Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flytippers meet Teleporter

• 02-05-2019 12:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭

Good afternoon.

News link

The video shows two men apparently taking piles of rubbish from inside the vehicle and dumping it on the ground outside.

The footage, filmed by a passenger of one of the men involved in the apparent attack, shows one man leaving the vehicle the video is filmed from.

He grabs one of the ‘flytippers’ and launches what appears to be a physical attack on him, pushing him towards a grass verge

A green tractor forklift then emerges and pushes the van on to its side as one of the purported flytippers runs for safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,367 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

While I can understand the sentiment, he also nearly killed a man by dropping a van onto him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭10pennymixup

Gotta love it though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,716 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

GreeBo wrote: »
    While I can understand the sentiment, he also nearly killed a man by dropping a van onto him.

Well, the only reason you’d see a farmer crying over that is because he didn’t manage to kill the two of the dirty pigs with the van.

People who fly tip rubbish sho nothing only active disregard for the environment and every single other human, they are scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Hefty claim for assault and all the usual crap on the way shortly.

Scummy cnuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Caught in a pincer movement.

The jeep coming from one direction and the telescopic from the other direction.

That's Squaddie training right there.

I wonder if the fly tippers have made a complaint: while I was out dumping rubbish illegally for profit I...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

Was gonna say if it was Ireland, that would be only justice ever handed out to a fly tipper in this kip.

Hal3000 wrote: »
    Was gonna say if it was Ireland, that would be only justice ever handed out to a fly tipper in this kip.

I got two prosecutions pushed through.
    Even with photographic evidence I had to provide a sworn statement and make maybe 6 phone calls to keep pressure on the litter warden about the case. But it did work and two €150 fines issued.
    It nds to be easier and more common though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭blackdog1

GreeBo wrote:

Would it be much of a loss to society??...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Hal3000

_Brian wrote: »
    Even with photographic evidence I had to provide a sworn statement and make maybe 6 phone calls to keep pressure on the litter warden about the case. But it did work and two €150 fines issued.

Fair play. The fact that you had to call the litter warden to actually do his job is baffling, but hey that's Ireland right ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

But it did work and two €150 fines issued.

That were never ever paid.

ED E wrote: »
    That were never ever paid.

Your right.
    Behind every single lining is a big ****ty cloud, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

Went away for the bank holiday n the bins were left out for an extra day as a result. Came home to a few bin liners in each of them.
    Went through the bins n got a few letterheads etc.
    Called the litter warden and he said because i went through them they couldn't bring a case!!
    Utterly useless.

House is an hour away n a couple of tolls, im keeping in shed till i have to go that way anyway,
    Sod them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 StolenKrone

Finally. More of this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

So... The fine for fly tipping is 150€ and you can dump as much as you like vs getting a skip for nearly the same price. Jokeshop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

TallGlass wrote: »
    So... The fine for fly tipping is 150€ and you can dump as much as you like vs getting a skip for nearly the same price. Jokeshop.
    Not actually true. That's just the basic law. A lot more options available to councils.

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/environmental_protection/litter_law.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,577 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

It was his first try, he'll do it right the next time.

is_that_so wrote: »
    Not actually true. That's just the basic law. A lot more options available to councils.

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/environmental_protection/litter_law.html

Well, that's good !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

TallGlass wrote: »
    Well, that's good !

It is but as others have said, if they actually do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

is_that_so wrote: »
    It is but as others have said, if they actually do it.

I've always said we need alot more litter wardens with proper powers - we could easily pay for them by having alot less parking wardens annoying ordinary citizens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

Whats the story with the dump found in Meath, surely they would have cased the site out and caught whoever was dumping the rubbish there, and land them with the bill to clean it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Great work there, I'd say the two lads had to change the shorts after that one.

timple23 wrote: »
    Whats the story with the dump found in Meath, surely they would have cased the site out and caught whoever was dumping the rubbish there, and land them with the bill to clean it up.

