Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From Zero - family farm will be sold

• 23-05-2019 11:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1

Hi Lads

Just wondering what stories are out there from lads (or lasses) who went from zero. Here’s the background for context:

My grandparents were farmers in Co. Tipperary, small farm c 40 acres, this was left to my uncle now in his mid 70’s. (he has 2 sisters my mother and my aunt, 3 siblings – land\old cottage etc was left 100% to him). He has only ever leased the land and knocked a few trees for firewood. All of his sons and daughters live in or near cities and have never had an interest in farming.

My own story is fairly standard, I went to school, then university and then travelled, then spent a few years in London. I’m back now and in my mid 30’s with wife and 1 daughter. We settled and bought small house and live around 10k from my grandparents land. We both have standard enough jobs, I have not long started in a stable job and am on the cusp of permanency in the public sector (job for life). We have a small amount of savings (<10 k) but that is of course ‘our savings’.

So if and when my uncle passes on (his health is good, so hopefully he has plenty of years left), I’m sure the farm will be left with his children, they won’t farm the land I know that and have never been involved in the upkeep of the place (I’ve always done a bit there since I have been home). So as I see it they will sell the farm and split the money. Fair enough, it’s their inheritance and he would want to leave it to them and is entitled to do so. They will sell it, which I disagree with – but again respect that it is their entitlement to do so.

I think it would be a shame to let it go that way, I am interested and willing to farm it\manage it (part time of course like most these days) and keep it in the family. I have some experience (worked on farms when I was younger, have driven for contractors and have experience with machinery). I'm looking at the teagasc course as an option, I know its a huge commitment and understand the work and stress involved, Im not under estimating anything here) at this point these are the thoughts in my head.

I’m putting my story out there, Just wondering what input or advice anyone who reads this might have or if anyone has a story they would share of the scenario they went through and outcome etc. I know any step would involve the first step of talking to my uncle, he's sound and would be approachable about any subject (he's very good to my mother and they have a good relationship). Then there is legal and financial considerations (I guess try and figure out some a way buy them out is the only real option here).

I have a bit of weight on my shoulders over the thought of it just being sold off so I appreciate any replies here

Thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Farming only makes money if you invest a lot and get the grants. Unless you have a green cert I don't think that you will get the grants and you don't have enough savings to improve the farm.

The other thing is not mix money and family, unless you don't like them already, especially when land is involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Luckysasha

Nothing will split a family quicker than land. One suggestion to put to your 7ncle would be to rent the land out while he is still alive and have a little income from that. 40 acres at roughly 125 ac / year works out at €5000. Your cousins might be happy enough to continue this arrangement after your uncle is gone especially if there is a good enough man farming and looking after the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

There is an old saying OP - "How can you end up with a small fortune through farming" and the answer is "start with a large fortune".

Fair play to you and all. I'd say fire ahead if you ahve the interest and the money and the outside stability in terms of work etc. One thing to think about, although it probably won't be a consideration given your description. There would be a small chance that if he wanted to leave it to one child, and the land was valuable, that that child might want to avail of agricultural relief. This would probably just mean that they would not be selling it for 7 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Irishphotodesk

One thing that popped into my mind is that .... They might consider your idea a potential land grab, you might have the best of intentions but there has been many cases where a farm hand/person claims they have entitlement/agreement to lands following death of land owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭kk.man

I tell u they might have no interest in the land but they will have in the money and they will wants it's full value.
    Ask the uncle anyway it's something you might regret not doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

I wonder what your motivations are here. Why are you so obsessed with this particular farm land? It's not like you have a long career in farming. If you're that keen to get into farming all of a sudden, why don't you rent somewhere? If his children sell off the land, so what, it's none of your business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭dmakc

Ardent wrote: »
    I wonder what your motivations are here. Why are you so obsessed with this particular farm land? It's not like you have a long career in farming. If you're that keen to get into farming all of a sudden, why don't you rent somewhere? If his children sell off the land, so what, it's none of your business.

He's explained his motivations and stated in the event of a sale he respects the children's decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Your only chance is chat with the uncle straight and say you’d have an interest in farming the place on if he were to leave it to you.

He could run you out the gate like a stray dog, which incidentally might be best for you in the long run.

You could make a claim against the place after his death, have a solicitor work up the value of the hours you’ve spent workin and fixing the place up, put that to them and maybe offer to add balance of cash to buy it, not popular but it does happen.

If your talking abkut straight buying 40ac of land in Tipp I think it’s a pipe dream that will be a millstone round your family’s neck just when you need money for school for kids etc.
    It won’t make enough (or any) profit to make its own payments and so you’ll be working your full time job to throw the money into the farm, 15 years of tuatnis a long time.

If you’ve the graw to be involved in farming maybe learn to donreleif milking and that would run alongside your job by doing weekend milkings, it would actually increase your overall income rather than reduce it.

There it is as I see it, it’s not nice but that’s my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

If you don't have the money then it's a bit of a pipe dream.

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Nothing like land to cause a rift in a family.
    Heard about a case recently, bachelor farmer dies, having made a will.
    Divided the land between two nephews (leaving it no good to either) the stock to a third, and divided the entitlements out to nieces and grand neices.
    One woman in London got a letter from the Executor that she was now the owner of 3 entitlements and what her options were regarding them..
    It was as if the letter was in a foreign language!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Nothing like land to cause a rift in a family.
    Heard about a case recently, bachelor farmer dies, having made a will.
    Divided the land between two nephews (leaving it no good to either) the stock to a third, and divided the entitlements out to nieces and grand neices.
    One woman in London got a letter from the Executor that she was now the owner of 3 entitlements and what her options were regarding them..
    It was as if the letter was in a foreign language!

Nothing stopping one, or both, of the fellas who got left the land from buying some of the rest of them out. I'd say that the people who are moaning about what was left to them being no good to them wouldn't be too quick about waiving their inheritance rights (which they can do if they choose to do so) and also wouldn't have been too happy had they themselves been left nothing and it all been left to another single individual.