Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

York Ebor Meeting

• 20-08-2019 2:28pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭

Really looking forward to the Knavesmire this week. It is a great track and a great city to go racing in. I would definitely recommend a road trip to Yorkshire during the summer to check out their big festival of the year.

Looking at tomorrows card it looks to be a cracker. I have no real fancies yet, all I do know is that York is a lovely great big wide flat track. Look out for relentless gallopers that are able to keep going, you don't necessarily need a lot of acceleration in some of the middle distance and staying races. The straight is almost 5 furlongs long.

It is also a great track for sprints with both a 5f and 6f straight. In the first race tomorrow look out for a speedy handicapper looking to break into group company in the near future. It is usually won by a top sprinter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

Crystal Ocean, Battash, Enable treble
    FILL YOUR BOOTS!

Battash is 2/1 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Remortgage the house, Sell the kids, Sell the car......sell the wife..........
    PUT IT ALL ON BATTASH @ 2/1 !!!!

The quickest thing on 4 legs in the world....and its.....
    TWO TO FECKING ONE!!

Course form my hole.......best horse in the race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

BATTTTTTAAAAAASSSSHH

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I will wait until Friday morning before having a bet. I certainly don't fancy 10 sovereigns over 5 furlongs. For a horse that ran in a Guineas the 5 f's look short enough.

I think El Astronaute ew at 33/1 looks a bit big ? If it runs I would have to consider a bet, is it running?

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I will wait until Friday morning before having a bet. I certainly don't fancy 10 sovereigns over 5 furlongs. For a horse that ran in a Guineas the 5 f's look short enough.

I think El Astronaute ew at 33/1 looks a bit big ? If it runs I would have to consider a bet, is it running?

Tri Cast time!
    1. Battash
    2. Ten Soverigns
    3. Mabs Cross

:cool:

I can't see 10 Sovereigns being fast enough for 5 f's. Don't see him being placed.

I really fancy El Astronaute at the prices.

Is anyone backing Japan tomorrow?

Can someone please be honest with me and tell me what beats Liberty Beach?

2/1 is a gift

Andrew00 wrote: »
    Can someone please be honest with me and tell me what beats Liberty Beach?

2/1 is a gift

An extra furlong ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Circus Maximus at the prices. Massive chance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

3:00 York
    Norway hasn’t often been ridden with winning in mind, but still has bags of potential. There isn’t a lot between any of these and he has the best form in the book. 14/1 in a 5 horse race is madness
    2 Points win 14/1 Generally.
    3:35 York
    Circus Maximus comes out 2nd best of these on ratings and he is a tough as it gets. I think he can out battle everything else maybe bar the fav here and 6/1 w/o the fav is possibly twice he’s real price here, and in fact he may well go off at that price to win.
    3 Points win 6/1 w/o fav 365 and others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Norway and Blakeney point my 2 bets today.
    Norway for the same reasons already given here.
    Blakeney point has form here off higher marks and n better races so I'm hoping this has been their plan for a while.
    Old Caspian prince has almost tempted me but I've just let him run so watch him do the business 😂

You love an AOB outsider Aidan :)

Literally if it wasnt for AOB outsiders, and the grand annual, id be broke long ago from backing horses.

And it means almost nothing wheather Donacha or Ryan is riding in 90% of the races.

aidankkk wrote: »
    Literally if it wasnt for AOB outsiders, and the grand annual, id be broke long ago from backing horses.

And it means almost nothing wheather Donacha or Ryan is riding in 90% of the races.

Agree
    More inclined to back Donncha to be honest
    Do we know is Ryan Moore on Ten Soverigns? All the more reason to back battash if so, in my humble opinion

My fancies for today. Please don't adjust your monitors if you see me picking more than one horse in any particular race, I have no problem going Dutch on 20 runner sprint handicaps.

