Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin To Belfast in a 10 yr old Ford Fiesta?

• 06-06-2019 6:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭

I am planning to drive my 1.2 ford fiesta 2008 zetec steel 2 from Dublin to Belfast this weekend (approx. 166km), should I be worried?

*Car has already 236,000km on it and had it for 3 months. Drove it to Glendalough, Sally Gap & no problem.
    *Timing Belt & Waterpump done recently a week ago.
    *Two new front wheel tyres a week ago.
    * Two new front Brake Pads & Discs a month ago.

I am just worried that on the way to belfast it will give me trouble.
    Problem is that coolant level always drops below minimum even if I put in new one from the previous morning and the Temperature stays mid-range.

is 166km drive too much for a 1.2 petrol engine? What are your thoughts?

You have a problem with your cooling system. Get it pressure tested and if you’re lucky it’s a hose, clamp, coolant reservoir or pressure cap. Otherwise you’re looking at a leaking radiator, failed head gasket or a leak in the liners or engine block.

Don’t ignore it.

Any car should do Dublin to Belfast without any concern. You need to get yours sorted now or risk an engine swap or rebuild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭FrankC21

JayZeus wrote: »
    You have a problem with your cooling system. Get it pressure tested and if you’re lucky it’s a hose, clamp, coolant reservoir or pressure cap. Otherwise you’re looking at a leaking radiator, failed head gasket or a leak in the liners or engine block.

Don’t ignore it.

Any car should do Dublin to Belfast without any concern. You need to get yours sorted now or risk an engine swap or rebuild.

Thank you, I did mention it to the mechanic before he change the timing belt & water pump he said that changing the water pump might solve the issue, unfortunately, still there. I've already spent almost 600euro on it bought it for 2K. I guess I'll just drive it from home to work for a year until it gives up.

And Thank you, I have made up my mind, I guess i won't risk it driving it up to belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

As said get the coolong system pressure tested. Most probably some thing small. Then drive it to Kerry and back of you like a 1.2 fiesta should get you anywhere in Ireland without issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭com1

As others have said get it checked. Particularly as the water pump was changed recently. It is probably something simple like a stuck thermostat or leaky pipe. I am a bit surprised the mechanic let it go with a problem still there.

Should be no problem driving anywhere in ireland in that car.

If you are worried and have not gone back to the mech bring a few litres of water with you and check it a couple of times in the journey. Dont open the coolant reservoir when it is hot as hot water and steam may shoot out. Can cause injury.

Do you see any wet spots under the front of the car when parked after a journey?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

FrankC21 wrote: »
    is 166km drive too much for a 1.2 petrol engine? What are your thoughts?

Certainly not, provided you maintain it properly

Previously had a Getz 1.1ltr with 198k miles on the clock. It was a great little runner and got me around the entire country no problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

Not at all to much! strangest question i have seen on boards in a while!
    i regularly drive my 1 litre 06 yaris with 260000km on 450km roundtrips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Pops_20

We have had two Fiesta MK5s in the family, 2007 and 2005. Both great cars and it should have no trouble with that trip.

Regarding the coolant level, have you checked for cracks in the coolant reservoir itself? This is a common problem on these fiestas, and I have replaced it on both of ours as they were leaking.

It's an easy problem to check for yourself and very easy to replace. I put up a post on it here - https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=109417578&postcount=8658

Yes, i drove it around for 15mins and after checked the coolant expansion tank and there it was a leak underneath the tank, I am somewhat relieved that the leak was visible rather than an internal.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Don't try a long hike with a coolant leak.

If the car is healthy however it'll do that spin easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭lalababa

A bit of Scotch tape or the likes might do a temp job depending on the crack/hole, and a couple of large water bottles.
    How would one repair the plastic reservoir? Is there some special stuff? I'd imagine a bit of fiberglass would do. How much for a replacement in breakers yard 5 to 10 euros I suppose.
    I'm not ofey with the particular reservoir but on most smallish cars it's fairly high up in the system and having the radiator topped up but nothing in the reservoir wouldn't really make a jot of difference.

