Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most dangerous and anti social housing estate in Ireland

• 06-09-2019 9:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭

I only have a couple of experiences of really bad housing estates so I'm interested in hearing from others what their worst experience is. F0r me, Muirhevnamor and Coxs Demesne in Dundalk are absolute **** holes of the highest order, also Dalton Park in Mullingar is a dump but on a much smaller scale. What, I'm your opinion, are the worst estates in the country at present?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Gerry G wrote: »
    I only have a couple of experiences of really bad housing estates so I'm interested in hearing from others what their worst experience is. F0r me, Muirhevnamor and Coxs Demesne in Dundalk are absolute **** holes of the highest order, also Dalton Park in Mullingar is a dump but on a much smaller scale. What, I'm your opinion, are the worst estates in the country at present?

Dunno bout housing estates , but some of those BMW estates look ****e.
    Will that help ya OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Tasfasdf wrote: »
    u ok hun? another thread that upset you, bless.

Nah , I'm cool with social housing thread , thanks for the concern though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I feel I'm under informed on this. Can we do a nationwide tour of the 100 worst estates and then convene for a vote?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

Dunno bout housing estates , but some of those BMW estates look ****e.
    Will that help ya OP?

What's a bmw estate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭B_ecke_r

anywhere ya can't get a pizza delivered cause they'll be robbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭D3V!L

I spotted a lad in Muirhevnamor with a f*cking machine gun one night running down a lane from one house to the other. :eek: Looked like an AK-47 or something similar in shape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭AulWan

sugarman wrote: »
    Jobstown hands down, they demolished a Lidl FFS.

That Lidl was not even in Jobstown, ffs, get your facts straight.

Just what is needed, another social housing bashing thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

Darndale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Foxrock.
    Some of those people make killings daily.

On the markets or something, but I'd never go after dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Munster46

Southill In Limerick is some kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

John Sweeney Park in Carlow.

Mainly because of the accent and being in Carlow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Kilinarden

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Darndale/Belcamp are pretty hard core in fairness to them, parts of tallaght and clondalkin crumlin areas too. Ballyfermot was fairly wild.

...accept it is.

...except, its not.

Its Citywest. Don't let that put you off one of the buying one of the new 400k houses in the private development that backs onto it.

The new built store is lovely. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Moyross is often mentioned but it's too big to really completely write off, st Mary's Park ( Limerick again) looks awful run down but it appears to have quietened down a lot?

O malley Park in Southhill Limerick is a right dump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Actually o malley Park might be ballinacurra weston?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Cupp3r

AulWan wrote: »
    ...except, its not.

Its Citywest. Don't let that put you off one of the buying one of the new 400k houses in the private development that backs onto it.

No it's considered fortunestown. You need to travel further on the road go through the roundabout then your in City West.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Having grown up in the countryside, my parents large self build detached house is in the middle of protected woodland. We cannot see other houses, own water supply, cannot see or hear other traffic and on a private road. But yet only 15 minutes walk to shop and pubs and main road.

Housing estates are an alien concept to me and generally fill me with horror and confusion that large swathes of the population live if such third world conditions.

And to think city folk like to call us culchies. It is a compliment. You live on a council estate ffs....or some wankly named Celtic Tiger housing estate negative equity ****show.

Oh yeah....(takes giant smug nasal inhalation)..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,040 ✭✭✭SteM

Jobstown isn't an estate though, it's the size of a small town in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Ballybeg in Waterford can be a scary place at times. Just the minority ruining it for a lot of decent people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

There is a huge estate just east of Lucan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

biko wrote: »
    There is a huge estate just east of Lucan...

Arthur Griffith park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Mad_maxx wrote: »

No it is in Southill.

Housing estates are an alien concept to me and generally fill me with horror and confusion that large swathes of the population live if such third world conditions.

And to think city folk like to call us culchies. It is a compliment. You live on a council estate ffs....or some wankly named Celtic Tiger housing estate negative equity ****show.

