Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever read the Bible?

• 23-08-2019 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,414 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I have never read and know next to nothing about it.

I don't know if I'm missing out or not.

Is it any good, worth while picking up?

Trump says it's his favourite book.

If you have read it tell us what you think? Sell the experience.

I'll prob pick up the book tomorrow, sure why not?

Not a patch on The Communist Manifesto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Pints?

I glanced at it. Boy cries wolf, has a few laughs. Forget how it ends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭1o059k7ewrqj3n

I've never read the Bible, but there was a lad who was a Jehovah witness in my primary school class who always brought his bible into school. It had loads of pictures and was really vivid - it was like whoever made the original Doom making a version of the Bible - loved looking at it. I'd say at this stage now even though I was baptised, done communion and confirmation, that I am probably more Jehovah witness than Catholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I've read most of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Worked with a Born Again Christian , she quoted bits of the Bible any chance she got , so I didn't need to read it

Things go a bit much , when she started getting religious hallucinations and had to draw them out later with markers and crayons.

There's only so much bollix anyone can put up with .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

Spoiler Alert

He dies in the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Not your bible well not properly. Well I have probably have a tiny bit from somewhere. From your bible i have read the sermon on the mount.

I'm Jewish so i have read parts of the Tanakh. Obv not all of it. I used read talmud a lot. I didn't like order tractates though.

Song of songs.song of solomon is my fav part of the tanakh. Its one of the Scrolls (megillot) of the last third section (ketivum) of the Tanakh.

Victoria Hannah put part of it to music.

I really like the sermon on the mount from your bible :)
    It's very jewish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Catholics don't traditionally do the bible very well.
    Protestants read and study the thing a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

Not your bible well not properly. Well I have probably have a tiny bit from somewhere. From your bible i have read the sermon on the mount.

I'm Jewish so i have read parts of the Tanakh. Obv not all of it. I used read talmud a lot. I didn't like order tractates though.

Song of songs.song of solomon is my fav part of the tanakh. Its one of the Scrolls (megillot) of the last third section (ketivum) of the Tanakh.

Victoria Hannah put part of it to music.

It's very jewish.

I was hoping your book was called Jewmanji

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Yes. The early bits are amongst the most murderous, violent and hideous texts you're likely to find in a primary school and then it gets EXTREMELY boring.

And what you get can be very different depending on the translation.

Atheist, raised as sort-of-RC-sort-of-COI-sort-of-nothing, reading it had no affect on me. People who attribute life changes to reading it were generally coming down off something when they did so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Tammy!

No I've never read it. Im not religious but i've heard it's a great book to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Read it from cover to cover as a teenager - some interesting stuff for sure. In the beginning there was a lot of begatting going on. Jonah got his fish or rather the fish got him. Job got a raw deal as did the lady who got thrown to the bandits by her husband to stop them robbing the house. Jesus was probably the first new age hippy type. Fair play to him for setting the trend but he did leave a lot of unanswered questions. Revelations was a revelation. My favourite line from the Bible is "Thine eyes are like the fish pools of Heshbon by the gate of Bath Rabbim. Your nose is like the tower of Lebanon looking toward Damascus.". Pretty much describes the wife tbh. I'm waiting for the next installment to be released though I'm starting to loose hope at this stage ...

Othe intersting reads I got through include

The Book of Mormon
    The Q'uran
    The Bhagavad Gita 
    And The Tibetan Book of the Dead 

I still have nightmares occasionally....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

It's not a book to be read front to back, saying that I have read all of it and the teaching of all bar the most extremely zealous Christian religions are just a cherry pick of what suits for the modern age.
    If you wanted a church that followed all teachings of the bible..... I don't even know what that would look like.

For the record, I don't belive in organised religion, it's caused more harm that good.

I don't know if I'm missing out or not.

Is it any good, worth while picking up?

Song of songs.Its a dialogue between a woman and her lover who is god. Its also about human love. Which god has ordained as heavenly. Not just between lovers but as how madly and passionately we should all love each other.
    Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth--for thy love is better than wine.
    I am come into my garden, my sister, my bride; I have gathered my myrrh with my spice; I have eaten my honeycomb with my honey; I have drunk my wine with my milk. Eat, O friends; drink, yea, drink abundantly, O beloved.
    They are right to love you.
    5 I am dark, but lovely,
    you daughters of Jerusalem,
    like Kedar’s tents,
    like Solomon’s curtains.
    6 Don’t stare at me because I am dark,
    because the sun has scorched me.
    My mother’s sons were angry with me.
    They made me keeper of the vineyards.
    I haven’t kept my own vineyard.
    7 Tell me, you whom my soul loves,

Victoria Hanna really gets the longing.

Pretty sure its part of the christian bible too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

God yeah they were mad for the begetting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Ninthlife wrote: »
    Spoiler Alert

He dies in the end

EVERYONE dies in the end!! It's like a Spaghetti Western!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

]

It's very jewish.

Considering it was a Jew who spoke the words, it's not very surprising that it would've Jewish.
    Problem is, we read it with s Greek mindset

Been reading it over 30 years

Heroditas wrote: »
    EVERYONE dies in the end!! It's like a Spaghetti Western!
    Its blazing saddles without the swearing!

