Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are underage arrests completely forgotten?

• 23-07-2019 10:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Hi, I'm going for a high faluting job abroad. The police service here will be doing a deep background check. When I was younger I was found once in the park drinking with my mates. Had to visit the Gardai station to meet with the liaison officer a week later.

We also used to innocently play football in a big abandoned industrial warehouse. We did this for months without thinking anything of it. One day someone saw us go in and called the Gardai and we were taken down to the station for trespassing (or something like that) they called our parents and that was that.

This all happened 10+ years ago when I was 16. I don't know how the police here will check but if they do call up the gardai will this stuff show up on my record somewhere. I know stuff is wiped clean at 18, but is it wiped completely clean so to speak. Is there any record of it?

Thanks for any insight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

If you were arrested you would have been brought to the station, not allowed to turn up some days later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 anameforme

Yes I was brought down to the station

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

I've a past like this myself (under age alcohol). I have received international police clearance certificates and passed vetting every time. I don't think you need to worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 anameforme

Miike wrote: »
    I've a past like this myself (under age alcohol). I have received international police clearance certificates and passed vetting every time. I don't think you need to worry.

And did you disclose these things. Like do they show up on your police certificates at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

anameforme wrote: »
    And did you disclose these things. Like do they show up on your police certificates at all?

No, I didn't disclose them and they didn't show up. I was 16, and when I asked the Guards they told me cautions from when I was 16 don't even get permanently recorded for "silly things".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭killanena

I was brought to a station for underage drinking when I was 16, I was guarda vetted for work experience in a primary school computer room when I was 19 and had no issues what so ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I've been to court and made the donation during my college years (nothing serious, gard wasn't a fan of my sense of humour at about 5am. . . . .pished as a fart). Passed every UK police check done. Current company has US security connections and all. I'd not be worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Deep background check - I doubt it. Quick search on PULSE unless it's security related and then it's gonna be a ridiculous wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 bumders

I got arrested when I just turned 18 for been drunk and disorderly. Didn't really understand what drink could do to ya. Got the probation act and a fine to the poor box in court. Never showed up in any vetting. If your not brought to court and convicted your 100 per cent grand. I got the probation act and nothing ever showed up for me and I got serious vetting, jobs vetting, international vetting, you name it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭unattendedbag

There's a bit of confusion here over convictions and Garda records. Convictions are handed out by the court so you know if you got one of those. The probation act is designed to give you a chance and leave you conviction free. Fines, official cautions and good old telling off's may still be recorded but are not a conviction.

A police certificate of character for abroad also lists the convictions if any which apply. Technically is public record already.

Each and every interaction with the Garda from any age is recorded on the Pulse system. Doesnt matter if you didn't end up in court or were just brought home for having a beer on the street. Whereas this may never cause a problem, you'd be surprised where this information ends up in the future. if you are standing at US immigration or sitting at an interview for a large multi national corporation, don't be surprised if they've accessed information on you beforehand. It happens.