Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tractor protest

• 25-11-2019 9:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭

Anybody going on this tomorrow? Seems to small enough interest in it.
    From what I’ve seen online they don’t really know what they want out of it. Throw enough things out there and see what sticks kind of thing.
    This kind of scattergun approach doesn’t work IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

It's been fairly muted in the west around me for the past week about it. Dunno whether that means there is gonna be an explosion of yokes heading to the big smoke or not many. But when they were having their meetings,the places were filled.

If it's done right,it will make people complain. Last time it happened I remember the boys in blue herded them all away from the city centre and not many complaints were received.

Was it the IFA that organised that one? Early 2000's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

If extinction rebellion has taught us anything is that inconveniencing Ordinary Joe Soap going to work doesn’t tend to help your cause

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

You've got to have a clear, clean, precise aim.

Going up to cause disruption for the sake of it will not force anyone's hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

More targeted protesting of government officials in the Dail would be more appreciated by the general public and more effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

Can’t understand the logic, or what these guys are even hoping to achieve, apart from causing hassle for the general public, the same public we need to purchase our products.
    Pissing the dubs off by blocking up the city will get us nowhere.

Speaking of inconvenience, is there a schedule for this ?
    Bloody appt in Dublin tomorrow :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

_Brian wrote: »

:D Sorry, had to laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

It's been fairly muted in the west around me for the past week about it. Dunno whether that means there is gonna be an explosion of yokes heading to the big smoke or not many. But when they were having their meetings,the places were filled.

If it's done right,it will make people complain. Last time it happened I remember the boys in blue herded them all away from the city centre and not many complaints were received.

Was it the IFA that organised that one? Early 2000's.

Yea, think it was 2003, it really grabbed the imagination, got great attendance by young lads, but the guards restricted the numbers.
    I don't think the guards are going to be allowed restrict them tomorrow, we took over merrion square but if they have the numbers that we had turned back 20 miles out of the city they'll block up the whole city.

Jjameson wrote: »
    I think that’s more the plan. There’s only a few tractors involved and there will be no inconvenienced public as far as I’m aware.

You wouldn't think that reading this post from Beef Plan Facebook.

This is what it's looking now lads , there starting to come from all sides , we have the routes planned with the Guards , the Guards are 100% behind the protest and won't be checking windscreens for tax , Mattie McGrath has his speech booked in the dail for Tuesday at 2 pm to raise our issues against this Goverment that wants to close rural Ireland . We will have Leinster house surrounded , we will wake this city Goverment up , something that no farm organisation has done since the sixties

Is this all bluff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

wrangler wrote: »

This is what it's looking now lads , there starting to come from all sides , we have the routes planned with the Guards , the Guards are 100% behind the protest and won't be checking windscreens for tax , Mattie McGrath has his speech booked in the dail for Tuesday at 2 pm to raise our issues against this Goverment that wants to close rural Ireland . We will have Leinster house surrounded , we will wake this city Goverment up , something that no farm organisation has done since the sixties

Is this all bluff

They surly get more than 50-100 that was at the last IFA rent a crowd sorry protest

Slava Ukrainii

Here's the plan.

Right lads , were all set for hitting Dublin on Tuesday morning , we're going to shake up the city , they havnt a clue what we have coming in , we're coming in from 4 sides , aiming for merrion square between 11 and 12 . The meeting points are dunshaughlin air code a85d728, this is the main designated route in , tractors from the west are coming in the n4 and the south are coming in the n7 . We need thousands more on foot , so get to Dublin on Tuesday what ever way you can .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Is this all bluff

The guards won't be checking for tax? If I was a guard reading that I'd make it my business to check a few windscreen details. How could anyone organising a protest say that a guard will not do their duty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭171170

Here's the plan.

Right lads , were all set for hitting Dublin on Tuesday morning , we're going to shake up the city , they havnt a clue what we have coming in , we're coming in from 4 sides , aiming for merrion square between 11 and 12 . The meeting points are dunshaughlin air code a85d728, this is the main designated route in , tractors from the west are coming in the n4 and the south are coming in the n7 . We need thousands more on foot , so get to Dublin on Tuesday what ever way you can .

I looked up what the writer describes as "aircode" A85 D728 - it's a farmyard down a narrow country road - at a push it might fit about a dozen tractors!