Access to jobs, shops, restaurants and public transport are certainly not third world conditions :p. Ahh bless, they fill you with horror and confusion? Would prefer living in a housing estate rather than going down the country disco to get a shift from the second cousin every Saturday. We know what you lot are up to.

Most dangerous and anti social housing estate in Ireland

Wasn't this the name of a TV show in TV3 a few years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 OutOfMyMind18

I live in Ballyfermot and it’s calmed a bit in recent times, but my god croftwood and cherry orchard are madness.
    Fortunestown Lane is dodgy as hell. And yes the Lidl there is not really city west. Past the roundabout is Citywest, but just about. Just a fancier name for Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Arthur Griffith park?

Nah, I've heard about it too. Called Dub.... something or other.

Filled with a million or so warm bodies, with dreadful accents and constantly killing each other

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

...except, its not.

It's fortunestown actually and yes the new store is nice there but the clientele are mostly unemployed scum from all walks of life and cultures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

Ballycragh, Dublin 24. Absolute kip house! Unfortunately Firhouse is starting to become a sh!t hole to, especially the parts that are just beside Ballycragh, the Ballycrap disease has spread unfortunately. Anywhere generally where there is social housing is going to be a dump. It's a proven fact, don't buy a house near any social housing areas if you intend to feel safe walking your dog after dark.

Are the lads in Ballycragh still waiting outside Firhouse CS every day to knock the ballix out of you posh lads?

If you ever said to someone from Firhouse that they were part of Tallaght, they'd lose their minds.....LOL

Although saying that even when i hung around there back in the dizzle it was a right kip

Exactly, it's less than 20 metre's away from Ard Mor and Mac Ulliam!

Neither of which are part of Jobstown. There is also Russell Square, Mountain View, Swiftbrook and Brookview Estates between Jobstown and that Lidl, but don't let that get in the way of your prejudice.

Nobody knows it as that.......................SUNDALE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

I do a fair amount of work out in Tallaght, particularly West Tallaght. While the areas can be a bit hairy (eg The Ruseller or Donomore Crescent) people are generally open enough to outsiders strolling through. Maybe it's just all the open space and views out there at the foot of the mountains and the edge of the city.

Other rough areas can be far more insular, generally the kind full of clowns boasting about their "close knit community", which seems to be code for a distrustful shower of bowsies shooting daggers (and worse) at any car or person they don't recognise. Traditional inner city rough areas are often like this, and Ballymun/Poppintree seems to have an aggro menteller vibe of the same kind. Oddly The Liberties, easily the most close knit inner city spot, isn't particularly unfriendly.

...except, its not.

It's fortunestown actually and yes the new store is nice there but the clientele are mostly unemployed scum from all walks of life and cultures

Citywest actually starts after Ard Mhor before the junction. It's called Citywest Drive, and the School there is Scoil Aoife, Citywest.

What are ye talking about? Lidl is in fortunestown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the councils are buying up so many houses in new developments that many people will be living next to council tenants in the next few years

Nobody knows it as that.......................SUNDALE

The road names start with Sundale, but the Estate name is Mountain View, and always was. Also not part of Jobstown.

Nobody and i mean nobody refers to it as Mountain View. It is known around the area as Sundale but you seem the pedantic type going by your argumentative previous replies to other posters also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I feel I'm under informed on this. Can we do a nationwide tour of the 100 worst estates and then convene for a vote?

New TV show idea for rte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Having grown up in the countryside, my parents large self build detached house is in the middle of protected woodland. We cannot see other houses, own water supply, cannot see or hear other traffic and on a private road. But yet only 15 minutes walk to shop and pubs and main road.

Ok, we'll just keep this thread for people who don't live with mammy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Don't know if sprawling apartment complexes properly count as "estates", but the large group of blocks on your left as you walk Northwards along Basin Street are properly terrifying after dark, as is most of the surrounding area. Fights, random verbal abuse of passers by, fires, the place is like a feckin' war zone (or at least it was back in and around 2014-15). Surprisingly quiet during the day for somewhere that goes to utter sh!t at night, such that I used to use it as a shortcut before making the mistake of walking through it on my way home from a sesh.