That's too much common sense, what also makes it worse is they are still out there, more than likely doing the same to another piece of land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

Fair play. Our litter warden in a large Dublin district bragged to me that he sells some of the stuff he finds on donedeal. Even showed me his ads. Lamps, chairs etc.
    Yet, when you make a complaint re dumping, you always get the response that ‘the litter warden has gone through the rubbish and found no evidence’, and you can see that all the bags have never been opened and he’s just a big bare faced lazy fecker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Hope their insurance cover is voided due to dodgy activity. That'll get them in the pockets more than the pathetic fines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Fair play. Our litter warden in a large Dublin district bragged to me that he sells some of the stuff he finds on donedeal. Even showed me his ads. Lamps, chairs etc.
    Yet, when you make a complaint re dumping, you always get the response that ‘the litter warden has gone through the rubbish and found no evidence’, and you can see that all the bags have never been opened and he’s just a big bare faced lazy fecker.

A certain cork District litter warden, doesn't do fines, (ah Shure give them a chance), he has instructed office staff not to transfer calls to his office cos he's out, and his mobile isn't for public use, so he does nadda....

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Nearly’s just not good enough. Should try harder next time.

The noise of the stick at 36 seconds is so satisfying. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,858 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Fair play to them, probably not the first time some opportunists have taken to dumping on their land and this time they were ready
    The law won't do anything then take it into your own hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

tricky D wrote:
    Hope their insurance cover is voided due to dodgy activity. That'll get them in the pockets more than the pathetic fines.

Insurance cover might not be in place with such individuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

Aravo wrote:
    There was a recent case of a rubbish bag being found. A letter addressed to a person was found in the bag by a litter warden. This person lived in nearby county. Court case followed brought by Co Co against the person named on the letter. Person to whom the letter was addressed did not show. Judge dismissed the case, said one letter was not enough. Judge should have prosecuted the person. And if they want to appeal, ask the straight forward question of how do you dispose of your rubbish and provide waste invoice from bin co etc.

I wrote this a number of months back on another thread "Rubbish".

Judges need to be tougher and use common sense, which it seems is not as common as one would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

Nothing's to good for those bastids I hope the the intervention went on longer than the video .
    But I have to ask how did they not hear the teleporter comming. I can hear our one comming from a mile away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,327 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Markcheese wrote: »
    A certain cork District litter warden, doesn't do fines, (ah Shure give them a chance), he has instructed office staff not to transfer calls to his office cos he's out, and his mobile isn't for public use, so he does nadda....

Public service again......or public disservice.
    Unbelievable what they get away with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

wrangler wrote: »
    Public service again......or public disservice.
    Unbelievable what they get away with

I’m waiting since July for them to remove a number of black bags from the front of one of their houses. 5 complaints and still waiting. Same with the grass and hedges. But you can be guaranteed that every 2nd Saturday morning, you’ll have 10 men and every piece of equipment from the depot out to cut the grass in a fenced off disused 2 acre field beside us so that they can get the overtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,367 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Well, the only reason you’d see a farmer crying over that is because he didn’t manage to kill the two of the dirty pigs with the van.
    I reckon you'd see a few years if said farmer got 10 years for manslaughter...
    People who fly tip rubbish sho nothing only active disregard for the environment and every single other human, they are scum.

Indeed, but you cant kill scum just because they are scum. In fact, you cant kill anyone. We call it "society".

I reckon you'd see a few years if said farmer got 10 years for manslaughter...

Indeed, but you cant kill scum just because they are scum. In fact, you cant kill anyone. We call it "society".

Yea, pity isnt it..
    mostly their actions exempt them from civilised society though..

maybe just maming them then, that would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I’m waiting since July for them to remove a number of black bags from the front of one of their houses. 5 complaints and still waiting. Same with the grass and hedges. But you can be guaranteed that every 2nd Saturday morning, you’ll have 10 men and every piece of equipment from the depot out to cut the grass in a fenced off disused 2 acre field beside us so that they can get the overtime.

