Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jo Brand under police investigation

• 13-06-2019 7:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭

Jo Brand under police investigation for ‘joke’ about acid attack on Nigel Farage, and British Prime Minister Theresa May asking why the BBC allowed the sick joke to be broadcast.

Disappointing that the BBC deemed it appropriate to broadcast and are seen to be advocating violence against politicians.

Let’s hope our own ‘peaceful protest’ brigade don’t take Jo’s comments to heart. Some very unstable people out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

But but but muh freedom of speech! Learn how to take a joke snowflakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭TheDiceMan2020

Should be investigated for crimes against comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

To be honest Jo has hit a new low making a joke about the acid attacks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Jo Brand under police investigation for ‘joke’ about acid attack on Nigel Farage, and British Prime Minister Theresa May asking why the BBC allowed the sick joke to be broadcast.

Disappointing that the BBC deemed it appropriate to broadcast and are seen to be advocating violence against politicians.

Let’s hope our own ‘peaceful protest’ brigade don’t take Jo’s comments to heart. Some very unstable people out there.

So she's under investigation, (rightly) and you're still giving out?
    Snowflake much? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

That fat ugly hag should be allowed say what she wants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

So she's under investigation, (rightly) and you're still giving out?
    Snowflake much? :)

You think it was okay to broadcast?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

No. I believe it's under investigation.
    Happens from time to time, I don't think that's the BBC agreeing or disagreeing with any grouping.

Never found her funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Jo Bland

You're against free speech and in favour of censorship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

A joke about battery acid?

She should be charged!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

whiskeyman wrote: »
    A joke about battery acid?

She should be charged!

Are you postive it was a joke about battery acid?

No need to be so negative!

antodeco wrote: »

Think it's just a case of crossed wires. No need to clamp down and charge her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

I wonder how many people complaining about her actually listened to the whole thing? Few I'd be safe to guess.

We now live on a world in which it's OK to follow and scream and harass politicians in the street, but woe betide anyone who makes a joke like this.

People are idiots. Anyway, with Morrissey now a full on right wing nationalist I'm off now to have his music banned and him arrested for him advocating to have jockeys of disks strung up.

Sure Nigel Farage said he'd pick up a riffle and head to the front lines of Brexit wasn't delivered. Surely only a matter of time before police raid his house now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

antodeco wrote: »

She should be thrown in a cell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Insane. The U.K. is a police state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,275 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

But but but muh freedom of speech! Learn how to take a joke snowflakes.
    Name change to Snowy noggs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

IT WAS A FCUKING JOKE.

(and yes I’d say the same if it was a right winger investigated).

Billy Mays wrote: »
    Name change to Snowy noggs

Ah yeah, another hard left freak.

Insane. The U.K. is a police state.

I assume there was a formal complaint made, one of Farage's cronies probably as he publicly called for one (the poor mite still not over a bit of milk shake) and they had to act. Nothing will probably come of it other than publicity for idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

That's Russell Brands wife yeah?

Woah. She's really let herself go.

Around the time of the Andrew Sachs phone message scandal, she was asked whether she was related to Russell Brand. Her response was "no, but I fucked his grandad".

She made the comment on a show called 'Heresy', where panelists are supposed to argue an unreasonable position for comic effect. I appreciate that humour might be a difficult concept for the hard right to understand, but telling jokes is what comedians do. Nobody is going to throw battery acid in Farage's stupid face just because Jo Brand joked about it on Radio 4.

Did you report Brand to the police yourself Snowy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

That's Russell Brands wife yeah?

Woah. She's really let herself go.

Grandmother I believe.

As predicted, lads falling over themselves to defend, deflect or downplay. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Lol at how you get abusive with people who don't agree with you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

whiskeyman wrote: »
    She should be thrown in a cell!

But do the cops have any leads ?

Lol at how you get abusive with people who don't agree with you :pac:

Are you following me around? Freak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

That question would you like to be young again :mad:
    I love programs from 70's till 90's easy life back then no keyboard warriors.