1.55 Amomentofmadness , Harome both ew
    2.25 Cobra Eye - John Quinn always has a decent 2 yr old for York. Frankie is up.
    3.00 Nayef Road - looks like a typical gutsy Mark Johnston type.
    3.35 Japan, I also like Circus Maximus. There is a drift on the favourite this morning !!!
    4.15 Sleeping Lion , Mancini, Melting Dew ( his form looks awful this year but the Stoute/Ryan Moore combo has my ears pricked )
    4.50 Rose of Kildare , with a name like that she needs to be backed.

Looking forward to it now. The drift on Crystal Ocean is intriguing.

I have just seen that Cobra Eye is out of the 2.25, the pain. Probably no bet there now, maybe Kingbrook ew.

Agree
    More inclined to back Donncha to be honest
    Do we know is Ryan Moore on Ten Soverigns? All the more reason to back battash if so, in my humble opinion

Ive been thinking Battash for this all week. Very straightforward this year compared to others. Just doesnt stay the 5 furlngs at Ascot (still ran well considering) . Please god someone go mad and make his 5.2 or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

Marnie James 20/1 5 places 1.50 york

Going to chance this one today. Back down to last winning mark having not been in the best of form this campaign.
    First start for new stable which can rejuvenate them and a previous C&D winner albeit off a much lower mark
    GL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Battash is 2/1 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Remortgage the house, Sell the kids, Sell the car......sell the wife..........
    PUT IT ALL ON BATTASH @ 2/1 !!!!

The quickest thing on 4 legs in the world....and its.....
    TWO TO FECKING ONE!!

Course form my hole.......best horse in the race

I’d be with Ten Sovereigns, seems transformed now back at sprinting distances and gets an age allowance. You cannot ignore Batashs course form , he also has had breathing ops going into each season so he’s got his flaws

1:55 York

Foolad has some very good course form and is back to a workable mark here.

1Point EW 6 place 33/1 paddy 40/1 5 places elsewhere

4:15

Clever Cookie, has some decent form first time out, and altough he isnt getting any younger he has been given a change by the handicapper if he is on a going day.

1 Point EW 5 polace 66/1 Paddy/betfair/unibet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭BigStickMick

Thought Jalmound was better than showed last time and represented good value at around 12/1 and outsider of the lot in Volitigeur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭SonOfGoat

First bets in a few days.

3.0 York, Logician, layed this around 2.02
    Same race, Constantinople, backed to win. 5/2

SonOfGoat wrote: »

Flipping Fantastic.

What did connections say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

Flipping Fantastic.

What did connections say?

If only we could crack the code.........

I'm going to have a go: Lay=win. Back=lose.

Could that be it??

Itziger wrote: »
    If only we could crack the code.........

I'm going to have a go: Lay=win. Back=lose.

Could that be it??

It's a coin flip for me. I usually have to lick my finger first.

I would prefer to know all the pseudonyms to be honest.

Constantinople looks like a complete hound anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Blinkers_off

Constantinople looks like a complete hound anyway

wish I owned that hound

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

SonOfGoat wrote: »

Hero

wish I owned that hound
    About as genuine as your account

such a likeable horse japan

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

3 year olds this year are sh*te :pac:

The Mig wrote: »
    3 year olds this year are sh*te :pac:

well considering enable just about got by crystal ocean with an allowance every horse around must be "****e"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭hobie21

The Mig wrote: »
    Hero

Funny. The only race i won a few quid today i had logician, costantinople forecast.

Cystal Ocean cost me a lot

It looks like a master class from Coolmore. Fair play. Circus Maximus forced the pace, roughed up Crystal Ocean, got him out of his rhythm. As soon as Japan was up there I thought he had a great chance.

Crystal Ocean lost nothing in defeat.

Feck when you luck in not in its not in. Clever Cookie, was travelling so well, and just couldnt get a run. The jock took it easy when he wasnt going to win, and cruised into 7th, at 66/1 EW paying 5 places.:o:mad::rolleyes:. Consider the fictional remote planted in the middle of the screen.

