Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

54km/h in 50km/h zone

• 06-05-2019 9:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭

I passed through a Garda speed trap this morning and my speedo was saying that my speed was 54km/h and I was in a 50km/h zone.

I know that the speed shown in the speedo is usually low compared to the real speed, meaning that the 54km/h will most likely mean around 52km/h.

What are my chance of a receiving a speeding fine? Also how accurate is the handheld speed gadget used but the Gardai?

In the check point, there was a Gardai with a handheld speed gun directed towards uncoming drivers, and another Gardai opposite to him with what appears to be a mobile phone taking pictures. Since this is a handheld speed gun , do they need to stop the cars driving over the speed limit in order to issue a fine or they can send it through the post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Download a GPS speedo app for your phone and do a steady indicated 54kmph on your own speedo, I would guess you’ll be around 48kmph.

Also if it was a handheld unit, they’d usually try and stop you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭Amouar

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Download a GPS speedo app for your phone and do a steady indicated 54kmph on your own speedo, I would guess you’ll be around 48kmph.

Also if it was a handheld unit, they’d usually try and stop you.

Is there any tolerance in terms of speed limits? would they fine someone clocked at 52km/h in a 50km/h zone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

You won't hear a thing about it.... They would have stopped you.

If it were the gatso van that be a different story.

Was it a hand held gun? You're ok if it was I'd imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,971 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Amouar wrote: »
    Is there any tolerance in terms of speed limits?
    Officially - no.
    would they fine someone clocked at 52km/h in a 50km/h zone?
    Solely up to their discretion, but in fact you'd have to act really weird to be done. ;)

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    Was it a hand held gun? You're ok if it was I'd imagine

Yes, a handheld gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Juanito13

Yes, a handheld gun.

You’re grand so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

You won't hear a thing about it.... They would have stopped you.

If it were the gatso van that be a different story.
    I knew of people being done for 51 kph before common sense prevailed. Apart from a likely lower actual speed as stated above how are you so sure a a Gatso would have been different?

is_that_so wrote: »
    I knew of people being done for 51 kph before common sense prevailed. Apart from a likely lower actual speed as stated above how are you so sure a a Gatso would have been different?

Because it takes a photo and you receive fine in the post.

There is a % either way but more likely to be done.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Do they not have a % tolerance they subtract before issuing a fine for being 1km over the limit?

Here is the video:

I'm not sure why they other Gardai is using his mobile phone. Maybe just to take a picture of the other Gardai at work?

Here is the video:

I'm not sure why they other Gardai is using his mobile phone. Maybe just to take a picture of the other Gardai at work?

Photo to put up on twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You’re going to jail.

Yes, a handheld gun.

You're alright then. They need to peruse you which they obviously didn't.

You’re going to jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

If it were a hand held gun then it's radar so they would have pulled you over as there is no camera on the hand held guns. If they had a camera it would be fixed on a tripod. The other Garda with the mobile phone might have been checking your reg for expired motor tax, etc. They have a phone app that can do a check but not sure if it can be done by filming a moving vehicle or just a manual entry of the reg number on the phone to check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

You’re going to jail.

100%. Proper order. Lock her him up!!

"Son, do you know why I'm stopping you for?"
    ‘Cause I'm young and I'm black and my hat's real low?
    Do I look like a mind reader, sir? I don't know
    Am I under arrest or should I guess some more?
    "Well, you was doing 55 in a 54"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Out of interest say on a motorway a Garda car is pulled in on the Garda monitoring areas (not sure what they are called) and the Garda is operating the laser gun and a car goes past doing 140km/h and the Garda then has to jump in the patrol car, rejoin traffic, get up to speed and then catch the offender, is that not kind of ultra wreckless motoring required to catch the offender, I'd say 180 km/h needed to catch them in a reasonable time?

They done it for me..... I knew I was over but honestly didn't realize I was going over a 100mph.... They chased me down and it was a 2.0 Mondeo mark3 traffic unit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

You’ll get penalty points for holding the phone, but at least you won’t be done for speeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    You're alright then. They need to peruse you which they obviously didn't.

Oh I think they perused him alright, luckily though they didn't pursue him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

Is there any tolerance in terms of speed limits? would they fine someone clocked at 52km/h in a 50km/h zone?

I got 3 points for doing 53km years ago when Dublin quays were a 50 zone by guard van , but since it was a hand held speed gun in your case, you should be fine as they didn't stop you at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Where is there a 54km/h limit? And regardless of the OP getting done or not they were exceeding the 50km by nearly 10%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

The guards to their credit will use their discretion and cop on. Why waste time chasing after someone doing 54 in a 50 when they will easily get people doing 80.

The person doing 54 is a genuine momentary lapse in concentration, the person doing 80 is someone that needs to be told to slow down.

I've been well over 15% above the limit on motorways and not chased down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

is_that_so wrote: »

Every speedometer is set below the correct speed. So you are doing 100km/h but in reality you are doing a good bit below it. Can be checked using Sat Nav's etc

Also the Garda give a 10% buffer. So if they did get caught doing exactly 51km then in the car it would have showned them doing over 60km give or take

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Del2005 wrote: »

Where is there a 54km/h limit? And regardless of the OP getting done or not they were exceeding the 50km by nearly 10%.

Whoosh

(Somewhat NSFW)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I've seen them set up the speed trap with one Garda standing with the hand held gun while his/her partner was sitting in the car about 0.5km or 1 km further down the road. The Garda with the gun just radios the Garda in the car with a description of the speeder so that they can be ready to pull them in once they approach them.

I've also seen the Garda cars sit at the end of slip roads onto motorways where they track speed of vehicles as they pass the slip road. Hard to spot them if you are in the overtaking lane and even more so if they are in an unmarked car.

Del2005 wrote: »

Not entirely true as 54 in the speedo is most likely around 50km/h in real speed?

bazz26 wrote: »
    I've seen them set up the speed trap with one Garda standing with the hand held gun while his/her partner was sitting in the car about 0.5km or 1 km further down the road. The Garda with the gun just radios the Garda in the car with a description of the speeder so that they can be ready to pull them in once they approach them.

I've also seen the Garda cars sit at the end of slip roads onto motorways where they track speed of vehicles as they pass the slip road. Hard to spot them if you are in the overtaking lane and even more so if they are in an unmarked car.

They also have mobile speed cameras which can take the picture

They regularly stand on the fly over at Blanchardstown, where the speed limit drops down to 80km. They used to pull up poeple under the bridge but people went nuts saying it wasn't safe as they would have a row of cars on both sides......so now they just stand on the bridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

bazz26 wrote: »

Seen them doing this on the Waterford bypass a couple of weeks ago in a marked car,an A6 came past doing about 120 where the limit on the road is 100,i saw the guard drop the gun lights on and straight after them looked like they caught up at the toll bridge,i thought it was very sneaky myself and never saw them at slip roads before.

They do it on every motorway in the country.

They haven't gone this far yet : https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-6987819/Police-officer-spotted-hiding-BUSH-busting-speeding-motorists.html