Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Present for new mother,

• 05-11-2019 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭

Hey guys

Quick question my other half is due our second baby at the start of January. I'm trying to think of a nice present to get her to mark the occasion ,
    For our first I got her a nice necklace that was two joined circle's to represent the bond with her and our baby, but I can't think of what to get her this time any idea's ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Ah, the old Push Present. Something shiny and expensive I think is how you go if you're leaning that way. Eternity ring?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Jurgen The German

Got my missus a diamond eternity ring and pair of diamond earrings but that was combined 40th and second baby present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Got my missus a diamond eternity ring and pair of diamond earrings but that was combined 40th and second baby present.

We are already engaged so she has the shinny ring,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Cakerbaker

A bracelet to match the necklace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Icsics

We are already engaged so she has the shinny ring,

I think you’ll find she needs another one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭afkasurfjunkie

Anyone else find the idea of a push present a bit distasteful. I’m due in jan and I definitely don’t want more jewellery. What I like is when himself says, listen, why don’t you head off to town on your own for a few hours and I’ll stay here with the kids. Go for a coffee. Perhaps time out on my own is the present I want. You will know yourself what your wife is into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭jlm29

I’ve never gotten any special present after giving birth other than a baby. Book a cleaner for a few weeks or something, or pay someone to deliver decent dinners, or mind your older child

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Invisibleman

Hey guys

Quick question my other half is due our second baby at the start of January. I'm trying to think of a nice present to get her to mark the occasion ,
    For our first I got her a nice necklace that was two joined circle's to represent the bond with her and our baby, but I can't think of what to get her this time any idea's ?

How about a voucher for her and her mam or sister to a day at the spa and maybe even a night there, I’d imagine she’d like that after the baba but I’m a man I’m sure a lady will give you a better suggestion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

Anyone else find the idea of a push present a bit distasteful. I’m due in jan and I definitely don’t want more jewellery. What I like is when himself says, listen, why don’t you head off to town on your own for a few hours and I’ll stay here with the kids. Go for a coffee. Perhaps time out on my own is the present I want. You will know yourself what your wife is into.

I don’t find it distasteful but I’d prefer to be asked what I want rather than the default of something shiny. My last child was born at Christmas so it was kind of a joint present and the next one coincides with my birthday so will be the same.

OP, what about organising one of those newborn shoots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Get her a threadmill, she'll be back to pre baby body in no time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭foreverandever

I like the idea of jewellery or something that she could hand down to that baby when they’re older (of course easier with girls-give them the earrings/bracelet etc when they turn 18! I got mine with their birthstone)

The spa etc is a nice idea but I’d kinda expect it anyway...just tough to do initially if breastfeeding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭afkasurfjunkie

Get her a threadmill, she'll be back to pre baby body in no time

Is that some type of sewing machine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭wuffly

Very individual thing, my OH gave me time to myself when i needed it, (pop out for an hour, drink a coffee etc...) best present ever. i have some lovely jewelry that I never wear so he knows its wasted on me.
    Also just doing things without having to be asked, make the tea, lunch, dinner, do the washing, if she doesn't know what she wants just make the decision. Sometimes you're so tired deciding what you want to eat is exhausting!
    If you are keen on jewelry something with both kids birth stones might be nice, chupi does nice necklaces. (Just looked them up, fecking hell her prices have gone up!) Enibas also have some love pieces.

wuffly wrote: »
    Very individual thing, my OH gave me time to myself when i needed it, (pop out for an hour, drink a coffee etc...) best present ever. i have some lovely jewelry that I never wear so he knows its wasted on me.
    Also just doing things without having to be asked, make the tea, lunch, dinner, do the washing, if she doesn't know what she wants just make the decision. Sometimes you're so tired deciding what you want to eat is exhausting!
    If you are keen on jewelry something with both kids birth stones might be nice, chupi does nice necklaces. (Just looked them up, fecking hell her prices have gone up!) Enibas also have some love pieces.