There's a fair amount about taking the lords in name in vain and getting stoned. Must have been some fairly good parties back then for sure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Years ago in school I read one of the gospels(might have been Luke) but honestly no I’ve not willingly read the Bible to any great extent.

Considering it was a Jew who spoke the words, it's not very surprising that it would've Jewish.
    Problem is, we read it with s Greek mindset

Been reading it over 30 years
    Roman mindset more so I think. Think about it ..vatican.

gozunda wrote: »
    There's a fair amount about taking the lords in name in vain and getting stoned. Must have been some fairly good parties back then for sure...

True :D
    You don't have the talmud to go with it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,620 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Dunno about that. Jesus is bandied about a lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭HorrorScope

Read a bit of it, loved the car chase in chapter 6.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

More Greek, on a few levels.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    The logos ...plato etc??

I not sure ...its you guys bible!

Wibbs wrote: »
    Indeed.
    Blessed are the Greek @2:30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Read? No. But going back eons ago when people used old traditional fires, was out of coal one night and it was freezing so chucked on the closest thing I could find which just so happened to be a bible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Can't be any more drawn out and irrelevant than that Wheel of Time lark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Reading a comic would have the same relevance.

"Are you an old testament guy are you a new testament guy?"

"Probably... equal"

Sometimes I have a hard time believing this is real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

"Are you an old testament guy are you a new testament guy?"

"Probably... equal"

Sometimes I have a hard time believing this is real life.

It's like a world ruled by Biff Tannen. Boris getting the UK is as funny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Read it when I was a kid. Was a good novel but a bit long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

It was written with a Hellenistic mindset, as the Vatican wasn't a thing then. I studied biblical (Koiné) Greek many years ago, and still have a Greek version of the New Testament, which is a lovely book, aesthetically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Only really follow the New Testament as a Christian.

Old Test\Torah is more of a Jew thing. Christ rebelled against this teaching.

The most interesting book of the three Abrahamic faiths is the Quaran, the literal and final word of God delivered to the Prophet Mohammed via the Angel Gabriel.

The Bible is a bit "schizophrenic" in a colloquial sense. It's got so many authors it's very inconsistent. It's a bit like a boards writing challenge where one person writes a sentence and another boardsie writes the next, so the story goes wild.

I've read a good bit of the old testament like a novel and a couple of the gospels.

While there are some corner stone Western society stories I eventually stopped. Basically god comes across as a complete dick, and as he's the main character of the story (I'm reluctant to say protagonist) it becomes difficult to maintain interest.

It probably is best to cherry-pick. Some of the authors clearly loved telling a good story, while others were merely Dan Brown rather than Shakespeare.

The most interesting book of the three Abrahamic faiths is the Quaran, the literal and final word of God delivered to the Prophet Mohammed via the Angel Gabriel.

You've got to admire Mohammed he was clever enough to protect his legacy by saying there would be no further prophets. BOOM! Suckers! Snookered ye.

I'll give him that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

The Bible has made into several films so just watch them for a general gist of what's going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Oasis1974 wrote: »
    The Bible has made into several films so just watch them for a general gist of what's going on.

Probably the best is " the Life of Brian " .

Though regarding the book , I can never find any mention of Easter Eggs .

One thing though. I'm pretty sure that if it was my ''FAVORITE BOOK'' that I would be able to make reference to it in greater detail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Not the proper version, a big long....they did have an easy version I read many moons ago....tells you more or less the main bits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Read the book of Revelations once after watching "the omen" for the first time.

🙈🙉🙊

Only really follow the New Testament as a Christian.

Old Test\Torah is more of a Jew thing. Christ rebelled against this teaching.

The quoran falls into the same realm as Joseph Smith's "Golden Tablets".

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Not the proper version, a big long....they did have an easy version I read many moons ago....tells you more or less the main bits

In fairness though if you were a believer in the Christian god, you'd think that you'd be reading that book like it was tonight's lottery numbers. You know, the actual words of your god!

Anyone that calls themselves a Christian and hasn't read it several times is a spoofer.

In fairness though if you were a believer in the Christian god, you'd think that you'd be reading that book like it was tonight's lottery numbers. You know, the actual words of your god!

Anyone that calls themselves a Christian and hasn't read it several times is a spoofer.

Why?

That’s a bit silly....most religions are about looking after each other etc...reading a book and been an ar*ehole is not been a Christian.....action make you a Christian

One thing though. I'm pretty sure that if it was my ''FAVORITE BOOK'' that I would be able to make reference to it in greater detail.

But it's a very very big book. Huge.

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Why?

That’s a bit silly....most religions are about looking after each other etc...reading a book and been an ar*ehole is not been a Christian.....action make you a Christian

I think you're missing my point. Unless you're illiterate, you're going to read the book of your god if you actually believe.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Yeah read it all, even the bits in the appendix that didn't make the final cut, The Serpent of Rehoboam, The Well of Zohassadar, The Bridal Feast of Beth Chadruharazzeb

I think you're missing my point. Unless you're illiterate, you're going to read the book of your god if you actually believe.

Agreed. It's no different to getting a letter from your spouse, saying you love them and not reading the letter.

You would read it. The Bible is just one big letter.

I don’t get your point

What are you talking about?