Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men’s pyjamas - going into hospital

• 23-07-2019 10:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭

I am going into hospital for my first time since I was a baby. I will be admitted for 7 nights. I usually sleep in the nip or with a T-shirt. I will buy pyjamas for hospital. Where do guys buy these? I went into Dunnes earlier , they had a tiny selection and they were old fashioned.
    What do ye recommend, T-shirt and bottoms ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

My wife bought me pyjamas about ten years ago in case this happened. It didn't, and she gave them to her father last year instead (they were never taken out of the wrapper). I think a teeshirt and comfortable tracksuit bottoms would be just as good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Maz2016 wrote: »
    I am going into hospital for my first time since I was a baby. I will be admitted for 7 nights. I usually sleep in the nip or with a T-shirt. I will buy pyjamas for hospital. Where do guys buy these? I went into Dunnes earlier , they had a tiny selection and they were old fashioned.

I don’t know what you expected Maz, they’re pyjamas! I still wear pyjamas most nights but that aside, did you not see the loungewear in there like loose fitting cotton shorts and tee shirt combo?

Had hip replacement surgery done last year and just wore a loose fitting pyjamas in the hospital is all. Any of the men there were wearing pyjamas but if you’re a bit younger I’m sure you could wear just shorts and tee shirt. Might want to pack a dressing gown too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Maz2016

My wife bought me pyjamas about ten years ago in case this happened. It didn't, and she gave them to her father last year instead (they were never taken out of the wrapper). I think a teeshirt and comfortable tracksuit bottoms would be just as good.

That’s probably what I’ll do. It is good to have some at home in case of these situations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭noby

Comfortable tracksuit bottoms might be grand for pottering about, but could be very warm.
    Surprise with Dunnes; they normally have light pyjama bottoms, or pyjama sets with shorts.

I don’t know what you expected Maz, they’re pyjamas! I still wear pyjamas most nights but that aside, did you not see the loungewear in there like loose fitting cotton shorts and tee shirt combo?

Had hip replacement surgery done last year and just wore a loose fitting pyjamas in the hospital is all. Any of the men there were wearing pyjamas but if you’re a bit younger I’m sure you could wear just shorts and tee shirt. Might want to pack a dressing gown too!

Thanks, I know it’s a silly question but I hadn’t a clue. I completely forgot about a gown. Thanks

noby wrote: »
    Comfortable tracksuit bottoms might be grand for pottering about, but could be very warm.
    Surprise with Dunnes; they normally have light pyjama bottoms, or pyjama sets with shorts.

Thanks noby. Yeah I was surprised too as a few people recommended them. I will have a look in a different branch tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Thanks, I know it’s a silly question but I hadn’t a clue. I completely forgot about a gown. Thanks

And slippers Maz, sorry :pac:

Or runners, lots of patients just wearing runners too :D

Best of luck btw with whatever you’re going in for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭Wheety

Try M&S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I'd go longish shorts and t-shirt, hospitals this time of the year will be like working inside a gas oven, I'd say some will even have the heating on, proper pyjamas would be a killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Nutser

TK Maxx usually have a good range of lounge wear which would be suitable. Penneys also but may be shorts and tees style this time of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭whatnext

I was in last year. Picked up a couple of pairs of pyjamas on Penny’s. Did the job fine.
    While at the till to pay the lady on the till said “what are you in for? Hope it all goes well” in one sentence. Before I could say another word she said “in my 30 year here the only men that have bought pyjamas were on their way to hospital themselves or their father was already in there....”

Made me smile...... probably true too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

Dunnes Mens Wear has been shrinking year by year for for many years now. It got to the point I stopped going in for clothes, as all they had were socks, jocks and a few token shirts, slacks and t-shirts.

For your hospital visit. Sleep in loose fitting cotton boxers. Get loose fitting cotton shorts and t-shirt for the rest of the time. Slip-on slippers are what you want. A zip up hoodie is fine if you don't have a robe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭adam88

Lounge wear is ideal, cotton shorts and t-shirt and a pair or two of sliders and maybe one of those Canterbury cotton jogger bottoms if you want to wander outside for a bit. Hospitals are roasting and if you want to sleep in your jocks that’s no problem either.

Got caught last year when I fell ill suddenly. Couldn’t leave my mother into my house to get gear from my room, single mans life and all that lol. Since then I’ve a small backpack in the boot of the car and one under the stairs just in case something happens.

adam88 wrote: »
    Lounge wear is ideal, cotton shorts and t-shirt and a pair or two of sliders and maybe one of those Canterbury cotton jogger bottoms if you want to wander outside for a bit. Hospitals are roasting and if you want to sleep in your jocks that’s no problem either.

Got caught last year when I fell ill suddenly. Couldn’t leave my mother into my house to get gear from my room, single mans life and all that lol. Since then I’ve a small backpack in the boot of the car and one under the stairs just in case something happens.

Cheers good advice about keeping a bag packed. And we have all been there with the single mans life lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭adam88

Cheers good advice about keeping a bag packed. And we have all been there with the single mans life lol

I’d never again be able to look at her in the eye. Let’s just say it was a very very busy weekend lol. #theevidence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Lackadaisical

M&S is the go-to destination for things like pyjamas, dressing gowns, slippers or other items that haven't been worn since the 1950s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Make sure to adjust based on what work you are getting done.

If getting leg work done you may need to wear something very loose with room to go over a cast or bandage.