Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Return to Lender!

• 22-04-2019 12:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭

There have been times when I loaned some tool, implement etc to a neighbour who said they wanted it for a short time or 'to do a little job - mine's broken, lost etc and I'll leave it back with you tomorrow/in a couple of days'?
    Then, when I've asked for the item's return long after it was supposed to be returned, the neighbour has taken offence to my asking for the return of what belongs to me!!

Has anybody else found themselves in this position and how did they deal with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Most people will reply just don't lend anything out... The only thing I lend out here is the cow lifter. I now have 2 of them so I'm not stuck if I need it and someone has gotten a lend of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

And if it does come back it’s usually broke.
    one lad i know of used to return said broken items in the dark when you wouldn’t notice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Had a guy borrow small car trailer.
    Returned with both wheels flat needing new tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

I'd never lend anything unless I knew the lad borrowing it would take care of it like his own. If someone comes looking for it I tell them I'll do it for them when I can and that keeps all sides happy. Don't like to leave a lad stuck but there's one near me waiting for the day I buy a new SDS drill instead of hiring one himself. I told him my own was burnt out but I had bits to suit if he'd go rent one for the hour or so. Still won't part with the few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,127 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I never borrow stuff, if I can help it. Last year I borrowed a post driver off a neighbour and drove it tru a tunnel. Yep, just caught the top of it on the roof of the tunnel. Only barely scraped it but can't believe I did it. Would pride myself on being careful. Told him what I did and no harm done but it just shows how things can go wrong very quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Never lend stuff here unless I'm very sure of the borrower, got caught too often when my father was alive. It's not on to have to go looking for your trailer or haybob or even small stuff like drills etc.
    I gave a lad a haybob couple of years ago and it came back better than it left my yard. It had a flat tyre when he was taking it and said he'd fix that no bother - well it came back with a new tyre, new tines, and a bit welded that was on its way out and wouldn't take anything for the tyre. Now that lad can come to me and I'd lend him anything but he is the exception to my rule!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

KatyMac wrote:
    Never lend stuff here unless I'm very sure of the borrower, got caught too often when my father was alive. It's not on to have to go looking for your trailer or haybob or even small stuff like drills etc. I gave a lad a haybob couple of years ago and it came back better than it left my yard. It had a flat tyre when he was taking it and said he'd fix that no bother - well it came back with a new tyre, new tines, and a bit welded that was on its way out and wouldn't take anything for the tyre. Now that lad can come to me and I'd lend him anything but he is the exception to my rule!

I wish he would call for my haybob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭Donegalforever

one lad i know of used to return said broken items in the dark when you wouldn’t notice

Yes, that has unfortunately been my experience also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭keepalive213

Some lads would bend a crowbar in the bog and cross thread a jam jar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭Up Donegal

whelan2 wrote: »
    Most people will reply just don't lend anything out...

There have been times when I have been tempted to not lend anything out. But there are times when I might need the loan of something and anything I do borrow is always returned as soon as I'm finished with it.

And when it's returned broken, the person you lent it to, more often than not, doesn't have a clue how it got broken! :mad:

_Brian wrote: »
    Had a guy borrow small car trailer.
    Returned with both wheels flat needing new tyres.

I know a man who loaned his cattle trailer to another guy who was taking a cow to the mart. He tumbled the trailer on the road and when he was asked about it, he denied it ever happened!! When it was put to him that someone else saw it happen (and they actually did), he finally owned up and paid for the repairs. The damage was relatively light and the trailer was getting on a bit. The man who owned the trailer said that if the other guy had come clean in the first place, he probably would have let him off lightly with the repairs.

I never borrow stuff, if I can help it. Last year I borrowed a post driver off a neighbour and drove it tru a tunnel. Yep, just caught the top of it on the roof of the tunnel. Only barely scraped it but can't believe I did it. Would pride myself on being careful. Told him what I did and no harm done but it just shows how things can go wrong very quickly.