My commiserations to any Dubliners who may get inconvenienced by this nonsense, but the muckers must be allowed their periodic protest in the big shmoke, or the sky will fall in!

Bullocks wrote: »
    The guards won't be checking for tax? If I was a guard reading that I'd make it my business to check a few windscreen details. How could anyone organising a protest say that a guard will not do their duty?

I only ever saw the guy that posted those at one protest, that was the last tractor one, he's just out for the spin.
    If he was at The last blockades he had no cattle.
    That'd be like the Dublin Bus Drivers blockading the LUAS

Chance for a few lads to do a bit of willy waving, with their fancy tractors on a wet November Tuesday when they’ve nothing better to be at. Only 161 reg +, 150 hp+ need apply...

Snowfire wrote: »
    Chance for a few lads to do a bit of willy waving, with their fancy tractors on a wet November Tuesday when they’ve nothing better to be at. Only 161 reg +, 150 hp+ need apply...

Ah feck and I was looking forward to the spin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Snowfire wrote: »

That an IFA tractorcade you are talking about. All the grain boys with there shiny tractors.

If you look at it impartially the vast majority in BP are part time farmers and most are a long distance from Dublin. I expect that tractor numbers will be limited but even numbers at the rally will be limited as well. If they get up into the thousand it will be the largest number of farmers at a rally in Dublin for the last 5+ years.

Slava Ukrainii

Ah feck and I was looking forward to the spin :D

You still have time to hire one out for the day... ask not what your country can do for you....!

I just looked up the 2003 protest, only 300 tractors were let inside the pale, Guard escort the whole way in, traffic into the city never moved as fast, lads tomorrow are threatening to go slow on the way in.
    They let us make our own way out of the city after, don't know how there wasn't an accident on the way out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Will the carbon emissions from these tractors aimlessly going to Dublin tomorrow be offset by their farms?

What's the aim of it?
    What manifesto is going to be delivered to the government?
    Is Mattie McGrath the mouthpiece now for every protest now vaguely linked to rural Ireland whatever about the rights and wrongs of it?
    All they want now is Gemma O Doherty to row in behind this and have some posters about an taoiseach's sexuality or ethnicity and vegans to really curry favour.

I don't see the point of it bar some of the organisers having just got new tractors this year and having witnessed the tractor protests in Holland on social media thought they'd like some of that action.

I’d say this protest is fairly ill advised if ye are looking to gain favour from the general public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Will the carbon emissions from these tractors aimlessly going to Dublin tomorrow be offset by their farms?

All they want now is Gemma O Doherty to row in behind this and have some posters about an taoiseach's sexuality or ethnicity and vegans to really curry favour.

I don't see the point of it bar some of the organisers having just got new tractors this year and having witnessed the tractor protests in Holland on social media thought they'd like some of that action.

I see the anti-5G crowd are joining in so you might not be a million miles off the mark.

As for the second part. That’s one hundred % what’s happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Mattie, christ
    There goes my support, what a gombeen

Be like yellow vest in Ireland yet.
    Surprised no mention of chemtrails and fluoride
    Gem Doc be front and centre

Messssss

Also I love the plan
    Ronney's yard the bog road is a meeting point and sure somewhere on the N7 and N4, where ever you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

171170 wrote: »
    I looked up what the writer describes as "aircode" A85 D728 - it's a farmyard down a narrow country road - at a push it might fit about a dozen tractors!

My commiserations to any Dubliners who may get inconvenienced by this nonsense, but the muckers must be allowed their periodic protest in the big shmoke, or the sky will fall in!

Who you calling a mucker? Feckin Jackeen.:rolleyes:

:D Sorry, had to laugh.

Yea well, I’ve allot more going on in my life than worrying about a bunch of yahoos in dealer boots playing wagon wheel on repeat making a fcuking nuisance of themselves and aggravating the general public.

It really is the worst message.

No doubt the speeches will include such clangers as “were entitled to make a profit on our farming”, when in fact we’re entitled to no such thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Is anyone going taking part ? Very little talk about down our way. Dont really think it'll achieve much being honest.

Producers should be entitled to reasonable share of the retail price of food.

Everyone is entitled to protest, and while they're giving the government/public service a kickin, I'm all for it.
    I'd ''nearly ''go myself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Who decides what’s reasonable though?

