Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

En Suite Renovation

• 23-08-2019 11:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭

Hi all, been putting the en-suite off for a while, definitely needed a sprucing but I’ve finally stripped it. Shower removed and all tiles taken up. I’ve been in touch with a few places and have been quoted upwards of 7k for a new en-suite . Seems a bit spicy???

All that needs to be done is

New Shower/Tray (keeping our pressure system)
    New sink
    New Toilet
    Tiling around the shower area and sink.
    Floor fully tiled

Aside from that the shower area may need some plastering work, there’s two or three boards that need to be replaced.

The room is only 2x2m so the 7k thing is bugging me! Anyone else have a similar sized room or project done recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭crustybread

I don’t know where you are based but I found the bathroom shops were quite expensive. Think they can charge what they like now the boom is back. We did both bathroom and en-suite last year for about 8k all in. That was for stripping, prepping and fitting both. Replaced bath with shower in main and en-suite fully tiled walls and floor. I can give you name of guy who did ours. He is in Dublin and supplied tiles but we bought vanity units, shower, taps and mirrors which saved us about a grand. We didn’t go for super expensive bathroom tiles but very happy with job and luck. Your en-suite would be size of our main though. Good luck

Adrift wrote: »
    Hi all, been putting the en-suite off for a while, definitely needed a sprucing but I’ve finally stripped it. Shower removed and all tiles taken up. I’ve been in touch with a few places and have been quoted upwards of 7k for a new en-suite . Seems a bit spicy???

All that needs to be done is

New Shower/Tray (keeping our pressure system)
    New sink
    New Toilet
    Tiling around the shower area and sink.
    Floor fully tiled

Aside from that the shower area may need some plastering work, there’s two or three boards that need to be replaced.

The room is only 2x2m so the 7k thing is bugging me! Anyone else have a similar sized room or project done recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Adrift

Thanks for all the info mate! I’m in Wicklow.

Should’ve mentioned that we’re a dormer bungalow so although the room is roughly 2x2 there wouldn’t be as much wall coverage as your own there from the pic.

If you got two done for 8 would it be reasonable to say it’s possible to get our own done for 4?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Seems a decent deal for a tax complaint and insured company.

You could always take a few weeks off work and figure it out yourself. Might save a few euro if you are willing to save on quality, safety and water tightness. Probably have to get somebody in to fix the odd issue, materials will be dearer but save on insurance and tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,596 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Thanks for all the info mate! I’m in Wicklow.

Should’ve mentioned that we’re a dormer bungalow so although the room is roughly 2x2 there wouldn’t be as much wall coverage as your own there from the pic.

If you got two done for 8 would it be reasonable to say it’s possible to get our own done for 4?

I don't think that's a fair way to work it out. If both rooms were done together then there are saving from doing that. Small things like one larger skip over 2 smaller ones, cost to collect tiles sanitary ware etc, cam add up faster than you think. 5k or more would be a fairer price to do them seperatly

I’m not sure you seen in my initial post, we’ve stripped the whole room ourselves mate. The stuff just needs to be installed.

All you have really saved by stripping it yourself is a day rate for a laborer.

And aaaaaaaa bathrooms can’t just tell their laborer to stay at home that day because the fella stripped it out himself.

I’m not sure you seen in my initial post, we’ve stripped the whole room ourselves mate. The stuff just needs to be installed.

I'm commenting on the 2 for 8k doesn't equal 1 for 4k. Anything you do to save labour will reduce your costs .

Stripping the tiles etc will save a few hundred in labour if done properly. A lot of times customers remove tiles badly and very little adhesive or leave the walls needing a lot of work to get right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

If you want to save money buy all the stuff yourself. It will be more work, and you'll need to shop around. It would be extremely rare for any tradesman bit to add a percentage on top, they aren't doing it for the good of their health. After that it's labour, which these days is through the roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭omeara1113

lately i broke the wall between the en suite and bathroom in and made it all one .Done all the donkey work myself and hired a plumber and tiler to do the rest .I supplied everything and the whole thing cost me 5,500 so it can be done if your prepared to do a lot of work yourself

My thoughts are I would not go to bathroom shop. I would get a plumber/tiler separately to install and source the materials yourself. It will be a bit more tooing and froing as you will be in effect managing it but you should be able to get it a lot cheaper than going to a bathroom shop. In my opinion. Again make sure you are getting someone recommended and you have seen their work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭derekbro

I can give you name of guy who did ours. He is in Dublin and supplied tiles but we bought vanity units, shower, taps and mirrors which saved us about a grand. We didn’t go for super expensive bathroom tiles but very happy with job and luck.

Hi Crustybread, could you PM me the details of the guy who did yours, looking to get our bathroom done. Thanks

This is his facebook page. He has a unit beside Woodies DIY in glasnevin which shows some of the tiles available. Also you can see lots of pictures on his page. Excellent to deal with, could not fault them.

