Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE coverage

• 31-07-2019 6:20pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭

It is atrocious

Not showing betting before some races.
    Jane mangan is fcuking awful and for Ted give her a smack up the arse Walsh it is an embarrassment.

Robert hall is just as bad.

Truly awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

I much prefer it to the embarrassing coverage on ITV - Luke Harvey, Jason bloody Weaver? Dear god. Granted, Ted Walsh is a clown but I like Robert Hall and Tom Lee is excellent. The less said about Gleeson the better but overall I like RTÉ.

Racing TV and ITV are both shockingly bad, so much so that I have basically stopped watching Irish Racing over the last 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Some of the best terrestrial tv about. Jane Mangan knows her onions and the lads talk a lot more sense than the like of persad and Chapman(who can be decent) but only fleetingly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

I’d sooner Matt Chapman over any on Rte. it’s dated and the content is ****e. That back to the feature slot is cringeworthy with the out dated graphics.

What is unforgivable is. It showing the betting for at least two of the races. Tracey piggot has no place what so ever there.

Sally Anne looks too awkward interviewing jockeys.

Jane mangan is utterly dreadful.

Ted Walsh is from the dark ages.

Ruby is up his own hole.

Only one who was decent on screen tonight was JP and his grand kids

Give me ITV, sky racing or if we could please have back channel 4 please.

Thank fcuk Richard hoiles is still involved in racing

Some of the best terrestrial tv about. Jane Mangan knows her onions and the lads talk a lot more sense than the like of persad and Chapman(who can be decent) but only fleetingly.

Jane mangan knows fcuk all. If it’s about bloodstock then fair enough, but besides that she has nothing to offer on tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

I’d sooner Matt Chapman over any on Rte. it’s dated and the content is ****e. That back to the feature slot is cringeworthy with the out dated graphics.

What is unforgivable is. It showing the betting for at least two of the races. Tracey piggot has no place what so ever there.

Sally Anne looks too awkward interviewing jockeys.

Jane mangan is utterly dreadful.

Ted Walsh is from the dark ages.

Ruby is up his own hole.

Only one who was decent on screen tonight was JP and his grand kids

Give me ITV, sky racing or if we could please have back channel 4 please.

Thank fcuk Richard hoiles is still involved in racing
    It really seems like you sitting on the fence on this one, holding back a bit. Can you not tell us what you really think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I reckon RTE is more interested in tabloid style exposes. It will get more viewing figures than doing genuine coverage of actual racing ...

gozunda wrote: »
    I reckon RTE is more interested in tabloid style exposes. It will get more viewing figures than doing genuine coverage of actual racing ...

It's terrestrial tv of course it's going to be aimed more at a general audience. Look at itv for **** sake it's aimed at a combination of love island fans, 8 year olds and at the back end a racing fan or 2.
    Think Ruby's been brilliant this week and I have never been a fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Blinkers_off

It's terrestrial tv of course it's going to be aimed more at a general audience. Look at itv for **** sake it's aimed at a combination of love island fans, 8 year olds and at the back end a racing fan or 2.
    Think Ruby's been brilliant this week and I have never been a fan.

Ruby says it how it is no sugar coating, absolutely slaughtered the jockeys in the race buildmeupbuttercup won and rightly so while on atr itv and racing TV the jockeys never at fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

What genius of a producer came up with the maudlin piano chords mood music they're using recently for the slow motion close ups as runners go to post?

A funeral dirge would be more upbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Robert Hall is a pleasure to listen to. Jane Mangan really knows her stuff. I'd rather it to the painful lads on itv. How I miss Alastair Down and timeform Jim McGrath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭KAMG

I think RTE's racing coverage is very good. Robert Hall is an excellent lead anchor. Ted is mad but funny. And I think Jane and Sally Ann are a breath of fresh air. Don't know much about their backgrounds, but they seem very knowledgeable.

