Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racist Friends

• 18-06-2019 2:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭

You think you know someone and then sh1t happens. I was on Facebook earlier when I came across a video that a "friend" posted. I always thought of this person as progressive! The video is by some American hack spewing racist hatre speech. Im not going to embed the video but I would ask that you leave a thumbs down on the video and report it. I was surprised to see how many likes this youtuber got. Ive reported the video on facebook but it still hasn't been taken down.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OAiCKW_deL8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Franko.

Crunch bars are delicious. I tried my best to achieve some level of outrage while watching the video but it didnt happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

I've a cousin in London who joined the Labour Party 2 years ago, I avoid topics like the Holocaust, Jews etc to not set him off and cause I don't want to listen to that ****.

Makes his visits pleasant for all.

Pick your battles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

33qnx0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

My rule for facebook is anyone who posts more than one think a week gets blocked. Stay friends, you can get messages and invites, but you don't see their content. Anyone who shares any political shíte, block so you don't see their posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭hcf500

Not only is the video racist but it also attacks the LGBTQ+ community. If we can get enough reports in for this video we can get it banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Get rid of your account. There's nothing there that you can't get elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Not unless I unfriend you first OP!

unfriedn-gif.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭VicMackey1

Ill embed the video for you so! Its not racist, its actually quite funny! Thanks for the link. Ive liked and subscribed to his videos!

Is Facebook like MySpace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Aegir wrote: »
    Is Facebook like MySpace?

Facebook are releasing a crypto currency, so they might change but into something bigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

hcf500 wrote: »
    You think you know someone and then sh1t happens. I was on Facebook earlier when I came across a video that a "friend" posted. I always thought of this person as progressive! The video is by some American hack spewing racist hatre speech. Im not going to embed the video but I would ask that you leave a thumbs down on the video and report it. I was surprised to see how many likes this youtuber got. Ive reported the video on facebook but it still hasn't been taken down.

https://youtu.be/gqH_0LPVoho

VicMackey1 wrote: »
    Ill embed the video for you so! Its not racist, its actually quite funny! Thanks for the link. Ive liked and subscribed to his videos!

I didn't embed that video because it is disgusting and racist! I provided the link so people here could dislike the video, not subscribe to it! Says a lot about you really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

**** FEMINISM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭dickangel

Your man is a knob but that ad is terrible.

dickangel wrote: »
    Your man is a knob but that ad is terrible.

I agree with half of your statement but why do you think the ad is terrible? Because it includes racial minorities maybe?

Imagine finding out one of your mates was a psycho who killed random people or something.

Or you walk into the room and find their racist angst curled up into a ball.

how come you never really knew your friend though?

Don't you have deep convos etc?

There is probably lots of stuff important stuff you don't know.

Was this person REALLY a friend?? Or just some random fb person?

I agree with half of your statement but why do you think the ad is terrible? Because it includes racial minorities maybe?

No, because it does so so deliberately that is seems incredibly forced and cringey, and actually seems pretty condescending. We know Native Americans can wear suits and have jobs, but thanks for reminding us chocolate bar makers.

Also, I don't trust the motive of any of these companies, they aren't trying to support minorities, they are trying to profit off of them.

Cienciano wrote: »
    My rule for facebook is anyone who posts more than one think a week gets blocked. Stay friends, you can get messages and invites, but you don't see their content. Anyone who shares any political shíte, block so you don't see their posts.

Bit harsh.

Imagine finding out one of your mates was a psycho who killed random people or something.

Or you walk into the room and find their racist angst curled up into a ball.

Racism is the cause for many random people being killed though! Doesn't sound as funny anymore, does it!

We know Native Americans can wear suits and have jobs

Im lost for words

What you're saying they can't? That's racist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Danzy wrote: »
    I've a cousin in London who joined the Labour Party 2 years ago, I avoid topics like the Holocaust, Jews etc to not set him off and cause I don't want to listen to that ****.

Pick your battles.

Transparent.

What you're saying they can't? That's racist

You know where I stand. You are the one complaining about the ad. The people that don't like these type of adverts are the ones who don't like to be reminded that Native Americans can wear suits and have jobs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Posting a video doesn't make you racist... cop on OP.

You know where I stand. You are the one complaining about the ad. The people that don't like these type of adverts are the ones who don't like to be reminded that Native Americans can wear suits and have jobs!

You can try your best to insinuate that I don't like the idea of Native Americans having jobs but that's clearly not what I said.

I said I don't like money hungry companies profiting off minorities. If you're OK with that then that's your issue, it's actually you that has questionable morals, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭JaimeLannister

The video is pretty funny if anything. Lighten up OP, no need to be perma-offended!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Snowflakes everywhere

Thanks op

Liked the video and subscribed to him

He is hilarious

Racism is the cause for many random people being killed though! Doesn't sound as funny anymore, does it!
    yes it does

Actually was being totally serious.

I have noticed this weird thing where people don't know when i am serious. Nor when i am joking.

I don't fit in your box.

Again being serious.

Danzy wrote: »

Pick your battles.

It's not all labour. It's the ones that swallow the dogma whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

It's a really awkwardly done attempt at putting a moral element into the choice to pick a particular chocolate bar. US ads just seem very off to me, they always feel like someone really untrustworthy is trying to trick me into buying the product.

All advertising is manipulation, but I think there's a difference between a stupid ad that gives me a laugh, or tries to, and Shell trying to pretend they're a company full of environmentalists.

All that said, the guy in the video seems like an absolute tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭MoashoaM

TMBG comes to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭vladmydad

He’s pointing out, hilariously, the hypocritical whoring that big corporations are now engaged in. Also happy pride month everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭yoke

vladmydad wrote: »
    He’s pointing out, hilariously, the hypocritical whoring that big corporations are now engaged in. Also happy pride month everyone

Ads have always been engaged in this, watch any ad - “I love blah blah brand because blah blah”.

I watched his video and I honestly thought it was boring and stupid, the ad he targeted seems like a pretty ordinary ad shown in American cities, which are extremely mixed ethnically - just like most Chinese ads will feature people from China, most ads in American cities will feature people from those cities.

I started wondering why this YouTuber spoke in a disparaging tone about the people in the ad (especially the Native American guy - even notice his tone of voice when he says “Sparrowhawk” like “That can’t be a real name, real names begin with words like ‘John’ (meaning ‘Lamb of God’) and ‘Peter’ (meaning ‘Stone’) and never ’Sparrowhawk’, dont ya know? Good old Christian names for all!”
    So I did a quick check on who the YouTuber was - bingo - it’s a known racist prick - here’s what Wikipedia has to say about him:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_Dice

“Dice also founded a Christian activist group, "The Resistance”

Seriously? Someone who founded a religious activist group, giving out about LGBTQ+ in his videos? Who is the one with an agenda now?

It’s a very interesting read on who is making the videos you are watching, and hopefully it will open up your eyes to how easily someone else’s bias can creep into your own views once you are told it is funny “and therefore must be liked”. The video isn’t funny at all, it’s just boring - some guy shouting about a fvcking TV ad.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

OP you should embrace those with different opinions than you. It makes life more interesting. Diversity is a good thing so not sure why you have issues with your friend?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

kowloon wrote: »
    US ads just seem very off to me, they always feel like someone really untrustworthy is trying to trick me into buying the product.
    +1. I'd reckon it's mostly because they dumb down everything to appeal and sell to the most people from many different backgrounds. You see it in their politics too. Make everything an easily digestible catchphrase delivered by a polished performance. As one American commentator noted they wouldn't elect Abraham Lincoln today as he'd be seen as too wordy. Take their mainstream comedy. The usual cliche of they don't get irony can be wheeled out, but that's mostly down to a culture made up of many, so irony doesn't translate so well across all those cultures. A pie in the face is funny everywhere.

They've also been utterly saturated with marketing and advertising for much longer than anywhere else, so they're more used to being sold to(one could argue similarly of the propaganda of the American Dream™). It was essentially invented and honed in the US. Ads like the one in the video can seem off to us because yes it is so glaringly obvious and cringe and "current" and "woke" or whatever, because the advertising companies are trying to stand out.

And they have, just maybe not I the way they wanted. For some anyway. Though the all attention is good attention can be their mantra. Look at Gillette and it's men are bad, buy our razors ad from a while back. Did it backfire? Maybe, but it got people talking about Gillette. You can be 100% sure that if actual fascists took over the mainstream in America, the advertisers would march right in behind them in perfect step in rainbow coloured jackboots. Or maybe not. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    OP you should embrace those with different opinions than you. It makes life more interesting. Diversity is a good thing so not sure why you have issues with your friend?

Have you met racists??? They are annoying as ****.

Yeah yeah we gotta be tolerant to other people's opinions.....real life tho ...**** other people's opinions

Yeah I am a hypocrite and racists are not allowed to be. Sue me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Be great if pandering was as socially unacceptable as racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

I found the ad condescending and slightly racist, it's making a mockery of other culture to say they're nothing more than commercial products to be used in an attempt to look modern and inclusive, and the white guy being a hillbilly is like the stereotypical Irish guy drunk in a movie or used as part of a comedy routine, so OP I find you to be the racist one in all of this. You need to stop being so racist and disgusting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

If we can get enough reports in for this video we can get it banned

FFS, grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

That's not racist, not funny either. Yer man (who is insufferable), is pointing out the company is trying to include every race in its ad. But, sure seeing as it's America, someone will go on a shooting rampage for being offended about who can eat a chocolate bar.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Yamanoto wrote: »
    FFS, grow up.

Mark Dice has been posting for years. I am sure he has had thousands of complaints. I doubt the OPs crusade will make much difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Mark Dice is hilarious....

I dunno. The adoration he has for Donald Trump can be a bit uncomfortable. Also he is a bit shouty. Does make some valid points though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Xodar

Thanks OP.

Really good and funny vid.

Liked, subscribed and shared throughout my vast social media network.

Please keep them coming ðŸ‘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

That's Mark dice. He's hilarious. That ad's ridiculous. I'll watch the rest of the vid at breaktime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If we can get enough reports in for this video we can get it banned
    Deplatforming is the new fascism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Why not go and find something worthwhile to be outraged at? Homelessness, starvation in 3rd world countries etc etc.

Because he took off some accents to highlight his point you decided that you should be outraged and cry racist. You most likely missed the complete point of the video as you were too busy being outraged on behalf of others who most likely couldn’t care less and agreed with the video.

Why dont you watch it again and try and see the actual message in the film rather than looking to be offended on behalf of others!!

BTW thanks for posting the video. I shared it on my page as it’s a good film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

BTW thanks for posting the video. I shared it on my page as it’s a good film.

Some awful Streisland stuff going on here.:eek:
    I also enjoyed and subscribed. Thanks OP.
    It's not the funniest thing I've ever seen, but I got a chuckle. The PC forced diversity silliness over the last 10 years or so in the western world is easy pickings for satire.