Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is your success in life?

• 19-09-2019 10:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

So what do you feel amounts to achieving your goals?

Travelling the world? Working your way up the career ladder? Having a family?

Reaching contentment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

I echo Bertie's statement and would add I want to live by myself for a few years which I will start doing in the next 2 weeks. It's taken me over 15 years to be able to buy my own place but I'm almost there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,748 ✭✭✭✭maccored

being happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,430 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Reaching contentment.

Good luck with that one, B.

As soon as you’re “there” you’ll find the world and it’s mother trying to get you to do things differently.

Stay the course.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Despite two failed marriages, I would say having 4 beautiful kids.
    And being happy living on my own for the past few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Paging Aonghus Von Bismarck

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I managed to make toast without burning down the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I am the One, the only One, I am the god of kingdom come. Just gimme the prize!!

TheKurgan.jpg

Getting USB to work successfully on a Windows 95b PC.
    USB sockets were purely installed as bling on this machine, a Gateway 2000 166 Pentium II MMX.
    Oh, and a USB "Supplement" FLOPPY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Apiarist

Despite two failed marriages, I would say having 4 beautiful kids.....

I have crossed the redundant word. You got something that you like, so can't consider both enterprises as failed, right? ;)

My success in life is being alive. I wake up every morning (or later) and thank the universe for my continuous existence. Everything else, my family, great job, and my good looks are just the way the universe says "You are welcome" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

I'm fairly lucky alright.

Lovely family and children.
    Financially independent... have work that I enjoy, a house in a place we love, and transport to get around.
    Been to some of the places on my list in the world, soem places in africa, middle east, nordic countries, US , europe. And more to look forward to.
    Managed to remain relatively healthy - don't smoke or have any prescriptions or drug habits, no major injuries.
    Have some handy skillz... can drive, swim, shoot, cook, sew, do a bit of carpentry.

Can't ask for much more than that in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭patmahe

The slowly dawning realisation that I am my own man and not to put too much stock in what other people say I should/shouldn't be doing, basically trusting my own gut instinct after years of assuming other people knew best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Getting minge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Still being alive and in good health the following morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

ebbsy wrote: »
    Getting minge.
    latest?cb=20190731221504

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,440 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Pheonix10 wrote: »
    So what do you feel amounts to achieving your goals?

Managing to get this far without killing myself is something of an achievement, I’m not the only one who wonders how I did it either :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭kerryjack

The ride on mower your nothing around these parts if you don't have one. I finely have it made yaooo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Getting stuck in an elevator with a guy called cess....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I can open a bra with one hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

A single thank on a Boards post us enough to get me through the day with a smile on my face and a skip in my step, knowing I have succeeded in making a positive difference to someone, which is my only goal in life.

If any of you bastards don’t do it, I have a second account I can use, so I’m entirely self sufficient in terms of happiness, just like the Buddha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

El Weirdo wrote: »
    I can open a bra with one hand.

I can do that too.

I had a life threatening illness and survived it , thats my success, nothing to do with bra opening skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

tritium wrote: »
    I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain.

At this stage , there's been more of yis up at that shoulder of Orion than were fighting in the GPO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,051 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I can do that too.

I had a life threatening illness and survived it , that my success, nothing to with bra opening skills.

Did your bra opening skill cause the illness, like the bra snapped back and strangled you.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,051 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

A single thank on a Boards post us enough to get me through the day with a smile on my face and a skip in my step, knowing I have succeeded in making a positive difference to someone, which is my only goal in life.

If any of you bastards don’t do it, I have a second account I can use, so I’m entirely self sufficient in terms of happiness, just like the Buddha.

Hmmmmm. Schrödinger's thanks.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

A better understanding of myself and this world

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    A better understanding of myself and this world

I bet you're still wondering though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Getting out of a controlled marriage and actually meeting someone who cares about me and doesn't try to change me or manipulate me.
    I got two amazing girls out of it which mean the world to me but it took 11 years to see what was happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Six thanks already.

Enjoy the come down tomorrow, pal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

ebbsy wrote: »
    Getting minge.

aaah , ah ye going trans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Good jib!

Jesus, this is a depressing thread for me. Middle-aged, stuck in a job I don't really like, ditto OH, still wondering when the good part is coming.

Life just seems a drag, drag yer arse into your car in the morning, drag yerself into work, go home, 5 times a week. Add in time food shopping, cooking, cleaning and you don't really have that much time for yourself.

My success? Still being alive, I suppose? Not having children so they don't have to drag themselves into work 5 times a day in thirty years time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Good jib! wrote: »
    Not having children so they don't have to drag themselves into work 5 times a day in thirty years time?

Maybe if they stopped leaving during the day, they wouldn't have to keep dragging themselves back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,148 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Not murdering anyone....there have been a few close calls :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Jesus, this is a depressing thread for me. Middle-aged, stuck in a job I don't really like, ditto OH, still wondering when the good part is coming.

Life just seems a drag, drag yer arse into your car in the morning, drag yerself into work, go home, 5 times a week. Add in time food shopping, cooking, cleaning and you don't really have that much time for yourself.

My success? Still being alive, I suppose? Not having children so they don't have to drag themselves into work 5 times a day in thirty years time?

Have you considered drugs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I definitely wouldn't recommend kids if you have no time without them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Apiarist

Jesus, this is a depressing thread for me. Middle-aged, stuck in a job I don't really like, ditto OH, still wondering when the good part is coming.....

Do you have to work, as in do you have dependent relatives that would be worse off if you don't? There are other alternatives if you can quit your job.

My brother-in-law quit his boring techie job, bought a camper van and went to live in Spain with my sister, both working odd jobs and spending most of good weather on the coast.

Or you can sign up to be an English teacher in Vietnam. Imagine being a respectable foreigner in a low cost country ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

Getting out of a toxic marriage with no dependents, my child from my current loving relationship, the degree I earned as a mature student, my current career. To a lesser extent, money in the bank- my having made security for the future is the success.

Clearing some e+ level songs on beat saber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Having the cojones to finally walk out on a loveless and manipulative marriage, and still have the time and money to live life again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

Discovering K Pop last night in my YouTube recommendations.

Wooooooowwwwwwww.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Good jib!

topper75 wrote: »
    Have you considered drugs?

No, actually. Like drug drugs:cool:, or anti-depressants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Capt. Autumn

No, actually. Like drug drugs:cool:, or anti-depressants?

I felt like the way you described for a few years and one life event brought me to my knees. I was so depressed then I could not get out of bed. I didn't want to live anymore. You sound mildly depressed already. See your GP. Get recommended to a decent psychiatrist. I did, got on the right medication and it saved my life. Good Luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Managing to stay alive for 32 years baby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

£10 Burger King voucher on a radio phone in competition.

still wondering when the good part is coming

I'd say many more people can relate to that than are posting here, but I know how you feel.

Life is so tedious.

I often wonder how some people can seem so at peace and so content with things. I wonder what it is that doesn't make them sick to the teeth of the thoughts of going to work and the likes.

i really like my job and the people i work with

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I had achieved quite a lot in terms of my career by the time I was 34 but back then I was filled with insecurity and anxiety, not really happy, never content. I was in a long-term relationship, on a great salary, had a nice house in a great location, but I just didn’t really appreciate what I had, and worried about everything.

...and then it all came crashing down and I ended up in a very bad way for a number of years heading in one direction - oblivion.

But now I have real peace of mind and contentment, things I never had before in my life. That is my biggest achievement. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Reaching contentment.

I've reached resentment, close enough I suppose.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

To crush your enemies, see them driven before you, and to hear the lamentation of their women!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,209 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

To crush your enemies, see them driven before you, and to hear the lamentation of their women!

You can’t beat a good lamentation..