Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motorcyclists and speed vans

• 02-05-2019 5:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭

https://www.thejournal.ie/12-motorcyclists-in-collision-in-two-years-4616789-May2019/

Was reading the above article and it got me wondering, do motorcyclists get away with speeding? , I. E. Why are they not coming down with penalty points, putting them off the road.

Is it that speed vans snap the number plate upon approach, and as (I think) bikes generally only have number plate on back they get away with it?

Genuinely curious, not bashing motorcyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Good question because they fly by the static vans all the time and speed in general but so do motorists but they get caught on speed vans a motorbike is a mechanically propelled vehicle they should be plated at the front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Has anybody ever received a fine from a speed van?

I worked with a retired Garda (he was a superintendent actually) and he said that they dont give fines to bikes from the vans at all. He said that they were a problem in court if somebody denied it was them or their bike due to the helmet and absence of a picture of the riders face.

I thought it was spoof at the time - but not sure why he would have lied.

Edit: Have been on bikes almost 20 years and have never received one myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

it's my understanding from something i read recently that the camera vans have a dash mounted camera to capture the rear numberplate of bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Isambard wrote: »
    it's my understanding from something i read recently that the camera vans have a dash mounted camera to capture the rear numberplate of bikes.

They have a front mounted camera for the safety of the driver and vehicle, not for evidential use apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

AFAIK the front facing camera cannot be used to confirm the reg no. of any speeding vehicle. It is simply a cctv camera and is not linked to the actual detection camera in any way.

Bikes can be detected (and fined) if they are detected heading away from the rear of a gosafe van.
    The fine would go to the registered owner and either he/she pays up, or has to name the person who commited the offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    AFAIK the front facing camera cannot be used to confirm the reg no. of any speeding vehicle. It is simply a cctv camera and is not linked to the actual detection camera in any way.

Bikes can be detected (and fined) if they are detected heading away from the rear of a gosafe van.
    The fine would go to the registered owner and either he/she pays up, or has to name the person who commited the offence.

What if someone borrowed the bike unknown to yourself?

Then they would have stolen it :D:D:D.
    It's clear enough. Any Vehicle (Car, Bike, Truck, Bus, etc.) detected speeding by a GoSafe Van will get an FCN sent to the Registered Owner. If they like they can 'nominate' somebody else as the Driver at the the time. Otherwise they are liable for the Fine and the Points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

What if someone borrowed the bike unknown to yourself?

LOL

What if there was a pair of girls underwear obscuring the number plate ?

Usually the FCN goes to Ann Summers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

worded wrote: »
    LOL

What if there was a pair of girls underwear obscuring the number plate ?
    Or a tax disk...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

Isambard wrote:

They may have a camera but it's not for this purpose and the main thing is by that time the bike has seen the van and slowed down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

GrumpyMe wrote: »
    Or a tax disk...
    Sometimes see them dropping a hand back over part of the plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

That's some trick, I wouldn't be inclined to try to on a speeding bike.

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,693 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

My tax disk used to be above the number plate but when you started driving it slid down and obscured the plate.
    I don't think the guards really care about bikes, some of the biggest nutters on bikes are guards you need balls of steel to do some of the stuff they do. I certainly wouldn't try and outrun one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

You'd want long arms for a start. From my seated position on my bike, I can barely reach the back part of the back seat - never mind the plate. And I have a tail tidy fitted which brings the reg plate back into the bike.

The bike I have:
    BikeAlone.jpg

In all my years riding bikes, Ive never seen anybody attempt this. I'd say its very rare for somebody doing it without falling off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭KildareMan

Pure and utter tosh. You'd need to be a orangutan to be able to reach that far back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭ccmp

KildareMan wrote: »
    Pure and utter tosh. You'd need to be a orangutan to be able to reach that far back.

I can confirm that your reg is picked up and a fine and penalty points follow.

I dont have a bike anymore but when I did the reg plate was the size of a fag packet .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭GBX

I also know of lads who have gotten done for speeding on bikes passing vans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭KildareMan

ccmp wrote: »
    I can confirm that your reg is picked up and a fine and penalty points follow.

I was referencing the reach back and cover plate with hand tosh.

Of course if you speed past a van you'll get fined.

And to those who question why bikes don't have front number plates. They used to - on the front mudguard. Then stopped when it was realised how dangerous that is to pedestrians etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I've heard this claim so many times, but in all my years I've never seen it done or met anyone say they can do it.

Have you ever sat on a motorbike moving at speed? You'd need some long arms and balance to try that and not crash.