Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spying on boy/girlfriend

• 03-01-2020 9:43am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭

Has anyone had an experience with this? One smart techy lad I knew in America got a few months probation for putting a keylogger on his female friends computer when he lived with her and her family. Started flirting with her and "sharing common interests" like music but the stories he told about his life were too similar to hers and she got suspicious.

Took her PC to a computer shop and the IT specialist found a sophisticated keylogger installed and in stealth mode. She went to the police and he got a conviction but no prison time.

Anyone ever heard of these in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Has anyone had an experience with this? One smart techy lad I knew in America got a few months probation for putting a keylogger on his female friends computer when he lived with her and her family. Started flirting with her and "sharing common interests" like music but the stories he told about his life were too similar to hers and she got suspicious.

Took her PC to a computer shop and the IT specialist found a sophisticated keylogger installed and in stealth mode. She went to the police and he got a conviction but no prison time.

Not heard of anything myself but what's above there is stalking and it's creepy af

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

What has the title got to do with the OP?? :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

You can buy them on various hack websites op, I'd try there first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,726 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Sounds like something an autistic type person would think is a good idea. If you could just talk to someone and discover genuine common interests, then that's what you'd do.

Sounds like the behaviour of an oddball and someone who doesn't understand social interactions.

KilOit wrote: »
    You can buy them on various hack websites op, I'd try there first

I’ve heard of a few people using them: I know of a few lads who put one on their bosses pc to get his passwords. When they were on night shifts and no boss around they would log into his pc and read all his emails, go through all documents etc and know everything that was going on.

They still work there so I assume they were never caught, they are possibly still doing it even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

More creepy threads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

God be with the days you could follow them out of the dancehall and watch them in the car with the new boyfriend

Don't Do It OP... or do, who gives a fuk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

That's a sh1t story OP.

Start a new thread with something better. You are are at D+ at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭rapul

Sure there's apps that you can setup on your phone and someone else's and you know exactly where they are all the time, my better half said her exes were all mad for it, my opinion.... MADNESS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,215 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

If you need this app...then you don't need the person... or they don't need you... a relationship is nothing without trust...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

rapul wrote: »
    my better half said her exes were all mad for it

What has that got to do with this story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

That's a sh1t story OP.

Start a new thread

Please don't encourage him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭rapul

PARlance wrote: »
    What has that got to do with this story?

Your oul wan

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

This is the epitomises of incel thinking and behaviour.
    One would only ask a question such as the OP if they've either thought of doing it or thinks it's been done to them

THE JURY'S OUT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

God help any girl that takes pity on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Edgware wrote: »
    God be with the days you could follow them out of the dancehall and watch them in the car with the new boyfriend

Those days are gone now. It's the way of the world. It's all keyloggers now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Jaysus prison would have been a bit harsh for that no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Omackeral wrote: »
    Please don't encourage him

He just needs more practice.

A black bisexual guy living at home with no job, named after a Nazi needs all the help he can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

A friend of mine had an ex girlfriend who installed something on his phone without his knowledge and then was able to access his WhatsApp fb messenger and so on from her phone.

Jaysus prison would have been a bit harsh for that no?

That’s probably why they didn’t get prison time. But I never believe these particular threads are based on true stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

What's a keylogger? Like a password finder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Pac1Man wrote: »
    What's a keylogger? Like a password finder?

Its a programme that sits in the background monitoring what the person using it types and usually they'll have some method of uploading their findings to the person who installed it.

Hardware versions exist too that sit plugged in between the keyboard and the computer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Its a programme that sits in the background monitoring what the person using it types and usually they'll have some method of uploading their findings to the person who installed it.

Hardware versions exist too that sit plugged in between the keyboard and the computer

Jaysus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Edgware wrote: »

Saddle sniffers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

i spy on other ppl's boyfriends. Does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

The thread title should have said, creep stalks a friend and let's have some great creep tips....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Title should have been "here's what I watched on netflix last night"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Graham wrote: »
    Title should have been "here's what I watched on netflix last night"

Serial killers

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

The opening post sounds uncannily like a 10 second overview of "You".

I assume the OP has just finished season 2, that's the "techy lad" he "knows".

Not a bad show in fairness, the OP doesn't do it justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I have read various articles online over this stuff which is quite scary & scummy if you ask me. Hackers can gain access via key logging software by installing it as malware downloaded to your PC. It can access information like to your email addresses, passwords & financial information online.

I guess this is why you need decent anti malware protection on your laptop.

Sounds like a criminals/stalkers dream though. I know someone who had one of those tracker apps installed on their phone by someone they'd dated a few times. They got suspicious when they kept bumping into them, but that kind of thing is hard to prove.

Don't do it, OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

Candie wrote: »
    I guess this is why you need decent anti malware protection on your laptop.

Sounds like a criminals/stalkers dream though. I know someone who had one of those tracker apps installed on their phone by someone they'd dated a few times. They got suspicious when they kept bumping into them, but that kind of thing is hard to prove.

Don't do it, OP.

Is it illegal though?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

_Brian wrote: »
    Saddle sniffers

Harmless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭JMMCapital

OP sort your life out

Is it illegal though?

In your story on the OP, the guy was prosecuted and convicted. Depends on whether you made the story up or just heard about it happening in another country. I've no idea if it's illegal in Ireland. If it's used as part of a fraud then it would definitely be illegal as part of the fraud. Not sure if you wanted to use it to chat up a woman.

Definitely creepy but I don't know if it's illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Is it illegal though?

You are the very person who said somebody was convicted, then you ask is it illegal. :rolleyes: Surely there was something illegal in that jurisdiction if he was convicted.
    Keyloggers aren't illegal but what use you put them to can well be - stealing confidential data, part of a wider stalking charge etc.

Or you were either watching a fictional movie or making the whole story up. You tell us; which is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭PonchoMcHoncho

I've been asked loads of times over the years about installing tracking apps on girlfriends phones. Some people even buy dodgy **** from eastern European sites.

I always got the feeling that the blokes ask for this crap because they themselves were the cheating type and thought everyone was at it. Years of taking drugs probably didn't help the paranoia either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

yeah they exist people don't waste them on a gf /bf though usually ..they use them on businesses usually ...the guards use them too....

They use them in fraud.

If someone used one on me they would probably find out i was gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭skallywag

I remember using software versions of the same ca 20 years ago, you had a compile quite a bit of code and ended up with a program which would send the text that someone was writing on their keyboard directly to your screen. So you could easily grab passwords, etc. I remember quite a sense of achievement at the time getting it to work, it took days to get the code compiled correctly, this was back in the time when hacking meant actually needing the capability to work something out, and not downloading a ready to go app, etc. Never did anything with the passwords though, lost interest in the program as soon as I got it to work!