Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spraying Rushes at this time of year?

• 20-08-2019 11:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭

Hi all owners of land with rushes:)

Got rushes sprayed earlier in year around Mid May but there were a lot of them on the land that was done and some were missed and are still looking green and healthy.I had cleaned them off around 2 months before they were sprayed so they were nice green fresh young rushes when sprayed in mid July.

Just wondering has it gone too late to spray the missed ones now?.... or should I leave them until next Spring to spray?
    Am very happy with how the ones that were hit correctly have died off.Considering that grass is still growing away I think rushes and other weeds are still growing as well so a targetted 'respray' now should kill the untouched rushes iykwim.

Would really appreciate the thoughts of people who have sprayed or licked fresh green rushes in August or September before and if they got a good kill out or not,
    thanks for any feedback,
    B,L,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

Its definately not too late to spray rushes.
    I wiped rished a few years back at the end of october with mcpa and got a fantastic kill.
    Maybe spot spray with a quad sprayer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Spray away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

The feckers seem to grow every day of the year, so I'd not worry about wiping them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

I had good results after spraying much later than this.....

Your biggest problem spraying them now is probably the rushes are too thinned out for economical spraying, and you may stunt the grass at a time of year when recovery will be slowing down. A wiper would probably be the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

hopeso wrote: »

Your biggest problem spraying them now is probably the rushes are too thinned out for economical spraying, and you may stunt the grass at a time of year when recovery will be slowing down. A wiper would probably be the best option.

It's land that wasn't in right shape for a few years so I'm kinda thinking I would prefer to spray again and have the divils of rushes dying out through the winter.
    Hopefully then it would be in better shape to grow more grass straight away next Spring iykwim.
    Has a good butt of grass on it so don't think a respray now would affect it too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

hopeso wrote: »

It's land that wasn't in right shape for a few years so I'm kinda thinking I would prefer to spray again and have the divils of rushes dying out through the winter.
    Hopefully then it would be in better shape to grow more grass straight away next Spring iykwim.
    Has a good butt of grass on it so don't think a respray now would affect it too much.

You would be surprised how much the grass can get stunted.
    The father had an acre and a half of ground that got 11 bales pf silage off it one year. It was fairly well populated with rushes.
    I sprayed it heavily during the spring.
    There was 4 bales of silage then but zero rushes.
    The fathers response was that there must have been some amount of rushes in the bales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,842 ✭✭✭roosterman71

What poison would ye put in a wiper for the rushes? And at what ratio to the water?

Used Roundup, and had a great kill.
    60 litre tank on the licker, and I had 4 litres of Round-up in the 60.
    So, 15:1 mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭adne

What ratio of mcpa to water does lads find good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭adne

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Used Roundup, and had a great kill.
    60 litre tank on the licker, and I had 4 litres of Round-up in the 60.
    So, 15:1 mix.

Is that not a bit strong. Lad told me 50:1 and a slow kill is better as the roundup works it's way through the root system.

It was the first time I had hired a licker, and thats what the guy recommended.
    How long ( and how often) you hold your finger on the button will greatly affect the acreage the 60 litres covers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

I done a bit of research online once, when I was considering using a wiper with roundup. The conclusion I came to was a 10 to 1 mix, which I thought was very strong....I never went ahead with it in the end.