Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bought dangerous car from dealer, any comeback?

• 16-08-2019 5:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭

I all, I bought a 2008 reg Mazda from a used car dealer about 5 weeks ago. The dealer told me that due to the age of the car, there would be no warranty. Assured me the car was fine, and it had a new NCT too.

This evening on the was home from work there was a bang, the car pulled to the side, and felt unstable. Nursed it the few miles to home without too much trouble.

Had a look under the back and it's in shocking condition. It was dirty underneath when I bought it so I hadn't noticed the bad condition of the read axles and subframe.

I know it's buyer beware when it comes to a private sale, but do I have any comeback from the dealer for selling a clearly dangerous car? He is a full time car dealer, premises, website, the lot.

Here are some pics of the rear axles and frame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Kencollins

Kencollins wrote: »
    I all, I bought a 2008 reg Mazda from a used car dealer about 5 weeks ago. The dealer told me that due to the age of the car, there would be no warranty. Assured me the car was fine, and it had a new NCT too.

This evening on the was home from work there was a bang, the car pulled to the side, and felt unstable. Nursed it the few miles to home without too much trouble.

Had a look under the back and it's in shocking condition. It was dirty underneath when I bought it so I hadn't noticed the bad condition of the read axles and subframe.

I know it's buyer beware when it comes to a private sale, but do I have any comeback from the dealer for selling a clearly dangerous car? He is a full time car dealer, premises, website, the lot.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/Qfk1NqBTtYWYLX3s9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭1hnr79jr65

Caveat Emptor only applies to private sales, if this charlatan is a registered business then my first port of call would be to demand refund in writing, followed swiftly by trip to solicitor for selling a defective, dangerous vehicle which could cause injury or death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

What caused the bang and whats dangerous about it? Can't blame a dealer for not giving a warranty, pretty normal to have corrosion on an 11 year old. People tend to forgot cars are machines, they break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

How did that get passed on an NCT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

Is it a real NCT or one of the fakes ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭1hnr79jr65

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »

Excellent point, there no way that would pass nct, how recent was nct, can you contact the approving center for copy of results and confirmation it actually attended and passed.

If fake nct i would be calling Guards too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Tippex

I would definitely be questioning the NCT on this one. check and make sure the NCT is legit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

Yeah first thing Monday get on to them, that's terrible.
    Obviously don't name dealer here.
    I had an 06 car up to last year and an 04 car up to 2015 and they weren't in that condition underneath so it's not normal

You can go on to the ncts website right now, enter your Reg and see when next NCT is due. This will show if NCT disc is legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

What did your mechanic say when they saw the car? Buying a car you should always get a mechanic, or someone experienced in cars, to check it over before you buy. Stops all this hassle and eventually it will get rid of the cowboys selling dodgy cars like this.

Problem that you could run into is that someone selling vehicles in that condition know how difficult it is to get satisfaction.

You can go on to the ncts website right now, enter your Reg and see when next NCT is due. This will show if NCT disc is legit.

Thanks for all the replies! The dealer said the NCT was done the start of June and backdated. The NCT website shows valid until April 2020. How in god's name did that kind of rust get past the tester?

I will call to the dealer on Monday morning and show him the photos. I'm not driving the car as it's not roadworthy. It's actually been 8 weeks since I bought it from him. Is it still reasonable to ask for a refund?

Del2005 wrote: »
    What did your mechanic say when they saw the car? Buying a car you should always get a mechanic, or someone experienced in cars, to check it over before you buy. Stops all this hassle and eventually it will get rid of the cowboys selling dodgy cars like this.

Problem that you could run into is that someone selling vehicles in that condition know how difficult it is to get satisfaction.

Thanks for the reply. Stupidity I didn't bring a mechanic. My car had broken down and I was stuck for a car. Either way, I intend to fight this. I'm fairly sure the car wasn't fit for purpose under the sale of goods act, and also classed as dangerous under the sale of a motor vehicle part of the sale of goods act. I have no problems getting a solicitor, and following through to the circuit court of needs be. This dealer put my family at risk, I will not be letting it go to a lesson learnt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

That wouldn't pass an nct. Look one of the suspension arms has now completely come away from the bush/joint... The definition of a death trap.
    Nct is fake or if real, money changed hands.

