Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some Protesters More Equal Than Others?

• 17-09-2019 11:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,567 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

Beef protesters block factory entrances despite court injunctions outlawing same, other protesters (e.g. students and water meter protesters) have been beaten off the streets when causing obstructions.

Discuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

Beef protesters block factory entrances despite court injunctions outlawing same, other protesters (e.g. students and water meter protesters) have been beaten off the streets when causing obstructions.

Discuss.
    who were beaten off the streets and when?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭randd1

Discuss.

The beef protesters aren't attacking lads doing their jobs, trapping people in cars or refusing to pay for something that costs a fortune to be provided to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Paul Murphy isn’t involved. So the urge to tear gas them isn’t there.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

People beating off everywhere

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

Farmers probably aren't attacking and abusing Gardai and others like socialist protestors are well known for. Thugs in Dublin also routinely get involved in criminality at many protests. They are hijacked by the likes of Coppinger and Paul Murphy and cause disorder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,567 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

farmchoice wrote: »
    who were beaten off the streets and when?
    A random example, now do your own research:

Paul Murphy isn’t involved. So the urge to tear gas them isn’t there.
    So the softly softly approach to beef protesters is politically motivated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Some protestors' mothers are more equal than other protestors' mothers, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,857 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It probably plays it's part.

Unfortunately, you can be a bit more heavy handed with students because at the end of the day a lot of them won't vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,000 ✭✭✭Allinall

Farmers are downtrodden and don’t have Council houses.

Allinall wrote: »
    Enlightening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Of course. People look down on working class people and young people, farmers not so much. They have more of a right to an opinion. You can see it in some of the above comments already. And off they will go...

Allinall wrote: »

Do students? or all other protestors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

The farmers are picketing meat factories.

Have the farmers thrown concrete blocks at car windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Discuss.

One group want stuff for nothing, the farmers want a price for the stuff they produce which covers the cost of production.

A fair share of the meat industry business

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    One group want stuff for nothing, the farmers want a price for the stuff they produce which covers the cost of production.

That should have no influence on policing.

Thread is about attitudes to protests, not policing

Wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GAShI32VU9o

"Research" :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

There was a few posts over in the Farming forum about disrupting supermarkets with nuisance tactics, i did wonder if they would attract the same level of outrage as other protesters if posted over here

E.g. filling up trolleys and then abandoning them at the checkout during the busy times, or at closing, arguing with managers at the till about the origin of the meat and then refusing to pay etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,744 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I've actually a huge amount of sympathy for the farmers. Over the course of the last 15 years in particular, small farming, the traditional type, has been undermined by a globalised market. Irish beef farmers, particularly those on marginal land are uncompetitive, and there has been little or no effort from the farming organisations, government or indeed most importantly the farmers themselves for meaningful diversification. The small farmer has been led into a dead end. This crisis could finish the beef sector here in the next 4 weeks if the protests continues, the stakes (pardon the pun) are that high.

Markets need to be developed for products that can be derived from other uses of that land. Bio energy, solar, forestry, other crops, rewilding are all options for the land. Farmers need to be open when it comes to these options, and accept that the fundamental operation of their farm will have to radically change to stay viable. Farm supports and tinkering at the edges won't do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Farmers are a well organised lobby with a tradition of pursuing their interests aggressively. Above all they have an expectation of their interests being served by politicians that other groups may not have. Taxi drivers are the same and their protests get the same softly softly approach.

There was a few posts over in the Farming forum about disrupting supermarkets with nuisance tactics, i did wonder if they would attract the same level of outrage as other protesters if posted over here

E.g. filling up trolleys and then abandoning them at the checkout during the busy times, or at closing, arguing with managers at the till about the origin of the meat and then refusing to pay etc
    They have form for this, previously picketing supermarket car parks and blocking trollies in etc.

There were no consequences to those actions at that time either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,439 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Anyone shooting a vertical video deserves to have the living sh!t beaten out of them, in fairness.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

The fúcking perennial whine of the farmer "you just can't make a living doing.....bla bla bla"

The thought just never seems to occur to them to do something else though does it? I wonder why that is:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

The Occupy protesters were camped out on Dame Street for months and nobody came to beat them off the streets.

The fúcking perennial whine of the farmer "you just can't make a living doing.....bla bla bla"

The thought just never seems to occur to them to do something else though does it? I wonder why that is:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Tbf there is a well established priority for any state to maintain agriculture so that if necessary we can survive great disruption without famine. This is an existential matter for the state

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,439 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Not going a great job of it are we then, a large proportion of potatoes are imported. Almost all that chippers use are imported from the UK.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

Personality I would pay 20 cents more a kilogram for beef provided i was guaranteed it went to the producer farmer.

On the other consumption of red meat is going to decline in the western world and farming in Ireland is going to become more commercialised and less and less part-time farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Good auld farmers eh, slaving away, morning noon and night for a pittance and doing it all to ward off famine!

mariaalice wrote: »
    Personality I would pay 20 cents more a kilogram for beef provided i was guaranteed it went to the producer farmer.

