Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

International Football Breaks

• 06-09-2019 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭

Anyone else detest them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Holiday breaks?

Schedule breaks?

Bone breaks?

Half time breaks?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 62 ✭✭Ralph Ciffereto

They don't affect the LOI generally, so no, I enjoy following both my teams in the same week.

If my Saturdays consisted of sitting on the couch wearing a foreign jersey roaring for a team whose stadium I visited twice and once saw in Landsdowne in a mickey mouse pre season tournament, yes, they might annoy me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Bet you're sorry you asked now, OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭NewRed2

Probably should have been posted in the football (soccer on here) thread to gain any sympathy.

But anyway, yeah I miss the premier league action, not to be confused with the best league in the world stuff that Ralph is referring to.

At the same time, it's overkill nowadays so a weekend off is ney harm. Does take away from the weekend routine for some of us but it doesn't happen often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

It definitely lesds to a fair amount of consternation in Dublin pubs on a Saturday night when Irish 'Mancs' and 'Scousers' have nothing to talk about.

Bound to! Sure they wouldn't be the sort to know of any other topic, like brexit or how many points Dundalk will win by this time.
    Cave men, the lot of them! Ah they'll survive though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,819 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Was at Lansdowne last night, great crowd and atmosphere. So I love international breaks, at least sometimes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I've seen it mentioned a lot on here but never once in my life have I ever heard any Irish people refer to each other as Manc or Scouse "scum".

Rothko wrote: »
    I've seen it mentioned a lot on here but never once in my life have I ever heard any Irish people refer to each other as Manc or Scouse "scum".

No, yer right. They don't. We don't. (Liverpool fan myself) No, that doesnt happen aside from crap on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Rothko wrote: »

I have, and they are the very worst type of fans.

They cheer for any team who scores against the mancs/scousers.

I know a lad from Kilkenny who will proudly call himself a scouser when asked what team he supports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

They don't affect the LOI generally, so no, I enjoy following both my teams in the same week.

If my Saturdays consisted of sitting on the couch wearing a foreign jersey roaring for a team whose stadium I visited twice and once saw in Landsdowne in a mickey mouse pre season tournament, yes, they might annoy me.

Ah, the LOI. The attendances are low, but the sense of superiority is high.

Arghus wrote: »
    Ah, the LOI. The attendances are low, but the sense of superiority is high.

I doubt the genuine LOI fans would claim him with that sort of comment.

Can only go on my own situation and I've never sat at a bar in Ireland watching Liverpool with a Liverpool shirt on me, nor would I apologise for it if I had.
    Plus I dont go over so often now due to money but for years I was hitting double figures for homes regularly.

Excluding cup games.
    It's such a lazy comment to say Irish based fans of Liverpool/United/Leeds whoever dont attend games.
    Ask Ryanair!!!!

At the same time, I respect lads who follow clubs here. I'd love to see the league grow here.
    I used to be an Athlone Town regular before I moved.
    But I fell in love with Liverpool. Won't be made to feel bad for it either.
    You are who you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

NewRed2 wrote: »
    I doubt the genuine LOI fans would claim him with that sort of comment.

Can only go on my own situation and I've never sat at a bar in Ireland watching Liverpool with a Liverpool shirt on me, nor would I apologise for it if I had.
    Plus I dont go over so often now due to money but for years I was hitting double figures for homes regularly.

Excluding cup games.
    It's such a lazy comment to say Irish based fans of Liverpool/United/Leeds whoever dont attend games.
    Ask Ryanair!!!!

At the same time, I respect lads who follow clubs here. I'd love to see the league grow here.
    I used to be an Athlone Town regular before I moved.
    But I fell in love with Liverpool. Won't be made to feel bad for it either.
    You are who you are.

where did you move to?

pgj2015 wrote: »
    where did you move to?

Do you want to send me a post-card? :pac:

Ballylinan, Co. Laois.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I miss La Liga.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Ballylinan, Co. Laois.

what loi team do you follow now? do you attend games?

Let's cut to the chase and get to your point here, I've already told you more info than my own missus would be privvy to

im guessing you dont ever attend loi games or very rarely do but fly to liverpool to watch them play? yet you would love to see the league grow here

Ballylinan is only 1 hour 20 mins from athlone by car, handier to fly to liverpooll though i know.

also i dont think you are telling me your life story by saying where you are from:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Ballylinan, Co. Laois.

Doesnt matter where you live now but if you are an Athlone supporter of a certain age you will never forget the day Minnock walked up to take the penalty aganst A.C. Milan.
    Thats what keep the L.O.I lads going and if they do like to support across channel team as well so what.
    I worked in Germany for a few years and still watch out for the Berlin clubs results.

im guessing you dont ever attend loi games or very rarely do but fly to liverpool to watch them play? yet you would love to see the league grow here

Ballylinan is only 1 hour 20 mins from athlone by car, handier to fly to liverpooll though i know.

also i dont think you are telling me your life story by saying where you are from:rolleyes:

Oh I see. You know you could have just stated your point at the start, instead of all the questions.
    Anyway, yeah as you admitted yourself, its handier for me to go to Liverpool than Athlone. I'm thinking thats why you asked and it backfired?

