Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should long-term dole recipients be required to sign on daily at Garda station ?

• 03-11-2019 11:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Batty Boy

Should long-term dole recipients be required to sign on daily at Garda station ?

Should long-term dole recipients be required to sign on at Garda station ? 144 votes

Yes
    90% 130 votes
    No
    9% 14 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Dozyart

Batty Boy wrote: »

1/10,and the 1 is only for spelling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

EDIT - just seen post count, never mind...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

At a Garda station no but nothing wrong with them having to go to a welfare office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

Should manatees have the right to self-euthanise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Sharp MZ700

Who? The Garda or the civilian?

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Are they pedos?

IMO even the only criminals who should be forced to sign on in the garda station are genuine convicted sex offenders. The rest should be left alone.

I mean is Epstein and Prince Andrew had been forced to sign in a garda station the world would be a better place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Yeah they should. Robbing the taxpayer blind! Legalized theft though. It’s not like loads of other areas here could do with the funding. Blow it on world class welfare. Free houses. Medical card. Free travel etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,427 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

but the Garda station is the whole other end of the town to the Post Office, where I collect my dole...

I don't believe in humiliating or dehumanising people who've fallen on hard times. Anyone could find themselves with a fork in the sugar bowl following illness or other personal disaster, or economic downturn. Save the police for the criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Candie wrote: »
    I don't believe in humiliating or dehumanising people who've fallen on hard times. Anyone could find themselves with a fork in the sugar bowl following illness or other personal disaster, or economic downturn. Save the police for the criminals.

Yeah and what about people sleeping on floors in a psychiatric facility last week ? Or people left on trolleys For days. Can’t lock up scum as not enough prison spaces. Many defense force personnel on a pittance. Pathetic infrastructure. It’s ok to starve these areas of funding , once the world class welfare state is maintained ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭mycro2013

None of the guards business. Surely there is enough civil servants as it is to correctly police the welfare system. Another level of bureaucracy is never the answer.

Yeah and what about people sleeping on floors in a psychiatric facility last week ? Or people left on trolleys For days.

Obviously I don't think starving health and mental health services of funds is wise or humane. Neither do I think punishing people who are struggling on welfare or disability is wise or humane. It's not a one-or-the-other issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I mean is Epstein and Prince Andrew had been forced to sign in a garda station the world would be a better place.

If Epstein signs into a Garda station the conspiracy theory forum is going to go mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,215 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

This IS the most stupid fûcking thread I’ve ever seen appear on boards.ie

Next you’ll have some other muppet suggesting that people with a lactose intolerance show up at their local fire station to tell them they can’t drink milk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Mezzotint

Most people who are long term unemployed tend to not be so because they won't get work. They're there because they can't. A percentage of the population may have significant issues obtaining or keeping employment and there are all sorts of reasons for this ranging from geography, lack of appropriate skills, ageist recruiters ignoring applications from older job seekers (I've seen this quite a few times).

You've also a range of people who might not be technically disabled but they're unemployable or unable to hold down jobs due to minor mental health issues, learning disabilities (often undiagnosed), lack of very basic skills and so on.

You can either accept that a small % of society (and if is a small %) will always struggle to find work or, you can publish them for being poor, which seems to be where you're headed.

Be thankful that you're not in a position where you are depending on state supports, but trying to humiliate people who can't get work to somehow make them more employable makes no sense. What do you want to achieve? Starve people and drive up crime with people driven to stealing food like during the 19th century?

We do need better reskilling services and we also need to be creating a better range of jobs. We are headed towards an economy that's entirely focused on high skilled niches and the reality is not everyone fits it and an awful lot of jobs could vanish with increased automation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,215 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

At a Garda station no but nothing wrong with them having to go to a welfare office.

I’d rather they were actually actively looking for work personally as opposed to burdening the staff at the welfare office. As well as not looking for work you’d have the requirement for more staff at the cost of millions to the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

disappointed there’s no Atari Jaguar option in the poll.

Strumms wrote: »
    This IS the most stupid fûcking thread I’ve ever seen appear on boards.ie

Next you’ll have some other muppet suggesting that people with a lactose intolerance show up at their local fire station to tell them they can’t drink milk.

They will be telling me I can't drive until the seizures stop!

For those voting 'Yes', what would the benefit be?

A feeling of immense superiority, I'd guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 mydingaling2

Hell no bruv, There's a warrant out for me. I'm not getting arrested collecting me blooming dole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Simi

It always amazes me that some people feel so cheated by someone recieving €200 a week in social welfare and not by people stealing thousands through tax avoidance, companies stealing millions through creative accounting, banks making millions gambling people's money and being completely unaccountable when they lose it!

Yeah the guy getting dole when he mighn't fully deserve it is the problem

Simi wrote: »
    It always amazes me that some people feel so cheated by someone recieving €200 a week in social welfare and not by people stealing thousands through tax avoidance, companies stealing millions through creative accounting, banks making millions gambling people's money and being completely unaccountable when they lose it!

It doesn't help but seriously needs to be addressed better. Does a single person living at home with Daddy and Mammy need 200 euro a week?