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Is anyone going taking part ? Very little talk about down our way. Dont really think it'll achieve much being honest.

It will be good for diesel sales I suppose.
    Apart from that a load of sh1te I’d say

bladespin wrote: »
    Who decides what’s reasonable though?

50c/kg would make a huge difference to farmers, would the consumer even notice it........supermarkets should be ashamed of themselves, there's money lenders with more scruples, age of slavery isn't dead when they're around, I've said this before and parents have said it's alright for me I've no familly. they have to support supermarkets so they subscribe to it

35 cent would at least cover my variable costs.
    Read the rest of my post ,even posters on here subscribe to it, what would I know I've no family

Beef is an overproduced commodity and so tie price is on the floor with all control handed to processors.
    Any commodity that is overproduced will have low values.

The Teagasc mantra of increase production and become more efficient has resulted in the current situation.

Processors are inundated with calls from producers begging to get cattle in and that leaves them no incentive to lift prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Beef is an overproduced commodity and so tie price is on the floor with all control handed to processors.
    Any commodity that is overproduced will have low values.

The Teagasc mantra of increase production and become more efficient has resulted in the current situation.

Processors are inundated with calls from producers begging to get cattle in and that leaves them no incentive to lift prices.

Over produced or not, we never get our fair share brian

Jb1989 wrote: »
    Over produced or not, we never get our fair share brian

And how has the ordinary punter in Dublin contributed to that. Yet this protest will aim to inconvenience the ordinary worker trying to do their job and get home to their families, get to medical appointments, job interviews, or whatever.

Do you think Frank Mallon, Leo Varadkar or Larry Goodman will be influenced in any way by farmers pissing off joe soap ??

If beef continues to be overproduced then the price will remain low.

If beef production was cut back to make processors come out of their offices and start looking for animals to fill the line they would start offering better prices. That’s the way it’s always been, then farmers would get a better share of the profits.

And how has the ordinary punter in Dublin contributed to that. Yet this protest will aim to inconvenience the ordinary worker trying to do their job and get home to their families, get to medical appointments, job interviews, or whatever.

Do you think Frank Mallon, Leo Varadkar or Larry Goodman will be influenced in any way by farmers pissing off joe soap ??

If beef continues to be overproduced then the price will remain low.

If beef production was cut back to make processors come out of their offices and start looking for animals to fill the line they would start offering better prices. That’s the way it’s always been, then farmers would get a better share of the profits.

Plus there really aren’t enough consumers out there that care where their beef comes from as long as it’s cheap, farmers out looking for more money will signal price increases and consumers have been brainwashed into cheap prices.

A bunch of yahoos driving round in €60-€100k tractors don’t look like they need more money and so it’s all counterproductive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

the Guards are 100% behind the protest and won't be checking windscreens for tax

thats one way to turn the public against farmers if you ask me, the impression that guards are allowing farmers to drive around without paying motor tax won't sit well with some people. The comment is also not necessary, as id be shocked if any tractor tomorrow won't have their tax up to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

thats one way to turn the public against farmers if you ask me, the impression that guards are allowing farmers to drive around without paying motor tax won't sit well with some people. The comment is also not necessary, as id be shocked if any tractor tomorrow won't have their tax up to date.

It was either a troll or a fcukin idiot that originally wrote that.pay it no heed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

what a waste of a day ,but hey its allows lads to shine up them 161,171's etc big tractors and take them up to the big smoke.beef plan caused mayhem with their blockades and pissed off a lat of farmers.what do they think clogging up dublin will do by annoying the dubs.wait till joe duffy gets calls from them tomorrow.poor farmers and their expensive toys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Wait til the Vegans get them.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

bladespin wrote: »
    Wait til the Vegans get them.

Some of the tractors might be Vegan , running on cooking oil

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I'd forgotten about tomorrow's protest until I sat down to read through the latest board's news this evening. I called into the fat stock sale in Carrick on Shannon in the afternoon and decided to treat myself to a Supermacs tonight on the way home. While I was eating and scrolling through board's I noticed a Cavan man sitting nearby who was a vocal spokesman during the beef blockade of Liffey meats Ballyjamesduff.

