Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So who here thinks Ireland will ever be hit by a Hurricane?

• 30-09-2019 9:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,840 ✭✭✭✭
    Ms

Me I think with every passing year and the way the climate is now so fecked up and the currents in the Sea's as well that it is only a mater of time it might be next year in five years or in a decade but I think it will happen unfortunately.

Just look at storm Lorenzo when it hits us it will be big storm but its a Hurricane at the moment and the next could still be that when hits us.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Nothing like over the water....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

We've had hurricane force winds before.

This Lorenzo has people in a panic and it probably won't even be storm force if it touches land here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I hit this island with emotional hurricanes all the time ...no one seems to mind tho :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

I think he’s dead 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

We've had hurricane force winds before.

This Lorenzo has people in a panic and it probably won't even be storm force if it touches land here.

This is exactly the kind of feckless attitude that has us in our current predicament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,864 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I don't think it's possible

This is exactly the kind of feckless attitude that has us in our current predicament.

And what predicament are we in? Pray tell.

The Night of the Big Wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

That's right up my alley.

tenor.gif?itemid=5237468

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Anyone remember Hurricane Charlie, mid eighties, 1985 I think, around the end of August, there was a lot of rain, camping at the Rose of Tralee, but I don't remember much wind

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

We will be hit by big storms again alright, maybe like the downgraded Ophelia a few years back. But I doubt we would see something like Hurricane Wilma.

Anyone remember Hurricane Charlie, mid eighties, 1985 I think, around the end of August, there was a lot of rain, camping at the Rose of Tralee, but I don't remember much wind

It was 86 if I remember correctly.
    Was at lough dan camping. Plenty of rain, wind, thunder and lightning. We had to move into a house as the area we were pitched in became flooded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

sugarman wrote: »
    Try a century or 2. We're nowhere near close to reaching ideal weather conditions for hurricanes to form.

They currently form in tropics near the equator, we'd need a serious shift in climate change / temperature increase to affect this far north of the equator.

Well get bigger storms alright as tailends of them hit here, but we're a long way off actual hurricanes. Certainly not 5 years anyway!

Ophelia was easternmost Atlantic major hurricane in recorded history. 2 years later we have one in similar spot.

Probably won't be 5 years but the way the Earth is warming unnaturally and the rise in sea temperatures Ireland is in for some severe storms probably annually within next 20 years.

This country isn't setup to deal with a direct hit from a hurricane either. The majority of our population are living in low lying areas near major bodies of water. Dublin, Galway, Cork, Waterford, Limerick, Athlone, Sligo, Drogheda and Dundalk would be devastated by anything approaching a category 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

A couple years ago some family were on holiday in Orlando and they were under a serious hurricane threat. All the parks closed down. A few weeks later they were constantly in my ear about this footage they took of crazy lightning and mad torrential rain. So they sent me the video and I asked if they were in the outside bands of the hurricane. “Oh no this wasn’t the hurricane. It was a nervy time though as we weren’t sure if we would make our flight out. But thankfully we did. Close call though.” The footage they were so jumpy about was just your standard Florida thunderstorm. If Ireland ever experienced a proper hurricane full on god help us. We’re not equipped for it, naturally, as Storm Ophelia well demonstrated.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Not without a polar realignment, which as far as I am aware is only a theory?

They only occur near the equator and work then towards the tropics. The Atlantic is too cold for them to grow to hurricane size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,840 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Awe that's good then. Phew I can stop worrying about a Hurricane ever hitting us in my lifetime so.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

AMKC wrote: »
    Me I think with every passing year and the way the climate is now so fecked up and the currents in the Sea's as well that it is only a mater of time it might be next year in five years or in a decade but I think it will happen unfortunately.

Just look at storm Lorenzo when it hits us it will be big storm but its a Hurricane at the moment and the next could still be that when hits us.

A. Lorenzo wount touch us.

B. No. Any weather system which presents this kind of threat generally loses most power as it travels further North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

As storms increase over generations, we are well capable of developing with the weather. Our structures will change, our flood defences will improve, coastal accommodation will be moved out of dangerous areas. This is stuff that only needs to happen over multiple lifetimes. That said, I believe structurally we are far ahead of some regions in terms of how our housing is constructed. Timber stick built houses literally blow away in the wind. Our block built structures are good for well upwards of 100 mph
    We have had 107 mph gusts here with only a few metal sheds etc losing some roof sections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Ophelia was easternmost Atlantic major hurricane in recorded history. 2 years later we have one in similar spot.

Probably won't be 5 years but the way the Earth is warming unnaturally and the rise in sea temperatures Ireland is in for some severe storms probably annually within next 20 years.

This country isn't setup to deal with a direct hit from a hurricane either. The majority of our population are living in low lying areas near major bodies of water. Dublin, Galway, Cork, Waterford, Limerick, Athlone, Sligo, Drogheda and Dundalk would be devastated by anything approaching a category 2.
    Eh, Drogheda is on a hill on both sides of the town. Upwards of 100ft above sea level.

rossie1977 wrote: »

Well thankfully as history shows we will never be hit woth one. Not in our life times anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Maggie Benson

Anyone remember Debbie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Ophelia was still only a category 3 hurricane and little more than a storm by the time it actually got anywhere near Ireland, albeit a very bad one.

Temperatures have only risen by 1 degree in the last century, albeit most of that 1 degree in the second half of it. Temperatures are predicted to rise by a 1.5 degree min by the year 2100.

So I reckon we will be hit by worse and worse storms, we're still a long way from actually feeling the full force brunt of a hurricane on these shores.

Ophelia actually slammed in to the coast of Cork with Hurricane force winds. (>120kmph)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,415 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Anyone remember Debbie?

is that the one that hit Dallas?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Yep, remember it well. It was 1986 and I was just going into 6th class in primary school. There must have been very strong winds because a lot of big old trees in the Phoenix Park were blown down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ophelia was still only a category 3 hurricane and little more than a storm by the time it actually got anywhere near Ireland, albeit a very bad one.

Temperatures have only risen by 1 degree in the last century, albeit most of that 1 degree in the second half of it. Temperatures are predicted to rise by a 1.5 degree min by the year 2100.

So I reckon we will be hit by worse and worse storms, we're still a long way from actually feeling the full force brunt of a hurricane on these shores.

Ophelia actually slammed in to the coast of Cork with Hurricane force winds. (>120kmph)
    120kmph is only a bit of wind in the West of Ireland. We had 107 mph or 170 kmph in with 1987 or 1991.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

mickdw wrote: »
    120kmph is only a bit of wind in the West of Ireland. We had 107 mph or 170 kmph in with 1987 or 1991.

It reached 191kmph during Ophelia.

https://twitter.com/severeweathereu/status/919891856774885376?s=21

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Yep, remember it well. It was 1986 and I was just going into 6th class in primary school. There must have been very strong winds because a lot of big old trees in the Phoenix Park were blown down.

I flew into Dublin that night roughest flight I've ever been on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Some of us have been waiting for hurricane for quite a while...

https://youtu.be/m3_vMk4FCQw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Hobosan

Hurricanes in Ireland... more like Hindericanes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Seriously who gives a toss. Just avoid travel at the time it's hitting if that.

I'm tired of Irish people larping about the "extreme weather" conditions we're getting every time there's a strong breeze or a bit of snow. Grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,048 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

That MT Cranium dude in the weather forum thinks it will be a near miss by the west coast. He seems to know his stuff, say we're grand so.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

At fastnet though which is out at Sea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,864 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Ophelia was a great day around here - Galway City - we all got a day off work and it was pretty much just a blustery day, nothing more.

C'mon Lorenzo, more of the same please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Interesting how the naysayers live where the bad storms have less effect.