The coolant remains right below the minimum line each time after topping it up and right after driving it for a day. I drove it last weekend from dun laoghaire to sally gap but I did get any engine overheating sign. Should I take chance this weekend and drive it to belfast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭lenoude

The coolant remains right below the minimum line each time after topping it up and right after driving it for a day. I drove it last weekend from dun laoghaire to sally gap but I did get any engine overheating sign. Should I take chance this weekend and drive it to belfast?

Had an 06 myself and driving to Dublin one evening. Was a dry day but at one stage I checked my rear view mirror and you'd think it was lashing. Looked down and the temperature guage shot up so I stopped straight away.

There's no overheating sign on them for that situation as far as I'm aware, if there is it could be too late in regards to damage. My issue turned out to be a ripped coolant pipe.

lenoude wrote: »
    Had an 06 myself and driving to Dublin one evening. Was a dry day but at one stage I checked my rear view mirror and you'd think it was lashing. Looked down and the temperature guage shot up so I stopped straight away.

There's no overheating sign on them for that situation as far as I'm aware, if there is it could be too late in regards to damage. My issue turned out to be a ripped coolant pipe.

Oh :eek: Now I am starting to worry hahaha what did you on that situation? Do you call the insurance?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Oh :eek: Now I am starting to worry hahaha what did you on that situation? Do you call the insurance?

Insurance doesn't cover you for mechanical failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,593 ✭✭✭tossy

They might have breakdown rescue though.

If that happens who will I contact while travelling let say the motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

a ten year old fiesta would drive you to Moscow, it might break down, but then so might a two year old one.

As someone who has regularly driven 30/40 yr old vehicles around Ireland and across the water, I can say the chances are you'll be fine. worry about a breakdown when it happens.

If your Insurance doesn't have breakdown cover, join the AA.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Join the AA or similar. Else you'd be calling a local tow truck to bring you to a mechanic. As poster said above your insurance policy might include breakdown assistance, best check with them.

No it is not included with my insurance I signed up already with the AA should have done it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

OP, it's probably best you go and buy a new car.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Is there a pool under the car in the morning, as this will show there is a leak somewhere when idle.

I'm relation to the journey, wouldn't worry about that distance. As someone who has 2 cars 40+ years old and another 20+ years old, they never give any trouble on long journeys (hopefully not jinxing it!)

ba_barabus wrote: »

Haha i wish atm i am saving money for a mortgage.

antodeco wrote: »
    Is there a pool under the car in the morning, as this will show there is a leak somewhere when idle.

I'm relation to the journey, wouldn't worry about that distance. As someone who has 2 cars 40+ years old and another 20+ years old, they never give any trouble on long journeys (hopefully not jinxing it!)

No pool, it was dry, i drove it around for 15 mins and opened the hood saw that under the coolant expansion tank it was dumped and wet. Used a tissue to wipe it and it was the same colour as the coolant (pink).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Thank you, I did mention it to the mechanic before he change the timing belt & water pump he said that changing the water pump might solve the issue, unfortunately, still there.
    No pool, it was dry, i drove it around for 15 mins and opened the hood saw that under the coolant expansion tank it was dumped and wet. Used a tissue to wipe it and it was the same colour as the coolant (pink).

Have you considered getting a new mechanic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

ba_barabus wrote: »

Exactly. If you can't trust your car, time to get rid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Haha i wish atm i am saving money for a mortgage.

Just remember, you can't drive a house to Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Go Aircoach or train. No worries for you when you factor in the cost of petrol, and if you are that way inclined you can have a bevvy or two also.

I don't think I'd risk it myself, but it's up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Carpentry

gat a rental

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

You could probably just take out the tank and see if there is a crack or leak somewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭lenoude

Actually did, I had breakdown cover and they towed the car to the nearest garage and covered a taxi for the rest of my journey. I've a few uncles that are mechanics so paid for the tow back home after the weekend and they sorted the new hose on it. The part cost FA and was done in minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

I've driven right clunkers , and it's always been coolant problems that have been the problem.