KAMG wrote: »
    I think RTE's racing coverage is very good. Robert Hall is an excellent lead anchor. Ted is mad but funny. And I think Jane and Sally Ann are a breath of fresh air. Don't know much about their backgrounds, but they seem very knowledgeable.

The two ladies are horsey people,

Jane was a jockey and father in to breeding i believe, sally ann is the daughter of a trainer

Ted is useless, that is my opinion on him.

He strikes me as a seedy old man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭PhuckHugh22

I was flicking between RTV and RTE last night and i must say i enjoyed the RTE coverage more myself.

Not a big fan of Ted so would take or leave him but overall i thought RTE was more light and easy to watch.
    In saying that i wasnt that interested in the analysis on the average twig hoppers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭show me the money.1

KAMG wrote: »

Jane's father Jimmy trained a grand national winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    What genius of a producer came up with the maudlin piano chords mood music they're using recently for the slow motion close ups as runners go to post?

A funeral dirge would be more upbeat.
    That stuff, music and slow motion, is not much use. And focusing in on a few horses and not knowing what is going on in the rest of the race is another waste.
    I would prefer to see a race replay speeded up so I could see how horses moved about through the race. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Ted is useless, that is my opinion on him.

Agreed, doesn't belong on TV

Can't stand gleeson, makes my skin crawl
    hall is good
    I like Ruby, at least says what he sees a lot of the time

Still, no matter how bad some of these are they will never be in the same league as Willie Carson

Between itv and atr/rte there are some amount of pundits/ex jockeys who shouldn't be let on TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

I don’t quite get the dislike of Jane Mangan.

She is knowledgeable, articulate and very informed.

I have started listening to the ff podcast again. The other “wan” on it was constantly playing the sex card, with it’s innuendo. ****ing hilarious in this #me too age, oh ,I don’t like the sexualization of the world yet willing to ramp it up for my own commercial gain. Sorry but f u.

Anyway fair play Jane. 1000% improvement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭irish_major

Katie was very tough to listen to yesterday I thought.

Calling tony martin 'Harvey' for the whole show was the most annoying **** I've ever seen on TV. How is that engaging your audience even slightly, most horse racing folk wouldn't have known that was his nickname, no mind the person who's just watching it because it's on TV. There was plenty more that annoyed me but that one I found to be particularly poor.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I think the coverage is fine. Sure they are all on a Busman's holiday anyways. it was great to see Pat Smullen on yesterday.

Whoever is editing the races doesn't know a lot about the game. There were two incidents in the chase on Wednesday that didn't make the post race analysis, poor enough.

I think Katie Walsh is nervous, she is also battling a stammer which cannot be easy. She is a good presenter though and knows her stuff. Jane Mangan is great and my favourite is Sally Ann.

If I was to have one criticism it would be the post race analysis. They did do well yesterday on the Chosen Mate footage, but they should be on top of this every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Jane Morgan , is a class act , and so is Sally Anne. Streets ahead of other stations.

More Jane less of nearly everyone else.

Have to say I think Ruby is good on TV.:eek:

I like Robert Hall and Sally Ann Grassick. A few of the others try to sensationalise things, and that doesn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

It has to be taken into account how few days of racing RTE actually covers. With Galway ( 5/7 days ) and Punchestown ( 5 days ) taking almost half of the yearly total of 25-27 days of racing broadcast by RTE.

It's hard to build a competent presenting team around that small program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭KAMG

tryfix wrote: »
    It has to be taken into account how few days of racing RTE actually covers. With Galway ( 5/7 days ) and Punchestown ( 5 days ) taking almost half of the yearly total of 25-27 days of racing broadcast by RTE.

It's hard to build a competent presenting team around that small program.

