Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

50th Birthday ideas

• 21-07-2019 1:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭

In about a year and a half I'll be half a century old, the mind boggles!
    I'd like to do something memorable just because I'm officially ancient or so my kids are happy to tell me.

I was thinking of a trip to Disneyland Florida but with flights etc its looking like not much change out of 10k for the family which is just too much to spend in a week for me and not have anything to show for it.

I'd like to do something with the kids which will be 9,7 and 5 then that doesn't break the bank.
    Anyone have any ideas, did any of you do anything special to celebrate this auspicious occasion? My birthday is in early January, was half thinking of maybe going somewhere warm and doing Christmas and my birthday together in the sun instead.
    Waste of money, cop on, spend it on replacing the crappy double glazing on the back windows! , all comments welcome!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

What type of holiday do you normally enjoy?

I went to Disney World before. I loved Universal studios....was 15 at the time. Disney World for me was a bit "meh"....and I would not shell out such money to travel thousand of miles for the sake of a theme park. There is always Disney Land in Paris in you are Disney inclined. And the food will be much better too.

If the idea is to mark the occasion and head stateside, there is more to Florida than Disney has to offer. Unfortunately, my parents were a bit narrow minded and we only did Disney and Universal Studios. Of course I loved it when I was there, but it would have been great to see more of Florida......see the everglades, go sea fishing....just a bit more to appreciate than Mickey Mouse and T2 in 3D.

Think about it, before you are senile ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

Unless you're a kid at heart, I'm not sure I'd mark my 50th heading to a child oriented theme park (yes, I know there are lots of fun and interesting things there for adults too). Unless of course celebrating it as a family with your children is very much how you want to mark it, then great. If you are into Disney, why not try Disneyland Paris as the other poster suggested, it will still be pricey but less costly on flights and only a couple of hours vs 9 hours flying each way.

If it's feasible to leave the kids with a trusted minder for a few days, is there any place in Europe that you and your OH could go on a city break or other destination that you've never been to before and/or that you've harbored a bucket list desire to visit? Greece, Italy, France or Spain have so many ancient or historic, rustic and romantic places that would be a great way to spend a few days drinking vino, sampling local foods and while away the time in a way you never get to do when kids are running around (again you may not be into this and may want to include the kids in any celebration). I've done Athens, Paris, Madrid and Verona recently - all have that appeal I listed above.

Finally, my cousin did an Airbnb in a genuine traditional cottage in Valentia island in Kerry a few weeks back and said it was one of the nicest breaks he was on. Worth googling if that would be your cup of tea.(the kids would love the staying away from home too)

I'd avoid doing something like triple glazing or other household upgrades - yes do them anyway to treat yourself or because they're needed- but not to mark your 50th!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Thanks guys. Ongarboy I think you are are on the right track. A weekend away in Paris with herself sounds nice, she has never been there so it would be a nice break for both of us away from the kids. A trip to the cinema followed by McDonalds on our return and they would be happy out too.
    Might even have some left over to put towards the double glazing/kitchen revamp etc!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

With kids that age , I’d be going on a nice skiing holiday in Austria in January, a lot more memorable than Disney ,and more quality time together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Supercell wrote: »
    In about a year and a half I'll be half a century old, the mind boggles!
    I'd like to do something memorable just because I'm officially ancient or so my kids are happy to tell me.

I was thinking of a trip to Disneyland Florida but with flights etc its looking like not much change out of 10k for the family which is just too much to spend in a week for me and not have anything to show for it.

I'd like to do something with the kids which will be 9,7 and 5 then that doesn't break the bank.
    Anyone have any ideas, did any of you do anything special to celebrate this auspicious occasion? My birthday is in early January, was half thinking of maybe going somewhere warm and doing Christmas and my birthday together in the sun instead.
    Waste of money, cop on, spend it on replacing the crappy double glazing on the back windows! , all comments welcome!

You could do the Lapland experience, santa and sleigh rides are great for adults and kids and there also the northern lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Really depends on what you like - the answer could be hookers&coke personal services & sensory experience (edited to comply with 21st century sensitivities), or a visit to the Miniatur Wunderland in Hamburg, you know, different people et all. The Paris idea might be a good one, again it depends.

Remember it's about you, not the wife or the kids - chances are, they'll most likely be more than happy to do something for you anyway.

I'm whereabouts the same length of time away from 40 and all being well I'll still be single by then - which means my project to go and do one of these "drive an F1 car" experiences might still be...on track! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,772 ✭✭✭✭fits

Take a safari trip. Memorable for everyone.

We plan to do a big holiday when the boys are 8 or so (instead of communion).

Some cool ideas, thanks all, wouldn't mind flinging a car around Mondello given half a chance truth be told!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

I did the rally experience in Waterford for my 40th with a weekend away
    But in January you probably want somewhere hotter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭kerryjack

I will be 50 next year myself interesting tread I like the idea of 2 hookers I wouldn't need the coke or the viagra but would need to get a pass from the OH which might be hard to get, probably the safest opption for me is to take the family to a 6 nations match in Italy or France and spend my 50th with the family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Anything you do with 5 people holiday wise, between flights, accommodation, spendimg money and meals out will probably cost about 8-10k. And then tjey would want to do it again & nag you to death over it year after year! The kids would probably be happy with a big family party & sleepover opportunity for their friends with lots of junkfood & pizzas. But its your big birthday -I assume you'd like to maybe have a beer or two and relax without being on fullparent alert & babysitti g other peoples children!
    +1 for city break with your wife - maybe a trip to Paris for the weekend -stay somewhere on a metro line, catch a show like les folles bergeres if its still running (cabaret); do a fancy meal with champagne & celebrate in style. Or do a luxury Loire Valley castle /chateaux and vineyards/proper wine tour luxury weekend. Fab! Then come home & take the kids to TGI Fridays for a fun night with cinema & organise a death by chocolate birthday cake or a trip to the panto which will be still running in Jan (all the munchies!) or trip to funderland & go on sll the mad yokes! . Two very different themes for very different audiences! Or go skiing but with the weather there is a risk there may be no snow which unless you book last minute would be devestating. If it wasnt January I'd suggest a few other things but the weather will be rubbish and ss noone ever has any money in Jan most of the group activity and adventure things will be closed or dead. I'd say helicopter or biplane flight but again in Jan will probably be cancelled due to poor visability or weather.

Britexit & visas aside -a one night flight to London for all the family, tickets for Wicked or some family show, trip around on the big red bus, ... tickets to Madame Tausauds or tje planitarium but again your really just organising a childrens day out for 3 posdibly tired & disgruntled kids... not sure you want a uk or royalty themed birthday!

The Paris weekend trip and cinema etc with the kiddies on our return is what I've decided to go with. Herself has never been to Paris and I've only been once when inter-railing (is that still a thing?) as a student so it should be lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

As an FYI, we did Disneyland Paris with our 2 kids in early January a couple of years back. It's actually a really good time to go. Sure, it's cold, but you can dress for it and if time it right the place will still be done up for Christmas (it actually changed to the Spring decoration almost over-night during our stay), perfect hot-chocolate weather for the kids. There's next to no queueing for most of rides and much shorter queues for character meets etc. Best of all is the price. IIRC, we got flights to Beavais, Airport Transfer (in a Merc E class though I was expecting a mini-bus or similar) and 4 nights accommodation on-site with 5 days of park passes for just shy of a grand. Probably spent another grand on food, drinks and the obligatory souvenirs but felt it was pretty good value for the experience the kids had out of it.