On the other consumption of red meat is going to decline in the western world and farming in Ireland is going to become more commercialised and less and less part-time farmers.

Yes I would too. Irish beef is excellent and from a selfish point of view I would be very upset if we didn't produce it any more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

So this is a Garda bashing thread Op?

Please elaborate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

have you seen the age of some of them protesting?

a tap of a baton would be attempted murder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Diplometic immuni-TEH!!

4DdontOKa_EydYFGt1g3vZTTx__TCDSZ5nITCpQZJ3e-KCphtKshPqPbKZfgJLmFvdwvEteDyd0gZ8cPs3JWeVdYxKeX4Su9cT7K5O0UoDM.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,850 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Not going a great job of it are we then, a large proportion of potatoes are imported. Almost all that chippers use are imported from the UK.

Plenty of local potatoes for the dinner table. Probably not many people know that chipping potatoes are a specialised product, not on sale to the public. It could be that our soil is not suitable for those varieties?

http://www.chipshopcatering.ie/potatoes/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Tbf there is a well established priority for any state to maintain agriculture so that if necessary we can survive great disruption without famine. This is an existential matter for the state

Irish agriculture mainly produces dairy and beef products, but is hugely dependent on imported cereals to feed livestock. So it's difficult to imagine how Irish farmers will supply the country with food when the zombie apocalypse comes about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

CrankyHaus wrote: »

In that case, we should turn over majority of the land currently used for beef production and use it to grow root vegetables & chick peas.

Irish agriculture mainly produces dairy and beef products, but is hugely dependent on imported cereals to feed livestock. So it's difficult to imagine how Irish farmers will supply the country with food when the zombie apocalypse comes about.

I'm just trying to explain the rationale. While there's a lot I'd criticise about Irish agriculture I'd rather pay reasonable subsidies to maintain a high quality agricultural sector than see the countryside be turned into a hodgepodge of estates for the nouvelle riche and industrial farms, either owned by some Larry Goodman character or foreign interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

El Tarangu wrote: »
    In that case, we should turn over majority of the land currently used for beef production and use it to grow root vegetables & chick peas.

Absolutely can't do it at a commercially viable cost because atm Irish market is used as a dumping ground for UK surpluses. Brexit might change that but will probably only change the source the market distorting surpluses are coming from.

jimgoose wrote: »
    Diplometic immuni-TEH!!

4DdontOKa_EydYFGt1g3vZTTx__TCDSZ5nITCpQZJ3e-KCphtKshPqPbKZfgJLmFvdwvEteDyd0gZ8cPs3JWeVdYxKeX4Su9cT7K5O0UoDM.jpg

Fun fact, guy on the left is played by a little known Irish actor

jimgoose wrote: »
    Diplometic immuni-TEH!!

Fun fact, guy on the left is played by a little known Irish actor

We have plenty of grass, you can finish cattle on grass but it takes longer and is more suited to specific breeds

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    So this is a Garda bashing thread Op?

Please elaborate.
    At the risk of disappointing you, it certainly isn't.

Vewy passive pal, please grow a pair.

I asked you to elaborate, no doubt you had notions of what direction you were hoping this really drab thread was going to go? Given how bland your opening argument of " why don't the cops beat up the farmers like they beat up the poor students and water protestors go " , I would have imagined you could have come up with a more robust response.

What is your point?

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Vewy passive pal, please grow a pair.

I asked you to elaborate, no doubt you had notions of what direction you were hoping this really drab thread was going to go? Given how bland your opening argument of " why don't the cops beat up the farmers like they beat up the poor students and water protestors go " , I would have imagined you could have come up with a more robust response.

What is your point?
    Drab? Ha ha. Check out the Fintan Cullen of Boards.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 370 ✭✭WB Yokes

The Occupy protesters were camped out on Dame Street for months and nobody came to beat them off the streets.

That was a pity.

Just a thought, could the beef farmers be employed by the processors?
    Like the processors buy the cattle, pay for the costs of reading them(feed etc) and employ the farmers with a salary to raise the cattle varying on the amount they can rear on their land? Granted they may not receive any grants personally anymore but they would would be in the same boat as receiving a salary as everyone else but still own their own land etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

If a handful of pups and professional shit-stirrers got a few flakes of a steel-cored baton, they were looking for it. That's nothing at all to what they would have got off the likes of the Gendarmes, Bundespolizei or the Guardia Civil, I can tell you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Months well spent.

Drab? Ha ha. Check out the Fintan Cullen of Boards.

It is fine. Listen I respect that you started a thread to give yourself the opportunity to passively annihilate anyone who dare pass a comment on it.

So for the record here is my elaborated opinion, yours, not all that regrettably, remains outstanding. What is it?

But maybe, just maybe, the cops wouldn't be all that arsed getting booted up to go and attack a few hard working citizens who have decided to initiate a peaceful protest over an issue which actually counts towards their survival? It is probably highly likely that the Gards are empathising with the protestors in this instance.

Who is Fintan Cullen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,098 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Like all good protest videos. Cuts to the Police doing something but never shows what happens the few seconds before to lead up to the police doing the "bad" thing.