In most cases, if someone damages something they've borrowed, and owns up to it immediately and offers to pay for the damage, it makes the situation easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I don't have any borrowing/lending stories to tell but thanks for putting that fecking song into my head all day :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I only give a loan of the cattle box or stake driver. Usually only give it to a few neighbors and a friend of mine. I borrow their bale trailer or dump trailer now and then.

We borrowed a bale lifter.
    Through a bumpy gap and it split, Sod’s law.

Got a proper coded welder in to repair it and when dropping it back I pointed it out to the owner.

He then remembered he’d cracked it himself and forgotten about it, proceeded to sell it to me for €70.

Been here now 6-8 years no bother since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

_Brian wrote: »
    We borrowed a bale lifter.
    Through a bumpy gap and it split, Sod’s law.

Got a proper coded welder in to repair it and when dropping it back I pointed it out to the owner.

He then remembered he’d cracked it himself and forgotten about it, proceeded to sell it to me for €70.

Been here now 6-8 years no bother since.

Very common with the first bale lifters. Designed for the unchopped bales. The chopped bale is a different animal. I remember as a young lad upending the welger RP12 bales and rolling them into half ring feeders, no tractor necessary!! You wouldn't do that with the bales now!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Neighbour rang me lately looking for tipping trailer to shift dung. Told him to send up the son to give me a hand putting on sides.(had it stripped down for shifting bales). Dropped it down an hour later after doing a small welding job to it. Left him use tractor as well as he'd have to take off beet chopper and he only has one tractor.
    The son said he'd drop me home. I was then told to clean my boots (not shyte coated wellies) before i got into his immaculate 12 BMW.
    Tractor and trailer was returned that night sometime. The following morning I had to clean about 4 barrows of dung out of the trailer then wash it and sledge and weld the tailboard latch back into shape. Wtf he was doing to bend it is a mystery. The next time he certainly won't be getting the tractor in the bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Neighbour rang me lately looking for tipping trailer to shift dung. Told him to send up the son to give me a hand putting on sides.(had it stripped down for shifting bales). Dropped it down an hour later after doing a small welding job to it. Left him use tractor as well as he'd have to take off beet chopper and he only has one tractor.
    The son said he'd drop me home. I was then told to clean my boots (not shyte coated wellies) before i got into his immaculate 12 BMW.
    Tractor and trailer was returned that night sometime. The following morning I had to clean about 4 barrows of dung out of the trailer then wash it and sledge and weld the tailboard latch back into shape. Wtf he was doing to bend it is a mystery. The next time he certainly won't be getting the tractor in the bargain.

Pity you didn’t say that it was OK you had your own transport home, sit up on your tractor and trailer and drive home, then the young pup would have some explaining to his father as to what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

My uncle works full time and farms part time.

He sold his cattle trailer.

So many fellas were borrowing and not returning that he just got rid of it.

Used lock it and they'd call into his wife for the key. One fella burst the lock off!!

Pays local guy bring animals to mart now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

I don't know where lads live but around here feck all lads would borrow anything. I have one crew of cousins alright that would break an anvil and they love to borrow but whenever they ring it either already lent out, bearing gone, using it myself, punctured or some other problem.
    I do borrow and lend one or two things with another neighbour but never a problem. Returned as soon as he is done and in the same or better condition than he borrowed it.

Muckit wrote: »
    Very common with the first bale lifters. Designed for the unchopped bales. The chopped bale is a different animal. I remember as a young lad upending the welger RP12 bales and rolling them into half ring feeders, no tractor necessary!! You wouldn't do that with the bales now!!!

It’s actually one the lad made himself. It’s a great lifter, heavy and strong, tips bales perfectly, just needed plating in one weak point.

He made a self locking head gate for us maybe 20 years ago and bar one sheared bolt it’s been flawless.

He was over at the weekend to skull one lad missed dehorning and squeezing a few, remarked how well the headgate stood the years.

One of these all rounder lads that seems to be great at everything he turns his hand to. I managed maintenance lads on multi million dollar equipment and this guy would shame most of them, left school after junior cert. vet recommends him for skulling and squeezing.