Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We're loaded with cocaine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

How any guard especially a Chief Supt can think Cocaine use is more problematic than Heroin use is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Suitable username is suitable.

Just read that. Mad, really. So that is what you're all on, eh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Coke is as endemic as booze for nights out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Ferajacka

First step to resolving a problem is admitting there is a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

How any guard especially a Chief Supt can think Cocaine use is more problematic than Heroin use is beyond me.
    It's the ubiquitousness and that "recreational" drug use thing he was on about and the huge profits that come out of cocaine. A whole lot of "normal" people see nothing wrong with an occasional line or two but they wouldn't ever go near needles.

Ah, probably a lot more low level trouble as a result of coke.. fights etc..
    And it is endemic really now..
    And it ruins people.. even if they don't get too bad on it.. It sucks the enjoyment out of life in it's absence.. Destroys the dopamine system..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭KikiLaRue

The boom is back, baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

It’s grand the odd time, but I don’t really get the hype around it to be honest. Take too much of it and you get a nasty case of coke cock as well - even more severe than brewer’s droop.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭SouthDublin6w

KikiLaRue wrote: »
    The boom is back, baby.

Does that mean the ****e coke is back being dished our cause those with the dollar and the habit don’t know the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,865 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

McCrack wrote: »
    According to a Chief Supt we are:-

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/garda-chief-superintendent-warning-ireland-is-loaded-with-cocaine-we-will-lose-a-generation-of-young-people-if-we-dont-tackle-it-as-a-health-issue-38102830.html

He's probably right tbh, it does seems to be more pure and available than ever however I'm not convinced we're going to "lose a generation" over it. The vast majority of people that use coke recreational are functioning and will not develop problems. Obviously there are going to be people that develop dependency or health problems or in extreme cases death from it but for most people that thankfully will not arise.

It's a problem if you look on it as a problem and the drug trade does cause misery but losing a generation.. I just don't buy that

I doubt if you are qualified medically to make this assessment. If it is pure cocaine as you claim, it is dangerous stuff.

https://www.vice.com/en_uk/article/zmbkay/what-100-percent-pure-cocaine-actually-does-to-you

I doubt if you are qualified medically to make this assessment. If it is pure cocaine as you claim, it is dangerous stuff.

https://www.vice.com/en_uk/article/zmbkay/what-100-percent-pure-cocaine-actually-does-to-you
    He said 'more' pure.

Ireland has a deserved reputation for having shïte coke. I've never heard anyone say it's improved, maybe McCrack has a better dealer.

PM me McCrack

Take me to your dealer op!

He said 'more' pure.

Ireland has a deserved reputation for having shïte coke. I've never heard anyone say it's improved, maybe McCrack has a better dealer.

PM me McCrack

More pure is a meaningless phrase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,209 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

You can go to a pub do a line or two and have a normal night out, you can go into work and do a days work interspersed with the odd sniff and get away with it, same with your kids communion day or whatever social occasion and function normally. Heroin, no.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

More pure is a meaningless phrase.

Would you prefer "less impure"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,217 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Coke an hookers are everywhere!

Would you prefer "less impure"?

Or less contaminated. But to make any sense we would need to know how the percentages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

It's true. In some places in Dublin it can be easier to get a bag of coke delivered than Tescos shopping or get a taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,660 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

El_Bee wrote: »
    Coke is as endemic as booze for nights out now.

Is it really?

Maybe I am completely out of the loop or in different circles, but I am a 35yo male living in Dublin, and I do not know anyone of my friends or colleagues that use it, or at least are public about it.

So is it widely used but discreetly, or am I the anomaly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭hgfj

What's the average price for a gram of coke these days?

retalivity wrote: »
    Is it really?

Maybe I am completely out of the loop or in different circles, but I am a 35yo male living in Dublin, and I do not know anyone of my friends or colleagues that use it, or at least are public about it.

No mate they use it they are just afraid to share the patsy. Don’t worry just storm in when they are having a slash you’ll get urself a bump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

hgfj wrote: »

With or without a hooker ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

It seems to bring out the cnut in people.

Is it really?

Try asking them. It doesn't have any real stigma so they'll probably tell you honestly.

Whoever said it's as endemic as booze is obviously taking the piss but I bet you know plenty who do it. It's common across every social class too, and i don't know because I wasn't around for all of the last boom, but I think that's new.
    About 100 euro. Waste of money, you might as well snort the hundred quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

Yep Coke is the stuff of the devil..... no one ever knows you are using it, it give you a little pick me up in the afternoon and has zero impact on the persons ability to function normally....

41NZjtqw9nL.jpg

60 for street, 100 for flake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I must be the most boring person on earth, never even saw someone else do a line, never mind snort one myself

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    I must be the most boring person on earth, never even saw someone else do a line, never mind snort one myself

Lines are old now mate. It’s a bump everyone is doing, bank card or coin into the bag but on the side up the snitzel. The stuffs ****e your better off not near it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Ah, probably a lot more low level trouble as a result of coke.. fights etc.. And it is endemic really now.. And it ruins people.. even if they don't get too bad on it.. It sucks the enjoyment out of life in it's absence.. Destroys the dopamine system..

Plus guys are killing each other to control the market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Zorya wrote: »
    Suitable username is suitable.

Just read that. Mad, really. So that is what you're all on, eh.

Cocaine, obviously :)

Seriously, though, it's not the most dangerous drug out there. Not all its, eh - cracked up to be....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

About 60-80 where I am (Berlin)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I'd disagree. You have methadone for heroin. With coke, there's no maintainance. But in reality, drug abuse is a medical/societal issue rather than an criminal problem. Alcohol is a menace as well. It's about support services as well. I'm a psych pharmacist if that means anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Our Gardai will now start wearing pastel suits and drive confiscated supercars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Is it really?

I'd say regular use of it is most commonplace among under 30s. Older than that and it's more of a special occasion thing.

I think a big part of the problem is combining it with booze.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

But from the deep web. Same price but quality is way higher. Postman drops into your door

Blueshoe wrote: »
    But from the deep web. Same price but quality is way higher. Postman drops into your door

Only thing dropping into your door is the Kevin street drug squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,420 ✭✭✭✭rob316

It's absolutely huge, I could have a gram to my door in ten mins it's as easy to get as going to the off licence. It's still crazy expensive though in comparison to other countries. 100 a gram here, about 50 in Spain.

I was in the 3 arena for a show recently the amount of lads queuing for the cubicles was unreal. They all weren't queuing to take a **** you can be sure.

Sniff sniff

Only thing dropping into your door is the Kevin street drug squad.

How wrong you are. I laughed a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Stoner wrote: »
    Plus guys are killing each other to control the market

This would be the main ethical consideration against doing cocaine for me: the fact that loads of innocent people are being murdered in drug wars in south and central America in the trade of the stuff. Plus the environmental impact.

For those that still fancy a blast, ketamine is the less anti-social option: most of the ketamine in Ireland is medical-grade, sourced through official channels (albeit in dodgy ways). So rather than funding gangsters in Dublin and drug murders in Juarez, you're just helping out some vet who has made some poor some poor life choices...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

Had a great chat with the 18yr old nephew about this.. it wasn’t a thing when I was that age, well it was bit very far away from my reality.

We are from a wealthy enough town, the kids have money in their back pockets. My nephew told me coke is the same as drink to his friends. He admitting trying it and not liking it, his circle of friends has split down the middle over it.. those that do and those that don’t.

He is in leaving cert, two of his class mates have been shipped off after Christmas for ‘interventions’
    Half the class take downers to make it into school and uppers to keep them awake during class.. get half right by Monday evening and start all over again Friday evening.

One of his friends was setting up for professional golf.. he hasn’t played since last year now, can’t commit to the early starts.. he has spent his college fund and more, his parents are unaware, children allowance has always been in his name as savings.. remember these are wealthy families.. their kids will do the right thing and no issue having the allowance mandated to little Jonny’s account for college’

Trust me if it’s like this in my sleepy town everywhere else must be as bad surely. My nephew is great, too fond of the girls to be bothered with it but Christ it’s hard not to worry about him and his friends when it’s in a plate like this in front of them. I’m no prude, tried a lot in my day but coke was always a step too far..