Another one which comes to mind not too far away form these was Teresa's Gardens on Donore Avenue, I never lived near it myself but some of my friends had a rented gaff directly beside it on Darley's Terrace and let's just say you found out fairly quickly how a lovely two story house could be so beautifully affordable for rent! There was a recording and practise studio down the road (Unit 1) and in the first few weeks of college in 2011, the college eventually had to issue a warning to students to access that studio by the longer route through New Row South and all the way around by Sandford Avenue - people were getting regularly mugged for their instruments when walking past the estate if taking the much quicker route through Donore Avenue. In the house I mentioned, one night comes to mind in which we were heading to a gig, a bass player parked his car outside the house for literally two minutes so he could knock on the door for us all to come outside and get in the car, he stepped into the gaff to help carry instruments out and once we got back outside, the car's windows had been smashed and his guitar was gone.

It's currently in the process of being demolished, but... Damn.

People who've worked with the Gardaí have told me that it was the layout of the place which made it so particularly dangerous as opposed to others - there was only one entrance route in and out of it, between two blocks, and then the rest of the state was laid out in a repeating "T" shape, with only one ingress and egress route straight down the middle. So the Gardaí were apparently terrified of driving fully into it as their cars would get surrounded and they'd have no escape route except back the way they came. As a result, they generally manned an almost 24/7 checkpoint just outside it for the entire time I was in college in the area, but it didn't stop people hopping over the wall onto Eugene Street, with the gap in the wall to hop over unfortunately coinciding directly with my friends' gaff. Total nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,276 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Munster46 wrote: »

By a mile the biggest kip in the country. O'Malley Park in particular. Like Ballymun in the mid 90s.

Look at the cut of this.

OMalley4.jpg
    Sdegen03.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

The Nal wrote: »
    By a mile the biggest kip in the country. O'Malley Park in particular. Like Ballymun in the mid 90s.

Look at the cut of this.

OMalley4.jpg
    Sdegen03.jpg

St mels in athlone was just like that and there would be riots etc https://www.irishtimes.com/news/14-people-remanded-after-riot-in-athlone-1.55573

Limerick Council need to completely raze that to the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,090 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Moyross is often mentioned but it's too big to really completely write off, st Mary's Park ( Limerick again) looks awful run down but it appears to have quietened down a lot?

O malley Park in Southhill Limerick is a right dump

Born and bred in St Mary's Park. Place has really went downhill lookwise in the last decade but more so down to the council and this regeneration shîte. As for the place quietening down, I think it's more that the feud itself ain't in the news that things seem quiet but the area is worse now than when the feud was in full swing imo. Moyross has quietened down as the older lads are either locked up or moved away but if this younger generation there get the feud started again it's gonna be a lot worse as they've no fear whatsoever.

No O'Malley Park is in Southill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

So you live such an isolated existence you don't know what a 3rd world standard is. Have you ever travelled outside of the country and seen how people live elsewhere?

When we call you culchies it is precisely because when we talk to you guys you are clueless if the world outside your subsidised bubble.

You are confused by housing estates! You think they are either all council estates or new builds. The weird thing is there are estates of all types all around the country and hou seem to be unaware of them.

Fine that your parents provided you with that but what have you managed to provide for yourself? You sound no different to a rich kid talking about what they were given as if they did something to get it.

I am quite happy living in an area with multiple options of everything close by. Kids have multiple schools to choose from and options for their future close by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭TheShow

That was Fortunestown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Munster46 wrote: »

O'Malley Park is about 3/4 demolished by now. Quiet up there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

It's the top part of Southill. Most of it is demolished now. A lot of green space for whatever horses are about.

Weston is up the road from the train station. Same with Prospect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,276 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

TheShow wrote: »
    That was Fortunestown.

Half of the lads were from Jobstown. One lad who lived in Santry which was a long walk in the snow.

They knocked over the Centra in Jobstown that night too.

An Post stopped delivering to Mac Uilliam estate in Jobstown this year. I used to live beside it. Its a total kip.