Should women be having children knowing that the main reason their doing it is to get a free house and extra benefits?

Strumms wrote: »

Informing the nearest sewage treatment facility might be more sensible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Yeah and what about people sleeping on floors in a psychiatric facility last week ? Or people left on trolleys For days. Can’t lock up scum as not enough prison spaces. Many defense force personnel on a pittance. Pathetic infrastructure. It’s ok to starve these areas of funding , once the world class welfare state is maintained ?
    Yeah that's totally what she said.

It doesn't help but seriously needs to be addressed better. Does a single person living at home with Daddy and Mammy need 200 euro a week?

We could offer free euthanasia services for them. They'll avail of it in their masses once life is made miserable enough for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Are they pedos?

IMO even the only criminals who should be forced to sign on in the garda station are genuine convicted sex offenders. The rest should be left alone.

I don't see any issue with non sex offenders being required to sign in at a station as part of a bail agreement.

Simi wrote: »

Would they not feel cheated by both though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Twister2

Give em badges and guns when they get there

Pics of suspects and put them to work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭votecounts

Off to bed with you, had too much to drink.

kowloon wrote: »
    We could offer free euthanasia services for them. They'll avail of it in their masses once life is made miserable enough for them.

I think Mammy and Daddy should pay for such a service. Why should the tax payer foot the bill for Mammy and Daddy ridding themselves of their own virus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

I think Mammy and Daddy should pay for such a service. Why should the tax payer foot the bill for Mammy and Daddy ridding themselves of their own virus?

Their last weeks dole could cover the cost of pentobarbital.
    Surely you wouldn't begrudge them that?

What about forced euthanasia for the ones that refuse?

I wouldn't be against this for women who purposely get pregnant to get a free council house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Obviously I don't think starving health and mental health services of funds is wise or humane. Neither do I think punishing people who are struggling on welfare or disability is wise or humane. It's not a one-or-the-other issue.

It is when your mind is small. No room for complexity or gray.....
    Clearly those advocating such idiotic misuse of Garda powers have never fallen on hard times or being geographically straitjacketed by family ties, loss of a long term employer and insufficient transferrable skills.

Shame on ye, tarring all on the dole with one brush. Ye worthless heartless brain-dead sh1tehawks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

I wouldn't be against this for women who purposely get pregnant to get a free council house

True,sure they could put it in the same Bill as the one for hand amputation for keyboard warriors...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Wasting the Guards time?

You are hardly serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Oh for Jaysus sake. If there was a title for the stupidest thread ever on boards.ie for 2019. This would be it.

No. People who are long-term unemployed shouldn't deserve the humiliation of going to the Guards to simply sign on for the dole. There are people out there who are literally crying trying to get a job out there in various workforces in this country. Putting them through more stress while being with the Guards is untenable IMO.

Dealing with the civil servants in the welfare office are enough at this time. If you were putting yourself in this position; you wouldn't like it either OP.

Would the child be euthanised too or would they be rehomed? There's going to be a lot of them, I reckon it needs to be done in batches at some sort of specialised facility. so they're concentrated rather than spread out.

That's just nonsense, I would make it that they do something productive with their time, particularly when the child starts school whether it be cutting grass in their local town or village, full pressure 100% to acutally get a job.

In my opinion anyone on welfare should have receipts on everything that there spending their money on, clothes, fuel, shopping and be assessed constantly.

Welfare in Ireland is far to generous. I would go as saying it should be illegal for people to have children unless they can acutally pay for them.

F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

The few I know and one in particular are chronic alcoholics,.not saying it's right or wrong but they need their welfare and have nothing else whatsoever to look forward to,.I don't even care if they drink every penny,. they are capable of nothing else,.and I feel a daily trip to the Garda station would only increase their depression which I know they live with every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Zirconia
    Boycott Israeli Goods & Services

I don't believe in humiliating or dehumanising upeople who've fallen on hard times. Anyone could find themselves with a fork in the sugar bowl following illness or other personal disaster, or economic downturn. Save the police for the criminals.

Falling on hard times is one thing, but long term unemployment in what is effectively a full employment economy as we have now tends to indicate these are the small percentage who have no interest in working for a living and every intention of living off the rest of us.

Im specifically speaking of perpetual long term unemployment benefit claimants, not those on disability income who really should be looked after by the state, whether for permanent disability or other medical grounds, physical or mental health wise.

Well the OP's wind-up quest was a success. Good few folk giving him the annoyed response that he wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

I think the Gardai should be made to sign on everyday, to some government agency, that does full checks, to make sure they are not moonlighting or receiving other state benefits .

Let's keep 'em honest! I would hate if your honest Guard was too tired to protect the public because of his farming commitments/reps schemes. Or,too greedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭CoBo55

Ask some of the lads from Molex this question this time next year... Thirty to forty years service to a company and then have to answer to a Muppet like you... I hope you never have to attend that meeting because it ain't nice!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

But those things only happen to Other PeopleTM so who cares, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,934 ✭✭✭donegal_man

VtIstL3.jpg