Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why do people still request songs on the radio?

• 09-09-2019 1:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,715 ✭✭✭

when you can play any song you want from your phone from the internet in seconds for free, and they usually request a song that gets played 10 times a day anyway. seems mad to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Murph76

Maybe because its different if someone else is doing you the favor vs. you just press a button. The former has more human interaction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

What I don't get is the likes of Ronan Collins playing requests for a child on their 2nd birthday. Seems more for the Granny requesting it than the child. Or "For X & Y who are getting married at noon today..." which he plays at 12:30. I'm sure they were all tuned in at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

My sister rang up and asked if they would play Florida Georgia line and she was told that she’d have to request Ed Sheehan. Would be kinda cool to hear random personalized songs and a shout out but they won’t just play anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

The one that gets me is when they get Ronan Collins to play something that was a big hit for Big Tom in the 1960's for 'Jack, who's turning 5 today'.

Of course, maybe there are loads of little aul fella 5 year olds out there listening to Ronan Collins?

^^^^ great minds Srameen!^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

My sister rang up and asked if they would play Florida Georgia line and she was told that she’d have to request Ed Sheehan. Would be kinda cool to hear random personalized songs and a shout out but they won’t just play anything.

This should be taken advantage of. Just agree to request Ed Sheeran when speaking to the researcher and then request F*cked with a Knife by Cannibal Corpse once on air. Its only fair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Its probably made up requests.

Theyre cheezy bastards these radio stations. I have to overhear 104 in the morning and the hip kid shyte they come out with is atrocious.

Everyones mate, always having an amazing time, positive vibes about everyone and everything. Coolest kids in town 24/7. Me hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,857 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

This should be taken advantage of. Just agree to request Ed Sheeran when speaking to the researcher and then request F*cked with a Knife by Cannibal Corpse once on air. Its only fair!

I'm more of an "Addicted to Vaginal Flesh" man myself, says Ronan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Arghus wrote: »
    I'm more of an "Addicted to Vaginal Flesh" man myself, says Ronan.

This one goes out to all the lads on the chopping line in QK Meats, from Larry who has just started today and is about to be initiated into the group. Best of luck with the new job, Larry....this one's is called Meat Hook Sodomy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

greencap wrote: »
    Its probably made up requests.

Plenty are I'd imagine

Like those daft text in 'problems' you hear, such absolute horse manure

I copped off with my mates BF at a music festival, of course what I'll do is go ahead and text into a feckin radio station with my dilemma, and I'll include all the long and convoluted details, there's no chance I'd be identified or anything :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Becuase they are very damaged people who need validation, or even just some form of human interaction, from others (in this case a Radio DJ) in order to feel worthwhile - I always feel very sorry for them when their texts are read out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

We should start requesting songs for users here. See if they'll play requests for a username.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject

I do it still, sending requests to friends, but I'm a child of the 70's and 80's.Lately they have gotten in the habit of sending songs back. But I haven't made a love song compilation on cassette in a very long time, heh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Ah the good old days of the Hotline with Tony Fenton, (RIP)! Admittedly it was a specific list of songs, but the excitement of hearing your name being mentioned on the radio - or the Beatbox on the tv!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Utter Consternation

Galway Bay FM used to do a cringe worthy request show in the evenings. Mary from Cappataggle requesting Kiss from a Rose by Seal for Seamus in Kilbeacanty stating that they were MIL (madly in love).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject

Galway Bay FM used to do a cringe worthy request show in the evenings. Mary from Cappataggle requesting Kiss from a Rose by Seal for Seamus in Kilbeacanty stating that they were MIL (madly in love).
    Back home that used to be one of the most requested songs for forlorned lovers. Every rose has it's thorn was a close second,heh.

Some radio stations let you send in voice notes with requests and they play them. On long car journeys to Kerry or Donegal, one of us would come up with a funny voice note and send it in. It's great craic if they play it out.