Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A ranchers life for me...

• 18-06-2019 9:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭

Ok, maybe not me per se but sure lookit, live voraciously through others & all that. I've struck up a sort of penpal arrangement with a friend off Twitter, she's working as a range rider with about 350 cows & calves all summer in an area off grid- hence the offline contact. So what does a person send? Books? Fixy type tools to carry in her saddlebag?
    She's specified not much food if possible as bears will eat her postbox :pac:
    I was thinking a disposable camera if they still exist :pwhich she can send back & I can get it developed and see what life is like over there.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

A book and a torch to read it with:confused:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,044 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Where's I Says or Muckit with suggestions when you want them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

blue5000 wrote: »
    A book and a torch to read it with:confused:

I'm pretty sure she has electricity! Just no internet :D
    Where's I Says or Muckit with suggestions when you want them?

Off gallivanting \o/

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Saddle cream for all those days on horse back...

The Irish Farmers Journal so.

An IFJ would be a good one, but would be a bit outdated by the time it gets there :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I'm pretty sure she has electricity! Just no internet :D

If she has power why would you send a disposal camera? A digital camera with a few memory cards would be easier for her to post back.

A tablet with offline games or a DVD player and a load of DVDs.

Del2005 wrote: »
    If she has power why would you send a disposal camera? A digital camera with a few memory cards would be easier for her to post back.

A tablet with offline games or a DVD player and a load of DVDs.

Jaysus I'm not made of money! :D
    Disposable camera would be tougher to send in the post, I wouldn't send anything easily broken like a digital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Camera is a nice idea but I make sure to send photos of Ireland out with it or it’s a one way thing.

Hard to beat reading material, IFJ surely maybe some other magazines.

Even Irish newspapers may be of interest to read on long evenings.

Maybe something like this
    http://www.countrysportsandcountrylife.com/pdf/Special-Subscription-Offer.pdf

Depends on the persons interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭black forest

How about a cheap chinese android tablet? ;)

Plus a mobile solar panel and a power bank. At archive.org she can download thousands of books for free or can borrow up to five for a fortnight for free as well. She just have to put the tablet into flight mode so she is not wasting energy to Wifi, bluetooth or the not existing mobile net.

The solar panel can charge the tablet directly or the power bank for later use. Or you get a combined one anyway.

The links are only suggestions. With a little search you’ll probably find better and/or cheaper stuff.

https://m.banggood.com/buy/android%20tablet.html

https://www.amazon.co.uk/s?k=solar+charger+for+mobile+phone&crid=2I8I1FW43TV9W&sprefix=solar%2Caps%2C222&ref=nb_sb_ss_i_5_5

https://www.amazon.co.uk/s?k=power+bank+for+tablet&ref=nb_sb_noss_1

https://archive.org/search.php?query=London%2CJack&and%5B%5D=mediatype%3A%22texts%22&page=2

https://archive.org/search.php?query=Auel%2CJean%20M.&and[]=mediatype%3A%22texts%22

I’m enjoying my ipad mini with archive.org and i’m not living in the wilderness. :D

Edit: Just saw your post about money. So my solution is out...well, i tried. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Good warm socks, (i paid $14/pair out of neccessity in the bush here) basic toileteries such as a bar of soap toothpaste and toothbrush etc, nothing worse than running out of those.
    Living nearly off the grid really does give you an appreciation of what you have in a town/city all we had as a social outlet on the last job was the pub im in a bit of a town now and i havent a notion or intention of heading for a few pints now mid week or at weekends as theres plenty else to do now.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Jaysus I'm not made of money! :D
    Disposable camera would be tougher to send in the post, I wouldn't send anything easily broken like a digital.

Disposable cameras are not tough and you usually get about 1/3rd of the film capacity as pictures, what they think they took and what gets printed are a different problem as the view finder and lenses are cheap. A digital camera will survive if shipped in its box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Crossword/word search book? Probably sounds a bit crap but good to keep the brain ticking and a pencil would be all that's needed

Ok, I cannot send a digital camera. Not alone is the one I have too expensive to send across the world, it's making her obliged to send it back & not damage it too. At least with a disposable it can be wrapped in bubblewrap & if it's damaged, no harm. D'ya get me? Good idea but not feasible.

It's in Wyoming so must check out the weather there to see if there's anything that could be needed. Bear scarers by the sounds of it :pac:

Brain activities seem a good one, as does solar power panel etc if she's away on horseback all day!

Sorry for intermittent replies here, have a cow calving myself :D

Farmers journal and Lyons tea bags.

*she's hardly going to care if she misses the twomilebridge Macra dance and Lyons. Bears don't like Lyons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,828 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Jaysus,
    The oul' Nigerian scammers have gotten creative!

My reading of the original post is that this is not a person you met. Just an "off-grid" person you met through twitter? (ignoring the implicit contradiction)

Jaysus,
    The oul' Nigerian scammers have gotten creative!

My reading of the original post is that this is not a person you met. Just an "off-grid" person you met through twitter? (ignoring the implicit contradiction)

Ah you're very cynical. The scammers are easy to spot on Twitter, genuine folk who have an actual account & are friendly are there too.
    They're not actually looking for anything more than folks to write to but sure if you're sending a letter imo it's always nice to include one or two small things they're not expecting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

A dildo and baby oil. Also some Pringles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Good one that, if she doesn’t like the Pringles she can go **** herself .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Belongamick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

Might be miles out on what your going for but something like a lifestraw filter bag? The chief has a similar one for out biking.
    https://www.lifestraw.com/products/lifestraw-flex-multi-use-water-filter-with-gravity-bag

Electrolytes and painkillers always handy too

Better living everyone

Never thought of painkillers, that's a good one. Just small/useful things that someone mightn't have or wouldn't think to bring.
    Apparently the post arrived once or twice a month, that's how rural it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

mayota wrote: »

Good one that, if she doesn’t like the Pringles she can go **** herself .
    Did any of ye see the whattsapp picture of the invoice and dildo sent to a contractor ? Pretty much saying the same as the post above !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Digital cameras are dirt cheap now ( second hand)
    Fujifilm Z series can be picked up cheap on ebay, and are tough and deliver high quality shots.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Fujifilm-FinePix-Z-Series-Z20fd-10-0MP-Digital-Camera-Champagne-pink/254261576377?hash=item3b332bc2b9:g:FMwAAOSwsV1dAL9R

these ones take video too.

Be best to buy off ebay.com in the States and have it deliveredto her address, at least it'll have 110 volt charger and US plug etc.
    She only needs to send the memory card back.
    You could half fill it up with a couple of hundred pics of lovely leitrim and send it back then.
    If sending a book, how about James Rebanks "A shepards life" or Lorna Sixsmiths book?

Never thought of painkillers, that's a good one. Just small/useful things that someone mightn't have or wouldn't think to bring.
    Apparently the post arrived once or twice a month, that's how rural it is!

We were monday, wednesday and friday and had to drive 15km for it, jesus that is rural.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Odelay

We were monday, wednesday and friday and had to drive 15km for it, jesus that is rural.

My post box is 30ft away and I only check it once a month:0

Odelay wrote: »
    My post box is 30ft away and I only check it once a month:0

Any parts that were delivered out our way were generally dropped at the pub as that was as far as the trucks would go on that route before stopping for the night, collecting parts was everyones favourite job out there as it was a great excuse to not have to cook that night and have a few cold ones as well.

Better living everyone