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »

"I'll get a new NCT on that before you take it" is such a common phrase uttered in the second-hand car market. But, how are the dealers so confident of getting an NCT on it?

The NCT means nothing beyond being lawful anyway...

- My car of 2 years and 30k of reliable driving had its NCT in May. It passed the test, then 3 weeks later wrote itself off with an electrical fire under the bonnet which wrecked the engine. Flames, fire brigade, guards, the works. According to both a fireman and a mechanic who gave it a post mortem, I was very lucky it didn't go up while I was still in it. I thought the NCT was supposed to make sure cars like this weren't on the road?

- Then the car I bought to replace that was from a part-time dealer in South Dublin. "I just got it NCTed last week" he told me, and fair enough there was a new NCT on it. I drove it home about 80kms and took it to my own mechanic who told me a head gasket was about to blow in it. I am now trapped in deliberations with the original seller and it is potentially a very messy situation. These ****s know exactly what they're at and what they can get away with.

I'll be watching this thread to see what advice you get OP, it might help me too. However, not that I ever thought the NCT was a clean bill of health for a car, but I really found out just how worthless it was in these last few months.

mickdw wrote: »
    That wouldn't pass an nct. Look one of the suspension arms has now completely come away from the bush/joint... The definition of a death trap.
    Nct is fake or if real, money changed hands.

Somehow it did. I wonder would it be worth getting an independent report done and making a complaint to the NCT head office. If money is changing hands they need to deal with it.

Have you checked online 're the nct to be sure it's real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

Would it be beyond the realms of possibility that an unscrupulous dealer would put parts on a car from another for nct then revert back to the defective parts just to get a sale?
    So the car that passed nct doesn't necessarily have the same parts as when you buy it...

Not saying that happened here and seems more effort than its worth but I know there was the whole welding 2 cars together craic back in the day, although I'm sure that was rare enough too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Mazdas are notorious for having poor rust protection. Also is it a UK import? Some of them can be very bad for rust due to the amount of salt they throw on their roads in winter especially if the car was originally owned in the north of England or Scotland.

I have, it's real. Or as real as paying for it makes it!

Check the chassis and engine numbers then on the car to be sure that you have the actual car that went thought the test and not a stolen one or a cheap UK import with the plates swapped over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Mike9832

I'd be posting this on the Facebook page of NCT if they don't take this seriously

Does the dealer have a Facebook page?

I'd be tagging them too lol 😂

Definitely money changed hands

Thats a rust bucket

Mike9832 wrote: »
    I'd be posting this on the Facebook page of NCT if they don't take this seriously

Does the dealer have a Facebook page?

I'd be tagging them too lol 😂

Definitely money changed hands

Thats a rust bucket

They will be getting a registered letter with a copy of the test report and photos of the underside. I look forward to their explanation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Mike9832

They will be getting a registered letter with a copy of the test report and photos of the underside. I look forward to their explanation!

Me too

Keep us updated :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Where did the dirt go from underneath it in between buying it and now, that you can see the rust?
    I had an 06 car up to last year and an 04 car up to 2015 and they weren't in that condition underneath so it's not normal

Unfortunately, as already said, for a Mazda of this era, this level of rust isn't in any way unusual particularly if it's a UK import.

I feel for you OP, It's always very hard to picture a happy ending though as the sort of fellas who sell sheds like these don't do after sales care. The NCT almost certainly wont do anything of any use to you.

How much was the car?

Where did the dirt go from underneath it in between buying it and now, that you can see the rust?

Unfortunately, as already said, for a Mazda of this era, this level of rust isn't in any way unusual particularly if it's a UK import.

I feel for you OP, It's always very hard to picture a happy ending though as the sort of fellas who sell sheds like these don't do after sales care. The NCT almost certainly wont do anything of any use to you.

How much was the car?

