Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Age tax over 40’s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Erik Shun

bri007 wrote: »
    Talking about this tonight on the tonight show, also on the indo today;

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/irish-news/health/call-for-agetax-on-over40s-to-defuse-care-timebomb-38104677.html

Just after getting a mortgage myself, I’ll be 40 in a few years, already taxed to the hilt and pretty much broke I don’t think I could afford another tax.

Is this a fair tax or justified?

Shut up and pay your dues old man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I’m watching it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

bri007 wrote: »
    Talking about this tonight on the tonight show, also on the indo today;

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/irish-news/health/call-for-agetax-on-over40s-to-defuse-care-timebomb-38104677.html

Just after getting a mortgage myself, I’ll be 40 in a few years, already taxed to the hilt and pretty much broke I don’t think I could afford another tax.

Is this a fair tax or justified?

I think its unfair.

Plus at that age you are more likely to have kids etc.

I think any govt that introduces it is doomed imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I've made provision for my retirement. This planning includes pensions, property, and continuing to work on my own terms. Not because I anticipate having to continue working, but because I want to.

I'm fully in favour of the proposition, but only for people who haven't yet put anything in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭bri007

I agree. We are thinking of having children in the next year or so, but we were looking at finances and decided to hold off a year or so.

Then we hear this tonight and to be honest if this came in and it was costly we would highly consider not having children.
    I think its unfair.

Plus at that age you are more likely to have kids etc.

I think any govt that introduces it is doomed imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Bring back full college tuition fees, problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭NaFirinne

I think most people in their 40's would have a young family to look after and take care of.

I see this making life harder for those families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Everyone pays that tax here in Germany, don't know why they would wait until you are 40 before paying it. It is collected alongside the mandatory health insurance. It's only costs me around €40 month, not exactly a lot to be complaining about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭nlrkjos

What bothers me about this is the word "ringfenced", does not happen in Ireland, some gobshyte politician will pump it into a pet project coming up to elections, or it will be plundered like the "private pension fund" when the next recession is forced upon us!! and if I have to pay this, will I be subsidising some useless layabout signing the dole for years ?

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Bring back full college tuition fees, problem solved.
    I doubt it.
    We already have the second highest tuition fees in all of europe.

https://www.thejournal.ie/college-fees-ireland-3675177-Nov2017/

Anyway in the majority of cases who pays for that? Parents over forty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

They have chosen their targets well with regards to potential opposition.
    Nobody is going to launch a Twitter campaign for the unfashionable over-40yr old worker.

NaFirinne wrote: »
    I think most people in their 40's would have a young family to look after and take care of.

I see this making life harder for those families.

I think it would push some over the edge.

I don't think they should have it for married people.

Against it in general but definitely not for families.

Your Face wrote: »
    They have chosen their targets well with regards to potential opposition.
    Nobody is going to launch a Twitter campaign for the unfashionable over-40yr old worker.

I will.:mad:

And I am their worst nightmare.

You like people who get up early for work do ya Leo? ME BOLLIX!

You are gonna have to eat your words now aren't ye! And me Bollix!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,446 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Gay man who knows nothing about family leading the country and then there's this ****. Colour me not shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,578 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

If I promise to die early do I still have to pay this?

Absolutely not. I hate the idea.

My reading of it is that it amounts to nothing more than a transfer of wealth from workers to the relatives of a deceased person. Granny and Grandad will no longer have to sell their home under the Fair Deal scheme for nursing homes, so the family still get to inherit it, but you and I pay for their Granny or Granddad's nursing home.

In other words, workers will now be paying for the right of families to inherit property, while such workers may themselves be unable to get a mortgage.

It's a No from me. If you need the State to pay for your nursing home, you must pay for part of it yourself, you don't need your own home.

Whack another 30% on top of the inheritance tax while we're at it, Paschal.

kowloon wrote: »
    If I promise to die early do I still have to pay this?

Gosh this is really dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭CosmicFool

eagle eye wrote: »
    Gay man who knows nothing about family leading the country and then there's this ****. Colour me not shocked.