A recording of the show would be a good place to start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,018 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

She made the comment on a show called 'Heresy', where panelists are supposed to argue an unreasonable position for comic effect. I appreciate that humour might be a difficult concept for the hard right to understand, but telling jokes is what comedians do. Nobody is going to throw battery acid in Farage's stupid face just because Jo Brand joked about it on Radio 4.

Many hard right comedians on the BBC are there?
    They've been censoring their output for years, if the joke had been directed at an idol of the left, it would never have been aired.

https://news.sky.com/story/jo-brand-theresa-may-calls-on-bbc-to-explain-why-battery-acid-joke-was-broadcast-11740902
    TV presenter Piers Morgan is among those making the comparison with Baker's sacking, saying: "Why did the BBC instantly sack Danny Baker for an offensive royal baby tweet but won't sack Jo Brand for saying she'd like acid to be thrown at politicians?"

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Awwww don't get upset, freedom.of speech and all that jazz;)

Wait, you don't like that? Isn't that your brethrens modus operandi?

Snowy believes because someone doesn't think a comedian should be reported to the police for making a joke they must be hard left

I bet Snowy loved it when Trump told supporters at his rallies to rough up protesters

Not a good idea to connect the leads to the battery acid...

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Many hard right comedians on the BBC are there?
    They've been censoring their output for years, if the joke had been directed at an idol of the left, it would never have been aired.

https://news.sky.com/story/jo-brand-theresa-may-calls-on-bbc-to-explain-why-battery-acid-joke-was-broadcast-11740902
    TV presenter Piers Morgan is among those making the comparison with Baker's sacking, saying: "Why did the BBC instantly sack Danny Baker for an offensive royal baby tweet but won't sack Jo Brand for saying she'd like acid to be thrown at politicians?"

Maybe because she didnt say that.

Woooossshhh....

Awwww don't get upset, freedom.of speech and all that jazz;)

See my last response to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Hurrache wrote: »
    I wonder how many people complaining about her actually listened to the whole thing? Few I'd be safe to guess.

We now live on a world in which it's OK to follow and scream and harass politicians in the street, but woe betide anyone who makes a joke like this.

People are idiots. Anyway, with Morrissey now a full on right wing nationalist I'm off now to have his music banned and him arrested for him advocating to have jockeys of disks strung up.

Jokes about politics and politicians are fine.

Joking about the whole acid atracks I think is bad form, maybe I’m old and over sensitive but it’s not a laughing matter at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

That fat heffer just wants all the milkshakes for herself.

Billy Mays wrote: »
    Did you report Brand to the police yourself Snowy?

Not when I realised it was already reported, Billy Ballbags

Hurrache wrote: »
    Woooossshhh....

Not really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

It was a joke... like 'positive', 'negative', 'cell', 'clamp', 'charge'.

Are you even reading your own thread ?

_Brian wrote: »
    Jokes about politics and politicians are fine.

Joking about the whole acid atracks I think is bad form, maybe I’m old and over sensitive but it’s not a laughing matter at all.

You take that she was joking about the acid attacks in the likes of "honour" assaults?

Maybe because she didnt say that.

She did say that.

"Why bother with a milkshake when you could get some battery acid?' That's just me. I'm not going to do it, it's purely a fantasy, but I think milkshakes are pathetic, I honestly do, sorry."

So it wouldn't be pathetic for someone to throw battery acid? She's not going to do it, but if you are going to throw something, throw something that causes horrific injuries.

See my last response to you.

Ditto ;)

It was a joke... like 'positive', 'negative', 'cell', 'clamp', 'charge'.

Are you even reading your own thread ?

Yes, but it wasn’t that funny.

Ditto ;)

Anyone defending her is scum. I have no interest in engaging with scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I love all this.

She did say that.

"Why bother with a milkshake when you could get some battery acid?' That's just me. I'm not going to do it, it's purely a fantasy, but I think milkshakes are pathetic, I honestly do, sorry."

So it wouldn't be pathetic for someone to throw battery acid? She's not going to do it, but if you are going to throw something, throw something that causes horrific injuries.

So she didn't say
    she'd like acid to be thrown at politicians?"

Glad we could clear that up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

She did say that.

So she's being investigated for a thought she said she'd had? Jesus, what a waste of police time.