Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney is gone. The end

• 28-09-2019 10:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭

Needs no words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Sharp MZ700

Whose round is it now lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Gerry G wrote: »
    Needs no words

Only that there's already a big thread on that subject in the Soccer forum.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

A few words would have helped, I had to google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

An iconic figure we won't miss

Only that there's already a big thread on that subject in the Soccer forum.

I tried to post there but it wouldn't let me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,750 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

How much wind has been put at his back (what cash payoff did the FAI have to give?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

You ask for miracles Theo I give you the FAI....

How much wind has been put at his back (what cash payoff did he FAI have to give?)

He knows where all the skeletons are so I'd say we are talking hurricane rather than wind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Sharp MZ700

RIP

Goodnight sweet Prince.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Goodnight sweet Prince.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam

Dilís

Whose round is it now lads?

Anyone for the last few choc ices now??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

Hope the door hits him on the way out. An absolute cancer.

RIP.

My sympathies are with his friends and family at this time.

Hard to see the queen sticking around now without the free tickets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,413 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭lola85

Just remembered all the stuff that went on a few months ago.

Funny how you forget things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,750 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Will the FAI continue to pay the winner of the league fractions of what they pay their boss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Will the FAI continue to pay the winner of the league fractions of what they pay their boss?

Yes seeing as the going rate for the head of the FAI is €375,000 plus extremely generous benefits from rent to pension contributions.

Their current contribution to the LOI prize money is €0. 00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,371 ✭✭✭Homer

RIP

If only that thieving gypsy was devoid of oxygen it would be a bonus to society :mad:

Yes seeing as the going rate for the head of the FAI is €375,000 plus extremely generous benefits from rent to pension contributions.

Is your decimal point in the right place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,867 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

lola85 wrote: »
    Just remembered all the stuff that went on a few months ago.

Funny how you forget things.

The FAI rely on this to keep doing their thing. If you can weather the initial storm of media attention, you always stand a good chance of making it through in the end, because people forget about things.

I hope Delaney going is only the start of the FAI's troubles - there's years worth of dirt and dodgy dealings yet to be unearthed, but a lot of the skeletons in the closets probably will never see the light of day and those still in charge will duck and dodge until the authorities give up chasing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I thought he topped himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

About 7 years overdue. Irish football has been left in some heap.

Donal Conway and the rest need to go too.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Leaves with a nice pension and pay off for himself, absolute joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,209 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

An obscene wage. Does the level of responsibility and scope of the job entitle the holder to a big and generous salary ? I think it does but I’d be more than halving that... €150,000 perhaps, tops..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

End of an era. I'll get my coat shall I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

But who will now lend the FAI back their own money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Excellent news.

King corrupt gombeen gone. Now just need all the others to follow him out to pasture and replace the board with people who are mildly competent.

sdanseo wrote: »
    Excellent news.

King corrupt gombeen gone. Now just need all the others to follow him out to pasture and replace the board with people who are mildly competent.

Unlikely to happen, be more jobs for the boys I reckon

So, let me get this straight: despite the millions given to the FAI each year from the Irish taxpayer, in September 2019 the FAI refuses to disclose how many hundreds of thousands more it is paying the rank parasite that is John Delaney? And they have a right to do this in the laws of our state? This is fúcking outrageous.

This John Delaney scandal is a much bigger "fúck you" to Irish taxpayers than even the media is making it out to be (although Mark Tighe has been exemplary). That it took the FAI so long to do the only right thing speaks volumes for how utterly compromised the management of the FAI is. "Reformed" my arse. It really is the embodiment of corruption and "you scratch my back and I'll scratch yours" politics. Not a cent of public money should be given to that organisation and its corrupt shenanigans, the latest of which is this week's secretive deal with Delaney. This week! If you accept state money, you accept state rules on salaries, expenses, transparency and so forth. Simple. Fair.

Just as a reminder: Delaney was paid €3,000 per month rent every month for 10 years, on top of the €360,000 per annum FAI salary (Source) - a salary whose tax component nobody but nobody is investigating (i.e. how much tax did Delaney pay on that, or was it paid into some offshore corporate entity where he paid little-to-no tax?). Then there is the other income, official and non-official. How much did he get in payments/"expenses" from UEFA and all the other organisations? And only the very dim think we're talking about receipts for cups of coffee when we're talking about John Delaney's "expenses"?

The word 'outrage' is frequently overused, but let's remind ourselves of how egregiously John Delaney, with the full support of the FAI's Council, Board of Management and committees, ripped us, Irish taxpayers, off:

FAI received €50 million in taxpayers' funds in past decade

John Delaney is the Rody Molloy and John O'Donoghue of our day. It is disgusting that he is going off into the sunset on yet another massive payoff on top of all the rest - and that we, Irish taxpayers, do not have a right to know how much that is. This is long past being a political issue and the relevant Irish government minister needs to grow a pair of balls and take our money off this organisation. Fúck the béal bocht- "what about the under-10s in Ballybough?" shíte; the people representing the Ballyboughs and Darndales of Ireland actually kept that rank parasite in power by voting for him again and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

FAI = John Delaney

RIP FAI

Just watch.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Jonybgud wrote: »
    FAI = John Delaney

RIP FAI

Just watch.....

His buddy Noel Mooney is running the show.

The more things change the more they stay the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Jonybgud

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    His buddy Noel Mooney is running the show.

The more things change the more they stay the same.

