Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slagging on Facebook

• 01-09-2019 11:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭

So today i saw some guy absolutely get lashed out of it on facebook

Apparently he chatted to this girl on pof ( yes dear lord ) 2 years ago and she is now on one of these dating pages on facebook

Long story short , she put up his pic and slagged him off etc , poor lad was then set upon by more women who had nothing to do with it , but probably jumping on the band wagon

My point is , we have no idea what was said 2 years ago , if he or she was in wrong

But he got shat upon and wasnt there to defend himself

Pretty shocking tbh , some bullying

This surely should not be allowed

So easy for people to ruin others reputations on facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Happening all the time now. Facebook provides a platform for cowards to spew bile they would never have the balls to say in real life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭73bc61lyohr0mu

Facebook is an absolute gutter swamp. After all the crap involved with them it's amazing how many people are still on it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

He should have his privacy settings set up properly.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Simple enough solution ES; don't join Arsebook, or if you need to because of far flung family or whatever, keep it all as private as possible and restricted to the people you actually want to talk with.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

His pic? anything else?

Would that fall under GDPR
    Off to the ombudsman with him

Or stick up your wan, we'll get stuck in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

You give up your privacy and some of your humanity in return for making that bug-eyed weirdo, Zuckerburg on of the wealthiest people in the world. Bad deal there for end users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

He should have his privacy settings set up properly.

She put up his pic and aload of crap about a chat from 2 years ago

The guy id say is oblivious to this post with his pic

What if he was out and about and then picked on because of crap being said on fb ?

People could be attacked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Wibbs wrote: »
    Simple enough solution ES; don't join Arsebook, or if you need to because of far flung family or whatever, keep it all as private as possible and restricted to the people you actually want to talk with.

I think the point of the OP is that the girl put up his photo and instigated the slagging herself without his knowledge, involvement or consent. Nothing to do with him being on Facebook. You can’t defend against that by not bring on FB or restricting your settings.

TBH, though, it’s not an issue limited to FB. The same thing could happen on any internet forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

B*ches be crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

biko wrote: »
    B*ches be crazy.

Real B*tches love digging up the past!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

What had he said that she was slagging off? Or was it a looks thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

biko wrote: »
    B*ches be crazy.

Toxic feminity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Hiw can you be bullying someone if they dont know about it?

What if she said “ he raped me etc “ which was all bull crap

Next thing the guys out having a few pints and some dude on the post recognises him and jumps him , all because of lies and a crazy b1tch

Surely this stuff can’t keep going on ?

Ficheall wrote: »
    What had he said that she was slagging off? Or was it a looks thing?

Apparently few words to each other on pof 2 years ago , she hasnt moved on and started to slate the guy , that’s the impression i got

M

What if she said he raped her after she decided to go back to his hotel room at 4am to play chess with him despite the fact that the hotel was not known for chess playing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

What if she said he raped her after she decided to go back to his hotel room at 4am to play chess with him despite the fact that the hotel was not known for chess playing?

What if he got her a job at his employers. She worked really hard and got a promotion. Then stopped hanging out with him and gave him a warning for being late.

M

Perhaps the solution is a secure text from those looking to ride each other where each gets a code and enters it in before they go at it to agree.

Very mature responses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,578 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

I don't think it's slagging .
    Imo , slagging is teasing and laughing with the other person involved , not bad mouthing them on FB , for whatever obscure reason that girl decided to do so .
    Ghouls , taking pleasure in destroying others characters .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

I do agree people need to be extremely careful in terms of who they share their information with online. Those online dating yokes are crazy dodgy.

However, it should also be more difficult for others to harass them. Large social media outlets seem to be lacking in this sense. The responsibility should not all be on the harassed to close their account/delete their information. Particularly when they're just kids, like Ana Kriegel.

Bet at least one of the weapons in this case has "Share dis if ur against bullying" and "I did Darkness Into Light" on their profile.

M

There's some people who think Facebook is a policed area where all things are grand, anyone with these beliefs therserves to have every cent they own seized and given to someone else because they are a fool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

There's some people who think Facebook is a policed area where all things are grand, anyone with these beliefs therserves to have every cent they own seized and given to someone else because they are a fool.
    No they don't *deserve* that. They need to cop on but obviously nobody should exploit them in such a way. Especially if they're young and silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

What happened with this. Did the guy find out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I've never done it

Rufeo wrote: »
    What happened with this. Did the guy find out?

Dunno

I hope so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Well what did he say to her on POF? Must have been pretty bad for her to go posting it on facebook surely. Anyway if it was just making fun of him for being bad looking or being bad at flirting then shes a scumbag yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Up Donegal

So today i saw some guy absolutely get lashed out of it on facebook

Apparently he chatted to this girl on pof ( yes dear lord ) 2 years ago and she is now on one of these dating pages on facebook

Excuse my ignorance but what does pof mean?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Up Donegal wrote: »
    Excuse my ignorance but what does pof mean?:confused:

plenty of fish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Up Donegal

wakka12 wrote: »
    plenty of fish

Thanks, wakka12!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Ipso wrote: »
    Toxic feminity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Wibbs wrote: »
    I do this with Instagram.
    10 followers I have, probably deemed to be unpopular or uncool but it's everyone I need to keep in touch with in far flung places.
    Wouldn't touch Fakebook in a fit.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,907 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

https://streamable.com/n05ne

People always told me be careful of what you do
    And don't go around breaking young girls' hearts
    And mother always told me be careful of who you love
    And be careful of what you do 'cause the lie becomes the truth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

What if she said “ he raped me etc “ which was all bull crap

Next thing the guys out having a few pints and some dude on the post recognises him and jumps him , all because of lies and a crazy b1tch

Surely this stuff can’t keep going on ?

Did she say that he raped her?? Or are you making stuff up??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

I came into this thread hoping for a story about facebook slags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭brainfreeze

Would that fall under GDPROff to the ombudsman with him

No. GDPR is not some catch-all data protection law that some people incorrectly think it is.

GDPR is about controlling your data from businesses and organisations, not persons. GDPR has nothing to do with some random woman sticking your picture up on the internet. You can't just send your Ma a GDPR request because she is sharing baby photos of you to her friends on whatsapp.

There might be other Iaws to protect you from such malice behavior from individuals, GDPR is not one of them.

Did she say that he raped her?? Or are you making stuff up??

Read the thread ffs

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight