Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most ridiculous job

• 12-09-2019 9:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭

What do you think is the most ridiculous job somebody does day in day out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

What do you think it is, OP?

Those who work in Marketing/PR. Professional spoofers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Arlene Foster's nipple-tweaker. There's some soul-destroying crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

President of Ireland, figure head with no power but gets paid a fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

‘Influencer’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

Husband

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Chewing bread for the gummy chicken's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

Vita nova wrote: »
    Clown

That's a serious profession. Not to be laughed at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

"YouTuber"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭The Late Late Show

Have to go with so-called 'influencers' as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

Internet forum moderator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Those who work in Marketing/PR. Professional spoofers.
    ImpassionedNervousDesertpupfish-size_restricted.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭B_ecke_r

the Irish Army

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

The guys who install indicators on BMW/Audi's.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Have to go with so-called 'influencers' as well.

You mean the people that get loads of free sh*t and mostly don't have to leave their house to get paid?

The most ridiculous job is the person that has to put them small stickers on bananas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

You probably work in a bullshît role if you’ve a title that isn’t anyways reflective of what you do in your job. So being called an architect when you aren’t an architect, an engineer who isn’t an engineer, a consultant who doesn’t consult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

A Cold Caller or the fancy term 'Sales Consultant'.
    Chuggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Pornstar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

Bank regulator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 KoolKluxKlan

People who work in ‘Quality’ departments in your company. Shower of bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Consultant

what about the fella who stands in the bank and encourages people in the q to use to automatic machines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

You probably work in a bullshît role if you’ve a title that isn’t anyways reflective of what you do in your job. So being called an architect when you aren’t an architect, an engineer who isn’t an engineer, a consultant who doesn’t consult.

I’m a Web Developer. I develop websites. The job isn’t ground breaking, and the title makes sense.

A couple of years ago, someone decided to rename us “Experience Engineers”. Which to me sounds more like someone who would design a theme park. Now they’re looking to change us to “Web Architects”, which I think are the people who tell spiders what to do.

Titles aside, I think the most useless job is door to door cold callers. Has anyone ever complained that there weren’t enough people calling at their door during dinner offering electricity or broadband? I think society would function perfectly well without them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,433 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

B_ecke_r wrote: »
    what about the fella who stands in the bank and encourages people in the q to use to automatic machines

That lot cut their teeth standing beside the coin baskets on the M50 toll bridge before the automation.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭stevek93

Council workers

Unless you work for Nestlé making Quality Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭granturismo

People who give the QA dept a hard time cos they want to get the product out quicker. Heaven forbid a bad batch gets sent to a customer.

In general - the most ridiculous job goes to people who think their job is more important than others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Agree with you on the Engineer thing.
    I deal with alot of "Engineers" from different firms in my line of work.The term Engineer is used very loosely these days.Alot of them are jumped up cleaners/general operatives.

Visual Engineer - Shelf Stacker.

the person that drives at 20mph with their hazards on, in front of the guys cycling from Malin to Mizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

stevek93 wrote: »
    Council workers

No way, sure where else could you get 8 lads standing around watching the junior member of the crew dig the hole while they stand around, smoke and drink tea? Great job!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

I deal with alot of "Engineers" from different firms in my line of work.The term Engineer is used very loosely these days.Alot of them are jumped up cleaners/general operatives.

The Sandwich Engineer put too much butter on my roll today :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

Do you mean like JohnnyFlash who doesn't flash?
    (or maybe he does...)

It's easy to spot the engineers who aren't real engineers: they've no anoraks

The most useless lads are the "ushers" or whatever they're called that sit on both sides of the doors inside the Dail chamber.

Could never see myself doing some jobs, but I can't fathom how someone can work in a toll booth on a motorway. Must be the most mind numbingly boring job, not to mention exposure to exhaust fumes and having to lean out the window every 15 seconds.

Must be soul destroying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

'Technician' - it has lost all its meaning.
    This description has lost all meaning due to mundane jobs being magically transformed into technician roles eg: a receptionist miraculously being turned into a front office administration technician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭PinotNero

Sandwich artist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭pjdarcy

I used to be a fuel injection engineer (i.e. a petrol pump attendant)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭pjdarcy

Office manager. (as our receptionist calls herself)

Secretarys are calling themselves "Business Manager" now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

My job we have a service manager (he's the only guy who works service) a tele sales manager (the only guy who answers the phones) warehouse manager (only guy in the warehouse) and 4 regional managers covering Ireland.

I'm the only non manager out of 13 or so people in the company.

Secretarys are calling themselves "Business Manager" now
    A better title would be "All Up In Everyone's Business Manager"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Yer man from KPMG what watches the Lotto balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

kneemos wrote: »
    Yer man from KPMG what watches the Lotto balls.

And nods his head to the camera !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

s8n wrote: »
    And nods his head to the camera !!

Time to shine.

2Mad2BeMad wrote: »
    My job we have a service manager (he's the only guy who works service) a tele sales manager (the only guy who answers the phones) warehouse manager (only guy in the warehouse) and 4 regional managers covering Ireland.

I'm the only non manager out of 13 or so people in the company.

To be fair, manager does not solely mean managing people, but you'd probably need to be management to understand that ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

the Irish Army

In fairness, at least they have guns.

Look at the Air Corp and a quote from their website of their role "To defend the State against armed aggression;"

https://www.military.ie/en/what-we-do/#anchor-1

Now look at their fleet of UNARMED aircraft...

https://www.military.ie/en/who-we-are/air-corps/the-fleet/

In fairness, at least they have guns.

Look at the Air Corp and a quote from their website of their role "To defend the State against armed aggression;"

Now look at their fleet of UNARMED aircraft...

https://www.military.ie/en/who-we-are/air-corps/the-fleet/

Have you not heard of kamikaze?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Quality assurance engineers there's no easy way of explaining what they do on a daily basis...

I was dating one before and she couldn't explain in layman's terms what she does...

all a load of word salad and something about systems or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,059 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Have you not heard of kamikaze?

Yeah but can only use them once.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.