They have plenty of race days on RTE in fairness. All the 5 classics. Leopeordstown at Christmas and in January. Fairyhouse. Champion Stakes day etc etc. All the major races are shown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Kid Charlemagne

Gas reading some Richard Hoiles fan bemoan the lack of talent :pac:

See Tracy Piggott is devastated

https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/im-devastated-rte-doesnt-want-me-back-and-wish-id-had-more-warning-piggott-38912599.html

Do not know how she got away with it for so long. Every race, be it Derby or maiden hurdle, its the same script with the connections after - Wow, just wow! What a race, what a horse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

BumperD wrote: »
    I don’t quite get the dislike of Jane Mangan.

She is knowledgeable, articulate and very informed.

I have started listening to the ff podcast again. The other “wan” on it was constantly playing the sex card, with it’s innuendo. ****ing hilarious in this #me too age, oh ,I don’t like the sexualization of the world yet willing to ramp it up for my own commercial gain. Sorry but f u.

Anyway fair play Jane. 1000% improvement

Who was this about?!?! :D
    Vanessa Ryle?

FWIW I agree re Jane Mangan
    Excellent analyst

Who was this about?!?! :D
    Vanessa Ryle?

FWIW I agree re Jane Mangan
    Excellent analyst

Ryle , she has stopped that crap so has the podcast this last year they toned it down it was really annoying

I am a big fan of the FF but one thing drives me cracked is EK fake laughing at everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I really like Jane Mangan. Extremely knowledgeable lady. The old crew of Walsh, Hall, and Piggott weren’t bad by any means, and there’s a certain nostalgia there, but I’d see Mangan as a fine replacement.

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    See Tracy Piggott is devastated

https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/im-devastated-rte-doesnt-want-me-back-and-wish-id-had-more-warning-piggott-38912599.html

Do not know how she got away with it for so long. Every race, be it Derby or maiden hurdle, its the same script with the connections after - Wow, just wow! What a race, what a horse!

To be fair to Tracey I always liked her. She has a nice personality and compare her to that Grassick one, someone void of any personality and knowledge, there’s no comparison for me. I’ll miss her anyway, I grew up with her on RTE. RTE racing has become soulless since they’ve brought on the Walsh clan.

Yeah I feel sorry for Tracy too I guess C4 did the same dumping the old crew never nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Motivator wrote: »
    To be fair to Tracey I always liked her. She has a nice personality and compare her to that Grassick one, someone void of any personality and knowledge, there’s no comparison for me. I’ll miss her anyway, I grew up with her on RTE. RTE racing has become soulless since they’ve brought on the Walsh clan.

Agree re Grassick. Who's she riding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Tracy Piggott had no knowledge and barely any preparation. It was cringy watching her for the last ten years. She was tolerated by connections as she seems to be a decent skin but anyone who was doing anything to try to be decent at the job would have been an improvement. She always seemed to be decent and I'm sorry that she was shocked. I hope she picks up something soon. She was useless for years and Sally Ann is a huge improvement. (Head of sport does seem to be keen to get rid of the old folks across the board)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,008 ✭✭✭kksaints

Morgans wrote: »
    Tracy Piggott had no knowledge and barely any preparation. It was cringy watching her for the last ten years. She was tolerated by connections as she seems to be a decent skin but anyone who was doing anything to try to be decent at the job would have been an improvement. She always seemed to be decent and I'm sorry that she was shocked. I hope she picks up something soon. She was useless for years and Sally Ann is a huge improvement. (Head of sport does seem to be keen to get rid of the old folks across the board)

Probably because they don't have legacy contracts and are cheaper to hire. Slightly surprised Ted Walsh isn't for the chopping block also but I'd say with Hall and Piggott going they don't want to many changes at once. Disappointed that they're not getting rid of Gleeson whose one of the most annoying personalities on any of the terrestrial racing coverage.

kksaints wrote: »
    Probably because they don't have legacy contracts and are cheaper to hire. Slightly surprised Ted Walsh isn't for the chopping block also but I'd say with Hall and Piggott going they don't want to many changes at once. Disappointed that they're not getting rid of Gleeson whose one of the most annoying personalities on any of the terrestrial racing coverage.

