Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Using Politicans First Names?

• 27-09-2019 9:35pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭

This seem unique to Ireland. I find it rather obnoxious in that we see them as 'mates' and this whole 'Leo', 'Bertie', 'Psychopath' or whatever their first names are gets them off the hook in this country. 'Ah, sure 'Psychopath' is going to get the potholes filled.' etc like they are personal friends or something.

I am just wondering if it was always like this in Ireland since the foundation of the state, or just something that came along since 'Charlie'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,282 ✭✭✭✭banie01

MrAbyss wrote: »
    This seem unique to Ireland. I find it rather obnoxious in that we see them as 'mates' and this whole 'Leo', 'Bertie', 'Psychopath' or whatever their first names are gets them off the hook in this country. 'Ah, sure 'Psychopath' is going to get the potholes filled.' etc like they are personal friends or something.

I am just wondering if it was always like this in Ireland since the foundation of the state, or just something that came along since 'Charlie'?

Tricky Dicky? Ike? Teddy? Boris?
    Its common everywhere and has been as long as there has been politicians.

I doubt many called Pericles or Alcibiades by their surnames either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

It's not just Ireland. Look at 'Boris' in the UK. Or 'The' Donald in America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

ADDRESS ME BY MY PROPER TITLE. YOU LITTLE BOLLOX!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Or 55 (as in LV) such a lame nickname.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

I guess it makes them seem more cuddly, likable almost.

Who wouldn't like an Adolf? Almost reindeer like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 559 ✭✭✭PostWoke

Ireland has a real issue with confusing authority figures.

Remember that these plonkers are actually your employees, as you are a citizen. The same goes for our useless police. Ireland also has a serious problem with automatic worship of anyone in uniform. How did that work out with the nuns, the priests, and the police?

Maybe if we ever had decent leadership in this country, the positions of leadership would be more respected.

If you want to revere anyone save it for our firemen/ambulance drivers/healthcare workers/teachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,862 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Alexander Boris de Pfeffel Johnson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

The Don

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

PostWoke wrote: »
    Ireland has a real issue with confusing authority figures.

Remember that these plonkers are actually your employees, as you are a citizen. The same goes for our useless police. Ireland also has a serious problem with automatic worship of anyone in uniform. How did that work out with the nuns, the priests, and the police?

Maybe if we ever had decent leadership in this country, the positions of leadership would be more respected.

If you want to revere anyone save it for our firemen/ambulance drivers/healthcare workers/teachers.

Well yeah, but it's all the Brits fault, so it is.

Its a cultural thing, I think.

In the US even among people that work together and such, surnames get used a lot more than first names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Deiselurker

Today fm newsreader on Ian Dempsey's breakfast show called the British pm Boris the other day. Even Ian Dempsey picked up on it. I wouldn't have much time for Boris Johnson but show a bit of respect. 'Boris'or 'Leo' aren't your personal friend so stop referring to them by their first name only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

Not unique to Ireland although it is particularly prominent here ... see Boris Johnson in the UK for exemple (yes I did make a point of writing is full name :-)).

I personally dislike it as indeed I don’t expect Leo Varadkar to be my buddy (and even if I call him by his first name, the reality is he won’t be), but a good leader for the country.

In my mouth, putting some distance by calling him Varadkar, Leo Varadkar, or the Taoiseach means 2 thin*:
    - a mark of respect for his person and the office he is holding (he is the leader of our nation and not a random bloke across the street)
    - but also a way to show that what I expect from him is a lot more than what I expect from that random bloke across the street and that his responsibility is to serve our common national interest rather than being anyone’s buddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Today fm newsreader on Ian Dempsey's breakfast show called the British pm Boris the other day. Even Ian Dempsey picked up on it. I wouldn't have much time for Boris Johnson but show a bit of respect. 'Boris'or 'Leo' aren't your personal friend so stop referring to them by their first name only.

Yeah but saying Johnson over and over is bound to lead to giggles eventually

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 559 ✭✭✭PostWoke

I wouldn't have much time for Boris Johnson but show a bit of respect.

Why? He's a muppet? Do you also get triggered by political cartoons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

First names are grand. People, media included, addressing them by their nicknames is fupping ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,075 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Alexander Boris de Pfeffel Johnson.

In in de Pfeffel altogether now so he is.
    That name suits him and his bluster as well.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,075 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

First names are grand. People, media included, addressing them by their nicknames is fupping ridiculous.

What about sports pundits talking to each other - Dalo, Whelo, Keano, Jayo, Crouchy, Giggsy etc?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

What about sports pundits talking to each other - Dalo, Whelo, Keano, Jayo, Crouchy, Giggsy etc?

Thats generally people that know each other.

The news should really be of a slightly higher standard to a few lads chatting about football.

Plus , the news arent using shortening of their names , its stuff like the cope and ming. I doubt the pundits are using some of the lads real nicknames :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Its as bad as using their last names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭Marhay70

I'd call them by their first names because calling them by the names they deserve would probably land me in the nick.
    I do agree with the OP though, calling them by first names makes them too much of a buddy buddy character when all they see you as is a means to an end, keep them at arms length and treat them with the contempt they deserve.