Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friday 28 November

• 28-11-2019 11:25pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭

I am doing a yankee.

Newbury

12.15 Ask for Glory
    12.45 no bet, way too trappy
    1.20 Grand Mogul
    1.50 San Benedeto , Glen Forza
    2.25 Champ, Vision Des Flos ( looks to be getting backed )

Paisley park is no price. But for all you odds on junckies out there, I would be careful. Ever since Big bucks stopped winning it has not been a happy race for favourites. I think Paisley Park is good, but I have to think there are better 1/2 shots around tomorrow. He will need to be fit and ready if he is to beat Thistlecrack, UknowwhatImeanharry and The Worlds End is no mug either. The supposed outsider Beer Goggles won the same race 2 years ago. I am going to watch that race, I might throw a fiver on UknowwhatImeanaharry so I can shout at something during the finish.

How do you shout at that horse? It is a bit awkward actually. " go on u know what I mean harry " it is a bit of a mouthful if I am honest. I will probably settle for " go on harry , go on …. stay on ya big chunt ye" etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Go on ye bleedin' daisy yup outta that Barry ya langer ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I really like Champ. I think he wins the RSA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

Thistlecrack getting 6lbs off Paisley Park today is interesting first time out
    i would think, with the KG in mind that Thistle is probably the fitter horse too
    11/2 looks big

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Ask for Glory for me too at 5s, been in my tracker so been waiting for the reappearance after a disappointing Cheltenham finish. Has had a wind op so hopefully a plus.

Will be on Kalashnikov too.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Glen Forsa at 10s is way too big

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

The Mig wrote: »
    Glen Forsa at 10s is way too big

I think you are right, he stays 3 miles so not problem with the trip, it looks a great bet. The other overpriced one is San Benedeto, I just took 16's there with Paddy Power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭maximo31

Chat here in the hotel saying Nicholls horse fancied in the second race. Mullins in the bumper on Sunday too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭akelly02

Vision des flos to beat champ and black op today

Puppy on board Vision Des Flos, no better man at the moment. Looks a big price alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭piplip87

12:15 Ask for Glory
    12:45 Fanion D'estruval
    1.20 Grand Mogul
    1:50 Gen Gorda
    3.00 Thistlecrack to roll back the years
    3.35 Potters Hedger (The name jumped out at me)

Slattsy wrote: »
    I really like Champ. I think he wins the RSA.

He's 5/1 for the RSA. Fook right off!

I should have checked before i posted :D, was sure he'd be double figures :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Champs very short. Raced lazily I felt last time and that was 2 mile 6, Black op got over his disappointing season last season with an impressive win last time in a average looking race but we know he has class from his novice hurdle days and his stables flying so I give him every chance of causing an upset.
    Likewise Paisley park as good and all as he is has to be taken on.
    His least impressive win last year was in the only single figure field he encountered and was off a mark in the 140's. The only 2 other times he ran in single figure fields he was beaten. He's an out and out stayer and there's a chance he could get done for toe here. I'm hoping the old boy Thistlecrack can do it. Imagine one more performance like that season he won the world hurdle.

All the money for Ask for Glory, went off 2/1 joint fav but ran out of steam then got slightly hampered by the faller... marvellous start to the day! :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭piplip87

piplip87 wrote: »
    12:15 Ask for Glory
    12:45 Fanion D'estruval
    1.20 Grand Mogul
    1:50 Gen Gorda
    3.00 Thistlecrack to roll back the years
    3.35 Potters Hedger (The name jumped out at me)

Boooom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Glen Forza train for me as well, nice looking race.

Oldgrangewood out of nowhere to snatch it from Kalashnikov in a photo.

Ask for Glory for me too at 5s, been in my tracker so been waiting for the reappearance after a disappointing Cheltenham finish. Has had a wind op so hopefully a plus.

Will be on Kalashnikov too.

Great day.... :o

What a finish. That was a great watch for any neutral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭BoldReason

Some ride by Harry Skelton in fairness.

What a finish. That was a great watch for any neutral.

I happened to be in a bookies watching this , and it was comical as a load of lads were on, they were doing some giving out about him beign too far back, and still giving out at the finish as it looked like he didnt get up.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Either Barry or Champ need to go to Specsavers!

Champ is the real deal. No messing. Looks smart as well, was cute at the finish there.

Jesus Barry. Ffs he nearly ran out.

Either Barry or Champ need to go to Specsavers!

I would say that one is for sure on Barry.

Did well to react to it though.

Jaysus champ has some ability. Did lots wrong there and still wins a shade cosily.

BoldReason wrote: »
    Jesus Barry. Ffs he nearly ran out.

Ah stop how can ya try blame him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭ASOT

Really strong at the finish there, looking in trouble two out.

Admittedly the horse didn't help. But he certainly wasn't blameless and I've been defending Barry here when most were slating him in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

All things considered that was impressive, absolutely everything went wrong and he still won.

Ah stop how can ya try blame him

Watched it 2 more times. Actually sure it was 100% jockey error granted the water jump probably should have been ropped off better but still. Experienced jockey like Geraghty should know about that track configuration.

Anyway no damage done in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Plasandrunt

BoldReason wrote: »
    Admittedly the horse didn't help. But he certainly wasn't blameless and I've been defending Barry here when most were slating him in the past.

Gerarghty has literally won that in spite of Champ's best efforts

Thought that was impressive enough. Still wasnt taking the 5/1 for the RSA! Mad price. Whats he now?

3/1

https://twitter.com/itvracing/status/1200424146901057537?s=19

Head on is much clearer. Maybe I'm over critical but it certainly isn't the horses fault.

Slattsy wrote: »
    3/1

5/1 still available which is just about right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Luap

Looks the real deal.

Think Barry didn't realise the horse drifted and did well to recover in the nick of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Huge gamble landed at Limerick

Great run from Thistlecrack.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Great run from Thistlecrack.

That was fantastic to watch, if thistlecrack jumps more like a hurdler hed have put it up to him there. Another fantastic duel for the best NH season ever so far.

Paisley Park all that is good about a stayer. Genuine as you like and never stops finding. Great run from Thistlecrack alright.

aidankkk wrote: »
    That was fantastic to watch, if thistlecrack jumps more like a hurdler hed have put it up to him there. Another fantastic duel for the best NH season ever so far.

It really has been incredible so far, so much so that I just this day bought my tickets for the first two days of the festival! Long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

I would leave Thistlecrack over Hurdles
    Ran a cracker just there, very impressive
    If for some reason PP didn't get to Cheltenham or if he just didn't run his race, there won't be much better than Thistlecrack to hoover up....
    I don't see him winning any grade 1 chases at this stage, but there are races to be won over hurdles
    Good to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Pogue eile wrote: »
    It really has been incredible so far, so much so that I just this day bought my tickets for the first two days of the festival! Long may it continue.

Last year the ground was firm nearly unraceable. Many horses were minded.

This season the ground is perfect. I think that is/ will contribute to some amazing clashes this season and it’s like two crops being unleashed in one season. Just look at the Fairyhouse entries this weekend unreal

Anyone else think Alan persse should be called in for that ride? No consideration for the safety of the other riders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭HarshOstrich

Ive heard that red avenger is fancied in the last but please be aware tips ive received haven't been great lately.