd pick one up sub 3k, still within budget with tax added for the time you want it.

7 decent sized seats and a comfy (but big) yoke to cruise around in. Fairly reliable too (just do the usual checks I guess and watch that the autobox isn't shagged)

Eg https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-volvo-xc90-7-seater/23801316

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Notch000

Budget approx 5K

Any advice appriciated

check what the tax is on this beast, not stated is not a good start !@!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

Have you looked at volve xc90s? Very high tax but because of that you'd pick one up sub 3k, still within budget with tax added for the time you want it.

7 decent sized seats and a comfy (but big) yoke to cruise around in. Fairly reliable too (just do the usual checks I guess and watch that the autobox isn't shagged)

Eg https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-volvo-xc90-7-seater/23801316

Buying an older Xc90 is only your first downpayment really. They are serious machines and cost serious money to maintain.

OP would you consider a qashqai +2? Would get a 2010 for around your budget with 7 seats and the 1.5 diesel is reliable if underpowered. No automatic though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭2011abc

Mad to buy it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

OP, do you realize that Craptiva costs €1200 to tax per year? It's probably one of the reasons the reg is covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭almostover

This Touran looks clean, has some tax and NCT too. No point in spending €5k when 17-18 hundred could get you one of these. Just check the timing chain has been done and if not, haggle accordingly.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-touran-7-seater/23942404

Plenty of mileage on this but for 12-18 months that wouldn't matter much. Seems clean and well minded. https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-ford-galaxy-gia-automatic/23661581

If you value reliability this one owner toyota would suit.
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-2008-autonct-08-20tax-d7-seater/23331755

Older tdi sharan in good condition with upgraded alloys. The engine in these is very reliable if serviced properly. https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-sharan/23730337

2 petrol, 2 diesel there for you. Try and get a nice bit off the asking price. You're operating in a niche market with your requirements and cars of this type can be difficult to sell given that they tend to have higher tax and irish people can have a weird phobia about driving automatics!

almostover wrote: »
    This Touran looks clean, has some tax and NCT too. No point in spending €5k when 17-18 hundred could get you one of these. Just check the timing chain has been done and if not, haggle accordingly.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-touran-7-seater/23942404

Plenty of mileage on this but for 12-18 months that wouldn't matter much. Seems clean and well minded. https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-ford-galaxy-gia-automatic/23661581

If you value reliability this one owner toyota would suit.
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-2008-autonct-08-20tax-d7-seater/23331755

Older tdi sharan in good condition with upgraded alloys. The engine in these is very reliable if serviced properly. https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-sharan/23730337

2 petrol, 2 diesel there for you. Try and get a nice bit off the asking price. You're operating in a niche market with your requirements and cars of this type can be difficult to sell given that they tend to have higher tax and irish people can have a weird phobia about driving automatics!

Excellent information thank you for your time and detailed response. Certainly given me a few options that seems to fit the bill

I am thinking that we should look at the petrol options as we have had a lot bad luck with DPF issues in the past

Anything that we should be wary of on an older petrol car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That Sharan price is off the wall for a 2006

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

colm_mcm wrote: »

The wheels would put me off as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭mycro2013

A Petrol Corolla verso would be hard to beat. Although good offerings are slim on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Honda Stream, might suit op

Excellent information thank you for your time and detailed response. Certainly given me a few options that seems to fit the bill

I am thinking that we should look at the petrol options as we have had a lot bad luck with DPF issues in the past

Anything that we should be wary of on an older petrol car?

Nothing specific to be wary about just look for the same things as one would do on any used car. The Touran that I linked alright would have the 1.4 tsi engine which can have trouble with the timing chain. Listen when starting up for rattle from that. The Corolla Verso should be a bomb proof car from a mechanical reliability perspective but they are on the small side for a 7 seater. Petrol is probably the best way to go unless you're travelling 20k miles or more per year.

colm_mcm wrote: »

One to keep an eye on, it appears to be in great nick and a high spec. Once the seller has had it a long time without a sale they might realise that €1k less than what they're asking for it is all they might get for it, and that's at a push!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

One to keep an eye on, it appears to be in great nick and a high spec. Once the seller has had it a long time without a sale they might realise that €1k less than what they're asking for it is all they might get for it, and that's at a push!

I get the opposite impression from the advert description - "no silly offers" and "final price drop", that tells me that your wasting your time with someone living in denial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

bazz26 wrote: »
    I get the opposite impression from the advert description - "no silly offers" and "final price drop", that tells me that your wasting your time with someone living in denial.

If you look at his other two ads he seems to have price dropped everything he has.

Definitely in denial lol

So back again looking at the options. We hope to be able to get the funds together by mid week and wondering if the Toyota is the best option. It's a long drive for us to go look at as we are in Cork.
    I think these have a timing chain and wondering if that needs to be changed at the milage on the car.
    Anything else I should be asking the dealership about?
    I am going to try to get a few quid off the offer price and we will see if they have any interest in our Audi A4 as trade in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭mycro2013

So back again looking at the options. We hope to be able to get the funds together by mid week and wondering if the Toyota is the best option. It's a long drive for us to go look at as we are in Cork.
    I think these have a timing chain and wondering if that needs to be changed at the milage on the car.
    Anything else I should be asking the dealership about?
    I am going to try to get a few quid off the offer price and we will see if they have any interest in our Audi A4 as trade in

This one is back in millstreet, I have no affiliation with the garage.
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-verso-7-seater-cork/21992167?campaign=6

mycro2013 wrote: »
    This one is back in millstreet, I have no affiliation with the garage.
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-verso-7-seater-cork/21992167?campaign=6

My homemplace is only over the road from his garage, he is a genuine small used car dealer who specialises in toyotas. Mostly imports from the UK but that is an Irish car. Should be genuine but as with any used car check it out thoroughly before committing to purchase.

Good spot. However we are keen to get an automatic

Will call the guy in Louth tomorrow and see what he says

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/quick-sale-honda-frv/24097846

Something like this auto petrol honda frv might suit they're a 6 seater and generally very reliable.

This particular one has had a change of owner in December so that's a bit of a red flag but it may just have been for tax reasons.

At your budget auto 7 seater and diesel will be tricky criteria to meet. Lots of potential candidates will be fraught with reliability issues relating either to the engine or autobox.

As posted above by grogi if going for a Peugeot or Citroen the 2.0hdi is the engine to go for.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/quick-sale-honda-frv/24097846

Something like this auto petrol honda frv might suit they're a 6 seater and generally very reliable.

This particular one has had a change of owner in December so that's a bit of a red flag but it may just have been for tax reasons.

At your budget auto 7 seater and diesel will be tricky criteria to meet. Lots of potential candidates will be fraught with reliability issues relating either to the engine or autobox.

As posted above by grogi if going for a Peugeot or Citroen the 2.0hdi is the engine to go for.

Thanks for the option.
    Just to clarify

We would probably prefer petrol as don't do big mileage and have had a bad experience with DPF and Turbo issues on a Citroen so won't be going anywhere near them again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mazda-premacy-2-0-skyactiv-g-automatic-7-seater-/21914948

Something like this maybe?

Mazda petrols are generally quite reliable. It's pretty dear for a 07 though.

Serious lack of any auto petrol 7 seaters in budget on done deal op. All of these cars are going to be pretty severe on petrol too.

If ye didn't really need the space ye'd be ideal candidates for a prius

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mazda-premacy-2-0-skyactiv-g-automatic-7-seater-/21914948

Something like this maybe?

Mazda petrols are generally quite reliable. It's pretty dear for a 07 though.

Serious lack of any auto petrol 7 seaters in budget on done deal op. All of these cars are going to be pretty severe on petrol too.

If ye didn't really need the space ye'd be ideal candidates for a prius

Our main car is a Prius (2012) :D
    Have had it for 4 years and its great. However its a squeeze to fit 3 adults and 2 kids with booster seats so hence the search for a 7 seater (as some days we have 4 adults!)
    It will just do short trips here and there while my wife is on a career break for 12 months.
    Niche market but hopefully we will get sorted soon for something decent