Anyway, look yeah I think it's sad that I can't say that I'd like to see the league grow here while not attending Athlone games anymore.

There's a line that gets crossed a lot on here with LOI fans between promoting and encouraging versus pissing people off.
    Be careful about that.
    But best of luck.

Edgware wrote: »
    Doesnt matter where you live now but if you are an Athlone supporter of a certain age you will never forget the day Minnock walked up to take the penalty aganst A.C. Milan..

That's right! My Dad was at that game.

The Milan lads took over the entire hotel, their own chefs and everything.

Oh I see. You know you could have just stated your point at the start, instead of all the questions.
    Anyway, yeah as you admitted yourself, its handier for me to go to Liverpool than Athlone. I'm thinking thats why you asked and it backfired?

Anyway, look yeah I think it's sad that I can't say that I'd like to see the league grow here while not attending Athlone games anymore.

There's a line that gets crossed a lot on here with LOI fans between promoting and encouraging versus pissing people off.
    Be careful about that.
    But best of luck.

I was just curious to see if someone who wanted the loo to grow was doing anything to help and not just saying it while handing over their money to Lfc.

nothing backfired, you just proved my point.

I don't care if my comments promote the league or not, that's not my job, I support the league myself, I don't really care what anyone else does but it's a dose listening to people pretending to care about the loi when they couldn't care less about it.

Clive Allen played at St Mels too aparently, while he was a big name. Was some ground back in the day, rough neck of the woods

That's right! My Dad was at that game.

The Milan lads took over the entire hotel, their own chefs and everything.
    And they were whinging because there was only one mirror in the dressing room!
    Trappatoni was a sub for Milan

I was just curious to see if someone who wanted the loo to grow was doing anything to help and not just saying it while handing over their money to Lfc.

nothing backfired, you just proved my point.

I don't care if my comments promote the league or not, that's not my job, I support the league myself, I don't really care what anyone else does but it's a dose listening to people pretending to care about the loi when they couldn't care less about it.

Jaysus, yeah look you can take from it what you will. I think you come across a bit hostile fella.
    So you have a nice weekend now. ;)

And they were whinging because there was only one mirror in the dressing room!
    Trappatoni was a sub for Milan

No way? Didn't know Trapp was there, that's gas!
    My auld fella reckons Athlone gave them a proper game as well, in the first leg.
    Mental to even think about it now.

I thought Roddy Collins (not my favourite character admittedly) was doing ok there til he jumped ship and sadly things gone badly wrong since then.
    Manager who replaced him was doing a good job but then he left as well.
    Hard to keep hold of anyone who does well.
    In a crappy state now.

You from Athlone Edgware? (without wanting to sound like that other fella) ? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,030 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I enjoy supporting an English team and posts like this make me enjoy it even more :D

You from Athlone Edgware? (without wanting to sound like that other fella) ? :)
    No but I remember that Athlone side. Good solid League team of players who knew how to get a result. It is a pity that they couldn't mainain a team in the premier division

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I've gone to loads of LOI games over the years and I've seen some amazing games and cracking goals, but I've also seen a lot of godawful football in the freezing cold, eating pricey enough half cooked chips, wondering why I bothered my arse fooling myself into thinking it was worth coming to see this crap tonight.

I wish the League well and if there's a game on and I'm not working I make an effort to go. But, it's more often enough out of a sense of obligation, than in the expectation of entertainment. Most of the games I've seen over the years have been profoundly shite entertainment.

I respect people who support their local team, but I don't begrudge anyone thinking they'd rather do something else for their Friday night. Did someone seriously suggest here that one of the posters should prove his undying love for LOI football by driving an hour and half every time Athlone Town have a home game? Mate, you are off your rocker.

No but I remember that Athlone side. Good solid League team of players who knew how to get a result

Fair play! I was just gonna ask if you knew our lot. Nice talking to you by the way! Fun chatting to someone about that game, my Dad talked about it so much but never heard a stranger mention it before.

Have a nice weekend fella! :)

I've gone to loads of LOI games over the years and I've seen some amazing games and cracking goals, but I've also seen a lot of godawful football in the freezing cold, eating pricey enough half cooked chips, wondering why I bothered my arse fooling myself into thinking it was worth coming to see this crap tonight.

I wish the League well and if there's a game on and I'm not working I make an effort to go. But, it's more often enough out of a sense of obligation, than in the expectation of entertainment. Most of the games I've seen over the years have been profoundly shite entertainment.

I respect people who support their local team, but I don't begrudge anyone thinking they'd rather do something else for their Friday night. Did someone seriously suggest here that one of the posters should prove his undying love for LOI football by driving an hour and half every time Athlone Town have a home game? Mate, you are off your rocker.

My thoughts exactly, only you phrased it better.

that is your opinion, its very harsh i feel but if thats the way y0u see it then what can ya do. I go watch Dundalk a lot over the season and im always entertained bu them and their opposition, id rath watch loi games for 15-20 euro than 40+ to watch Ireland in the Aviva trying to string two passes together.

what is an hour and a half car journey? its nothing especially compared to the time and expense of flying to liverpool or manchester for a match.