Seeing as the showgrounds are only a few hundred meter's from Supermac's most of the clientele were farmer's coming from the sale. The debate soon turned to tomorrow's protest and I sat and listened as the day's plans were discussed. I don't believe much of what I hear from those sort of fellas particularly when they've an audience because most of it is bluster and general bravado. However without going into details they seem to have a full schedule of disruption planned without any real emphasis on achieving anything of note.

As I've said previously about the BPM and it's associates following a meeting I attended I wouldn't trust most of those involved to carry my suitcases never mind lobby for the future of my industry. In my opinion it's largely a support group for suckler fanatics and general headers who have long been castaway from any self respecting group that wish to be taken seriously by the power's that be. He who shouts the loudest will be heard first and I think we need to be very careful who we allow to become defacto spokespeople for us as an industry. I struggle to see how releasing a tribe of muck savages upon our capital city will do much for our cause or our placing in the public sympathy stakes, in fact to me it's like something that David McSavage would have created in the Savage Eye.

I'd forgotten about tomorrow's protest until I sat down to read through the latest board's news this evening. I called into the fat stock sale in Carrick on Shannon in the afternoon and decided to treat myself to a Supermacs tonight on the way home. While I was eating and scrolling through board's I noticed a Cavan man sitting nearby who was a vocal spokesman during the beef blockade of Liffey meats Ballyjamesduff.

Seeing as the showgrounds are only a few hundred meter's from Supermac's most of the clientele were farmer's coming from the sale. The debate soon turned to tomorrow's protest and I sat and listened as the day's plans were discussed. I don't believe much of what I hear from those sort of fellas particularly when they've an audience because most of it is bluster and general bravado. However without going into details they seem to have a full schedule of disruption planned without any real emphasis on achieving anything of note.

As I've said previously about the BPM and it's associates following a meeting I attended I wouldn't trust most of those involved to carry my suitcases never mind lobby for the future of my industry. In my opinion it's largely a support group for suckler fanatics and general headers who have long been castaway from any self respecting group that wish to be taken seriously by the power's that be. He who shouts the loudest will be heard first and I think we need to be very careful who we allow to become defacto spokespeople for us as an industry. I struggle to see how releasing a tribe of muck savages upon our capital city will do much for our cause or our placing in the public sympathy stakes, in fact to me it's like something that David McSavage would have created in the Savage Eye.

Did even 10% of farmers really want the blockades there either.
    I say let them off to dublin, they'll soon burn out

Agriland (aka The Sun of irish agriculture) report of the tractors on route.

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/video-farmer-convoy-on-route-to-dublin-for-tractor-protest/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Hope they remembered to pack the wellies too, as a pissy wet day for a protest :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

Plus there really aren’t enough consumers out there that care where their beef comes from as long as it’s cheap, farmers out looking for more money will signal price increases and consumers have been brainwashed into cheap prices.

A bunch of yahoos driving round in €60-€100k tractors don’t look like they need more money and so it’s all counterproductive.

Only thing in there favour is there probably not paid for ! But won’t be seen that way to the public

Agriland (aka The Sun of irish agriculture) report of the tractors on route.

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/video-farmer-convoy-on-route-to-dublin-for-tractor-protest/

That’s very funny obviously ur not a fan

Some of the side comments on the FB page of the organisers are interesting reading.

Bickering about racist, islamaphobia, and homophobia comments.

Many are planning a total blockade to maximise inconvenience to the general public as a show of strength. If they had researched any of the commentary from the Extinction Rebellion protest they would know this gets no support only ridicule.

Some of the side comments on the FB page of the organisers are interesting reading.

Many are planning a total blockade to maximise inconvenience to the general public as a show of strength. If they had researched any of the commentary from the Extinction Rebellion protest they would know this gets no support only ridicule.

They'll have outside help too as it's expected to be rough, any organisation could be there today
    I wouldn't bring my 16 tractor into the middle of it anyway, I doubt you comp insurance would be valid either

Why don’t they drive to Louth sort out that low life first ? Bring some his foreign beef labelled Irish with them
    Carbon copy my arse , where’s the sense moving beef from other side of the world here and vis versa ?
    Just the genuine markets that need beef end off

That’s very funny obviously ur not a fan

Nope they published the names of lairage owners in France a short while ago.

And now the bit about bull calves included on this tractor protest when there's been no mention of fr bull calves from the group themselves.

They've a clear intention to their coverage.
    Whatever about the rest.