Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tullamore show

• 10-08-2019 3:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭

Is anyone going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

whelan2 wrote: »
    Is anyone going?

Weather dependent but yes if we can. The 1yo just got a pair of wellies to do a bit of splashing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

If the weather is decent I’ll go for a look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Is anyone going?

Away for the weekend but would have gone other than that (only 25 minutes away)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Not sure yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,044 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I hear a Brazilian beef company will be giving away samples to the public tomorrow at the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Hope to go anyway
    No protest by BP anyway, a neighbour tells me they've been told not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I was hoping to go weather dependent.
    What way is the ground holding up up there? I presume blueball site again?

The fields and roads are swimming around here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭toleratethis

Was going to, staying home instead. They hadn't the stones to put the wind up Creed so no money from me for them this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Muckit wrote: »
    I was hoping to go weather dependent.
    What way is the ground holding up up there? I presume blueball site again?

The fields and roads are swimming around here.

The site is free draining, lot of gravel underneath it. Up until this evening ground conditions are good in my bit of N Offaly anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

? I presume blueball site again?

Ah no it won't be that cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭older by the day

I won't be going. It sickens me to see people clapping and back slapping and shaking hands with the FG TDS around the field. And probably Healy holding their tools for them. But I suppose the turf munchers above in offaly still invites them back after the lay offs lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

I won't be going. It sickens me to see people clapping and back slapping and shaking hands with the FG TDS around the field. And probably Healy holding their tools for them. But I suppose the turf munchers above in offaly still invites them back after the lay offs lately.

Pathetic, it’s an agricultural show and it’s about more then that.

Here atm. Parks are ok but I'd say in a while they might be dodgy

Reggie. wrote: »

Will bring the Hilux so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭valtra2

Is it a boots or wellies or shoes

Hang sanagisis are made. Have them on arrival. Quick scout around and home before close.

I've no 4wd in me car!! A small poor farmer is me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I've no 4wd in me car!! A small poor farmer is me

Reggie will pull ya out with the landini. Could make a fortune. Charge 20 euro to pull each car out....

Wellies would be a help. Vert small crowd here atm

Reggie will pull ya out with the landini. Could make a fortune. Charge 20 euro to pull each car out....

Ya hardly expect me to dirty it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Ya hardly expect me to dirty it

Couldn’t be bringing it out on a wet day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭valtra2

Who will pull out the landini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

valtra2 wrote: »
    Who will pull out the landini

Would the Valtra manage it ? :)

En route. Left the cheque book at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

many ppl there

Here. I’d say it’s back a bit. Decided to try an “Irish dexter burger. Pure ****e-more onion and ketchup than burger. Two bites and bin which is unusual for me.

Beautiful Irish moiled heifer here- could be my herd of future when I win lotto.

Small lady moaney complaining of being tired and small lad dying to get going- we’d want a lease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Myself and OH intended to go but we were out late last night on a rescue mission. OH got a call at 11ish from a friend asking for our help. Two of his connemara mares (and a foal) had broken out and ended up to their necks in a boghole in a disused bog. Thankfully another five hardy bucks arrived to help and between us pulling and hauling we eventually got them out. I came back home and put the larger ifor williams cattle trailer behind the jeep and we moved them to another outfarm that he owns. Got to bed just after 5am and didn't wake until 11ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Base price wrote: »
    Myself and OH intended to go but we were out late last night on a rescue mission. OH got a call at 11ish from a friend asking for our help. Two of his connemara mares (and a foal) had broken out and ended up to their necks in a boghole in a disused bog. Thankfully another five hardy bucks arrived to help and between us pulling and hauling we eventually got them out. I came back home and put the larger ifor williams cattle trailer behind the jeep and we moved them to another outfarm that he owns. Got to bed just after 5am and didn't wake until 11ish.

That kind of story eptimises the farming culture- would be a shame to lose it.

Hope the talks go well......

Just in- usual ding dong. Great place to get in and out of. 1yo jumped out of his skin when a cock starting crowing. He spend an hour after trying to do the same.

Ya a savage show. Very easy get in and out of. Traffic management is second to none, even better than ploughing Imo.

Place was very busy but easy get around. I kept the rain jacket and boots in the car..... and the kids and herself at home.... little wonder m enjoyed the day. Tee shirt, runners and sunglasses were the order of the day.

I ate my own weight in food... and none from burger Vans. Brought home Keoghs crisps for herself..... 3karge bags for a fiver.. .bargain.

Better it's getting.

Well done to all involved .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

It costs a fortune and massive effort to put on a show like that, and not much thanks.

Fair play to all the people that put time and effort in.

I stayed away from a lot of the stuff ld usually go to. Didn't look at ANY of the livestock.

Got the best craic from looking at the dog obstacle trials. Unbelievable what some of the dogs could do and some very senior owners running around after them!

Also went into some tents l'd never ventured before. Again got a chuckle from ear wigging on 3 lads slumped over the railing of.... the cut flower exhibitions!! And they nearly coming to blows over why they thought the winners deserved/didn't deserve their awarded rosettes!

God the smell off the bundle of hay that won 1st prize was unreal and the deserved winner IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Ya you'd overhear some jems at those ag shows.

One lad I heard saying "this yoke there at in England won't help either"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Great show as always. Haven’t been to the Ploughing in a good few years now and don’t miss it, Tullamore is just grand.

Learned that the McHale Orbital is 25k including VAT. Saucy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Was taking part in the farm skills final. We think it’s the first time the club ever made the finals.
    Trying to drive six inch strainer posts by hand in the Blueball gravel would have you fairly sweating!
    Didn’t get to see much of the show unfortunately.

Was taking part in the farm skills final. We think it’s the first time the club ever made the finals.
    Trying to drive six inch strainer posts by hand in the Blueball gravel would have you fairly sweating!

Didn't get to see that demo. Were ye digging out the holes first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

Decided this morning to chance going. Landed at 9.30 and left at 3.30pm. The weather stayed fine, although it was cool enough in the am. Spent most of the day at the stock judging.

I went with a few friends. Really enjoyed the day. No issue with traffic in or ou. A very well ran show

Yea, a great day out met loads of people,
    I met a friend too whose sons have invented a method of walking an electric fence up along a field, he can vary the speed if the cows are n't grazing out properly, cows can't walk on the grass they're grazing, he was very excited about the interest in it

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/fresh-graze-invention-showcased-at-bt-young-scientist-exhibition/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Didn't get to see that demo. Were ye digging out the holes first?

Pfft! Crow bar and a 35kg post driver!
    2 teams had augers but they are no used when you hit stone and you will hit stone on that site.

wrangler wrote: »
    I met a friend too whose sons have invented a method of walking an electric fence up along a field, he can vary the speed if the cows are n't grazing out properly, cows can't walk on the grass they're grazing, he was very excited about the interest in it

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/fresh-graze-invention-showcased-at-bt-young-scientist-exhibition/

Excellent idea. That has great potential. Be surprised if some fencing company aren't trying to buy the idea

That lad is going places. That is a great invention. Fair play to him. You could bring the cattle to one end of a field if they were bold and not willing to leave.

I really liked this idea too and great potential l thought. Electric actuator to move lift arms in and out. Easy to retro fit, but again be an easy idea to incorporate into new tractor design.

Lives very close to me that man

He used to be IFA Co Secretary, so I know him well.
    Did you ever see it workin out in the fields, really good to see the line of cattle walking up the field on a video he had on the phone. Very clever guy

He used to be IFA Co Secretary, so I know him well.
    Did you ever see it workin out in the fields, really good to see the line of cattle walking up the field on a video he had on the phone. Very clever guy

No. I think that new road is close to him

I really liked this idea too and great potential l thought. Electric actuator to move lift arms in and out. Easy to retro fit, but again be an easy idea to incorporate into new tractor design.

Brilliant

Brilliant

I seen judge giving him a medal (gold I'm almost certain), so l presume he won his category at least.

A dear little yoke, the actuator alone costs €300 so whatever it costs to fit it up then, he's local here too from moate, Ithink he works in an engineering works and the home farm, his father is a really good farmer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Would have been nice to bring this lady home.