Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could James Bond ever be Jane Bond?

• 23-08-2019 6:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Personally I don't think so. It's such an iconic male role, to change it to a female would kill the franchise. They could create a new franchise with a female as a lead but 007 will always be James.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

I'd hope not. That would be cringey pandering and tokenism taken to insane levels.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No. /thread.

I wish for a nice change Hollywood, TV and other media hacks would - and bear with me folks, mad crazy thought alert here - write new iconic characters for women, rather than take an existing male role and jam a woman into it in some first year college level hail mary attempt to be "diverse" and "right on". Though much of it is to get column inches and widen up a market demographic.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Yeah why not, cant be any worse than the last few films with Daniel "License to kill you with boredom" Craig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Released just after Brendan Jones's Diary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Yeah, why not shur! We can also have:
    - Jane Wick
    - Darlene Vader
    - Patricia Bateman
    - Hannibal Lucy
    - Indiana Jane
    - Jane McClane
    - Jane Sparrow (christ, there's some amount of John/Jack characters!)
    - Martina McFly
    - Janet T. Kirk
    - Lynda Skywalker
    - Dr. Emma Brown
    - Norma Bates
    - Julie Winnfield
    - Alexa Foley
    - Obi-Wanda Kenobi
    - Cpt. Jean (Jeeeen) Luc Picard
    - Mrs. Blonde
    - Tanya Montana
    - Freda Krueger
    - Rita Deckard
    - YOlanDA...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,435 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Jane, formally James, you know it's gonna happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Actually the next Bond will be a black woman.
    It's only a patronising gesture though, the male 007 comes back during the film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

do women not deserve their own franchise? to write their own stories rather than essentially putting an archetypal male character is a skirt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,988 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

A chameleon like James that could become Jane and vice versa... thatd be handy as opposed to everyone knowing who James is. Sometimes I think they just send 007 as a decoy to cause mayhem and 001 - 006 do all the real work. Of course they dont have aston martin or play against the bad guys in the casino.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭HorrorScope

Not a hope.

They can make it but they cant make me watch it, what wibbs said, devise new characters and story lines geared towards women.

Jaysus is every male character ever created going to get a female makeover, are Hollyweird that devoid of ideas.

In saying that the Bond films are lacking of late, if they do go the jane Bond route at least give her a different name and number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

If it was a strong story, with good acting, action set pieces, and a hook of a theme song, I really wouldn't give a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Just keep iconic male and female characters within their respective genders please, it's getting laughable now.

Make no mistake though, the introduction of a female Bond in the upcoming Bond film (which is fine in the context of that films story) is a kite flying exercise to see how the general public take to the idea of a future female Bond.

Judging by the reaction; not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,988 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

- Jane Wick
    - Darlene Vader
    - Patricia Bateman
    - Hannibal Lucy
    - Indiana Jane
    - Jane McClane
    - Martina McFly
    - Janet T. Kirk
    - Lynda Skywalker
    - Dr. Emma Brown
    - Norma Bates
    - Julie Winnfield
    - Alexa Foley
    - Obi-Wanda Kenobi
    - Cpt. Jean (Jeeeen) Luc Picard.

You mean Janeway...

Let me tell you I would follow Picard into battle. On Voyager the Captain would have met an unfortunate transporter accident.

Indiana Jane might have worked!

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Pheonix10 wrote: »
    Released just after Brendan Jones's Diary
    I think that would actually be hilarious :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

kneemos wrote: »
    It's only a patronising gesture though, the male 007 comes back during the film.

No. The next 007 will be a black woman with Bond starting the film in retirement. 007 is a code name and there's literally no reason why someone other than James Bond can't hold it.

To answer the question in the title I don't think Bond should be gender flipped, his character is intrinsically male.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Tammy!

odyssey06 wrote: »
    You mean Janeway...

Let me tell you I would follow Picard into battle. On Voyager the Captain would have met an unfortunate transporter accident.!

Janeway was a good capt'n. I liked Voyager!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

FunLover18 wrote: »
    No. The next 007 will be a black woman with Bond starting the film in retirement. 007 is a code name and there's literally no reason why someone other than James Bond can't hold it.

To answer the question in the title I don't think Bond should be gender flipped, his character is intrinsically male.

