Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda band member pulls leg hair.

Stick them both on the naughty step and stop their pocket money for a week.

It is understood Garda management is attempting to mediate between the two men. “Basically, we’re trying to get them to stop acting like kids and cop on,” an informed source said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Ouch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

And if they weren't guards nobody would know or care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Who cares?

Bit of banter went too far, happens everyday in offices/jobs around the World

People have far too little to do if they are worried about this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

This behaviour worries me

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Getting your leg hair pulled by somebody while you are innocently sitting there with your flute in your hand does deserve a fist of fives to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

The punch in the face was clearly self-defence. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,945 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Pack of clowns but we knew that already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭MrFresh

They shouldn't even be called Gardaí. Why they have to be given a badge instead of simply licence to wear the uniform is beyond me.

Drat! If only there were some crimes out there for these pesky kids to solve! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Waterford Whispers wouldn't come up with that.

Drat! If only there were some crimes out there for these pesky kids to solve! :rolleyes:

They aren't operational Gardaí. They are just hired for the band.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,207 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Were they wearing shorts? I thought the uniform was trousers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Great shenanigans by members of an Garda Siochana at a live event by BBC northern Ireland.

Guard gets bored, pulls on the leg hairs of his fellow colleague. Gets a warning from said fellow Garda not to do it again. Does it again and receives a punch to the face.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/garda-band-members-in-backstage-punch-up-over-leg-hair-pulling-during-live-tv-show-1.3881993

Drew Harris must be wondering what the hell has he taken on.

He'll be delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,969 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Silly but the lad who threw the punch should have a much lighter approach taken to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭MRJ

"this one time at band camp......"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thunderdog

It sounds like a bit of a hairy situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,429 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

New meaning to stop pulling my leg 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

Drew Harris is going to become the laughing stock of his former PSNI colleagues for taking the job of Commissioner of a mob of knuckle dragging Boggers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

The Garda Band has 29 full-time musicians. Some completed an accelerated training course at the Garda College in Templemore before being assigned directly to the band.

Playing in the Garda band is a full time job? Is that like with pension and everything?

What do they be doing all week, just playing instruments and stepping in time?

Must be the best job - ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Be amazed the amount of scumbags I went to school or college with that ended up as Guards...

archer22 wrote: »
    Drew Harris is going to become the laughing stock of his former PSNI colleagues for taking the job of Commissioner of a mob of knuckle dragging Boggers :pac:

It just a pity they stopped them using those knuckles on all the scum around this country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Playing in the Garda band is a full time job? Is that like with pension and everything?

What do they be doing all week, just playing instruments and stepping in time?

Must be the best job - ever.

You’ve never heard of profesional musicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

the Important thing is that they were off the streets away from danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

I wonder how many assaults they'll conjure out of this ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Garda band members are not real Guards. They’re musicians who were contracted into the Garda band. They perform no other Garda duties. They do have basic power of arrest but received no other Garda training in legal or policing studies.

So we can now use this example to tar all musicians as thugs and scumbags because that’s what we always do in cases like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Be amazed the amount of scumbags I went to school or college with that ended up as Guards...

It's mad, everyone I know that went on to become a Garda was either a bully a low level drug dealer or in one case an absolute psycho.

It’s mad the stories people will make up....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

You just made that up didnt you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,081 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Gerry G wrote: »

Inspired by the ending of "A Clockwork Orange"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

No surprise really.
    There's always been a cases of violins in the Garda Band...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

Why do the Gards have or need a band?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭FFred

whiskeyman wrote: »
    No surprise really.
    There's always been a cases of violins in the Garda Band...

tenor.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭FFred

emo72 wrote: »
    To make the criminals face the music.

Traditionally Ireland always had a Garda band...

More details here
    https://www.garda.ie/en/About-Us/Garda-Societies/Garda-Band/

You will find most police forces in the World have bands
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/NYPD_Police_Band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Gerry G wrote: »

No I didn't.

One guy was a big stocky lad in school, a bully always getting into fights and he was a feared guy, admittedly he copped on a bit by 6th year - but still far from police material.

The other guy I knew in college he was a total drunken arsehole that would get belligerent and violent when drunk.

Throwing punches and just a right arsehole to avoid.
    He dropped out in 1st year and years later I discovered he was a guard.

Another lad his brother used to break into gaffs and steal VHS players, he even broke into his own gaff and filed an insurance claim.

Apart from me posting names and neighbourhoods and class years I don't know what else to tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

No I didn't.

One guy was a big stocky lad in school, a bully always getting into fights and he was a feared guy, admittedly he copped on a bit by 6th year - but still far from police material.

The other guy I knew in college he was a total drunken arsehole that would get belligerent and violent when drunk.

Throwing punches and just a right arsehole to avoid.
    He dropped out in 1st year and years later I discovered he was a guard.

Another lad his brother used to break into gaffs and steal VHS players, he even broke into his own gaff and filed an insurance claim.

Apart from me posting names and neighbourhoods and class years I don't know what else to tell you.

So you knew a couple of lads who were clowns when they were young and another lad who's brother was a clown?

No I didn't.

In other words, couple of dopes around the school. He tried to slap them into shape and after a few years just got bored as no hope for them if they hadn't copped on at that stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,945 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

In my locality 3 sons of guards became guards. Decent enough ppl in fairness to em

I did raise my eyebrows when I heard of another guy who became a guard. Just did not see him as a guard whatsoever in terms of personality but he is still there 15 years later. Works in back office of some station as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭Get Real

Same reasons the Army have a band and fire brigade have a band.

(Whether or not those reasons justify their existence is down to each person's own opinion) police, army etc across the world have bands, so it's not specifically an Irish question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

arming the Garda band is asking for trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Oxter

No wonder Harris needs a psni escort to get into garda hq.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

My brother was talking to a member of the Gardaí at the weekend. He was telling him about all the boy racers driving around too fast, doing donuts, vandalism etc. The Garda actually said "Shure these lads are driving around with no tax or insurance and they don't give a fcuk, there is nothing we can do". My brother said, with no tax/insurance, why cant you confiscate the cars?? The Garda said it was too much hassle to impound the car. We honestly have to ask what Gardaí actually do anymore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

My brother was talking to a member of the Gardaí at the weekend. He was telling him about all the boy racers driving around too fast, doing donuts, vandalism etc. The Garda actually said "Shure these lads are driving around with no tax or insurance and they don't give a fcuk, there is nothing we can do". My brother said, with no tax/insurance, why cant you confiscate the cars?? The Garda said it was too much hassle to impound the car. We honestly have to ask what Gardaí actually do anymore...

Was the Garda in the band?

A large amount of Gardaí are driving without permission to use lights or sirens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭jimwallace197

Seems like the media are jumping on any opportunity to have a go at them now that time confidence in the gards is at an all time low.

No surprise though really considering the scandalous behaviour over the last number of years that we found out about.

I dont know if just changing the commissioner is going to yield major results but theres always hope

We honestly have to ask what Gardaí actually do anymore...

They play in a Band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

Was the Garda with the hairy legs male or female.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

And if they weren't guards nobody would know or care.

But they are. They're people being sent out into a job where you have to be composed and calm in response to stressful situations. Someone played a joke on the man in question and he assaulted him. Over the years we've had plenty of garda who acted like thugs, showed little professionalism and engaged in corruption. Would professionalism be too much to ask?

I also think you're exhibiting a double standard yourself. It does matter that they're guards. Anyone in another job would get fired for assaulting a co-worker. Here we have people saying it's no big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

My school was a rough one and some of the biggest drug users ended up as gaurds. Their father was a guard of course.