Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help identifying Yamaha Fz6 (Fazer)

• 02-10-2019 12:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭

I recently bought a Yamaha Fz6 from a dealer and I need some help identifying the exact model so I can purchase parts for it. The information I do is
    Year of registration - 2012 (according to reg plate + confirmed with search on online checking site)
    The VIN is JYARJ141000003294. The model code under the seat is 5VXL-070C.

All internet research so far seems to indicate its a 2007 (!!!) model and that Fz6s stopped production (of the half faired type I have) in 2009.

I'm trying nail it down so I can pick up the Haynes manual for it and select the correct owners manual from the Yamaha website (it didn't come with it) to ensure I have the right info for servicing.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,607 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Reg has no bearing on what year the bike was manufactured so it's more than likely 2007.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭rock22

blade1 wrote: »
    Reg has no bearing on what year the bike was manufactured so it's more than likely 2007.

You would not expect a five year gap though.

Is it an Irish registration?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭enrique66_35

Thanks for the input guys. Yeah its an Irish reg and the history check stated it was not imported with date of first registration in Dec 2012. I have my doubts that those websites might not have the most accurate info for bikes.

I was asking a couple of lads a lot more experienced with bikes than me last night and they suggested a couple of theories;
    1. Given it would appear to have been built in 07, it may then have sat in a warehouse/dealership due to the crash in 08 and not sold until 2012 when its successor the MT07 release was imminent.
    2. It was imported and the history check website had faulty info due to being a bike or coming from a country without an accurate database or which the website does not have access to.
    3. What I don't want to think about - the "mismatch" in registration year and apparent manufacture year is indicative of something more sinister.

Any ideas, suggestions, anecdotes welcome!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

rock22 wrote: »

Date of first reg can be years apart from build date.
    I would think it's highly likely it sat in Danfays warehouse for a while until they got sick of looking at them and sold them off.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭enrique66_35

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Date of first reg can be years apart from build date.
    I would think it's highly likely it sat in Danfays warehouse for a while until they got sick of looking at them and sold them off.;)

I think you may be on the ball there as the following is pulled from the 2007 service manual
    Model
    1B3D (Europe) FZ6-N (Standard)
    5S31 (Europe) FZ6-NA (ABS)
    5S51 (Europe) FZ6-NHG (High-grade)
    5S52 (Aus) FZ6-NHGW (High-grade)
    5S41 (Europe) FZ6-NAHG (High-grade+ABS)
    5VXL (Europe) FZ6-S (Standard)
    4P53 (Europe) FZ6-SA (ABS)
    4P54 (Europe) FZ6-SA (ABS)
    4S81 (Europe) FZ6-SHG (High-grade)
    4S85 (Aus) FZ6-SHGW (High-grade)
    5S21 (Europe) FZ6-SAHG (High-grade+ABS)

Least I know now to forget about the reg plate and think 07 in terms of spare parts, servicing info, haynes manual etc. Cheers for the feedback lads, I've only just recently got up and running with the bike after years of saying I would and reading through all the advice and info in this forum has been invaluable.
    Keep up the good work! ;)

rock22 wrote: »

I know where there is a 2001 bike that hasn't been registered yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭H_Lime

blade1 wrote: »
    I know where there is a 2001 bike that hasn't been registered yet.

Lol dont say it's in yer sitting room Blade!:eek::)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭H_Lime

Yeah same craic, my latest yoke is an 89 yet it wasn't registered till 91 so the reg says 91.

H_Lime wrote: »
    Lol dont say it's in yer sitting room Blade!:eek::)

Nah, even though I'd prefer to look at a bike in the corner more than the TV.