Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Portrait of Michael Collins in Varadkar's office

• 08-01-2020 2:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭

The recent controversy brought to public consciousness the views of Charlie Flanagan that the RIC/DMP killed in the War of Independence were murdered. This means that he does not view the War of Independence as a legitimate conflict.

At the same time Varadkar has a portrait of Michael Collins in his office, obviously claiming a founding link for FG. Varadkar backed Flanagan several times over the now deferred event. Should Varadkar remove the portrait of Collins as Collins was one of the chief architects of the war on British intelligence and the RIC/DMP?

It is hypocritical for FG to claim this link to Collins when a former Taoiseach and the current Minister for Justice obviously oppose Collins views.

FG hypocrisy on Collins: remove the portrait from Varadkar's office. 44 votes

Portrait of Collins should not be displayed by Varadkar due to their hypocrisy
    0%
    Portrait of Collins should be left on display
    100%
    The_Conductorkenmcbad2daboneInfinidavyccxtal191arybvtcw0eolkfArthur DaleykingchessBurgolmimmfnjackhammerjustshanegerrybbaddHead_HunterTockmangolfball37moomanvan_beanoweldoninhio 44 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Not to be too cynical but don't you think the leader of FG would have that portrait in their office regardless of their personal feelings about the Big Fella ?
    It's probably just purely be for optics. But also he could be a massive fan, I cant read his mind.

Michael Collins would puke on the likes of Varadkar & Flanagan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Pretty sure that portrait is in the Taoiseach's office, whoever is in the seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Pretty sure that portrait is in the Taoiseach's office, whoever is in the seat.

No. Ahern had Pearse

Is it because Varadkar isn't "woke" enough for your "koolkidz" standard OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

He probably wants to replace it with Angela Merkel or Obama.

Nationalism is bad in the world of Leo Varadkar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭Winning_Stroke

I imagine that Leo would prefer to have a portrait of himself up there, for him to admire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

Is it because Varadkar isn't "woke" enough for your "koolkidz" standard OP?

The reasoning is at the start of the thread. Back to trolling 101 with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

why does anyone care if they commemorate these people anyway? leave them at it if they want, jasus

Cool. Thanks bro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Nationalism is bad in the world of Leo Varadkar.

It's bad in the world of people far smarter than Leo

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I would think a portrait of the Iron Lady champion of free market ideology and privatisation of public services, Margaret Thatcher, would be much more apt in Leo's case...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

A non issue in my opinion. People love to be offended these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Particularly busy day in the anger pits of the online outrage mines. Lots of aimless frustration being expressed on the internet. Tremendous waste of time of course, but it seems to get some people through the day.

why does anyone care if they commemorate these people anyway? leave them at it if they want, jasus

Yeah I do care that these clowns want to honour the black and tans in my name. No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,811 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

WrenBoy wrote: »
    Yeah I do care that these clowns want to honour the black and tans in my name. No thanks.

Where did they use your name?

Leo could have a Pirelli calender hanging up for all I care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I imagine that Leo would prefer to have a portrait of himself up there, for him to admire.

Nope.

It would have to be Kylie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,216 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

If it's to be removed he'd probably have to hire a team that would cost €100,000's to remove it and another one to commission a new portrait.
    I think there's an election coming up tough!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

These Varadkar bashing threads have become really tedious.

Very lazy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

If it's to be removed he'd probably have to hire a team that would cost €100,000's to remove it and another one to commission a new portrait.

Your jokes are stale like your popcorn...... I'll get my coat, I was leaving anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Rest assured brother.

recyclebin wrote: »
    Your jokes are stale like your popcorn...... I'll get my coat, I was leaving anyway.

Don't you dare accuse me of joking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,207 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

A non issue in my opinion. People love to be offended these days.

Only care about the things I care about? Is that jist of what youse are saying?

If you don't care, don't click into the thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

Lest ye forget, this is the true origins of Fine Gael

CDoCZzQWgActMz1.jpg

FT5S%20Blueshirt%20group%20hands%20salut.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Dr. Colossus

Justin Trudeau ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭golfball37

Michael Collins was dead a full decade before there was FG. Interestingly however on the FG website their first ever leader and co-founder is not mentioned anywhere in the party history section.

