Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does everyone struggle in life?

• 16-12-2019 3:07pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭

Even attractive, rich, people in first world countries? Is that just something the elites tell the common folk to prevent them from revolting against capitalism? The myth of meritocracy

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,970 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Everything is relative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Yes. To struggle is to know you’re moving forwards.

Edit. I hope you get that Xmas job sorted. At the rate of a new thread every 30 minutes you may overload the servers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I didn’t ask to be born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Apiarist

Even attractive, rich, people in first world countries? ...

Not really. Their struggle is the terrible burden of choice between one pleasure or the other.

One would like to party, yet look and feel as good as if one ate only greens and drunk water. Or should one go to a remote island and abuse underage natives, or launch a charity while secretly delighting in the suffering of untermenschen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

Even attractive, rich, people in first world countries? Is that just something the elites tell the common folk to prevent them from revolting against capitalism? The myth of meritocracy

you tell us, compared to the majority of the population of this planet you are the elite, do you struggle at all?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

farmchoice wrote: »
    you tell us, compared to the majority of the population of this planet you are the elite, do you struggle at all?

Of course, I might be homeless soon if I don't get a job even if I'm better than others.

Would you rather be homeless in Ireland or upper middle class in India/Congo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

Of course, I might be homeless soon if I don't get a job even if I'm better than others.

Would you rather be homeless in Ireland or upper middle class in India/Congo?
    id definitely sooner be upper middle class in India than homeless in Ireland, Congo is a different kettle of fish altogether, im not sure what upper middle class means in the DRC these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I had to pray just to make it today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

Life IS the struggle. La lutte, c’est tout.
    Copyright, Meditations of KWAG2019, 2019.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

We all have our struggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

I struggle to keep up with your threads.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,620 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Money doesn't make you immune from boredom, heartache, grief, loss, depression etc.

Life throws shıt at all of us, wealthy people are just free from financial worries. They might have to worry if people like them or their money though.

Even then they worry about losing their money.

True, some are probably obsessive about amassing more wealth too.

Either way, I don't think I'll ever find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    Life IS the struggle. La lutte, c’est tout.
    Copyright, Meditations of KWAG2019, 2019.

No copyright needed. Nobody will steal it. The last t is silent, so the rhyme is rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,770 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

“Choose not to be harmed and you won’t feel harmed. Don’t feel harmed and you haven’t been.” – Marcus Aurelius

🙈🙉🙊

The cause of much contemporary misery in Western countries – criminality, domestic violence, drug addiction, aggressive youths, hooliganism, broken families – is the nihilistic, decadent and/or self-destructive behaviour of people who do not know how to live. Both the smoothing over of this behaviour, and the medicalisation of the problems that emerge as a corollary of this behaviour, are forms of indifference. Someone has to tell those people, patiently and with understanding for the particulars of the case, that they have to live differently.[23]

Poverty does not explain aggressive, criminal and self-destructive behaviour. In an African slum you will find among the very poor, living in dreadful circumstances, dignity and decency in abundance, which are painfully lacking in an average English suburb, although its inhabitants are much wealthie

You would find this intersting.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Theodore_Dalrymple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,058 ✭✭✭✭anewme

The same problems and challenges in life are unique to all classes. Depression, death, illness, grief, alcoholism, loneliness. They don't discriminate.

The only thing money does (and I dont mean being rich here) is take one layer of issues away. I remember one time when I was starting out, the boiler broke and I hadn't got the money to replace it and took a loan off the credit union. I had a freezing and stressful Christmas. Now, if it goes, Its "ah fck, boiler gone, another 2 grand".

You forget you dont have to worry about day to day **** like that and how much stress it is not making ends meet on top of everything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

There is always someone worse off than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,572 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

endacl wrote: »
    Yes. To struggle is to know you’re moving forwards.

Or drowning.
    biko wrote: »
    There is always someone worse off than you.