Have to say the lad that deals with this in the Belmullet area of North Mayo for Mayo CC is in contrast very good. I have shoreline on the place there and do a cleanup every few weeks when needed. Also help out a group locally that looks after popular sandy beaches nearby. The lad in question is excellent and always has the bags gone the next day. Also very active in dealing with any illegal tipping in the area.

Farmers can now be fined if they don't dispose of rubbish that's flytipped at their hedges.
    We should be allowed meter out justice on the offender too if we catch them as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

Farmers can now be fined if they don't dispose of rubbish that's flytipped at their hedges.

Really? ...ffs so now were obliged to clean up after the dirty bastards?

when did the law stop even pretending to attempt to punish/deter the criminal and instead go after any other easy target it can find...

its hard to have respect for the way things are going

amacca wrote: »
    Really? ...ffs so now were obliged to clean up after the dirty bastards?

when did the law stop even pretending to attempt to punish/deter the criminal and instead go after any other easy target it can find...

its hard to have respect for the way things are going

A quote for farmers journal.

''Despite the nationwide spike in spending on illegal dumping, county councils have told the Irish Farmers Journal that under Section 5 of the Waste Management Act, “when waste is on private property, it is the landowner’s responsibility to remove/dispose of it appropriately and pay the relevant costs”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

He caught him a great clatter with the stock at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

That is a big man that was shaking the scumbag around. I certainly would not like a slap off of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,455 ✭✭✭✭Base price

A quote for farmers journal.

''Despite the nationwide spike in spending on illegal dumping, county councils have told the Irish Farmers Journal that under Section 5 of the Waste Management Act, “when waste is on private property, it is the landowner’s responsibility to remove/dispose of it appropriately and pay the relevant costs”.

A few years ago I had a problem when a cnut threw two black rubbish bags over the roadside hedge into the field. The bags contained two heads and entrails of slaughtered pigs. I phoned the local county council and they told me to phone the Dept. DAFM (Kildare St) told me to phone my DVO. DVO Vet asked me if there were tagged and to let him know what the tag numbers were. I had to open the bags to get a proper look at the heads, low and behold one ear of each pig had been cut off.
    I had to pay the local knackery to take them (€50 from memory) and at that I had trouble with the paperwork as they wanted my herd number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Base price wrote: »
    A few years ago I had a problem when a cnut threw two black rubbish bags over the roadside hedge into the field. The bags contained two heads and entrails of slaughtered pigs. I phoned the local county council and they told me to phone the Dept. DAFM (Kildare St) told me to phone my DVO. DVO Vet asked me if there were tagged and to let him know what the tag numbers were. I had to open the bags to get a proper look at the heads, low and behold one ear of each pig had been cut off.
    I had to pay the local knackery to take them (€50 from memory) and at that I had trouble with the paperwork as they wanted my herd number.

The whole bodies made a pigs ear of that one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭148multi

Base price wrote: »

Beautiful

I'd have lifted the bags and threw them somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Well unless you knew the origins, wouldn't you just be doing the same to someone else,
    (not to mention if you got caught, the someone else did it first, excuse, wouldn't hold much water)

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭148multi

We should be allowed meter out justice on the offender too if we catch them as well

The councils claim ownership of roadside property from fence to fence, if the rubbish is outside of the fence or in a roadside drain then they are responsible, an elderly man that lived in a nearby town ended up in hospital long term, his sister noticed that rubbish was being dumped in the back garden, she rang the local litter warden who dutifully sent the man a litter fine.

Markcheese wrote: »
    Well unless you knew the origins, wouldn't you just be doing the same to someone else,
    (not to mention if you got caught, the someone else did it first, excuse, wouldn't hold much water)

As far as I'd be concerned, when it was done to me and not my waste then it's fair game, into the ditch. I certainly wouldn't have it costing me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Or light a big fire of turf or timber and burn it