How wrong you are. I laughed a little.

Well you’d wanna talk to the lads who bought the grenades from pimlico or your man who bought the gun from blanch. Oh wait you can’t they are in portlaoise prison

gogo wrote: »
    Had a great chat with the 18yr old nephew about this.. it wasn’t a thing when I was that age, well it was bit very far away from my reality.

We are from a wealthy enough town, the kids have money in their back pockets. My nephew told me coke is the same as drink to his friends. He admitting trying it and not liking it, his circle of friends has split down the middle over it.. those that do and those that don’t.

He is in leaving cert, two of his class mates have been shipped off after Christmas for ‘interventions’
    Half the class take downers to make it into school and uppers to keep them awake during class.. get half right by Monday evening and start all over again Friday evening.

One of his friends was setting up for professional golf.. he hasn’t played since last year now, can’t commit to the early starts.. he has spent his college fund and more, his parents are unaware, children allowance has always been in his name as savings.. remember these are wealthy families.. their kids will do the right thing and no issue having the allowance mandated to little Jonny’s account for college’

Trust me if it’s like this in my sleepy town everywhere else must be as bad surely. My nephew is great, too fond of the girls to be bothered with it but Christ it’s hard not to worry about him and his friends when it’s in a plate like this in front of them. I’m no prude, tried a lot in my day but coke was always a step too far..

In Dublin he’d be even more popular with the girls if he had a bag.

Well you’d wanna talk to the lads who bought the grenades from pimlico or your man who bought the gun from blanch. Oh wait you can’t they are in portlaoise prison

What! Totally different things.
    Don't overestimate the abilities of the Garda or customs.

Sure if the place is flooded with cocaine how is it getting in? We don't produce it in Ireland. Nor do we make guns. Yet they are here.
    Silly individual

What! Totally different things.
    Don't overestimate the abilities of the Garda or customs.

Sure if the place is flooded with cocaine how is it getting in? We don't produce it in Ireland. Nor do we make guns. Yet they are here.
    Silly individual

Hang on a second you think the supply of cocaine is through the dark web your on ****ing serious drugs if you think that.

I’d say it’s more got to do with the tankers floating into cork, and you call me silly.

Someone call the hospital a patient has his phone.

Hang on a second you think the supply of cocaine is through the dark web your on ****ing serious drugs if you think that.

I’d say it’s more got to do with the tankers floating into cork, and you call me silly.

Someone call the hospital a patient has his phone.

No I'm saying if enough cocaine and drugs to feed the country can come through checkpoints and port security then don't think it's too difficult to get a small bit through the post. Do you realise how much mail goes through sorting centres everyday.

Packages are probably profiled due to the senders address and the look of the package. But people don't buy from the Netherlands or Peru.
    This is going on years in many many countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Gorgeousgeorge

I always knew it was about never bothered me each to their own an that until i was on a stag recently and 80% of the lads on it were flat out like henry hoovers for the weekend. A straightener they called it!

To be fair it seemed to take them out of the drunken stooper and put a gallop in their step for the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

It’s rife, every cubicle you go into spot the baggy shoved down the back of the cistern or behind the toilet on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Is it really?

Well my experience has been the opposite unfortunately, the vast majority of people I know are perfectly fine with a doing a few bumps/lines on a night out, but then I do live in a ****hole. Also and this is of course merely rumour and tattle but the great and good are apparently powdering their noses in large numbers, famous sports stars, tv hosts ,and politicians all (allegedly) putting money in the pockets of violent drug dealers :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

If it makes people feel good, let them. Their body, their choice. The whole "it funds criminality" thing is a total red herring since it's only because of the moronic policy of prohibition that there's any link at all between organised crime and recreational drugs.

gogo wrote: »

That's extraordinary. Especially it being common knowledge what the golfer is doing, but his parents not knowing. And the school should be doing something about rife drug taking amongst students. Schools have policies on drug taking.