Except for the one person at the bottom, who may have died while I was writing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

i struggle with being stupid everyday

Being rich or attractive in the 1st world doesn't insulate you against tragedy, illness, heartbreak or bereavement. People can have it all on the outside but have another world of pain on the inside.

Although obviously there are more urgent struggles if one is born into the poorest countries, or to a war-torn landscape of uncertain survival. Everyone struggles, the difference is magnitude, form, and/or frequency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,572 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I own a car I bought 5 grand cheaper private than in a dealers , it's never gone wrong and drives beautifully.

But for some reason I'm not happy with it because everyone I know tells me it's going to be troublesome and on boards they say same and another guy advised me to get rid of it....

I'm sure people told my wife the same when I started dating her 20 years ago on same reputation and advice but the poor girls stayed around through pity or desperation...

Did you get your wife privately or from a reputable dealer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

No. Its all random.

Money doesn't make you immune from boredom, heartache, grief, loss, depression etc.

To be honest, I'd say it adds to the issues.

For clarity - I really, really want to win the EuroMillions. However, I fondly remember Only Fools and Horses. And the lesson it tried to put out, that once they finally got their millions, that was it. It was over.

If you have no end of money, and have hit all you goals, have no worries.. what's the challenge? Why are you getting up in the morning?

We strive to better ourselves and improve ourselves. I think that's what makes us want to keep going.

Originally Posted by Leg End Reject View Post

Poverty doesn't make you immune from these either. Try again.

TBH of all the types of people i have ever met ..Rich people are the most annoying. They always seem to need a lot of time from you. Its draining. I think they are lonely maybe.

So maybe that is their burden. Being annoying.

Poverty doesn't make you immune from these either. Try again.

He/she didn't say or imply it did.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

some people just loves to b platforming

ive a cat, right, that doesn't exist, and gets like mad emo offenders by the horrid real fake uninterrupted imagination of perceived abuse from peepshows who never actually sent it

sound like someone u kno?

think.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

does e erythromycin sgr

does everyone struggle in life

or

does life struggle in everyone

WWWHHHOOOOOIIAAAAAAAAA

[insert cool gif here]

LaFuton wrote: »
    some people just loves to b platforming

ive a cat, right, that doesn't exist, and gets like mad emo offenders by the horrid real fake uninterrupted imagination of perceived abuse from peepshows who never actually sent it

sound like someone u kno?

think.

No. But your English sounds just like a lot of Eurotrash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Alecto

It's all relative, everyone struggles to some degree. These days it feels like my life is one long struggle and it's difficult to see the point.

Alecto wrote: »
    It's all relative, everyone struggles to some degree. These days it feels like my life is one long struggle and it's difficult to see the point.
    me too.:o

Alecto wrote: »

Life is like that at times, you just have to keep putting one foot in front of the other. One day you'll look around and the scenery will have changed without you noticing before.

As Churchil said, "if you're going through hell, keep going."

Life is like that at times, you just have to keep putting one foot in front of the other. One day you'll look around and the scenery will have changed without you noticing before.

As Churchil said, "if you're going through hell, keep going."

I could deal with it. Only other people keep asking for MORE from me. Usually people who have a lot given to them.

They just want more and more of me. I am not taking bosses etc. Just people around me.

They don't give anything back though.

TBH i don't need anything from them anyway ..so its not like they actually could give anything back. I have struggled so i have everything.

I could deal with it. Only other people keep asking for MORE from me. Usually people who have a lot given to them.

They just want more and more of me. I am not taking bosses etc. Just people around me.

They don't give anything back though.

What gets in the way of you saying no?

You can't say no in life. It doesn't work that way.

You have to learn to say no without saying it if you want peace.

Trust me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

No, some people have faces, personalities and temperaments that make the whole thing a cakewalk, Niall Quinn for example, helps even more if your born into the right socio-economic setting, the likes of Tubs and his Blackrock contemporaries.

Other people have their faces, personalities and temperament guaranteeing a **** life, add to this being born into the wrong environment, and your f***ed.

