Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F1 2019 - Round 15 Singapore

• 18-09-2019 6:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭

Two weeks have gone since Charles won his first two grand prix. Will the Ferrari have the better aero package for Signapore.

We've got 61 laps of a 5km circuit with a fastest lap of 1:41.905. I'm thinking Mercedes will be back on form, but Red Bull may have other ideas. Expect the Ferrari to monster the straights with the Mercs nippy around the corners.

image.png

Tyres for this week:

image.jpg

Key times are Qualy for 2pm on Sat and Race at 1.10pm

Schedule if you're lucky enough to be there in the balmy weather.

THURSDAY 19th SEPTEMBER
    Formula 1 Press Conference 13:30 - 14:30

FRIDAY 20th SEPTEMBER
    Formula 1 Practice 1 09:30 - 11:00
    Formula 1 Practice 2 13:30 - 15:00

SATURDAY 21st SEPTEMBER
    Formula 1 Practice 3 11:00 - 12:00
    Formula 1 Qualifying 14:00 - 15:00

SUNDAY 22nd SEPTEMBER
    Formula 1 Grand Prix (61 Laps or 120 Mins) 13:10 - 15:10

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I think Albon is a good outside shout for a podium if not an outright win here. I really think this is a Red Bull circuit.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

So far in FP1, Le Clerc has gear box problems (probably not the race engine/gearbox). Bottas stuck the car in the wall, red flag. 21 mins left in this session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Inviere

astrofluff wrote: »
    I'm thinking Mercedes will be back on form

This was never really a strong track for Merc, I think damage limitation from them this weekend is on the cards. Agreed re Red Bull, this will be a good chance for them to flex some muscle, but Ferrari go well here too...hopefully an interesting race ahead :)

Apologies if I'm missing something, but Hamilton won the last two grand prix at Singapore. I'd agree they're not miles ahead on this track, but they still won the last two. I do reckon Max has upped him game for this weekend. And after the practice sessions, I'd be wary of whether Ferrari know what they're doing (changing floors and wings - sound like they're not up to speed at all).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,904 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

Inviere wrote: »
    This was never really a strong track for Merc, I think damage limitation from them this weekend is on the cards. Agreed re Red Bull, this will be a good chance for them to flex some muscle, but Ferrari go well here too...hopefully an interesting race ahead :)

In the hybrid era Merc have won the race 4 times out of 5, and apart from 2 DNF's they've not finished outside the top 4. I certainly expect a more competitive fight for the podium but this is still a strong Merc track. Hamilton on pole position and an easy flag to flag win is more likely.

Apologies if I'm missing something, but Hamilton won the last two grand prix at Singapore. I'd agree they're not miles ahead on this track, but they still won the last two. I do reckon Max has upped him game for this weekend. And after the practice sessions, I'd be wary of whether Ferrari know what they're doing (changing floors and wings - sound like they're not up to speed at all).

He'd a little bit o' help in 2017 you might say (look where the Mercs are on the grid)

Yeah Hamilton nailed it in 2018 but generally speaking, Mercedes haven't been at their strongest at Singapore.

skipper_G wrote: »
    In the hybrid era Merc have won the race 4 times out of 5, and apart from 2 DNF's they've not finished outside the top 4. I certainly expect a more competitive fight for the podium but this is still a strong Merc track. Hamilton on pole position and an easy flag to flag win is more likely.

Agreed a pole for Lewis signals a win most likely, but I've always had in my head this was a track they never 'dominated' as they have at others. Mandella effect maybe :o

In the hybrid era Merc have won the race 4 times out of 5
    Apologies if I'm missing something

Apologies Astro, I'm clearly wrong here - bizarre though, could have sworn this wasn't a strong Merc track :confused:

Inviere wrote: »
    Agreed a pole for Lewis signals a win most likely, but I've always had in my head this was a track they never 'dominated' as they have at others. Mandella effect maybe :o

I think it's more that we want it to be not a Merc track so the recent run of good races continues :)

Merc/Hamilton are overdue a DNF. If it happens, it wouldn't be because of reliability, it'd be because of another driver taking them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭nf2k

Is Singapore a Monaco-lite in that overtaking is tough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,604 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

nf2k wrote: »
    Is Singapore a Monaco-lite in that overtaking is tough?

It can be, Sergio Perez probably has vietnamesque flashbacks of his and Sirotkins battle last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,840 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

It's not Mercedes favorite track because of there long wheelbase car and that's why Ferrari had an advantage there in 2016 and 2017 which either Kimi or Vettel should have won but Vettel made a balls of it at the beginning of the race. The Ferrari car is now a lwb car as well think it was last year they decided to go that way too so I think unless there is a big crash or crash's which are almost guaranteed in Singapore whoever takes pole will win this.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Big crashes are the most exciting thing about Formula One these days.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

chicorytip wrote: »

You’ve clearly not watched the last 5 races if you think big crashes are the most exciting thing ‘these days’.

Give me great battles at the front over a few seconds of a big shunt any day of the week.

AMKC wrote: »
    It's not Mercedes favorite track because of there long wheelbase car and that's why Ferrari had an advantage there in 2016 and 2017 which either Kimi or Vettel should have won but Vettel made a balls of it at the beginning of the race. The Ferrari car is now a lwb car as well think it was last year they decided to go that way too so I think unless there is a big crash or crash's which are almost guaranteed in Singapore whoever takes pole will win this.

