Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Washing a child's mouth out with soap.

• 26-05-2019 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭

Any opinions on this practice? Acceptable or not? Justified or abuse? Interested to hear some views on this....thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Only if it's followed up by a thick ear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Abuse!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

[ enter Jumanji "What year is it?" meme here ]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,217 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It might be acceptable today if you use green eco vegan friendly soap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

That's lifebuoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

tom_and_jerry__washing_tom_s_mouth_with_soap_by_albertojulian-d5mn9dh.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Haven't heard that saying in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    Haven't heard that saying in years.

Not just a saying. Happened to my son this weekend...planning my response

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Most people use toothpaste these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Any opinions on this practice? Acceptable or not? Justified or abuse? Interested to hear some views on this....thanks

Swear jar would work better.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Happened? So someone actually washed your son's mouth with soap?

I'd be up for murder if someone did that to my child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

"Would be" or "will be" once you plan the responce?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

You'd be out quickly too on a suspended sentence.

Hoboo wrote: »
    Happened? So someone actually washed your son's mouth with soap?

Yes. Weekend away with an organisation
    Trying to compose right now before letting rip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Yes. Weekend away with an organisation
    Trying to compose right now before letting rip

And apart from your little darling how many witnesses do you have? It's not unknown for children, or parents, to lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 incaseiforget

Abuse!
    If my child was assaulted in this manner there would indeed be hell to pay

Del2005 wrote: »
    And apart from your little darling how many witnesses do you have? It's not unknown for children, or parents, to lie.

Fair point. But it was the adult that did it told my wife. Thought she was great until my wife said that's a form of child abuse and you'll be hearing more shortly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

what organisation? what led up to it ? Just wondering what would lead a person to think that they could do that to a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Not acceptable at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Fair point. But it was the adult that did it told my wife. Thought she was great until my wife said that's a form of child abuse and you'll be hearing more shortly.
    Sue them. You'll be on the pig's back in jig time.

fineso.mom wrote: »
    what organisation? what led up to it ? Just wondering what would lead a person to think that they could do that to a child.

Scouts (not in ireland) couple of lads were messing and cursing in the tent. They are nine. Made them eat dish soap. I dont condone them acting the maggot but there are other ways to address. Anyway, found the direct line they have for any safety concerns and they are investigating. The more i think about it the more my blood is boiling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

Scouts (not in ireland) couple of lads were messing and cursing in the tent. They are nine. Made them eat dish soap. I dont condone them acting the maggot but there are other ways to address. Anyway, found the direct line they have for any safety concerns and they are investigating. The more i think about it the more my blood is boiling
    Internal investigations are usually about protecting the organisation, not punishing wrongdoing. This has got to be a criminal act and therefore I would talk to the police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

You'd be better off addressing the problem of your kid's foul mouth. To get that sort of reaction they must have been pretty bad, not just messing.

Thanks for the parenting advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

im no ' liberal bleeding heart kids are angels etc' type of person but this would be completely unacceptable to me.
    cursing - really. how the hell much cursing could anyone do to actually justify an act like that. * sigh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

I'd also get medical advice if it was washing up liquid, as I understand it to have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

recedite wrote: »
    Sue them. You'll be on the pig's back in jig time.
    Especially if they were sitting in a swing at the time.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Completely unacceptable today but not 25 or 35 years ago.

My mum washed my mouth out with soap for uttering the F word when I was about 7. That was 36 years ago. Different times...

I never uttered the F word again in her presence though!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

We'd be better off if you kept your shìt advice to yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Metaphorically yes.

Get them to recite poetry for five mins every time they swear ....that is much better than soap

I recommend Kubla Khan.

Or five mins singing a song with uplifting lyrics of their choice.

Plus a nice dance to get rid of that nasty swearing 'energy' its quite toxic.

Doing it physically is pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Poster was only giving their advice and opinion. Calm down!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Poster was only giving their advice and opinion. Calm down!

Unfortunately her advice is always like that, snide and contrary, irrespective of what the actual subject matter is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

I would consider it child abuse. The person responsible should not be allowed in any position where they have children in their care.

If this is how they feel they can treat other people's children I would be concerned how they treat their own children if they have any.

You said it wasn't in Ireland, in Ireland it could be considered a form of criminal assault (non fatal offences against the person act), no idea what the legal situation would be wherever you are.

Depending on the law where you are I would give serious consideration to making a complaint to your equivalent of TUSLA (social services / child protection) and the police.

If other parents do the same it may be paid more attention to.