MOD NOTE: I have deleted the link. I see that derekbro has already seen it, so that's that sorted. It would have been better to PM (as he asked) him the link. There is still enough detail in your reply to allow others to find them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭heffo500

My thoughts are I would not go to bathroom shop. I would get a plumber/tiler separately to install and source the materials yourself. It will be a bit more tooing and froing as you will be in effect managing it but you should be able to get it a lot cheaper than going to a bathroom shop. In my opinion. Again make sure you are getting someone recommended and you have seen their work.

I wouldn't recommend this, its great you save money initially but then if any issues arise, it can be quite difficult to prove who is at fault, at least with one company, this is not an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

heffo500 wrote:
    I wouldn't recommend this, its great you save money initially but then if any issues arise, it can be quite difficult to prove who is at fault, at least with one company, this is not an issue.

Problem with bathroom shops doing the work is that many don't use qualified tradesman. There is a thread from a few weeks ago where a well known bathroom shop renovated a bathroom. The same person doing the plumbing and electrical. Homeowners got electric shocks from the shower and the plumbing work wasn't any better.

It's always better to get separate tradesman. The trick is to get good tradesman and not just the cheapest quote. Using a bathroom shop you have no idea what staff they will send out or if the good tiler left them last week and they now have a new not so good tiler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭heffo500

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Problem with bathroom shops doing the work is that many don't use qualified tradesman. There is a thread from a few weeks ago where a well known bathroom shop renovated a bathroom. The same person doing the plumbing and electrical. Homeowners got electric shocks from the shower and the plumbing work wasn't any better.

It's always better to get separate tradesman. The trick is to get good tradesman and not just the cheapest quote. Using a bathroom shop you have no idea what staff they will send out or if the good tiler left them last week and they now have a new not so good tiler.

I think that's a separate issue, it really depends on the company you go for.

We had a company do ours who now have their own shop and they used separate tradesman for each part of the job, however if anything went wrong it was the plumber who owned the company who we would deal with.

Like I said it all makes sense to use individual tradesman until something goes wrong and I find most people take the cheapest quote for instance I think 7k quote above it way too low if you expect the company to bring in separate sub contractors to complete the work.

I'm finding this quote of 7K to be utterly amazing. I've priced what we need in terms of materials from a place in springfield and it's approx €2K for the following

Shower Tray + Doors
    Pan + Cistern + Seat/Cover
    Sink with Small Cabinet
    Tiles + Grout etc for shower and floor

Are you really telling me I'd need in excess of 5K for a tiler/plumber and Plasterer to do the job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

I'm finding this quote of 7K to be utterly amazing. I've priced what we need in terms of materials from a place in springfield and it's approx €2K for the following

Shower Tray + Doors
    Sink with Small Cabinet

Are you really telling me I'd need in excess of 5K for a tiler/plumber and Plasterer to do the job?

Big money to be made in construction at the minute. They can probably get it for less than 2k too.

Back in the tiger these prices enticed a lot of cowboys into the business - I'm sure there are plenty of them floating about now too. Make sure whoever does the work is highly recommended.

Shower Tray + Doors
    Sink with Small Cabinet

Ye see that’s why you hire a professional. You turn up with the things on the list you have. Take out the toilet bath and sink. Try build a bathroom with what you just brought. Sorted.

Shower Tray + Doorssilicone, waste pipe, trap, fittings, shower
    Pan + Cistern + Seat/Covervalves, pipes, multiwick,
    Sink with Small Cabinetwaste pipes, traps, taps, fittings, valves
    Tiles + Grout etc for shower and flooradhesive, trims, silicones, tanking, primers etc

thats a pritty basic list . no fittings, accesories,fixings, pipe etc

there is a lot more required than the obvious big ticket items. its the small stuff that adds up .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Shower Tray + Doors
    Sink with Small Cabinet

Just finishing my own bathroom. Il have it done all in for under 1500.

But that's me doing everything top to bottom.

Sourced the materials from various deals and online over last year building up to start it. Including a reclaimed oak parquet floor for the main flooring area from a UK church.

You can do what you want it just depends how resourceful you are. There's a price on time which is where tradesmen come in.

Mind is blown here 5k for the work, definitely couldn’t be 5 days in it since I’ve stripped the room and given its size. I’m in the wrong business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭duffman13

Mind is blown here 5k for the work, definitely couldn’t be 5 days in it since I’ve stripped the room and given its size. I’m in the wrong business.

Had a bathroom done a few years ago, did similar to yourself, stripped, bought everything and my sister in law is Polish, recommended two lads who did work for her. €1200 for them to install and tile, took them a day and they came back later to grout etc. They worked for a big bathroom retailer and did some work on the side. Unreal finish. I'm unfortunately looking at renovating another bathroom and mind boggled by the price, might need to wait a while longer this time as those two lads have returned home :(

All in all 2800 for everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Blowheads

We did ours, 2k strip, re-slab, tile. 400 plumber to plumb in shower, toilet, rad, semi per. Sparky cost few bob. Then go and source your tiles, grout etc plus white wear, shower door etc. Will soon add up. You can go cheap or go expensive, but once you know the materials costs then you know what your labor effort will be. Most tillers including strip should be done in 2.5 days