007 is Bond in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Could a female Bond work the gadgets? Would a female Bond get distracted by your man's cute cat and miss a chance to escape? Would a female Bond get pissed on Martinis and start crying about job satisfaction? These are the things we must consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

- Jane Wick
    - Darlene Vader
    - Patricia Bateman
    - Hannibal Lucy
    - Indiana Jane
    - Jane McClane
    - Martina McFly
    - Janet T. Kirk
    - Lynda Skywalker
    - Dr. Emma Brown
    - Norma Bates
    - Julie Winnfield
    - Alexa Foley
    - Obi-Wanda Kenobi
    - Mrs. Blonde
    - Tanya Montana
    - Freda Krueger
    - Rita Deckard
    - YOlanDA...

Francisstein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,718 ✭✭✭pgj2015

she will be a black muslim lesbian in a wheelchair, thats what i heard.

007 is Bond in fairness.

Bond is 007, we literally see him awarded the code name in CR. Anyone can be 007 though. Same way a woman can be M (or Q in the future).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

They could introduce a sidekick, and then she could break off and do films on her alone, that would be okay. Can't be called Bond though, maybe Ms Hurricane Twister

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Tammy!

GI Jane.. oh no they already did that and it didn't work!!

Jenny Maguire?

Wibbs wrote: »
    No. /thread.

I wish for a nice change Hollywood, TV and other media hacks would - and bear with me folks, mad crazy thought alert here - write new iconic characters for women, rather than take an existing male role and jam a woman into it in some first year college level hail mary attempt to be "diverse" and "right on". Though much of it is to get column inches and widen up a market demographic.
    I completely agree with you. I don't know why James becoming Jane was even given any thought but it's something I've come across in the media, albeit it with (mostly) scepticism. You'd swear that females weren't capable of being leads. The role of Ripley was originally written for a man but I can't imagine anyone other than Sigourney Weaver playing that part. She nailed it. Same with Sarah Connors, Xena Warrior Princess, Kill Bill etc. Females absolutely can carry a film/franchise but it needs to be original.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I dont get the need to change james to Jane. Why not just have a strong female character in that world that isnt a secretary or an adoptive mother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Oh, they could reboot the Ghostbusters with an all female cast, and make Janine male, I've no doubt that... would... wait... *Fry stare*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Surprising myself by saying yes.

Yes its probably motivated by that bullsht pandering and the hashtag mentality, but it could work.

James Bond has retired due to health and age reasons (prostate issues and STD's - cancer or virus related, you be the judge), he's finished with his service but his number stays on the books.

In one of the films he kills another 'number' so this is a department of multiple agents, you'd need female agents as well as part of espionage, so its not completely out of the bounds of the story that hey in walks a female candidate.

It could breath some new life into the franchise, open new possibilities beyond the usual storyline of James beats up a freak, or pushes him into a blender of some sort, defuses a bomb and then shags a hottie.

I'd want them to be careful with the name though, if it came out as Jane Bond or something cheezy like that it might be too much.

They could have a bit where female 007 plugs a gunshot victims would with a tampon like bodyguards are trained to in real life.

James Bond couldn't pull that one off cause he's male and therefore it wouldn't be believable that he just carries tampons around ... unless it was explained in the intro that his prostate is really acting up.

A transgender Bond with aspergers/autism issues is another idea. This bond might have excellent recall or mathematical abilities yet lack emotional restraint and social awareness.

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Could a female Bond work the gadgets? Would a female Bond get distracted by your man's cute cat and miss a chance to escape? Would a female Bond get pissed on Martinis and start crying about job satisfaction? These are the things we must consider.
    Would a female Bond get paid the same? Gender pay gap and all that :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

No. Even though I'm fairly tired of the franchise, it's well jaded by now.
    Wouldn't cross the road to watch JB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Reviews and Books Galore

odyssey06 wrote: »
    You mean Janeway...

Let me tell you I would follow Picard into battle. On Voyager the Captain would have met an unfortunate transporter accident.

Indiana Jane might have worked!

A physically fit woman with a whip and safari pants...sign me up. *

Although, I think Indiana Jane could actually work quite well. He wasn't really a physical fighting character and I could definetly see a woman fitting that role without being cringy.