Because straight men know everything about Family. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I doubt it.
    We already have the second highest tuition fees in all of europe.

https://www.thejournal.ie/college-fees-ireland-3675177-Nov2017/

Anyway in the majority of cases who pays for that? Parents over forty!

Eh...that’s the idea...otherwise you can’t tax based on age, it’s discriminatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,578 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Gosh this is really dark.

But cost effective :D

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Eh...that’s the idea...otherwise you can’t tax based on age, it’s discriminatory.
    OAPs who work into their retirement pay way less income tax than younger workers.

If you're married and you're an OAP, you can earn 36k without paying any income tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

jester77 wrote: »
    Everyone pays that tax here in Germany, don't know why they would wait until you are 40 before paying it. It is collected alongside the mandatory health insurance. It's only costs me around €40 month, not exactly a lot to be complaining about.

That's in a population ten times larger than ours. We don't have the same economic mass as theirs.

Stovepipe wrote: »
    That's in a population ten times larger than ours. We don't have the same economic mass as theirs.
    Notwithstanding arguments about economies of scale, I assume the same proportion of people grow old in Germany over the long term. So s/he probably has a point that it 'works'.

I think this proposal would work, I just think it's unfair. Let the assets of the elderly pay for their needs, and we as a society will cover any shortfall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

I pay a lot of tax for benefits that go to other people. This would be more of the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,810 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

You can't touch the entitlements of the "grey vote", but you can have a go at the "about to be grey" set because they're already taking the hits for everyone else and don't have the time or energy to protest.

They should look at a superannuation system like Australia. Suspicious of a tax that could go to fund anything.

I think it would push some over the edge.

I don't think they should have it for married people.

Against it in general but definitely not for families.

Not everyone with a family is married. It's not the 1950s.

But it's ok for single people? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

why 40? everyone gets old, surely it makes sense to allow for this from the very earliest stage instead of arbitrarily selecting an age. And won't it also fail on discrimination grounds?

Cut the children's allowance after the first child to 0 and use this to pay for it instead

why 40? everyone gets old, surely it makes sense to allow for this from the very earliest stage instead of arbitrarily selecting an age. And won't it also fail on discrimination grounds?

Cut the children's allowance after the first child to 0 and use this to pay for it instead

Utterly. And i think your last statement demonstrates the utter ridiculousness of the plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

If this was being brought up or even discussed by politicians, it would be newsworthy, but it's not, and it's not. Any organisation can write a 'report'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

They are doing it wrong. On the appointed Lastday we report to the Sleepshop. Age to be determined by our beloved overlords.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

Spot the under 40s who think "sure that's ages away"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Might as well just do a "Logan's run" and euthanize everyone at 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Vote4Napoleon

I think when I get to 40 I'll just identify as a 39 year old forever after dat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭tjhook

It's been mentioned that the over-40s are most likely to have young families to support. What's also true is that this age group is also likely to have elderly parents to support in their frail years.

Also, let's narrow the tax base further. We already have a third of workers paying no income tax. Ideally, all income tax should be paid by one super-rich person. We just need to form a mob to identify this person...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

What assets? we are stripping the elderly of assets and any means to create any.

I can see mass emigration in years to come. It will be just too expensive to live here and have mediocre standard of living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Squeezing the squeezed middle again. We have nothing left to squeeze!

And all the young wans on this who applaud this idea, you will be 40 soon, the years fly mark my words.

I'd be interested to know what the Germans get in return for this extra tax. What's the health service like? Infrastructure? How much for water, bins, "road tax", VRT, do they have USC over there? What are we getting for our PRSI compared to Germany?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

You can't touch the entitlements of the "grey vote", but you can have a go at the "about to be grey" set because they're already taking the hits for everyone else and don't have the time or energy to protest.

They should look at a superannuation system like Australia. Suspicious of a tax that could go to fund anything.