The most annoying. It's not like they could have offered the gig to Gary obrien years ago and have it in safe hands for the next 20 years. Hugh Cahill I guess will learn about racing while on the screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I like Hugh Cahill. Think he'll make a good replacement.
    I find Jane Mangan to be very good. Definitely not a token woman to satisfy the gender quota. Very knowledgable and interesting to listen to imo.

Morgans wrote: »

She had no knowledge? I have to disagree with you big time on that one. She’s one of the most knowledgeable racing people you could meet. I was at a dinner in Kildare a few years ago and she was a guest speaker, she was fantastic to listen to and hugely knowledgeable.

Grassick is an idiot. If she wasn’t called Grassick she wouldn’t have a career.

She had no knowledge? I have to disagree with you big time on that one. She’s one of the most knowledgeable racing people you could meet. I was at a dinner in Kildare a few years ago and she was a guest speaker, she was fantastic to listen to and hugely knowledgeable.

Grassick is an idiot. If she wasn’t called Grassick she wouldn’t have a career.

Any interview with Tracy Piggott in the winners enclosure was as if she hadn't watched the race, couldn't remember the horses name or what he horses future plans might be.

I'm sure she is lovely and was tolerated by the interviewee - that's a good enough recommendation for me

And as for getting a job on the back of your surname, I'm sure Tracy wouldn't know anything about that.

Ah I think you lads are A bit harsh on Grassick she was woeful at the start but has improved. Still far from perfect though.
    She grew in my estimation big time around the all weather Easter racing a year or 2 back on Itv, she was walking in interviewing the winning jockey who was still on the horse and had no English so she was translating for us everything he was saying which can not be any easy thing for anyone to do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Big fan of Sally Ann myself. I think she does her job well. She speaks her mind and knows the game, she knows horses and seems fair.

She is great at grabbing winners after the race and getting them talking and I like in the summer when she is down at the start, she gives decent commentary.

Tracy Piggott was good, and I am shocked her contract was not renewed.
    Sally Ann Grassick is also good, and knows racing.
    Robert Hall is a big loss. He knows a lot about racing but did not try to impress, or act to the cameras. Other presenters should learn from him. It is not about the presenter. He was one of my favourites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

Anyone could do the job, ultimate gravy train

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Anyone could do the job, ultimate gravy train

Gravy train!!

RTE such a contrast with ITV when it comes to the superficial horse welfare agenda. There were several right pearlers there today and maybe i missed but but didnt hear a single mention of the fate of the falllers after. If that was Ed Chamberlane presenting he would be making the falls the headline of the day.

Also when Treacysenniscorthy's rider said "he was acting the bollix" in the post race interview with Katie. now if that was with Oli Bell there would have been a sombre apology to anyone upset by the language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Robert hall has been a class act his whole career

Best of luck to him

Ah Robert is grand, seems a very nice guy. Never saw him angry or bitter.

It was time to go though. Even yesterday, his last day when youd think the whole team would be on point you still had Robert not realising Chris Dream was a non runner and going on about its chance 2 mins before the off, and Ted thinking it was Rachel Blackmore riding the finish on Train Wreck

I was in Leopardstown on Saturday.

I took a moment away from backing losers to approach Robert Hall in the RTE perch in between live cameras.

I offered my hand and thanked him for the many many years of his covering Irish racing and wished him a long and happy retirement.

He eagerly took my hand and shook it strongly and seemed genuinely appreciative of my good wishes.

Always came across as the perfect gentleman and I wish him very well in his retirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Scott Tenorman

Hall must live close to me because we walk our dogs in the same area, always seems to be a pleasant chap.

But my wife used to work in a bookies that he put bets on, thinks he is an ignorant pr*ck with the way he treated the staff there.

How people treat retail or waiting staff is often a good indicator of their character IMO

Funny, I'd have thought she liked ignorant pricks, what with being married to you and all

:eek::D:D What's an infraction mean?!?!

:D:D:D