Make of that what you may.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    These Varadkar bashing threads have become really tedious.

Very lazy stuff.

Varadkar is a sh*te Taoiseach who had the good fortune to inherit his seal of office when the economy was on the mend.

Bratty, aloof, no answers for chronic issues in housing and health, no leadership or vision and terribly terribly fond of himself. Bring on the election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

I thing the 2020s will be know as the decade of the "offended Republican".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Michael Collins would puke on the likes of Varadkar & Flanagan.

The party and ethos of Fine Gael in general TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭hawkwing

or Kylie Minogue

I thing the 2020s will be know as the decade of the "offended Republican".

Every fücker is offended these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Only care about the things I care about? Is that jist of what youse are saying?

If you don't care, don't click into the thread?

Not at all. I just think getting worked up over something like this is silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭Qrt

I swear I saw a picture of him in his office with Thatcher in the background...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Are we sure it was Michael Collins?
    I thought it was Liam Neeson dressed as Michael Collins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Marcos

QFT

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

Qrt wrote: »
    I swear I saw a picture of him in his office with Thatcher in the background...

82751027_898735467189227_7303956714255024128_n.jpg?_nc_cat=108&_nc_ohc=7YptPF_eYCMAQmIzg-BZSPqCd9TY9s10OjpFgmoaffWMDYs9OJiYLupgw&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub2-1.fna&oh=cf482d88b088bf8af7befa164adb764d&oe=5E9DC999

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Gawd, what's seen cannot be unseen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Nope.

It would have to be Kylie.

Logged in to post exactly this. Fcuk mr potato head. Another election and another election with nothing but morons running. I really think it’s time to let them have it when they are canvassing, enough so that they will all strongly consider not running for election again, if they deliver the type of failure the current lot have after nearly a decade in power

squawker wrote: »
    Lest ye forget, this is the true origins of Fine Gael

CDoCZzQWgActMz1.jpg

FT5S%20Blueshirt%20group%20hands%20salut.jpg

They bear no resemblence. One party gets nothing done. The other ...

I don’t know if that would fit our the door if they didn’t twist it. Take out the door and someone else stands to make tens of thousands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,209 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Firstly, it’s not Varadker’s office, it’s the Taoiseach’s office in that the current Taoiseach has the use of it as long as they are in office. Same as a doctor has an office in a hospital, as long as they are working there. Fixtures and fittings are fûck all to do with them, get in, use they office as you need... but if you have time to be sitting there, staring at the ceiling, wondering if you need to bin a portrait of one of the founding fathers of this state and independence and someone who literally gave their life so you could sit there.... yes Varadker and your right wing wánkbag FG mates, don’t like the picture ? Forget about the portrait leaving the office... YOU Leave office... sham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Not to be too cynical but don't you think the leader of FG would have that portrait in their office regardless of their personal feelings about the Big Fella ?

Sums it up really.

As the Government of Ireland they represent the people of Ireland in these types of PR exercises, so yes they are doing it in all our name. History won't read Leo and Co. commemorate the b&t's it'll read Ireland commemorates the b&t's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Get a portrait of trump up while they are it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Hypocrite is right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Particularly busy day in the anger pits of the online outrage mines. Lots of aimless frustration being expressed on the internet. Tremendous waste of time of course, but it seems to get some people through the day.

Reads to me like most couldn't give a f*** either way, myself included ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    No. Ahern had Pearse

The man who said the soil of Europe was being enriched by the blood of its youth. He would have made a great minister for agriculture.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Leo is a mighty fine fellow, but I could not at all condone having a portrait of a vicious terrorist like Collins in our Taoiseach's office. It is probably imposed on him by the party.

0/10. Your schtick is all too transparent.

As the Government of Ireland they represent the people of Ireland in these types of PR exercises, so yes they are doing it in all our name. History won't read Leo and Co. commemorate the b&t's it'll read Ireland commemorates the b&t's.

Couldn't give a shiny shyte either way.