The car was 2500 euro. The thing is, it's not a shed garage, the dealer has 3 premises. The dealer agreed to meet me on Tuesday, hopefully that will be the end of it.

Cross-checked the NCT with milage and frame number, it's the same car. No defects noted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Ive just looked at the pics and theres no way that would pass the nct.
    Clearly the dealer puts alot of cars through nct and pays the lads there for favours. And yea, its well known that it goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

italodisco wrote: »
    Ive just looked at the pics and theres no way that would pass the nct.
    Clearly the dealer puts alot of cars through nct and pays the lads there for favours. And yea, its well known that it goes on.

Will be interesting the response from NCT, someone has to lose their job over this, clearly on the take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,580 ✭✭✭greasepalm

If the suspension was like that how is the sump pan intact which also corrodes away and rusts.It does look like a uk import with all that rust,so what else was missed in the test i wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭Cerco

"

The NCT means nothing beyond being lawful anyway...

- My car of 2 years and 30k of reliable driving had its NCT in May. It passed the test, then 3 weeks later wrote itself off with an electrical fire under the bonnet which wrecked the engine. Flames, fire brigade, guards, the works. According to both a fireman and a mechanic who gave it a post mortem, I was very lucky it didn't go up while I was still in it. I thought the NCT was supposed to make sure cars like this weren't on the road?

- Then the car I bought to replace that was from a part-time dealer in South Dublin. "I just got it NCTed last week" he told me, and fair enough there was a new NCT on it. I drove it home about 80kms and took it to my own mechanic who told me a head gasket was about to blow in it. I am now trapped in deliberations with the original seller and it is potentially a very messy situation. These ****s know exactly what they're at and what they can get away with.

The NCT is often misrepresented by dealers. It is not a guarantee of the reliability of the vehicle. Don’t expect them to forecast future problems e.g. head gasket failure. The will rev the engine as part of emissions test - if it meets their criteria it will pass.
    Read the test procedure for more information. Don’t rely on NCT when buying, get a mechanic/ motor engineer to give it the once over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Dia_Anseo

How much was the car?

Jaysus that's some "tough **** we got your money" comment.

I remember any motor related customer complaint issue you always have a negative outlook for the consumer. Other example was about a Fluence that was bodged with filler and you said No point in pursuing as all cars have a bitta filler. Turns out the garage took car back and properly repaired it.

That rust is not common at all....that car looks like it lived in the sea for a year!

OP get a report on the car asap highlighting the under body corrosion.
    You could use the small claims court for 25 euro it's cheap and effective. Only thing is max claim is 2k. If happy with 2k compensation go this route otherwise it'll be expensive solicitors that may not be effective.

Also send report to NCT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Dia_Anseo

Did you do a Motorcheck on the car prior to purchase?

There's a good chance that your Mazda 6 was an insurance write off due possibly to Flood damage.

If this wasn't told to you or included in the advert this is another breach by the dealer. This will further enhance your case.

Do you have the UK reg number? It should be on your logbook.
    If you do I can check for you and let you know.

PM me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,767 ✭✭✭jmreire

It's a bit ironic, but when they are being NCT'd, and on the test bench, part of the test involves shaking the car suspension's vigorously ( in some case's the actual test causes a suspension part to fail ) so while it drove off the bench, and back to the dealership OK, the drive home after the purchase was the straw that broke the camel's back ( or in this case, the rear axle trailer arm...) This car should not even have been allowed to leave the test center, it's that dangerous. I know that a lot of the test is computerized, and these result's would be hard if not impossible to falsify, but visual inspection is another matter. And if the rear is like that, I wonder what the front was like???? On second thought's.....maybe better off not knowing.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Mintoe

First thing is always go back to the dealer and give them opportunity to look after you, the consumer...then.if they’re not willing to operate within the laws that protect consumers. The CCPC would love to hear from you

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Looking for a new motor myself and came across a dealer who had a few nice looking options. He also had a number of cars over the last few months with super fresh NCTs, with a copy of the cert page as a sales promo. What caught my eye was the fact that in 4 of the 5 tests, it had the same tester initials. What are the chances of getting the same person so often? Very likely if you are paying extra.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

The lack of any warranty should have been a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Dia_Anseo wrote: »

There's a good chance that your Mazda 6 was an insurance write off due possibly to Flood damage.