The over seventies are spoiled rotten ( and had no recession) but until the younger generations cop on to this, we will continue to bend over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭tjhook

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    The over seventies are spoiled rotten ( and had no recession) but until the younger generations cop on to this, we will continue to bend over

I'm far from young, but I do pity those starting out in careers now. They're paying heavily to provide entitlements to the elderly, without any hope that such entitlements will be available to themselves when they reach that age.

We should be as generous as we can to the elderly. But it needs to be sustainable, and consider the future elderly as well as today's elderly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

tjhook wrote: »
    I'm far from young, but I do pity those starting out in careers now. They're paying heavily to provide entitlements to the elderly, without any hope that such entitlements will be available to themselves when they reach that age.

We should be as generous as we can to the elderly. But it needs to be sustainable, and consider the future elderly as well as today's elderly.
    They will pay something but what they should be thinking is that paying into a fund early means they will be OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

beauf wrote: »
    What assets? we are stripping the elderly of assets and any means to create any.

I can see mass emigration in years to come. It will be just too expensive to live here and have mediocre standard of living.

This is one way for Varadkar, Coveney, and "Allahu Akbar" Zappone to follow through on the plan to "undermine national homogeneity" in Ireland. Make it too expensive for the workers/contributors to live and die here, but at the same time increase the mass importations from outside the EU.

It will be interesting when the welfare bubble in this country finally bursts from the unsustainable load.

Mad_maxx wrote: »

Self-interest, pulling up the ladder and pitting generations against each other seems to be a fact of life here. A mindset that following generations never had it so good and will never grow old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

eagle eye wrote: »

The report is from an advocacy group that deals with care for elderly people and has nothing to do with the government but I suppose that's not going to stop some people taking any opportunity they can to have a pop at Varadkar over his sexuality. Colour me not shocked...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

BuboBubo wrote: »
    Squeezing the squeezed middle again. We have nothing left to squeeze!

And all the young wans on this who applaud this idea, you will be 40 soon, the years fly mark my words.

I'd be interested to know what the Germans get in return for this extra tax. What's the health service like? Infrastructure? How much for water, bins, "road tax", VRT, do they have USC over there? What are we getting for our PRSI compared to Germany?

You can find out what they get here

Health Service is good, compared to Ireland. But everyone has to pay into it, 15% of your salary for public insurance, or a fixed amount if you go private. I pay €550 a month for private just for myself as it is cheaper than public, kids are a few hundred each extra.

My water costs €175 a month, that covers cold and warm water piped into the house and the disposal of water. The warm water is also used for the underfloor heating so that heating of the house is covered by this.

Bins are €25 a month, "road tax" is €160 a year, property tax is €850 a year, TV license €210 a year, they are just a few of the bills if you want to compare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Self-interest, pulling up the ladder and pitting generations against each other seems to be a fact of life here. A mindset that following generations never had it so good and will never grow old.

I recall in 2009 when both students and pensioners marched to the Dail, evening news had a shot of a student and pensioner shaking hands

That was the moment I knew spoiling pensioners would be supported by everyone, government have acted on this ever since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

nlrkjos wrote: »
    What bothers me about this is the word "ringfenced", does not happen in Ireland, some gobshyte politician will pump it into a pet project coming up to elections, or it will be plundered like the "private pension fund" when the next recession is forced upon us!! and if I have to pay this, will I be subsidising some useless layabout signing the dole for years ?

I hate financial waste as much as the next person but you're not funding the dole as much as the bank bailout in Ireland. You're thinking of the wrong class of people.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Irelands big issue when it comes to tax in this country is that there is no visibility where our tax euros go.

If there were details reports on every euro collected from income, VAT, VRT, motor tax, companies tax, prsi, usc etc and where they are being spent in detail not just broad figures, people would be more willing to give up small amounts to benefit the country and them in the long term.

But as someone said earlier, it's one big melting pot ripe for the picking for some politicians pet project with little to no benefit to the country as a whole.

Just look at the latest cluster fcuk by an Irish government, the national broadband plan. Whoever in their right mind ever thought that whole setup where some private firm benefits to the tune of hundreds of millions per year with pretty much zero risk while the tax payer coughs up billions to subsidise them was deluded.