Two cheeks of the same arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Asitis2019

All in all, I think J. Delaney is right to step away. There is no doubt that the FAi needs a fresh leadership team to move forward.

BUT, I think the commentary on social media, and by certain posters on this thread, is absolutely despicable. As far as I am aware, there has been no evidence of wrongdoing on his part - he hasn't stolen or misappropriated money, and the FAI has seen several successes under his watch. Let's not forget that a man has lost his livelihood today.

Taking pleasure out of somebody else's misery is second nature to most people in this thread and forum. And no doubt you won't be happy until he is replaced by somebody of your own ilk with a D4 accent.

How many of you would have done a better job of running the FAI?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Late Late Show Friday night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Asitis2019 wrote: »
    A
    Taking pleasure out of somebody else's misery is second nature to most people in this thread and forum. And no doubt you won't be happy until he is replaced by somebody of your own ilk with a D4 accent.

(*In the tone of the Bull from Savage Eye*)
    I would have done a proper job and rode the organisation into the ground proper. The most important qualification is to have a neck like a jockeys ballax!!

I would have mortgaged the FAI and pocketed the money myself if I was given the job of running it. An excuse to ride the tax payer proper like. When I see the taxpayer I just want to strap on a big old dildo and ride it proper like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

All in all, I think J. Delaney is right to step away. There is no doubt that the FAi needs a fresh leadership team to move forward.

BUT, I think the commentary on social media, and by certain posters on this thread, is absolutely despicable. As far as I am aware, there has been no evidence of wrongdoing on his part - he hasn't stolen or misappropriated money, and the FAI has seen several successes under his watch. Let's not forget that a man has lost his livelihood today.

Signed up to boards as soon as your retirement announcement John?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,283 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Chartered jet to Las Vegas as a golden handshake

I def would have done a better job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

FAI paid his rent for a decade. https://extra.ie/2019/03/25/news/irish-news/fai-john-delaney-rent (This, by the way, started just after he took the same 10% pay cut as he was imposing on the rest of the FAI's staff. Staff who were not getting their rent paid.)

Credit card use that is arguably excessive. https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/3984768/john-delaney-e40000-fai-credit-card-six-months/

FAI funds and staff used for his birthday party. https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/94f5451c-ab23-11e9-8f2b-bc696bde9b2e https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/fai-staff-made-to-work-at-john-delaneys-lavish-50th-birthday-party-dl2zwl3sm

Highly suspicious loan of €100k to his own organisation. https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/timetable-of-john-delaney-loan-controversy-1.3860097

He got rid of his predecessor for credit card abuse - and as above he's used it pretty generously himself. He was on the three man committee that hired himself in response to the Genesis Report's recommendation that an external candidate be hired. He stomped on various fan protests. He's left the FAI saddled in debt, and mired in controversy. He paid himself a small fortune while extracting money from the League of Ireland - the prize money is less than the entry fee.

So yeah, he's not going to be missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

John Delaney's reign is over. Thank goodness for that. His severance package believed to be somewhere around €500,000 from them is stomach churning. How on earth can he claim that obscene amount of money when he did so damage to the organisation while he worked there for such a long time? I hope the reports being released soon to the media will give the FAI the ultimate lesson when dealing with funds coming from the Irish taxpayer. If everything from the reports say absolutely nothing at all that has happened illegally within the FAI. More questions will have to be asked about why nothing was done on a realistic perspective on the shady deals within the organisation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I've said it before that if you get state money you should be compelled to publish your ingoings and outgoings in detail so that the public can see if they're getting value for money.

If I understand you correctly, wouldn't that mean that only the most boring and insipid characters are attracted into politics or public service generally?

If, from the entire spectrum of human behaviour, you're only drawing-in the most boring characters imaginable, then surely you're limiting social progress by default -- such personages would be the most closed-minded individuals imaginable. If such a rule had prevailed in De Valera's time, you might as well forget about the Labour Party, we'd never have had anybody in the public service who'd dare contribute money to a trade union, let alone someone who was in a gay relationship. I think there's a flaw in your proposal Tom, one which would severely limit any social change. Such a policy would be a corrosive, conservative blight on our society.

Quite literally, the most attractive candidates would always be impotent, middle aged married men with no imagination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

If such a rule had prevailed in De Valera's time, you might as well forget about the Labour Party, we'd never have had anybody in the public service who'd dare contribute money to a trade union

No I'm saying if public money is given to an ostensibly private organisation its books should be open to scrutiny if they already aren't.

There was a huge scandal a coupe of years ago when it was discovered how Charity CEO's were being paid lavish salaries and benefits while the state was handing over millions of Euro.

I'm not saying that individuals' spending should be scrutinised. Sorry, I wasn't clear about that now that I look. I was in the hospital last night with an maddeningly painful abscess and can't think straight.

No I'm saying if public money is given to an ostensibly private organisation its books should be open to scrutiny if they already aren't.

There was a huge scandal a coupe of years ago when it was discovered how Charity CEO's were being paid lavish salaries and benefits while the state was handing over millions of Euro.

I'm not saying that individuals' spending should be scrutinised. Sorry, I wasn't clear about that now that I look. I was in the hospital last night with an maddeningly painful abscess and can't think straight.
    Ah sorry, yes I see your point. Of course. It seems mad that this argument even has to be advanced. It should be assumed as a matter of course that any organisation in receipt of public money must publish their unabridged accounts.

People will of course whine that this is anti-competitive, but the whole point of receiving public money is that you're not trying to compete with the private sector in the first place!