If this wasn't told to you or included in the advert this is another breach by the dealer. This will further enhance your case.

First one to spot it!

I was about who say the last owner must have been a u-boat commander as that car has been in the water.

Jaysus that's some "tough **** we got your money" comment.

I remember any motor related customer complaint issue you always have a negative outlook for the consumer. Other example was about a Fluence that was bodged with filler and you said No point in pursuing as all cars have a bitta filler. Turns out the garage took car back and properly repaired it.

That rust is not common at all....that car looks like it lived in the sea for a year!

OP get a report on the car asap highlighting the under body corrosion.
    You could use the small claims court for 25 euro it's cheap and effective. Only thing is max claim is 2k. If happy with 2k compensation go this route otherwise it'll be expensive solicitors that may not be effective.

Also send report to NCT.

That degree of rust is certainly excessive compared to most modern cars, that's true, you wouldn't expect to find a 10 year old car literally falling apart from rust, the same way you would have 2 decades ago, but it is actually not unusual at all on a mid noughties Mazda, they are well known for having very poor rust protection, look under any of them and they're by and large all very crispy like this one unless it's a very low mileage example.

It may be a negative view, but its realistic. Do you think the sort of bandit dealer who sells a car in this condition with what is clearly a "mated rates" NCT and blatantly says the car comes with no warranty or comeback, despite that being in contravention of consumer rights is going to just take the car back and refund the OP? Because that's naive. You're dealing with a rogue, he's not going to be embarrassed and apologetic.

Do you really think the NCT will act on this? They are closed society, they are going to look after their own here. They are probably going to review the OP's correspondence, they may act on it internally, but they arent going to call the OP back and tell him they sacked the fella that tested it and even if they did, what use is that to the OP?

You have to live in a real world not a candy land. Maybe OP will be lucky, maybe the seller will take the car back, but the facts before us look like he's been duped, and the sort of people who do that dont do customer service or refunds. I do feel bad for them, genuinely, but what do you think will happen here?

Iirc with that Fluence it was bought as a pretty new car and bought from a Renault dealer so not really similar to this. We also never found out what the "proper" repair was and it was damage to the rear quarter panel, so I'd imagine it was just filled again and painted with better finish so it was less obvious. Is there anything actually wrong with a filler repair anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Mintoe wrote: »
    First thing is always go back to the dealer and give them opportunity to look after you, the consumer...then.if they’re not willing to operate within the laws that protect consumers. The CCPC would love to hear from you

Not a hope , I'd be going straight to the nct and whomever issues the contract, dept of transport is it it or the RSA?

Some center here needs a serious review. Same thing happened a few years as ago and there was job losses.

This is very serious. And potential life's at risk.

Did you do a Motorcheck on the car prior to purchase?

Do you have the UK reg number? It should be on your logbook.
    If you do I can check for you and let you know.

PM me

Where on earth are you getting that from? Flood damage? Because it's rusty? Did you know that every car gets wet under there every time it's used in the rain? Its Mazdas lack or rust protection that caused this, just google Mazda 6 rust issues, it's no secret that they decompose like this. They are inherently flawed.

Let's at least try and keep OP on the straight and narrow with the facts, so they can try and make headway and not be giving them dead end leads like this.

Best case scenario here is to get the suspension arms replaced, if the rest of the structure can still support them, that is, treat the underneath of the car in a rust treatment and hope to get another year or two from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

What will most likely happen Toyotafanboi is that the dealer who according to the OP has 3 dealerships will probably take it back if the OP kicks up enough of a fuss.

Given the dealer "assured the OP that the car was fine, and it had a new NCT too" there are now far more questions that nobody will want answered ever. There is no way in hell that would pass an NCT. THE NCT process was to keep cars like this off the road. Mazda had rust problems in the early noughties with rusting in wheel wells and it wasn't that permateted.