That rings a bell all right, maybe that explains it. It explains the starting grid in 2017 anyway, I think the Mercs were 5th and 6th. This could be a Red Bull opportunity so....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭seamusk84

The Red Bull looked like real handful to me out there yesterday. Seems to not be riding the bumps well. Still if they can sort that, I’m sure they can be relatively close to the Mercs today in quali.
    Personally I think Ferrari will struggle.

Reckon Hamilton on poll and Bottas at a minimum 4th, but most likely a Merc front row lockout.

I really hope it’s an exciting race but Singapore tends to be a bit dull.

chicorytip wrote: »
    After the events in Belgium a month ago, even if it wasn't actually Formula 1, I would have to completely disagree.

This too shall pass.

FP3: Checo hit the wall on second last corner, damage to rear right wheel. Red flag while they clean some debris.

That's his race gearbox and it was a heavy hit on the right rear corner, fingers crossed it doesn't need to be changed

I like the idea of the camera shot looking at the driver's eyes but that particular one they're using is kind of ineffective because it's obscured every time the wheel is turned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Ferrari looking great here - Come on Seb!*

*Please don't jinx it!

What a cracker of a lap from Vettel

And he hit the wall :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,282 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

It was mighty!

Even better lap from Leclerc. He is on a roll, I'm delighted for him. Guy is a total superstar

Edit: to add now hopefully he brings it home tomorrow. Got him at 5-1 for the win early in the weekend :D

LeClerc is the real deal - what a lap

The emergence of a proper star here over the last three races. If Ferrari give him the car next year, he's in with a shout for the title driving like this. Amazing. Disappointed for Seb, would have loved him to nab pole considering the spell he's going through, but not to be. Albon nice result too, he's up there beside Max...impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

Gutted for Sebastian, thought he had it.

Watching the Sky pad thingy with Anthony Davidson (don't usually watch it), brilliant analysis. It showed the sheer speed advantage of LeClerc's Ferrari, and also how much he was trying to drive the full limit of the car with a slower car through the corners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭This is it

A good start for LeClerc tomorrow and he'll be hard to beat, very impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

This is it wrote: »
    A good start for LeClerc tomorrow and he'll be hard to beat, very impressive.

Yep, sadly its too little too late for the Drivers and Constructors, but impressive strides made by Ferrari with this upgrade package, only Hamilton driving the wheels off of his Merc stopped a Ferrari 1-2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭seamusk84

Way off with my prediction. Going to be a great start to the race with that top 3.

Ms

Super lap from Leclerc. Really hope he can keep up the good form and do so again next year and it could be a very exciting year if he does. At last someone to really challenge the dominance of Mercedes and Lewis Hamilton as they have had it too easy up to these last few races.
    Disappointed for Seb as I really thought he had it it was a great lab but then Leclerc just did it better again so he deserves the pole.

Its Leclercs race to win tomorrow as long as he does not mess up anywhere.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    This is BS. Its meant to be racing

Yeah, within the rules. Everyone else followed them apparently, why shouldn't Ricardo/Renault?

Ms

Oh for feck sake Renault. I wonder how much of an advantage power wise he had. I also wonder who/s idea it was. Maybe they thought they might just get away with it or it could have been a mistake either.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    This is BS. Its meant to be racing

Come on seriously, every sport has rules. 19 out of 20 competitors followed the rules and weren't disqualified. Delivery of extra energy equates to extra horsepower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

AMKC wrote: »
    Oh for feck sake Renault. I wonder how much of an advantage power wise he had. I also wonder who/s idea it was. Maybe they thought they might just get away with it or it could have been a mistake either.
    Whatever it was, it didn't translate in time. The issue was detected on his second fastest lap in Q1 - so he went quicker when it was within limits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Come on seriously, every sport has rules. 19 out of 20 competitors followed the rules and weren't disqualified. Delivery of extra energy equates to extra horsepower.

Seems it was a very negligible overuse on a lap he made a mistake on.
    A statement from Renault after the decision was issued gave their side of events, although the team confirmed that they didn’t plan to appeal the ruling: “Renault F1 Team acknowledges the decision from the FIA Stewards to disqualify Daniel Ricciardo from the qualifying session of the Singapore Grand Prix after he benefitted from an advantage measured at one-microsecond due to a kerb hit that caused his MGU-K to overrev on his slowest lap of Q1. The decision will therefore not be appealed.”

https://twitter.com/RenaultF1Team/status/1175507054028558337

Again, everyone else managed to avoid it and keep within the rules. You can't blur the lines, it's black and white. The fact they aren't appealing would suggest that they understand that all too well and are taking it on the chin.

I'm really looking forward to this race. I don't know whether that's because of what we got in the last two races.

Remember, it's 1pm for the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Totally agree with Daniel Ricciardo's take on it - the penalty is too harsh, would be sufficient to just delete the lap time (like when you exceed track limits)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭deafroadrunner

Hoping for a Ferrari win but don't think they'll be able to manage to tires as good as Lewis.
    Also predicting max off first corner for the absolute bants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I love the street circuits ,it amazes me how fast these lads drive lap after lap and don't plow head first into a wall

I know it's a night race but no need to sing the national anthem like a flipping lullaby.

This too shall pass.

flazio wrote: »
    I know it's a night race but no need to sing the national anthem like a flipping lullaby.

And with a guy beatboxing as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Fecking completely forgot the race started at 1pm. Seems like the start was eventful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Crofty doing his best michael fish impression.