Backed Elarqam
    Ran well just didn't get the gap
    definitely back to something like its best this year

Oisin Murphy has gone to Kempton for the evening, that is a long way from York btw.

He has just won on his first, not a great advertisement for the sport I might add.

Oisin Murphy has gone to Kempton for the evening, that is a long way from York btw.

He has just won on his first, not a great advertisement for the sport I might add.

How is that a bad advertisement for the sport???? The man has gone up to Kempton to try and ride a winner or two?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

Backed Elarqam
    Ran well just didn't get the gap
    definitely back to something like its best this year

He's not just back to his best, he's a good few pounds better than he was at his best last year. His win at York gave him a 7lbs rise on official ratings and he'll go up another 3-4lbs for his career best effort today. Johnson has performed a miracle with that horse who looked like a dud earlier in the year.

Andrew00 wrote: »
    How is that a bad advertisement for the sport???? The man has gone up to Kempton to try and ride a winner or two?

I was commenting on the race, have a look at the replay and you should get the gist of what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

It looks like a master class from Coolmore. Fair play. Circus Maximus forced the pace, roughed up Crystal Ocean, got him out of his rhythm. As soon as Japan was up there I thought he had a great chance.

Crystal Ocean lost nothing in defeat.

That's an interesting point about Crystal Ocean losing nothing in defeat.

I'd say that he lost plenty in defeat. He went into the race as the highest rated thoroughbred in the World and came out of it defeated, losing to Japan was no disgrace but just 1L behind Crystal Ocean was Elarqam, King Of Comedy was 3/4L behind again in 4th with Regal Reality another 1 3/4 back in 5th. None of those that had finished close up today were G1 winners. Hardly the form of the World's greatest racehorse, his own record is shaky enough, 4 times he's got into a battle at the end of a big G1 race and he's come off 2nd best in every one of those battles.

Even though he's a bit of a nearly horse, he could come good in a race like the Arc or Irish Champion Stakes. Knowing Stoute I'd imagine that he'll be primed for a big finish to his career in the Champion Stakes at Ascot or in the Breeders Cup Turf.

I thought Japan won a shade cosily today.

Today is a MAGICAL day.

Slattsy wrote: »
    Today is a MAGICAL day.

People keep trying to get Enable Beat :)
    Same as people will take on Stradivarius tomorrow
    Enable and Stradivarius just win Slattsy, they just win :P

Frosty looked a good bet in the Galtres at around 11/2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Crystal Ocean, Battash, Enable treble
    FILL YOUR BOOTS!

Bullish.

For a horse with such a big reputation, Battaash's record in G1s is very bad.

Morgans wrote: »
    Bullish.

Foolish!

5/1 is just too big for Magical, i'm mean there inst a huge amount between then , and i'm not sure Enable is as good as she was.

No race really stands out for me. The Oaks race looks like Enables to lose, I have actually tossed a fiver on Lah Ti Dar at the prices, 16/1. I am not that confident.

1.55 Wejdan
    2.25 Total Clusterfúck , I have had a small ew bet on Top Buck at 100/1. Good luck finding a winner after that. All these horses haven't had their buttons pressed yet at all. National League for Richard Fahey looks overpriced.
    3.00 With one exception all the winners of this clusterfúck have been drawn tight on the inside or wide on the outside, if your in the middle draw it is not good on trends. I get that with the way the mile is on the track, you run the bend and then straight for the last 5 f's So you either make the running drawn low or if your wide, tuck-in for a late run. I like Petrus and History Writer.
    3.35 Lah Ti Dar
    4.15 Bella Vita - has good form behind Love So Deep, who I think has been the best 3yr old filly this season considering she was rated 61 in April.
    4.50 Crafty Madam and Lysbeth

Just checking the Ebor now for Saturday, it looks savage.