That car looks like it was parked in an underground garage that flooded or was in the drink.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

PsychoPete wrote: »
    What caused the bang and whats dangerous about it? Can't blame a dealer for not giving a warranty, pretty normal to have corrosion on an 11 year old. People tend to forgot cars are machines, they break

They have to give a warranty. I've always had one on any car I bought.

Looking at the photos, it doesn't seem like something that would be a shock to the dealer. By the sound of the op, they've pretty much told you not to expect to get much from it. What did they saw exactly, any indication it wasnt road worthy? Becuase it certainly isnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Nissan Navara has very bad corrosion issues also where the chassis actually snaps in half.....

Something very similar to the Mazda rust issue....

Definitely get NCT involved and get straight back to dealer. I would cause a huge fuss at dealership and park it in such a manner that it's in the way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Not all real NCTs are what they seem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I went to my local skoda dealer about year and half and I was looking to buy a roomster, 2008 as it happens ... he said it was a courtesy car and he wanted to just sell it cheap to " get it off the court" I asked about warranty and he said no warranty......he then kind of stopped and you could see the cogs going around , he then said " well we as a trader we cant sell without a warranty. 3 months or a certain amount of miles ...

Actually same happened last October...I was at VW and looked at a 2006 passat and he did something similar, he said 3 months or 1000/ 2000 km I forget

delly wrote: »
    Looking for a new motor myself and came across a dealer who had a few nice looking options. He also had a number of cars over the last few months with super fresh NCTs, with a copy of the cert page as a sales promo. What caught my eye was the fact that in 4 of the 5 tests, it had the same tester initials. What are the chances of getting the same person so often? Very likely if you are paying extra.

Out of the many visits to the nct with my own private cars recently i noticed i was getting the same tester to look at my model maybe 4 out of 5 possibly because he might know more about them and had worked on them before?
    Maybe some testers do their types like vw,peugeot,toyota etc so know their downfalls but can test all cars in a test centre.

Not all real NCTs are what they seem!

RTE exposed that a few years ago in a documentary. I'd be sceptical of an NCT test since I seen it.

Always have a mechanic with me now when buying a car, or else get a warranty.

Kind of similar situation happened me.
    Mazda also. Would never get one again.
    But bought from a dealer in November one year. Was gone in January. I rang the consumer rights place, you have a few choices..
    Is the dealer SIMI registered? Then go the SIMI route.
    If not then you still have rights. Small claims court I think you can lodge a claim online- up to 2k I believe.
    Whether you got warranty or not your protected by the sale of goods act.
    Did you contact the dealer to give him a chance to carry out the Repairs? Replace car? If you did and he refused then next step is the consumer rights agency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,767 ✭✭✭jmreire

greasepalm wrote: »
    Out of the many visits to the nct with my own private cars recently i noticed i was getting the same tester to look at my model maybe 4 out of 5 possibly because he might know more about them and had worked on them before?
    Maybe some testers do their types like vw,peugeot,toyota etc so know their downfalls but can test all cars in a test centre.
    Should not make any difference really...the Computer is plugged into the car on the test bench, and this identifys the type make etc, and it's a standard nr of items tested, Brakes, Suspensions,Steering, Emission's etc. It doe's not examine every nut and bolt on the vehicle, Rust etc. is by visible examination.

jmreire wrote: »
    Should not make any difference really...the Computer is plugged into the car on the test bench, and this identifys the type make etc, and it's a standard nr of items tested, Brakes, Suspensions,Steering, Emission's etc. It doe's not examine every nut and bolt on the vehicle, Rust etc. is by visible examination.

I am well aware as working on cars for the last 40 years and good light and vision needed when up on a ramp you see more than you want to see when customer leaves car in for service and anything else needed to pass nct.
    Sometimes the cost of repairs exceed the price of a bought car if you have to factor in service,tyres,ohh tb needs changing,and severe rusting as seen on a car that came over uk on a holiday with leaking petrol.When up on ramp all the underside was caked in rust and the topping off was the severe rusting on all metal brake pipes.We showed it to him and said that car should not be on the road:eek: