Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Further Tractor Protests This Week

• 13-01-2020 6:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭

Haven’t heard much on this, is it going ahead?
    Midwest Radio :

Farmers from across the West will make their way to Dublin again next Wednesday for a tractor protest in the city centre.

Individual farmers are taking the action to again highlight the poor prices being paid for beef, compared to prices in the UK, and say enough progress is not being made at the Beef Task Force meetings.

The tractor protest will get underway at 2pm on Wednesday in Merrion Square, and is being supported by a number of farming organisations.

Ballyhaunis-based farmer Enda Lyons says that this protest will be bigger than the one that brought traffic to a standstill in Dublin before Christmas, with over 400 farmers expected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Haven’t heard much on this, is it going ahead?
    Midwest Radio :

Farmers from across the West will make their way to Dublin again next Wednesday for a tractor protest in the city centre.

Individual farmers are taking the action to again highlight the poor prices being paid for beef, compared to prices in the UK, and say enough progress is not being made at the Beef Task Force meetings.

The tractor protest will get underway at 2pm on Wednesday in Merrion Square, and is being supported by a number of farming organisations.

Ballyhaunis-based farmer Enda Lyons says that this protest will be bigger than the one that brought traffic to a standstill in Dublin before Christmas, with over 400 farmers expected

RTE is expecting Leo to dissolve the dail on Wednesday so there's likely to be no one at home in the Dail on Wed/Thurs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

wrangler wrote: »
    RTE is expecting Leo to dissolve the dail on Wednesday so there's likely to be no one at home in the Dail on Wed/Thurs

Ah feck, I hoped no one would tell them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭toleratethis

wrangler wrote: »

It'll save Charlie calling out the RIC to quash the peasants I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

If the Dail is dissolved today and not sitting tomorrow during the protest.

Is there any point going and just inconveniencing ordinary punters ??

Outside the “yellow vest” types is there any public support for choking up the capital ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Good loser

Repeating the same mistake over and over - the definition of ma*ness!

_Brian wrote: »
    If the Dail is dissolved today and not sitting tomorrow during the protest.

Is there any point going and just inconveniencing ordinary punters ??

Outside the “yellow vest” types is there any public support for choking up the capital ??

Factories are probably delighted that they are blocking Dublin rather than their gates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

No point driving tractors to the Dail tomorrow, there will be no one there now..

In fairness Leo has pulled a master stroke on this.

Dail will be empty tomorrow so the tractorcade will be to nothing.

Better than that it will inconvenience ordinary punters and damage the reputation of farming communities round the country, because with no government sitting why go there and protest.

The protest is dead and meaningless before the first tractor is even started. Leo wins this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I think you are being a bit flattering there Brian that that even came into his thinking.
    It is very convenient however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Jb1989

I think you are being a bit flattering there Brian that that even came into his thinking.
    It is very convenient however.

Yea, I'm sure the health service slander was more on Leo's mind to dodge, than farmers slowing traffic.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

In fairness Leo has pulled a master stroke on this.

Dail will be empty tomorrow so the tractorcade will be to nothing.

Better than that it will inconvenience ordinary punters and damage the reputation of farming communities round the country, because with no government sitting why go there and protest.

The protest is dead and meaningless before the first tractor is even started. Leo wins this time.

Do you really think leo said"if i dissolve the dail ill avoid the tractor proteat".didnt cross his mind for one second

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

I’m assuming this has been called off? Madness to grind the city to a halt when there aren’t even any TD’s or Ministers in their offices. Efforts better placed in individual constituencies at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Yeah. I like seeing them protest in the capital. Frees up some streets so it's nicer to walk and cycle on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I’m assuming this has been called off? Madness to grind the city to a halt when there aren’t even any TD’s or Ministers in their offices. Efforts better placed in individual constituencies at this stage.
    Apparently it is still going ahead.
    https://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/tractor-protest-dublin/23928618
    https://www.joe.ie/news/gardai-issue-warning-ahead-large-scale-protest-dublin-wednesday-morning-690928?fbclid=IwAR1jj_sLUZc6jCF-TpyFC2BZqG6Is8BCHtKTIRKVhj1pdcL8URq2FPgjaf0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

https://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/tractor-protest-dublin/23928618

What language is this ad written in? Serious question. Also what do they hope to achieve?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Farmer_3650

Tractors gone up from the west tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭dohc turbo2

Tractors gone up from the west tonight

Who is organising it , makes no sense with no dail , only pising off the public when you want there support

I agree with ya waste of time going up but I think the eu commissioner is there today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

On newstalk now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭funkyouup

His "civic right to do so" just listening to that now and hes thinks its his civic right to block up the city with tractors, absolute pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,124 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

funkyouup wrote: »
    His "civic right to do so" just listening to that now and hes thinks its his civic right to block up the city with tractors, absolute pricks.

Don't think that's a fair comment to make. The organisers of this protest notified all relevant authorities well in advance so they would cause minimal disruption to people getting to work. This allowed gardai to have streets blocked in advance too. The same cant be said about alot of protests such as the water charges protests for example, where roads were blocked and cars not let out, with no warning or proper planning.

Don't think that's a fair comment to make.

Whats not fair about it?, it was what he said.
    And arent they wonderful for letting the Gardai know in advance so as to cause minimal disruption blocking up the middle of Dublin with 60 tractors for 24 hours in the middle of the week:rolleyes:

Whats not fair about it?, it was what he said.
    And arent they wonderful for letting the Gardai know in advance so as to cause minimal disruption blocking up the middle of Dublin with 60 tractors for 24 hours in the middle of the week:rolleyes:

There's 5 streets blocked not the full city. Public transport is not being blocked. Not like people cant get into the city and get to work. Any delays caused are unfortunate but people knew about this protest well in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭gerryirl

when you open your fridge every day try to remember,Its them "absolute pricks" that produced alot of what you have in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

The biggest stupidest tractor run in Ireland. A day out for wildcat gob****es with an agenda so diverse that they would remind you of the people’s front of judea and the judean people’s front from the life of brian

Looks like the fci are hijacking these protests to highlight the carbon tax on contractors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭Grueller

K.G. wrote: »
    Looks like the fci are hijacking these protests to highlight the carbon tax contractors will pass on to farmers

Finished you post there for you K.G

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭richie123

Beef farmers are their own worst enemy.we keep producing something that is practically worthless,and we keep doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭valtra2

Never heard anything about this today.

richie123 wrote: »
    Beef farmers are their own worst enemy.we keep producing something that is practically worthless,and we keep doing it.

Any ideas for alternative produce though

gerryirl wrote: »
    when you open your fridge every day try to remember,Its them "absolute pricks" that produced alot of what you have in it

I dont see that myself, but im not seeing that protest as a representation of irish farmers as a whole, just a very small number with tractors big enough to block a road when ever the mood takes them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Today’s protest not getting too favourable of a feedback from ‘The Tonight Show’......Ivan Yates emphasising the fact that it was a ‘wildcat action’.

Ivan is a wind up merchant, a chip on his shoulder because of his own failures

Any ideas for alternative produce though

Swallow the pride lease the farm and get a job.give your head a break
    from banging a wall..I've yet to listen to my own advice unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭valtra2

Swallow the pride lease the farm and get a job.give your head a break
    from banging a wall..I've yet to listen to my own advice unfortunately.

Unfortunately this is the best advice going and also I have yet to listen to it. Another year of this and I will seriously consider it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭Allinall

Lease the farm to who, exactly?

Allinall wrote: »

There seems to be an ever lasting list of lads waiting to lease land and pay more than sucklers farming does.

If one was looking at income alone it’s the sensible solution. You could stack shelves in Tesco or Aldi amd rent the land, much better income level regular hours etc.

Allinall wrote: »

Dairy men most likely.only show in town for the last 30 year.

Do lads that organised this tractor thing realise just how badly yhey have played their hand.they are just showing politicans just how little support they have.its the same fellas just more brought their tractors this time.would it have a better strategy to field candidates in the general election to use the momentum of the factory protests to get a few extra votes.not that i think they would get elected but a 1000 votes would really pressurize the other candidates to get elected and would be a show of power.theres lots of people wouldnt travel to Dublin but would give a old scratch in an election

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Do lads that organised this tractor thing realise just how badly yhey have played their hand.they are just showing politicans just how little support they have.its the same fellas just more brought their tractors this time.would it have a better strategy to field candidates in the general election to use the momentum of the factory protests to get a few extra votes.not that i think they would get elected but a 1000 votes would really pressurize the other candidates to get elected and would be a show of power.theres lots of people wouldnt travel to Dublin but would give a old scratch in an election

If two fellas say ran in creeds area and done a deal for no transfers to him would put him under pressure to get re-elected, the same could be said for Doyle in Wicklow and deering in Carlow and boxer Moran who propped up the government. Would be better than above in Dublin sleeping in tractors and upsetting the buyers of beef.

You got to hit them all because no one knows whos going to be in next and in what job

What would that achieve?there's far too much beef being produced fullstop.factories will not be forced to pay anymore than they need to.changing over 30 month/ movement etc..specifications is like rearranging deck chairs on the Titanic.
    Farmers have more control than they think.
    Stop producing a product that does not cover it's cost.
    Stop blaming everyone else.stop looking for handouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭ruwithme

What would that achieve?there's far too much beef being produced fullstop.factories will not be forced to pay anymore than they need to.changing over 30 month/ movement etc..specifications is like rearranging deck chairs on the Titanic.
    Farmers have more control than they think.
    Stop producing a product that does not cover it's cost.
    Stop blaming everyone else.stop looking for handouts.

Agree. We already have the handouts. some just can't resist reinvesting it in cattle farming

Saw on Twitter there they are en route to Dublin port, what’s the plans when there ??

Slow drive on the M50

any idea how long their on the m50 for?

Jjameson wrote: »
    I agree. when you take out 3000 family owned abattoirs and butchers and gift control of an industry to a cartel of 8 families it’s hard to really know when the the market is at saturation point and poor prices ensue. The answer to poor prices we are educated to believe is higher output and more efficient production.

The opposite may well be the case.

The opposite is most definitely the case ,a decent scarcity is what's going to recover prices.

any idea how long their on the m50 for?

They say they're going to the port for a couple of hours, it might be easier to get them into the port than get them out of it. :rolleyes:
    Damien O reilly on the Journal said that it's like a bad sequel to John Dillons 2003 Tractorcade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭gerryirl

I dont see that myself, but im not seeing that protest as a representation of irish farmers as a whole, just a very small number with tractors big enough to block a road when ever the mood takes them.

you dont see it.. Who produces the food you buy in the shop do you think ?.. the Easter Bunny or a bunch of Fairies.

Every part of society has the right to protest and each and everyone of us has been put out by a strike at some stage id imagine, but most of us get on with it and realise they are not striking because they want too so the "mood" as you put it did not take these farmers. They all didnt get up someday and think you know what 'Ill drive to Dublin in my tractor and block a road just because I can. They did it for a reason and a bloody good one at that. If you went to work and come every friday you expect a few pound to be put in the bank for you and every friday you go and theres not much in it. Would you do nothing ?. Its a similar thing here. Farmers are producing food at below the cost of production.

Yes rant and rave about big tractors but again farmers buy the size of tractor their farm requires so if its big/ small its whatever it is , Its not like buying a car for the sake of it. I have a 100hp tractor cause it does what I need it to do . My contractor has a 200 hp . again becasue that does what he needs it to do

So maybe before you come on a public forum and call people pricks, educate yourself on the whole story first