Thanks for the reply not being rude or funny but surely given your OH time to themselves and helping out around the house is a given,
    She is my OH not my mother i'd like to think the above is done thing 365 days a year where we do things for each other and give each other time outs from the kids,

Funny enough the necklace I got her on our first was Chupi one,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,923 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Thanks for the reply not being rude or funny but surely given your OH time to themselves and helping out around the house is a given,
    She is my OH not my mother i'd like to think the above is done thing 365 days a year where we do things for each other and give each other time outs from the kids

Glad it's not just me! I really worry about the perception of men and babies/kids sometimes

I went down the necklace route too so can't help really. I went for baba's birthstone and my wife loved it. She did say that one day she'd like to give it to our daughter so I'll pretend I thought of that in advance :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

First time I have heard of a present for birth.

Is nothing not an option OP?

First time I have heard of a present for birth.

Is nothing not an option OP?

Hey of course its an option it a personal preference and in no way am I saying its something that has to be done,

I just decided on our first to get her a little gift a pushing present if you will (a two joined rings eternity necklace ) so I thought I may as well keep up the tradition for the second,

In no way am I saying other people should or must do this, I'm just asking for opinions on what would be nice for a second baby, Again its a personal thing ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Hey of course its an option it a personal preference and in no way am I saying its something that has to be done,

I just decided on our first to get her a little gift a pushing present if you will (a two joined rings eternity necklace ) so I thought I may as well keep up the tradition for the second,

In no way am I saying other people should or must do this, I'm just asking for opinions on what would be nice for a second baby, Again its a personal thing ,

I thought I was in deep sheeet as I didn't get anything for my OH ;)

What about a day at the spa? Or a hair and makeup session?

She is my OH not my mother i'd like to think the above is done thing 365 days a year where we do things for each other and give each other time outs from the kids,

Funny enough the necklace I got her on our first was Chupi one,

In my experience its not the done thing at all. I have friends whose partners have never or rarely changed a nappy let alone anything else. Most of them are in aw of my OH 'being so good' with our son. I'm not saying he's a saint and the lads are assholes, he just loves being a dad is happy to do all the things. For me it is a given but honestly its very often not the case. We live in a place where nannys are common place so that makes a difference, (we don't have one) but also i know none of his friends back home would help around the house beyond the bare minimum.

I should have added the girls whose partners can't change a nappy nearly all got something diamond encrusted! I'll take a partner who can figure what i need when i need it over that any day! Its good that you see that as a given!

Maybe its form living out of home at an early age but house work and changing nappies are part of my day to day, Both of us work so when we get home we share all the duties,

I honestly find doing everything 50/50 as much as we can helps us have a more balanced relationship as a couple ,
    Maybe some people are different and each to there own, I can't judge anyone for how there family situation works for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

Hey guys

Would you consider buying her a new Audi A7? The 4 joined circles could represent you, her, the baby and the childminder.

image.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭brownbinman

I got a locket and 2 small pics placed inside it. If you're in Dublin, the Camera Shop on Grafton street can shrink the pics for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

I should have added the girls whose partners can't change a nappy nearly all got something diamond encrusted! I'll take a partner who can figure what i need when i need it over that any day! Its good that you see that as a given!

I’d personally prefer the nappies changed! My husband did every one for the first two weeks while he was on paternity leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

We had our second baby three months ago and my husband took the couch and did every night feed for the first 8 weeks for me to properly rest and heal. I was lucky in that I had no supply issues and pumped from the start so we had enough milk to get u through. I cannot stress enough how beneficial it was for me. It helped me bond better with our daughter but it also helped me be a better parent to our toddler because I wasn't as tired as I would have been trying to manage both kids.

I think the idea of a spa day/ hair is lovely but maybe after the first two months. All I wanted was sleep- so anything else for pleasure would have been wasted on me.

If your partner breastfeeds, you can actually get some really cute jewellery made from dried breastmilk.