I have no problem with Jane Bond tbh. Why not as long as it isn't mentioning that she has boobs twenty four seven.

*Before you complain, the Indiana Jones Actor was a piece of female eye candy that was probably the largest draw for half the population at the time :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Jane Bond 'You Only Wear it Once'.

Bond is 007, we literally see him awarded the code name in CR. Anyone can be 007 though. Same way a woman can be M (or Q in the future).
    Not the same thing. James Bond is the star, Q or M is a side character. As long as they come up with cool gadgets, they get a pass on gender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Licence To Bitch.

Jane Bond 'You Only Wear it Once'.

The world is not enough.

Apt title for a female Bond film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

Yes. If some woman decides to call herself James Bond. The world is getting too --- up, so anything is possible now. I'm glad that I'm on the way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭SnazzyPig

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Personally I don't think so. It's such an iconic male role, to change it to a female would kill the franchise. They could create a new franchise with a female as a lead but 007 will always be James.

The woman every man wants to be, the woman every woman wants to make love with?

She takes maternity leave at the end of each film. Destroying the MOD's budget.

She'd only been there 3 months. Q has to cover half of the work she left behind for no extra pay. And he's getting taxed to the hilt, can't even afford a 2 bed. The dole monkeys can though, it ridiculous, we live in a communist state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭yuridwyer

pgj2015 wrote: »
    she will be a black muslim lesbian in a wheelchair, thats what i heard.

You mean transgender black muslim lesbian in a wheelchair...

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Not the same thing. James Bond is the star, Q or M is a side character. As long as they come up with cool gadgets, they get a pass on gender.

007 is the same as M and Q in that they're all code names that are not gender or race specific. They only differ in that as you point out we as the audience know the name of the agent who uses the code 007. There's nothing to stop EON changing it to a 007 franchise with different agents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Wouldn’t that just be completely misunderstanding what the appeal of James Bond is to its fans? I hate Bond myself personally but I get what people like about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

- Jane Wick
    - Darlene Vader
    - Patricia Bateman
    - Hannibal Lucy
    - Indiana Jane
    - Jane McClane
    - Martina McFly
    - Janet T. Kirk
    - Lynda Skywalker
    - Dr. Emma Brown
    - Norma Bates
    - Julie Winnfield
    - Alexa Foley
    - Obi-Wanda Kenobi
    - Mrs. Blonde
    - Tanya Montana
    - Freda Krueger
    - Rita Deckard
    - YOlanDA...

They all read out as a porn movie cast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

The genders are f...ed up enough in today's world without having what always has been a male fictional character changed to female.

007 is the same as M and Q in that they're all code names that are not gender or race specific. They only differ in that as you point out we as the audience know the name of the agent who uses the code 007. There's nothing to stop EON changing it to a 007 franchise with different agents.
    That's a huge difference though. You can change side characters and it's not really a big deal but change the lead and it changes everything. Imagine trying to reboot Xena warrior princess as Xenu, warrier Prince, or Dr Quinn as a male Dr Mike. It just wouldn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

So a female would be going around saying she was James Bond ? That's 2019 for ye. Albert Reynolds is up there saying "Well I told ye so".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

do women not deserve their own franchise? to write their own stories rather than essentially putting an archetypal male character is a skirt?

DiD yOu jUsT aSsUMe BoNd’S gEnDeR?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Wasn't that the whole point of Atomic Blonde ?

It grossed $100m

Even Licence to Kill got one and a half times that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,183 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

I have allways thought and I maybe wrong that James Bond is an allias and not there real names. What was his parents name is Skyfall. But I agree with the OP if you want a female spy give there own film I think they were hoping to do that with Halle Berrys character and have her the American equilivant.

It's been done in comics since the 1960's Batman to batwoman and batgirl. Captain America to Captain Marvel even a female Thor

Not sure it be received well even if good idea. Words like woke, feminism, libertards will be thrown about and campaign to boycott then you will have the disaster of the companies and actors trying to defend it and making a total dogs dinner of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,183 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

DiD yOu jUsT aSsUMe BoNd’S gEnDeR?

Can we ban this type of writing seriously it makes people dumb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

Are we talking about watching James transitioning into Jane while saving the world ?