Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FCPN and penalty points.

• 11-06-2019 8:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20

Hi....the Guards pulled me after not completely stopping at a stop sign. He told me I would get an €80 fine and 3 points. This was 8 weeks ago and I still haven't heard anything.
    Does it usually take this long to receive the fine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

They have up to 6 months to issue you with the fine, and it wouldn't be out of the norm for them to take their time with issuing the FCPN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 AaronDJ

billybh wrote: »
    Hi....the Guards pulled me after not completely stopping at a stop sign. He told me I would get an €80 fine and 3 points. This was 8 weeks ago and I still haven't heard anything.

Did you ever get the FCPN?

Also does anybody know if you need to be stopped to get sent an FCPN?(apart from a speed van)

Got stuck in a yellow box outside a Garda Station. Never got stopped but if an officer saw me could he take reg and send FCPN?

Anybody know penalty for getting stuck in a yellow box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Whocare

billybh wrote: »

Didn't think that was a thing in Ireland that you must come to a complete stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Fail your test if you don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Whocare wrote: »
    Didn't think that was a thing in Ireland that you must come to a complete stop

Purely out of interest what did you think a stop sign meant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Fail your test if you don't

Ya but to be fair, they are generally treated as yeld signs by your average driver when not undertaking a driving test.
    Harsh points imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

mickdw wrote: »
    Ya but to be fair, they are generally treated as yeld signs by your average driver when not undertaking a driving test.
    Harsh points imo.

Wouldn't think so - so because lots of drivers ignore them the guards should let them off??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

To be fair, they're just lucky they haven't been prosecuted for breaking the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Whocare

Purely out of interest what did you think a stop sign meant?

I'm truck driver on road every day and never had a garda stop me .like I guess most people if there nothing coming drive on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Wouldn't think so - so because lots of drivers ignore them the guards should let them off??

The actual having to come to a complete stop is a technicality. If the gardai came to a complete stop themselves at every stop sign, they could go around handing out penalty points to other drivers. As they generally dont stop completely, i thimk it is rather sharp of them to be handing out these severe penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

I'm truck driver on road every day and never had a garda stop me .like I guess most people if there nothing coming drive on

Okay, just consider it again, especially being in control of a truck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

The RSA is going to change the sign to read "Have a look and drive on lad, sure it'll be grand"