So if we could see what exactly is being spent on healthcare, education, transport, housing etc and see if we are getting value for money and the money managers in those areas being held responsible for their revenues and spending, then people may not be do against yet another tax which disappears into the black hole of the government coffers.

I know governments cant be run like across the board like a business, as in you chop the unprofitable bits such as rural public transport etc, these are necessary and must never be sacrificed but there have to be efficiencies in some areas to be made and more transparency.

Some obvious ones:

Healthcare: an end to the HSE old boys club and a clean start. Proper accountability and a cleaning from top down of management. The whole scandal around the new children's hospital is a complete disgrace, people being left on trolleys for days, dead bodies decomposing because of no proper facilities, cases in the courts of medical negligence almost weekly, but no admission of guilt of course. C'mon, that's a bloody joke.

Rents/property prices: Limits, simple as. It works in almost every country in Europe except here. No more hiking of rents because they can. Proper oversight and management of estate agents, vulture funds, banks over priced mortgages and developers building substandard developments for hyper inflated prices. Offer people long term rental agreements with proper protection in place. No more developers having politicians in their pockets. If they are exposed, they are done. Only deterrent is jail time and assets seized. No more tribunals with zero accountability yet millions being spent, you get caught with your hand in the cookie jar, you're done buddy.

Transport/Roads: A proper transport system in place for all. Reduce the number of cars on the roads, more buses, trains, trams. Get rid of motor tax, put it on petrol and diesel. You drive more you pay more with provisions for those who work in the transport sector so as not to bankrupt them. More incentives for hybrids or electric cars. Proper cycle ways to make it safer to commute via bicycle.

Insurance: Limit payouts. A proper database of claimants. If you're a serial false claimer, you are done. Proper jail time. Threats of 10 years plus. If you're risking going to jail for 60k, you deserve to spend time in prison.

Employment: A proper apprenticeship scheme like they have in Switzerland. You can train to be anything from a painter to an accounting technician using an apprenticeship. If you want to go further, you can do professional exams during employment to progress in your career.

Unemployment: no more gravy train for long term able bodied unemployed. If you want the dole, you do 20 hours a week of employment. Cleaning public facilities, gardening in parks, maintaining public areas, picking up rubbish on beaches etc. As county council staff in these areas retire, they are back filled with unemployed. The work is done, but in return for unemployment benefit. You dont turn up, your unemployment is deducted. You have mobile check in systems and proper management linked to the public services card.

Childcare/Education: How any government thinks its suitable for couples to spend a single income on childcare each month is crazy. The alternative, dont work so less income, less spending power, less tax coming into the government. They are bleating on about how our population is getting older and less workers to provide tax to cover their costs. That's because it's too expensive to have children. If people do have children, they are having fewer and having them when older, so children are only coming into the work force when they are retiring. Education is becoming more expensive, high accommodation costs for children at college is actually forcing some to drop out of college.

Jaysus that was some rant. Was only trying to make a point about more visibility with taxes and government spending :D

Deep breath, now back to work to pay more taxes :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Irelands big issue when it comes to tax in this country is that there is no visibility where our tax euros go.

If there were details reports on every euro collected from income, VAT, VRT, motor tax, companies tax, prsi, usc etc and where they are being spent in detail not just broad figures, people would be more willing to give up small amounts to benefit the country and them in the long term.

But as someone said earlier, it's one big melting pot ripe for the picking for some politicians pet project with little to no benefit to the country as a whole.

Just look at the latest cluster fcuk by an Irish government, the national broadband plan. Whoever in their right mind ever thought that whole setup where some private firm benefits to the tune of hundreds of millions per year with pretty much zero risk while the tax payer coughs up billions to subsidise them was deluded.

So if we could see what exactly is being spent on healthcare, education, transport, housing etc and see if we are getting value for money and the money managers in those areas being held responsible for their revenues and spending, then people may not be do against yet another tax which disappears into the black hole of the government coffers.

I know governments cant be run like across the board like a business, as in you chop the unprofitable bits such as rural public transport etc, these are necessary and must never be sacrificed but there have to be efficiencies in some areas to be made and more transparency.

Some obvious ones:

Healthcare: an end to the HSE old boys club and a clean start. Proper accountability and a cleaning from top down of management. The whole scandal around the new children's hospital is a complete disgrace, people being left on trolleys for days, dead bodies decomposing because of no proper facilities, cases in the courts of medical negligence almost weekly, but no admission of guilt of course. C'mon, that's a bloody joke.

Rents/property prices: Limits, simple as. It works in almost every country in Europe except here. No more hiking of rents because they can. Proper oversight and management of estate agents, vulture funds, banks over priced mortgages and developers building substandard developments for hyper inflated prices. Offer people long term rental agreements with proper protection in place. No more developers having politicians in their pockets. If they are exposed, they are done. Only deterrent is jail time and assets seized. No more tribunals with zero accountability yet millions being spent, you get caught with your hand in the cookie jar, you're done buddy.

Transport/Roads: A proper transport system in place for all. Reduce the number of cars on the roads, more buses, trains, trams. Get rid of motor tax, put it on petrol and diesel. You drive more you pay more with provisions for those who work in the transport sector so as not to bankrupt them. More incentives for hybrids or electric cars. Proper cycle ways to make it safer to commute via bicycle.

Insurance: Limit payouts. A proper database of claimants. If you're a serial false claimer, you are done. Proper jail time. Threats of 10 years plus. If you're risking going to jail for 60k, you deserve to spend time in prison.

Employment: A proper apprenticeship scheme like they have in Switzerland. You can train to be anything from a painter to an accounting technician using an apprenticeship. If you want to go further, you can do professional exams during employment to progress in your career.

Unemployment: no more gravy train for long term able bodied unemployed. If you want the dole, you do 20 hours a week of employment. Cleaning public facilities, gardening in parks, maintaining public areas, picking up rubbish on beaches etc. As county council staff in these areas retire, they are back filled with unemployed. The work is done, but in return for unemployment benefit. You dont turn up, your unemployment is deducted. You have mobile check in systems and proper management linked to the public services card.

Childcare/Education: How any government thinks its suitable for couples to spend a single income on childcare each month is crazy. The alternative, dont work so less income, less spending power, less tax coming into the government. They are bleating on about how our population is getting older and less workers to provide tax to cover their costs. That's because it's too expensive to have children. If people do have children, they are having fewer and having them when older, so children are only coming into the work force when they are retiring. Education is becoming more expensive, high accommodation costs for children at college is actually forcing some to drop out of college.

Jaysus that was some rant. Was only trying to make a point about more visibility with taxes and government spending :D

Deep breath, now back to work to pay more taxes :(

I agree with everything you said. In particular in relation to the health service being an old boy's club. I remember when the HSE was hiring temporary workers and all four of the positions available went to sons and daughters of HSE managers. Honest hard working people are funding these clubs. It has to stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    Employment: A proper apprenticeship scheme like they have in Switzerland. You can train to be anything from a painter to an accounting technician using an apprenticeship. If you want to go further, you can do professional exams during employment to progress in your career.(

Just on this point, this is already happening...

http://www.apprenticeship.ie/en/apprentice/Pages/ApprenticeInfo.aspx

http://www.apprenticeship.ie/en/news/Pages/List%20of%20Apprenticeships%20in%20Ireland%20-%20Generation%20Apprenticeship%202nd%20May.pdf

CosmicFool wrote: »
    Because straight men know everything about Family. :rolleyes:

well he clearly doesn't give a toss about women after going back on his word and dragging them through court after the cervical smear debacle, so yes maybe amongst other things he knows less about family than he could or would care to know. he's too busy creating pro gov facebook accounts and lying about hospital, broadband and metro prices the posh scab!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

That’s just a shock story by an unheard of group to try get some attention.

In Ireland we work a community rating policy to avoid specific groups being targeted with unbalanced charges.

Taxing people because of their age would never happen, never.

It’s just attention seeking to suggest stupid stuff like this.