I would be concerned also that no other adult there intervened to stop this adult forcing children to eat soap. It points to a very lax organisational attitude to child protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Was it all the kids or just yours?

im no ' liberal bleeding heart kids are angels etc' type of person but this would be completely unacceptable to me.
    cursing - really. how the hell much cursing could anyone do to actually justify an act like that. * sigh*
    I was on a train recently where a child (maybe eight or nine years of age) suddenly yelled "****!", or "**** it!". I was sure I had misheard, because his Mum kept speaking to him as normal. A few minutes later he told her that someone was a "****in muppet", and he wasn't going to sit beside him on a school trip. His Mum barely registered it.

An interesting approach to parenting, I thought. The word itself doesn't bother me in the slightest, I'm sure I said it myself as a kid. But not to an adult, let alone my parents, unless I was after a hiding.

It's more the lack of boundaries that I think is the problem. Children are too small to rationalise why certain actions are bad, and sometimes a clip on the ear (or soap in the mouth -- always thought that was a yank thing) are how you help them rationalise it until they can a rational awareness of social norms.

And I'm not one of those people who say "I was beaten black and blue and it did me no harm". I remember being spanked only once. The very threat of it, or the possibility of it, supplied enough cop-on to usually keep me between the ditches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I grew up knowing the saying, never though it was literal. That's messed up.

Suckit wrote: »
    Was it all the kids or just yours?

3 kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

If only it was done with adults a bit more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

id have never cursed in front of my parents. just wasnt done.
    my son remembers the first time he used the word @unt in front of me. he was 9. had heard it in school that day. hadnt a clue what it meant if anything but out it came.
    i hit no-one but my disappointment and the removal of video games for a week softened his cough:)
    he says he still thinks twice when the urge to use the word occurs especially in my company:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

We were often threatened with that, can't remember my parents ever following through on it though. I wouldn't do it with my own son.

I remember myself and a couple of my siblings used to suck our thumbs, my parents got this nasty-tasting stuff to put on our hands to break us of the habit. I'm kind of glad they did though - they didn't do it with one of my younger sisters, she's a grown adult now and still sucks her thumb (not in public though!), one of her hands is pretty much deformed now as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

In general

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

I'd also get medical advice if it was washing up liquid, as I understand it to have been.

When I was a kid I was curious as to what my tube of bubbles tasted like so I took a little sip. Vomited it all out in my neighbours garden. Didnt tell my parents that I had been sick because even though I was stupid enough to drink the bubbles, I wasn't stupid enough to admit it to anyone.

Anyway moral of the story is washing up liquid will make you very sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Midnight Sundance

I'd have to be pulled off your one for doing that to my son! Your wife has better composure than I probably would have. I dont blame you for being fuming!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,375 ✭✭✭893bet

Look it’s not right but do try and think logically, not emotionally, and deal with it.

No lasting physical harm is done, and maybe your son has learned a lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

I always had the song sang to me' forever blowing bubbles' by my siblings because I was always swearing and had this treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

I just don't think it's at all acceptable to punish a child (and especially someone else's child!) using physical force. And yes, I'd consider this to be physical force - it's compromising the child's bodily integrity. It's as bad (if not worse) than hitting the child, it's a violation of their personal space and safety.

I'm not sure what I'd do in this situation, honestly I'd find it hard not to go for an eye-for-an-eye approach and respond in kind by forcing washing-up liquid into the perpetrator's mouth, see how they like it! :o Ah no, in reality I'd like to think I'd have more self-control. But my son has been raised to feel safe and secure in himself, no adult has ever laid a hand on him in a violent way. Which is how it should be. For someone to compromise his innocence and peace of mind like that ... I'd be devastated and absolutely raging. No one has the right to do that to a child. It's appalling that this happened. I wouldn't let it go lightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

lawred2 wrote: »
    What?

I know! It's fairly hard to believe. What a crazy thing. I cannot even imagine how a person would go about doing such a thing - the logistics of it. Tell them to open mouth and insert soap? And for how long? Move it around? Let it just lie on tongue? Force open mouth by inserting soap? Insert lather rather than soap with a sponge or cloth? Make up soapy mix in water and make them swish? :confused::confused::confused:

FFS it's ridiculous. That person should not be near children. Honestly, the weirdos who end up near children in some of these types of outing situations.

And as for children cursing, while it is not nice for them to curse and should be discouraged firmly, they will naturally curse now and then, especially in a gang messing around. Not everything needs a reaction.

I don't even know what I would do if this was true. The whole legal route would be such a hassle and stress. Just don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Der Stier

Hal3000 wrote: »
    You'd be out quickly too on a suspended sentence.

Depends, if they are a tax paying hard worker, likely they will be f*cked for life.

If they are some dole scrounger bottom feeder, then yeah, out in 6 months..