Out here on the west coast? Never yet (!) as bad as when I lived on a North Sea island. Once 72 hours of gale, with gusts of 124 MILES an hour. My neighbours stable chicken shed flew. Huge boulders in the fields near the sea. Flung there by the gale.

Feeding my stock clinging to washing poles and feeling as if the skin was being flayed off your face.

We are getting nearer that now. It has been getting nearer the score of years I am here.

The landscape here is as it was there; no real trees. a pleached landscape.

But nowhere near hurricane ;; watch the film from rthe Bahamas

Still serious though and not to be downplayed

Would not live anywhere else though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Graces7 wrote: »
    Interesting how the naysayers live where the bad storms have less effect.

Out here on the west coast? Never yet (!) as bad as when I lived on a North Sea island. Once 72 hours of gale, with gusts of 124 MILES an hour. My neighbours stable chicken shed flew. Huge boulders in the fields near the sea. Flung there by the gale.

Feeding my stock clinging to washing poles and feeling as if the skin was being flayed off your face.

We are getting nearer that now. It has been getting nearer the score of years I am here.

The landscape here is as it was there; no real trees. a pleached landscape.

But nowhere near hurricane ;; watch the film from rthe Bahamas

Still serious though and not to be downplayed

Would not live anywhere else though!

Grace they're not naysayers. It's literally impossible for a a hurricane to hit Ireland, the water is too cold. Also, you are not the only one who lives on the coast. The Atlantic is literally at the end of my garden .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

US2 wrote: »
    Grace they're not naysayers. It's literally impossible for a a hurricane to hit Ireland, the water is too cold. Also, you are not the only one who lives on the coast. The Atlantic is literally at the end of my garden .

apologies; badly worded on my part. I was meaning those who say gales ware trivial when they happen on the west coast as we are apparently so used to them we are not affected.

I totally agree we will never see a hurricane in Ireland. Thankfully. I have faith family in Nova Scotia and Newfie who lost their homes earlier this year. They are not to be desired.

Glad to meet thee fellow coastdweller!

Arghus wrote: »
    Ophelia was a great day around here - Galway City - we all got a day off work and it was pretty much just a blustery day, nothing more.

It hit the east worse to be fair. Then again we dont get 363 days of rain a year like galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Climate change could be what stops hurricanes becoming a threat, the Gulf Stream could be weakened or even break down due to Arctic ice melt being fed down the Labrador current this would cool the North Atlantic so reducing the energy available to hurricanes as they move north.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Should I hide under my bed now?? Or when is it coming?? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Anyone remember Debbie?

Dad talks about it when storms come up, it was back in 61, still the strongest to hit Ireland since records began.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

Arghus wrote: »

Also 3 dead and €68 million in damage. Great craic.

It could have been worse, sure. Particularly if we'd listened to the people who kept insisting (and are still here insisting) that it was no big deal.

I really doubt we're about to see full hurricane force storms making landfall here, but seeing two of them form this far to the north east and then promptly track straight towards Ireland is a worrying trend. If not for us, maybe for our kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Much of the hype originates in the extrapolation from ludicrously small datasets.
    Biggest/hottest/wettest/coldest ever = only biggest/hottest/wettest/coldest in two centuries
    Nothing we can do about that. Just tough luck for us that the Victorians were the first to start keeping serious weather records.
    Of course many annals do refer to unusual weather back the centuries but it is hard to do science on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Climate change could be what stops hurricanes becoming a threat, the Gulf Stream could be weakened or even break down due to Arctic ice melt being fed down the Labrador current this would cool the North Atlantic so reducing the energy available to hurricanes as they move north.

Hard to know. Climate change has always been a meaninglessly empty phrase to me. Climate changes. That is what it does. By definition. Nowhere on earth has a permanent climate. However, if we talk about global warming then that doesn't mean much for hurricanes. Hurricanes are really about warm water near the equator and the coriolis effect brings them spinning up here. These are relatively permanent features of the earth's physics. Melted ice from the Arctic isn't enough to outweigh the temperature differential effect of latitude.