Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Up For The Match 2019

• 17-08-2019 8:45pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Just started on RTE One, seems Jacqui Hurley has taken Gráinne's place, the August final is still f*cking weird to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

So nice beating Tipp, they still make excuses years later :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Could never stand Jackie hurley, just not cut out for TV at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭golfball37

They got rid of the wrong presenter. Des is absolutely awful. Bring back Grainne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭blackwave

Des Cahill is a drip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭jluv

Thought the 3 boys were quite funny. Shane is great for a story..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Jacqui is miles better. Far more relaxed. Not just saying that as a Cork lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭spurshero

Absolute cringe stuff

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

This is weird

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

Poor so far. The humour isn't the best.

Need the older lads like Joe Hayes etc to get it going.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

That fan stuff never fails to make me wince :o

Elvis wasn't even funny in the 90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Una Healy is incredible looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,654 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Was it me or totally out of tune?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭deisedude

road_high wrote: »

Is it possible sing that sh1te in tune?

All county songs are terrible

Over trying to sing it 'uniquely'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Una lucky Tipp aren't playing Limerick.

Ahhhh.. its definitely All Ireland eve..just saw big Christy in the audience :p
    Love the bit with the kids..my sisters kids could care less about anything else from "santy" as long as they get their season ticket. They both play and live for it..

deisedude wrote: »
    Is it possible sing that sh1te in tune?

All county songs are terrible

I like that one...love the aul Offaly rover and Roads of Kildare too !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Watching the wonderful Billy Connolly on BBC2,sad that he has Parkinson's Disease,still a million times better than Up For The Match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Jacquis expression looks like there’s a whiff of a fart under her nose....

Tracey has aged. Herself and Brian McEvoy were the Posh and Becks of KK in the 90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

The fecking lipstick. My eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

I actually thought she sounded good...!

Now this is cringe..

That ex Tipp player is pissed surely?

Like that every year and every hour of the day on radio etc. That's his way.

That’s lady’s makeup is shocking, can barely make out her eyes.

Joe Hayes is on this every time Tipperary are in the final it seems

Tracey Millea's make up looked like it was put on with a trowel.

Maybe fan did it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,019 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

What did Una sing?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    What did Una sing?

Slievenamon

Fake tan and a blue dress are ideal Tipperary dress for the females.

That is very sad, but so nice. Rivals on the field, all the one off it.

She looks like Reese Witherspoon.

Eoin Larkin called her a lad, I'm dissapointed she didn't rear up on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,750 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

KNNNN.JPG

Did the Saw Doctors write this?

It really suits Khabib...

This is cringe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Really impressed with The 2 johnies in fact first time seeing them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭deisedude

cute geoge wrote: »

Check out their podcast. It's hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

From the opening with that awful 'Medley' by the kids from Kilkenny.

To the Una Healy song, to the 'Two Johnnies'... the music was shockingly bad.

And while Grainne seemed like she was doped up to the gills when she did the show (mainly cos she had no idea who was playing) Jacqui and Des were like a 1940s Husband and wife comedy duo.

What is the point of that show? It's so badly thought out... and it's the same faces over, and over, and over again.

And while Grainne seemed like she was doped up to the gills when she did the show (mainly cos she had no idea who was playing) Jacqui and Des were like a 1940s Husband and wife comedy duo.

What is the point of that show? It's so badly thought out... and it's the same faces over, and over, and over again.

It's typical RTE cheap filler 'entertainment'.

cute geoge wrote: »

While they wouldn't be my cup of tea, I bought tickets for my niece and nephew last xmas for one of their shows. (They do an under 15 and over 15 show) they were more excited by the 2 Johnnie's than the George Ezra tickets that their parents paid a fortune for! Although there was a bit of disappointment when they were announced for EP this year..

I enjoyed the opening 3 guys. And the kids part and the 2 Johnnys. The rest,,meh..standard Up for the Match..

Cmon Kilkenny!

Everything you said there is why its great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

UFTM is a tradition as old as the hills.
    Thought Jacqui was great, really natural.
    I always thought Grainne was too highbrow for it.
    Joe Hayes is a legend, a natural born comedian.
    Tipp 4 Liam.
    Skin some cats boys!

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,750 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Grainne has some diamond mine business or something, probably not worth her while coming back to RTE land for a 1 night gig, like asking Liam Gallagher to open a boozer in Finglas West.

http://gracediamonds.ie/

Grainne-Seoige-Jewellery.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

UFTM is a tradition as old as the hills.
    Thought Jacqui was great, really natural.
    I always thought Grainne was too highbrow for it.
    Joe Hayes is a legend, a natural born comedian.
    Tipp 4 Liam.
    Skin some cats boys!

It's hardly old as the hills-it's early 2000s... when RTE had money to throw around at everything.
    And Mary Kennedy presented it... and she often went 'full Gaeilige' for the entire hour or so of the show.
    Naturally they brought in Des Cahill because...well, Mary was rather sh**e... and then she got fired and replaced with Grainne.
    It was cringe from day one-like something you'd see from those 'the earliest RTE TV programs' from the 60s or 70s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

The musical choices used were horrendous. Una Healy can't sing to save her life.