You can't say no in life. It doesn't work that way.

You have to learn to say no without saying it if you want peace.

Trust me.

That way works very well for me.

If people ask and ask and ask of you and you find it too much then put boundaries in place. Other people can't read you mind. We are ultimately responsible for ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Struggling is a part of existence. How you confront it, or perceive it, is what will determine how much you suffer and for how long you will suffer too.

I feel sorry for people who never had to struggle in their life. You can see how little value these kinds of people put into things like friends, family, money etc. The spoilt kind referred to by the OP in this thread.

That sense of overwhelming achievement when you get through something that you thought would never end or go away. Priceless and most importantly crucially character building. That's if you let it be.

Perspective OP, it will be the making or ruining of you. Your choice.

dd973 wrote: »
    No, some people have faces, personalities and temperaments that make the whole thing a cakewalk, Niall Quinn for example, helps even more if your born into the right socio-economic setting, the likes of Tubs and his Blackrock contemporaries.

Other people have their faces, personalities and temperament guaranteeing a **** life, add to this being born into the wrong environment, and your f***ed.

True.
    I have my own privileges I have my own disadvantages.

I am not saying they wouldn't be nice people. They could be lovely people. And i would be nice to anyone.

I have noticed though its THOSE people who ask the most of you. Maybe that's how they do well. They expect the most from the friends or relationships you have.

Whereas working class friends ..its just about spending time together ..not about what you do for each other.

They really appreciate YOU just you.

I went to a friend's fitness /body building competition.....i gave her a pressie to say good luck. I love you etc. And at the end she just said ..i just wanted you to be here ..'it meant so much for you to come ...thank you i love you'.

That is friendship.

That way works very well for me.

If people ask and ask and ask of you and you find it too much then put boundaries in place. Other people can't read you mind. We are ultimately responsible for ourselves.

Its not like that these are people who don't think boundaries apply to them.

They DON'T take responsibility for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,511 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Mr_fegelien, if it makes you feel any better, I've learned that life is just one crushing defeat after another until you finally just wish Flanders was dead.

Rikand wrote: »
    Mr_fegelien, if it makes you feel any better, I've learned that life is just one crushing defeat after another until you finally just wish Flanders was dead.
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,451 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

One thing I think is flawed is 'recovering addicts who are well known musicians/actors etc' . Fair play to them for getting help and recovering but at the end of the day they have plenty of money and opportunities to do they love in performing etc. They can also afford the best of help

Same can and can't be said for a plumber/retail worker etc who are suffering with addiction/mental health. Thanks to health providers/mental health organisations decent help is out there but some of these people may recover but it's harder to get back a normal life compared to the rich

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21 thecowgoesmoo

If you were not happy with what you had before winning the lotto, you are not going to be happy after winning the lotto.

You will soon get bored of the fancy car, fancy gadgets and travelling.

Be thankful for what you currently have and not what you could have.

If you were not happy with what you had before winning the lotto, you are not going to be happy after winning the lotto.

Money doesn't buy just gadgets. It opens doors it opens up life.

Struggling is not part of existence, it's simply part of your own ambitions and choices. I'm not struggling now, and I'm definitely not rich, or wealthy. It's not about money. It's about your state of mind and the life you choose to create for yourself. Most people take so little responsibility for their choices in life. Want something different? Then stop behaving the same as you've always done before, by simply reacting to events. Step up and take an active role in pushing for what you want... and that push doesn't need to be a struggle, unless that's what you want it to be. Which is what I find most people seem to consider it to be. That achieving something is not valuable unless it was difficult or painful to achieve it (although I imagine that for many people what they achieve is less about making a choice, and more with going with the flow).

That's true its certainly a part of it.

But its also partly fortune and misfortune.

Getting cancer three times as a kid is a struggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,428 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

So if you're born into poverty, it's effectively your own fault, and you should take responsibility for it?

Not everyone struggles equally.

I don't call trying to achieve things struggle ....i call that personal growth.