The sense of dread setting out on a long journey (about 100 miles Clonmel-Mullingar) every fortnight or so I still remember, watching the temp gauge obsessively for any excursions above the normal zone.

Then there was a dodgy headlight switch that on one occasion failed at night so I had to drive twenty miles holding the dip stalk to keep the lights on.

Then a faulty heater which was fine except that one morning hitting a patch of freezing fog the windscreen suddenly went white and I finished up stopped on the wrong side of the road.

It's not something I ever want to repeat. The foolishness of youth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,748 ✭✭✭corks finest

FFS no sweat I went from Derry to Romania on a Renault traffic ( heap of crap) and back again in a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Apologies for chiming in late but this does strike as an unusual question. Is it common that people have this idea that smaller/small engined cars can't travel longer distances?

The only issue I'd have with long distances in such a car would be comfort. We drove from London to Holyhead in a brand new Mini (1.6 diesel iirc) a few years ago, funk me my back was ruined after it.

In the OP's case, as pointed out, I'd be more concerned with the mechanical issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

This happened my wife’s 03 fiesta years ago. We had just bought it and got it valeted and serviced, she was driving along and there was no warning until the check engine light started flashing. She pulled in as soon as it was safe but the engine was ruined, leaking coolant pipe was the issue supposedly.

We put in a replacement engine from a breaker and it drove great for years after but op I would strongly recommend bringing it to a competent indie mechanic and get it sorted and tested once and for all. Those fiestas will go forever once you look after them but there is no point taking the risk on a long trip when there is clearly an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 bumders

Just get the coolant tank changed and your good to go. I did 1200 KM a week in a 11 year old Fiat Punto for nearly 18 months.

Yes it's grand now I got the coolant tank changed paid 60euro. There was a crack on the old tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

FFS no sweat I went from Derry to Romania on a Renault traffic ( heap of crap) and back again in a week

Sounds like torture. 7000km roundtrip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

Yes it's grand now I got the coolant tank changed paid 60euro. There was a crack on the old tank.

crack in your tank is a no no. Gards always look there.

This happened my wife’s 03 fiesta years ago. We had just bought it and got it valeted and serviced, she was driving along and there was no warning until the check engine light started flashing. She pulled in as soon as it was safe but the engine was ruined, leaking coolant pipe was the issue supposedly.

We put in a replacement engine from a breaker and it drove great for years after but op I would strongly recommend bringing it to a competent indie mechanic and get it sorted and tested once and for all. Those fiestas will go forever once you look after them but there is no point taking the risk on a long trip when there is clearly an issue.
    I thought in general fiestas were v reliable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Phileas Frog

It's Belfast that they're going to, not Kathmandu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

My wife has had a few Fiestas and they are generally very good, a leaking hosepipe can happen to any car as they get older. She was just unlucky in this case.

Thought so my late mother's never left her down ,cork to Kerry every week,and she didn't spare the horses ,but always had it serviced

Hi guys, I went to belfast and back now in dublin, decided to take the aircoach instead of taking the fiesta but the funny thing was on the way back the fecking bus broke down :D:D the bus aircoach got stuck at the fecking gas service near Dundalk and guess what, a fecking leak coming down at the back of it had to wait for more than an hour for them to get the bus running again ah the irony of it all.

Thinking back I should have driven me fiesta hahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 sunny2012

Hi guys, I went to belfast and back now in dublin, decided to take the aircoach instead of taking the fiesta but the funny thing was on the way back the fecking bus broke down :D:D the bus aircoach got stuck at the fecking gas service near Dundalk and guess what, a fecking leak coming down at the back of it had to wait for more than an hour for them to get the bus running again ah the irony of it all.

https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/liverpool-fan-who-drove-madrid-16376868?!2

sunny2012 wrote: »

https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/liverpool-fan-who-drove-madrid-16376868?!2

Hahaha fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

sunny2012 wrote: »

This was GLXi model, though. Wonder what it stands for, GL - base model, X- zero options added. But (i)njection was something more back in the day :)

God almighty maybe it was just aswell you didn't drive